April 25, 2024, 02:22:30 PM

Author Topic: The Official Richard "Torpedo" Thompson Thread  (Read 54875 times)

Re: Richard Thompson changes coach
« Reply #150 on: September 25, 2011, 09:53:26 AM »
I thought he went from shaver to HSI then to jon drummond for a time then back to HSI. I thought he left shaver from long time...

An feel yuh meant to say Jon Smith not Jon Drummond:-\

Unless I was misinformed, it was Drummond that he went to. That change happened around spring of this year and was his first time doing a coaching change until now.

Ok thanks!

The Official Richard "Torpedo" Thompson Thread
« Reply #151 on: August 06, 2012, 12:24:28 PM »
Richard Thompson 100 m run.

Look nah, this man was right up there with them yes.  He just hit he wall sooner than the rest..with some proper conditioning and what I feel is disclipine he had a freaking medal yes.

I eh feel Gatlin more talented than he is...just more committed.

Richard Thompson if you reading this..re-dedicate yuhself.

You can still accomplish much.

steups..allyuh look at that race again, if the man had more conditioning he make that podium!~
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 04:51:13 PM by Socapro »

Re: Richard Thompson 100 m run.
« Reply #152 on: August 06, 2012, 12:28:38 PM »
Look nah, this man was right up there with them yes.  He just hit he wall sooner than the rest..with some proper conditioning and what I feel is disclipine he had a freaking medal yes.

steups..allyuh look at that race again, if the man had more conditioning he make that podium!~

yeh at 50 he was with the pack
« Last Edit: August 06, 2012, 12:31:56 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #153 on: August 06, 2012, 12:31:39 PM »

yeh at 50 he with the pack

I get excited and thought he was in front at one point all kinda ting...

on replay I see that he was never in front, but he was with them for a good way... then it was afterburners in he face

« Reply #154 on: August 06, 2012, 12:33:36 PM »
I agree, he was with the pack, he hit his wall sooner  lol.  With a steady 200m diet, and weight training the man is back there.

« Reply #155 on: August 06, 2012, 12:43:33 PM »
I agree, he was with the pack, he hit his wall sooner  lol.  With a steady 200m diet, and weight training the man is back there.

200m diet and weight training?  sounds like rocket science to me.

« Reply #156 on: August 06, 2012, 01:07:02 PM »
Yes I agree! Our sprinters need to grow bigger balls and start running more 200ms!

They are cheating themselves of the strength and speed endurance required in these modern times to medal in the 100m at major championships.

« Reply #157 on: August 06, 2012, 01:10:56 PM »

Nah jes dedication

« Reply #158 on: August 06, 2012, 02:40:42 PM »
Rubbish.

He has shown a loss of form for the last two years. Probably injury related.
Keeping up with them for the first 50 metres is not a surprise especially considering RT's reaction time.

Is keeping up with them and accelerating during the last 50 metres.

RT is not the runner he used to be. He has the best that training has to offer. Sadly he seems to be experiencing what Ato did in the last six years of his career.

« Reply #159 on: August 06, 2012, 02:44:19 PM »
Rubbish.

Keeping up with them for the first 50 metres is not a surprise especially considering RT's reaction time.

RT is not the runner he used to be. He has the best that training has to offer. Sadly he seems to be experiencing what Ato did in the last six years of his career.

nONSENSE YOU TALKING.    He might have access to the best training...effort is another thing.

Think about it...I know nuff dunce man went to Fatima....dunce in the sense they did not make use of what was offered.

« Reply #160 on: August 06, 2012, 02:50:15 PM »
Rubbish.

nONSENSE YOU TALKING.    He might have access to the best training...effort is another thing.

Think about it...I know nuff dunce man went to Fatima....dunce in the sense they did not make use of what was offered.

u does kill me sometimes oui

« Reply #161 on: August 06, 2012, 02:51:49 PM »
Rubbish.

and yet you live.....

« Reply #162 on: August 06, 2012, 02:57:57 PM »
Rubbish.

and yet you live.....

You gone off on a tangent. I go leave you right dey.

Yes, with the right training it go be Browne and Thompson doing a 1-2 at the 2016 Olympics.  ;D

« Reply #163 on: August 06, 2012, 03:23:16 PM »
lol VB check yuh facebook messages

« Reply #164 on: August 07, 2012, 12:34:28 AM »

Nah jes dedication

i agree but is years now everybody saying that so RT must be deaf.

