April 27, 2024, 08:48:01 AM

Author Topic: Asafa is a joke  (Read 5874 times)

Re: Asafa is a joke
« Reply #30 on: August 16, 2008, 01:11:32 PM »
I heard through the grape vine that the reason Asafa does bad in big meets is that he does not have the stamina recovery to run 4 races in 2 days

If you look at all facts when it is a one and done race he is hard to beat.

But at the meets with many heats he does not have the stamina to execute in the last race.

Athens was his to win, it is tough to come back in 4 years and get a second chance to be on top again.

He missed his opportunity.

In 4 years there will be a new Bolt and Thompson who will come out of no where to win.

Same thing happen with Ato.
he was close in 1996 thought he could get it in 2000 but everytime a new star come to take it.

You have to take it when it is your turn because in the 100m you only get one turn.

Asafa is a great runner he just never won the olympics.

I feel is ah yam ine yuh get dat shit from.

de man does absolutely breeze thru de finals...what about de Jamaican finals?  ent he run rounds dey?  steups....he have ah mind like you, TI and Triniman, it too little to let wander by itself.....;)

« Reply #31 on: August 16, 2008, 01:13:11 PM »
Yuh right TT!! dem men cyar leave off the BS small talk for once and enjoy what we the little caribbean just pull off.  

Fully agree 1000%... I mean come on, look at this picture

Three Jamaicans and two Trinis in de frame... so much to be proud of regardless the order of finish.

Offline TTR- 78 Batch

« Reply #32 on: August 16, 2008, 01:35:37 PM »
fella shut yuh backside and enjoy de moments nah.

T&T cyar begin to approach Jamaica's accolades in T&F!

We had de first gold in de 100, but to date that remains our ONLY gold...chill.

I really doh no why some people does see pure niceness and try to turn it into a petty war. This is time for Jam. & T&T to be toasting. its like Montreal all over again, only this time Jam. take the gold. Shut yuh backside fur tru
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 01:37:17 PM by TTR- 78 Batch »

« Reply #33 on: August 16, 2008, 01:41:04 PM »
Yuh right TT!! dem men cyar leave off the BS small talk for once and enjoy what we the little caribbean just pull off.  

Fully agree 1000%... I mean come on, look at this picture

Three Jamaicans and two Trinis in de frame... so much to be proud of regardless the order of finish.

Also...didnt quite make ur pic, but Martina came 4th...shame he cudnt have leaned and completed d Caribbean sweep  :beermug:

« Reply #34 on: August 16, 2008, 03:20:19 PM »
Asafa is a great runner.... As long as no one is watching.

My heart goes out to him because no one in my hotel can name a bigger choker in the history of sports. Who with this much talent totally freezes up when the lights go on.  I am speechless. Asafa can run 9.6 and people who know this event know that.

« Reply #35 on: August 16, 2008, 03:23:35 PM »

This is their first one too. Anyhow I glad for Bolt, that boy is amazing!!

« Reply #36 on: August 16, 2008, 03:27:28 PM »
I heard through the grape vine that the reason Asafa does bad in big meets is that he does not have the stamina recovery to run 4 races in 2 days

If you look at all facts when it is a one and done race he is hard to beat.

But at the meets with many heats he does not have the stamina to execute in the last race.

Athens was his to win, it is tough to come back in 4 years and get a second chance to be on top again.

He missed his opportunity.

In 4 years there will be a new Bolt and Thompson who will come out of no where to win.

Same thing happen with Ato.
he was close in 1996 thought he could get it in 2000 but everytime a new star come to take it.

You have to take it when it is your turn because in the 100m you only get one turn.

Asafa is a great runner he just never won the olympics.

Nobody eh beating Bolt in the next 4 yrs. :beermug:

« Reply #37 on: August 16, 2008, 05:02:30 PM »
Asafa is a great runner.... As long as no one is watching.

My heart goes out to him because no one in my hotel can name a bigger choker in the history of sports. Who with this much talent totally freezes up when the lights go on.  I am speechless. Asafa can run 9.6 and people who know this event know that.

We know Powell is ah head case... but this question has confused me for some time:

At this level what separates these athletes... is it "talent", technique... strength (leg power)... luck?

Granted some of it is nerves, some of it is ability to get out the blocks...

« Reply #38 on: August 16, 2008, 09:26:07 PM »

This is their first one too. Anyhow I glad for Bolt, that boy is amazing!!

Not true.  Jamaica has many more olympic gold medals, their frst in the 100m

T&T has 1 in total!

You misunderstood my point