March 29, 2024, 03:07:50 AM

Author Topic: Simoes names squad for Canada  (Read 8847 times)

Simoes names squad for Canada
« on: August 13, 2008, 01:02:02 PM »
August 13, 2008

Canada Squad for World Cup Qualifier

Harbour View midfielder Jermaine Hue cemented his return to the Reggae Boyz band when he was named in a squad of 20 selected for Jamaica’s opening encounter in the semi-final round of the CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2010 South Africa World Cup.

Hue, 30, only returned to the national squad earlier this month after his last call up for the Ash Wednesday friendly against Costa Rica, in which he did not feature. Accompanying Hue’s return was confirmation that 28-year-old striker Marlon King will not play a part in the game against Canada.

The squad was a largely local-based one with 18-year-old Reno midfielder Davion Thorpe set to travel with the senior team for the first time while fellow youngster and clubmate Evan Taylor who made his debut in June against St Vincent and the Grenadines, keeps his place in the squad. Sporting Central midfielder Jevaughn Watson could earn his second cap for the country following his El Salvador debut as he too is on the list along with Colorado Rapids forward Omar Cummings who made his debut in the same game. Technical director Simoes was full of praise for the hardworking player, especially his movement on and off the ball a quality which will serve the team well.

Also included in the squad are the ever presents in captain Ricardo Gardner, Tyrone Marshall, goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, Rodolph Austin, Demar Phillips, Luton Shelton and Andy Williams. The team will depart Saturday morning for Toronto, Canada and return Thursday, following Wednesday’s game.

Meanwhile the officials for the game are Referee Carlos Batres, Assistant Referees Rodolfo Gonzales and Alejo Mendez all from Guatemala. There countryman Walter Lopez will be the fourth official while Francis Cezair of Trinidad and Tobago has been assigned the duties of Match Commissioner and Carlos Ortiz, Referee Assessor.

Full squad: Goalkeepers – Ricketts, Shawn Sawyers; Defenders – Marshall, Ian Goodison, Keneil Moodie, O’Brian Woodbine, Demar Stewart, Jermaine Taylor; Midfielders – Austin, Thorpe, Evan Taylor, Watson, Hue, Gardner, and Wolry Wolfe; Forwards – Deon Burton, Cummings and Williams.

Re: Simoes names squad for Canada
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 01:05:26 PM »
GO CANADA GO.

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 01:09:08 PM »
D maple leaf in dey pweffen

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 01:10:01 PM »
wolfe is not a super league joe public player?

scraping the bottom of the barrel dey semioes

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 01:11:07 PM »
field wet

« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2008, 01:15:30 PM »
Actually, the word is that the field will not be watered for the Canada game. Unless it rains of course.

« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2008, 01:24:53 PM »
Actually, the word is that the field will not be watered for the Canada game. Unless it rains of course.

Hopefully your management team were able to secure rooms on the ground floor of the accomodations where the team will be staying.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2008, 01:28:15 PM »
GO CUBA!!! Again. ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2008, 01:31:06 PM »
Jesus thats a weak squad

« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2008, 01:34:00 PM »

Hopefully your management team were able to secure rooms on the ground floor of the accomodations where the team will be staying.

Something tells me the team wont have to put up with smelly accomoddations and lack of elevators in the hotel tehy stay in at canada(this is 2008 for christ sake). In addition,  I doubt any well thinking coach would choose to accomodate his team on the ground floor of any hotel. In fact, most 3 star and above hotel doesnt even have accomodation on ground floor. Get with the times people :)

Offline Tigger

« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2008, 01:35:41 PM »
Gardner taking time off from his world tour...

« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2008, 01:36:43 PM »
Hopefully they eh put them  in a hotel too close to the Lake; it may be too smelly fuh them .

COME ON CANDA BUSS THEM UP

« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2008, 01:44:27 PM »

Something tells me the team wont have to put up with smelly accomoddations and lack of elevators in the hotel tehy stay in at canada(this is 2008 for christ sake). In addition,  I doubt any well thinking coach would choose to accomodate his team on the ground floor of any hotel. In fact, most 3 star and above hotel doesnt even have accomodation on ground floor. Get with the times people :)

Just trying to help your coach avoiding having to again blame climbing too many stairs as the reason for a loss.  Hope the food is up to standard and perhaps the CSA can arrange to have some shottas engage in a gunfight outside the hotel (inside the hotel even better) so that your players can feel more at home.

« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2008, 02:10:26 PM »

Just trying to help your coach avoiding having to again blame climbing too many stairs as the reason for a loss.  Hope the food is up to standard and perhaps the CSA can arrange to have some shottas engage in a gunfight outside the hotel (inside the hotel even better) so that your players can feel more at home.

:rotfl:. CLICK-CLICK, KONNECK.

« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2008, 02:28:05 PM »

Ah could just see the headlines " 20 Jamaicans go to Canada for WC qualifier but only 12 return"

« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2008, 02:37:09 PM »

Ah could just see the headlines " 20 Jamaicans go to Canada for WC qualifier but only 12 return"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

or
Jamaicans blame lost after swimming in the lake.  Water was too cold

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2008, 02:38:25 PM »

;D lawd allyuh eh play allyuh wicked eh
well yes

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2008, 02:56:51 PM »
Jesus thats a weak squad
And yet it's a World Cup qualifier that this weak Reggae Boyz squad will be playing. ;D
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2008, 03:00:48 PM »

Canada is 100% more civil to visitors than T&T and the Central American countries whom mistreat visitors.
jjbrown

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2008, 03:10:42 PM »

Canada is 100% more civil to visitors than T&T and the Central American countries whom mistreat visitors.

Based on what...your personal experience of visits to TnT, Canada and Central American countries? Second hand information from your own media? Please explain how you arrived at the figure of 100%
well yes

« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2008, 03:10:57 PM »
Why no Fuller and Shelton?

« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2008, 03:27:25 PM »
All yuh good oui 20 go 12 come back. Dem does go Penn relays and doh come back so y not  a WCQ

« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2008, 03:30:15 PM »
thats a sad story when man have to deport, the situation in yard is not pretty, i wish de boyz well, in the end they are caribbean brothers just like us :beermug:

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2008, 03:32:03 PM »
go jamaica for real all the best :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2008, 03:33:55 PM »
Yeah as Stalin say d C'bbean man on d samwe ship yada yada yada

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #25 on: August 13, 2008, 03:45:10 PM »

Based on what...your personal experience of visits to TnT, Canada and Central American countries? Second hand information from your own media? Please explain how you arrived at the figure of 100%
Based on T&T's mistreatment of the Jamaica's teenage Reggae Boyz from their arrival in T&T for the CFU Youth Cup and the aftermath.
And 100% based on my visit to Canada last year.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 03:49:04 PM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #26 on: August 13, 2008, 04:03:32 PM »
And 100% based on my visit to Canada last year.

Dey let u een?  ??? :o

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #27 on: August 13, 2008, 04:11:25 PM »
GO CUBA!!! Again. ;D

Why are you supporting Cuba? I thought you're Jamaican ;)
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #28 on: August 13, 2008, 04:13:55 PM »

glad to see you made out of Georgia alive :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: August 13, 2008, 04:15:17 PM »