« Reply #165 on: August 07, 2012, 05:30:43 AM »
I really surprised you taking this so hard. first off, RT went up against the best talent in decades. tyson gay,justin gatlin, yohan blake and the greatest athlete of all time, usain thunder and lightening bolt!

richard got lucky last olympics when he ran 2nd to bolt, when fellas like gay and gatlin was nursing injuries, so he got ah bligh, but in reality, his best time is what them man running in semi finals. give richard ah break, bc he's in over his head @ the moment.

« Reply #166 on: August 07, 2012, 05:41:44 AM »
I agree with allyuh that our athletes are not trying hard enough, but you guys must remember that our sports administrators are some of the most clueless lazy complaisant incompetent ppl to ever administrate over anything, which might be affacting the way these athletes approach the sport. we must also remember that pride and excellence is not ingrained into the psyche of trinidadians.

ah trini is the kind of person who lives in the moment, if it feels good then it's all good, but no setta work and contemplation goes into what ever they embark on, i got to say that's it's an extremely laid back hands off culture, maybe the most laid back and anyhow society i've ever seen.

i have learned not to invest too much of my heart and time into sports in trinbago, unfortunately for me, i dun roped in as far as football goes, which iz the worst of them all, so all other sports get blank.

believe me when i say, i will never invest no mo of my time and energy supporting T&T athletes in any other sport but football, like i said , ah dun get roped in wid football, so ah learn to take the rest with ah grain of salt.

one sport iz enough torture to last ah life time. not fackin me again!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 05:44:00 AM by just cool »

« Reply #167 on: August 07, 2012, 06:01:41 AM »
Richard Thompson is my BOY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4x100 in they ass...

« Reply #168 on: August 07, 2012, 12:12:16 PM »

You can still accomplish much.steups..allyuh look at that race again, if the man had more conditioning he make that podium!~

Meh boy already have 2 silver medals at the olympics partner. He already has accomplished VERY much. If you meant much more, then I echo that sentiment.

« Reply #169 on: August 07, 2012, 12:13:32 PM »

You can still accomplish much.steups..allyuh look at that race again, if the man had more conditioning he make that podium!~

Meh boy already have 2 silver medals at the olympics partner. He already has accomplished VERY much. If you meant much more, then I echo that sentiment.
  steups yuh can read and understand I imagine?

Re: The Official Richard "Torpedo" Thompson Thread
« Reply #170 on: August 19, 2012, 04:56:06 PM »
I've decided to make this thread the official Richard Thompson thread so please post your updates on Richard Thompson to this thread as well as your suggestions on what RT needs to be doing to be on the 100m podium for World Champs next year alongside any of the top Jamaican and American sprinters.

We must not allow our T&T 100m sprinters to get left behind from the elite group of the top eight 100m sprinters in the world as we have a good tradition in 100m sprinting that we should do our best to maintain and even improve upon.

Bless  :beermug:

Torpedo on track
« Reply #171 on: February 14, 2014, 06:59:42 AM »
Rehabbed hip feeling fine following indoor test
By Kwame Laurence (Express)

‘TORPEDO’ ON TRACK

TRIPLE OLYMPIC MEDALLIST: Richard ‘Torpedo’ Thompson

Richard “Torpedo” Thompson has already seen competitive action in 2014, and is satisfied with his progress following a challenging campaign last year.

The 2008 Olympic men’s 100 metres silver medallist endured a painful 2013, battling daily with a hip injury that prevented him from being a medal contender at the World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

“I’ve progressed significantly from what I experienced last year,” Thompson told the Express. “Literally not one day did I go through training or competition without pain in 2013. It would be nice to say that the injury is completely behind me, and I’m doing everything to ensure that, but the only true test is time.”

Running indoors for the first time in almost two years, the US-based track star opened his 2014 campaign at the Howie Ryan Invitational, in Houston, Texas, two weekends ago. He successfully negotiated the preliminary and semi-final rounds of the men’s 60m dash, before finishing fifth in the final in 6.69 seconds.

“I don’t think it was a bad opener. I wanted to use the opportunity to confirm that my hip can withstand competition and I came out feeling fine. There’s still a lot of work to be done obviously but it’s a step in the right direction.

“I’m based in Baton Rouge (Louisiana),” he continued. “Usually I would open there instead of Houston but the LSU indoor track is being renovated and won’t be open until mid-February.”

Thompson returned to Texas for last Saturday’s Texas A&M Aggie Invitational. He clocked 6.72 seconds to secure bronze in the Olympic Development men’s 60m dash.

Thompson’s fastest legal 100m time in 2013 was 10.14 seconds--much slower than his 9.85 Trinidad and Tobago record. The 28-year-old sprinter did not get to the century final at the Moscow Worlds, and called off his season following T&T’s seventh-place finish in the 4x100m final.

Thompson then focused on rehabilitating his injured hip. T&T Olympic Committee (T&TOC) president Brian Lewis and immediate past president Larry Romany arranged for the triple Olympic medallist to attend the Michael Johnson Performance (MJP) training facility, in Texas.

“MJP has a really great facility with a great team of people working there. I spent an entire month and everything was really professionally done--from seeing a specialist to determine exactly what the problem was to directly devising a plan to fix it. They have been great with following up and ensuring that I’m doing the exercises and getting the necessary treatment that I need to be healthy so that gains made there will not be lost. I must say special thanks to Larry Romany and Brian Lewis who were instrumental in getting me there.”

While it was a tough year on the track for Thompson, on a personal level 2013 was memorable. He became a father for the first time, his girlfriend, former T&T sprinter Monique Cabral giving birth to their son, Rhys.

“I’m thoroughly enjoying being a father. At first it was difficult mixing with my schedule. Rhys was born last year right as my season started and as a newborn he would wake up a lot during the night but we have him on a schedule now and it fits perfectly into my routine. Monique is such a great mother too and is so supportive with my career, so it really allows things to operate smoothly.

“I’m extremely grateful,” Thompson added, “to have family, friends and loyal fans who have supported me through difficult times. You always appreciate those who root for you when you’re doing well but when times are tough your appreciation for those who stick by you is way greater. I know that the people of T&T are still behind me and I just ask that everyone prays for me and the rest of athletes who fly our national colours.”

Thompson said he has not set himself any lofty 2014 goals.

“As strange as it may sound my goal is to have a strong and injury-free season. Last year really humbled me a lot. Struggling to run times that I would run easily and running in agony really made me appreciate health. Never take for granted being able to feel 100 percent.

“Sub-10 would be nice,” he continued, “but I’ll try not to focus on a time too much. I have to get back to my 2008 focus where it’s about executing races properly. Once I can go through my phases correctly, I’m certain that good times will follow. I will do 200s this year, God spare health and strength.”

Thompson is hoping to make his Commonwealth Games debut in Glasgow, Scotland, later this year.

“I’m excited about the opportunity to compete at the Commonwealth Games. It’s at the top of my priority list of meets for the season. The Commonwealth has the world’s best sprinters so it will be no easy task.

I can’t make any predictions or promises this early but it would be an honour as usual to represent T&T and do well.”

The Commonwealth Games will take place between July 23 and August 3. The fastest men and women on the planet are also expected to be in attendance at the May 24-25 IAAF World Relays, in Nassau, Bahamas.

“My services are available. I think it would be vital in preparation for Commonwealth to field our best teams for these relays. It’s good to start building bonds as a team and strengthening those that are already in existence but any gains made this year are no good unless we can find a way to keep making progress on any statement we make at any meet this year.”

Thompson said 2014 is a stepping stone on his journey to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
“If it’s in God’s plans for me then this will be a great year. I have a plan for this year and I have a plan to be at my best in 2016. It’s all about having patience, staying focused and sticking to the game plan.”
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 11:02:24 PM by Socapro »

Re: Torpedo on track.
« Reply #172 on: February 14, 2014, 08:59:00 AM »
Congrats, Dad! All the best,God Speed!!!

« Reply #173 on: February 14, 2014, 01:23:26 PM »
Yeah, good stuff and congrats to Torpedo on becoming a Dad. All the best of health in 2014.  :beermug:

We need to see some young upcoming T&T sprinters challenging RT and the Bledman for the number one T&T sprinter title in 2014 as well as our flow of upcoming world class male sprinters seems to be drying up.

Our females seem to be looking much better from a world class level but it all depends on if we will have Kelly-Ann and Hackett back for us in 2014 to team up with MLA and the others.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2014, 01:28:20 PM by Socapro »

Thompson encourages youths to follow their dreams
« Reply #174 on: November 10, 2014, 03:35:16 PM »
Thompson encourages youths to follow their dreams
Sunday, November 9 2014 (T&T Newsday)

Richard Thompson

National 100 metre record holder Richard Thompson gave an inspiring speech at the Gatorade Sport Science Institute Symposium (GSSI) held at the University of the West Indies (UWI) SPEC Indoor Court yesterday afternoon.

This is the first ever GSSI Symposium in Trinidad and Tobago. GSSI tours the world doing symposiums and conferences where GSSI experts share information on sport nutrition and exercise science to enhance the performance and well-being of athletes.

The four-time Olympic medallist shared his experiences as a professional athlete including his ups and downs. He mentioned that as a junior he did not make any national teams but that did not stop him from following his dream.

He went on to touch on some of the high points of his career.

“(Being a) Two-time silver medallist at the 2004 Olympics, as well as the National Champion four times as well as the National Record holder and to eclipse Ato Boldon’s national record is something that means a lot to me,” he said.

Thompson commented on how difficult it was to get to the level that he is at today, coming out of Queens Royal College.

“Coming out of QRC I wasn’t the fastest in secondary school; I never made any junior team and as a result many universities did not approach me,” he continued.

“Some of the smaller schools approached me but I would have been the fastest in the school and I didn’t want to go where I’ll be the big fish in the small pond. I wanted to go somewhere I could get better, by being around athletes who are better than I am, so I can become strong and improve my speed.”

He explained that after being rejected by multiple universities, Louisiana State University decided to take a chance with him and offered him a full scholarship under the new sprint coach.

“LSU decided to take a chance with me, they were now rebuilding their programme and had a new head coach who is heavily involved in short sprints and he was willing to take the chance with me,” he explained.

“By the end of 2008 I had become the South Eastern Conference (SEC) champion, the SEC champion indoors and the SEC champion outdoors. I had been the fastest person to come through LSU and I’ve been the fastest person to come through the NCAA,” he revealed.

The ace sprinter noted that he does not concern himself with other people’s opinions.

“It is about believing that you can do something — having that goal, believing in it, and going out and accomplishing it,” Thompson declared.

The 28-year-old sent out a message to all young athletes in TT to not be afraid to fail in order to succeed.

“In order to succeed you can’t be afraid to fail. You would have setbacks along the way,” he noted.

He later quoted Boldon, stating, “The road to success isn’t always straight and it’s filled with pot holes.”

Thompson continued, “If you never failed then you never tried anything, you have to push through. Another important fact of being successful that many people leave out is surrounding yourself with positive people.”

He ended by saying that success depends on each individual and how bad you want it.

“Ultimately it all comes back to you, how bad do you want it, how bad you want to succeed. It is very easy to point fingers at people and blame them for not delivering on their promises, but in the end they go on with their lives and do what they have to do and you are stuck there not accomplishing what you want to. It is up to you to find your way out of those situations and become better,” he stressed.

“You control your destiny, find those who support you on your journey and eliminate those who don’t. Apply this to all aspects of life and you would see that it teaches you not just what to expect from people but how to treat people as well.” He ended by sayingt he intends to give back to the youth of TT by hosting clinics, camps, talks, to be a role model and inspire other people.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 06:46:18 PM by Socapro »

Re: Thompson encourages youths to follow their dreams
« Reply #175 on: November 14, 2014, 01:14:11 PM »

Good  :beermug:

Media reporting off the mark
« Reply #176 on: November 14, 2014, 01:22:44 PM »
Media reporting off the mark
Published: Friday, November 14, 2014
Carla Rauseo (T&T Guardian)

Richard Thompson

A sport science symposium was held this weekend. A fabulous job was done by the organisers, but unfortunately the media failed to do the event justice. I am yet to find a newspaper article stating that the symposium was actually about the science and practice of running.

A CNC3 report on Monday night, also failed to properly inform the public about the educational content of the event. Instead, the highlight of the report was the fantastic speech delivered by track sprinter, Richard Thompson. His speech was extremely well-delivered, the content was profound, humble and truly inspiring to young athletes.

By no means do I intend to detract from the importance and impact of Mr Thompson’s speech. It is absolutely deserving of every bit of publicity that it got. Rather, I am disappointed in the media’s coverage of the event as a whole. The symposium aimed to disseminate scientific information in the fields of nutrition, sport science, rehabilitation and strength and conditioning to help runners improve performance and prevent injury. But one would not have grasped the true extent of what a symposium like this aims to provide and accomplish, based on the coverage by the media.

It was failure in reporting, as the media has deprived the public of an opportunity to understand what else occurs at such events, and what is occurring in the scientific world of sport and in the lives of our very own athletes. Isn’t the goal of the media to educate and inform? What else went on in the symposium? One would have no clue unless one was there. Brainless reporting.

An incident that occurred after the event was a reflection of the ignorance of even people in the fitness industry when it comes to sport science. A young gentleman in the fitness promotion industry who attended the conference, made the mistake of  asserting with great confidence in the presence of one of my colleagues, that cricketers do not need to be strong. A heated discussion ensued. The gentleman, with wrong and strong attitude, was determined to win the argument against a small female, who eventually resorted to quoting definitions of strength and power to put him in his place.

The fact that cricket is one of the biggest sports in the country and region, and the fact that a young man in the fitness industry still thinks that cricket is played by weak, unathletic men in this day and age is deplorable. I realised that in addition to a lack of knowledge about components of fitness, this is probably what he sees on television…men hitting a ball and running down a pitch. But gone are the days when what one sees on the field is how athletes train.

The media has a huge role in changing this perception and needs to start asking better questions of all athletes about what goes on off the pitch and behind the scenes. Sport is more of a science than ever before, where milliseconds matter and when competition is this close, success is not by accident. The media should reflect this in its reporting, rather than the “froo froo” and fluffy coverage of outcomes of competitions. Brainless reporting.

As citizens, we are quick to comment on the fact that sporting bodies do nothing for sports. I admit I have been one of those citizens. However, after realising the poor media coverage of events such as the symposium, I shall think twice about being critical. Is it that sporting authorities are doing nothing, or is it the media’s brainless reporting?

There is an entire field of investigative reporting in the world of sport science. There is a large gap in communication between sport scientists and coaches/trainers. They do not speak each other’s language, and it is often difficult for the scientists to disseminate their research to coaches, and athletes. The majority of local sporting practices seem to operate on dogma rather than established science. The media can play a huge role in bridging this gap, bringing the two disciplines closer to a more common language.

Likewise, the public does not speak the same language as the athlete, and fails to understand that science should inform sport. In many sports, science is ubiquitous in the daily lives of athletes, but this is not known by the public.

Most scientific information that governs practice and training is filtered from the sport scientist to the coach and then to the athlete. However, without the media, it stops at the athlete, with the public remaining ignorant, like the gentleman above who believes cricketers need not train for strength.

The media needs to catch up to the rapidly changing scientific world of sport. Smarter, more probing questions and investigations will yield a more informed public, and fewer brainless comments, from brainless reporting.

Editor’s note: Carla Rauseo, DPT, CSCS, ATRIC is a Doctor of Physical Therapy and a Certified Aquatic Therapy Rehabilitation Instructor at Total Rehabilitation Centre in San Juan.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 06:25:56 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #177 on: April 04, 2015, 03:52:44 AM »
Thompson will be running Relay today for the Tiger Olympians  'A' Team at the 2015 LSU Invitational Battle on the Bayou Meet.

http://results.deltatiming.com/tf/2015-battle-on-the-bayou/150403F002

Licensed to B. Moore Track & C. Maddox Field House - Site License
                                        HY-TEK's Meet Manager 4/3/2015 07:38 PM
       2015 LSU Invitational Battle on the Bayou - 4/3/2015 to 4/4/2015       
                              Battle on the Bayou                             
                             Bernie Moore Stadium                             
                                 Meet Program                                 

Event 2  Men 4x100 Meter Relay
===============================================================================
Saturday 4/4/2015 - 12:50 PM
 Final
     Stadium:  38.32  2002        LSU, LSU                                     
        Meet:  39.11  4/2/2011    Texas A&M, Texas A&M                         
                      T Howell, G Phiri, M Bryan, P Hardy, Jr.         
     School                                                                 
Section 1  Timed Finals
  3  Mississippi Valley  'A'                                     
     1) Eric Chism SR                   2) Jatarius Harris SR             
     3) Deion Reid SO                   4) Earl Winters SR               
     5) Cleother Crain SR               6) Jalen Johnson SR               
  4  Hinds CC  'A'                                               
     1) Doug Ball FR                    2) Kristopher Kimble FR           
     3) Dontarian Evans FR              4) Adrian Kimmons SO             
  5  Tiger Olympians  'A'                                         
     1) Shermund Allsop SR              2) Armanti Hayes SR               
     3) Gabriel Mvumvure SR             4) Richard Thompson SR           
  6  LSU  'A'                                                     
     1) Joshua Thompson SR              2) Vernon Norwood SR             
     3) Tremayne Acy SO                 4) Aaron Ernest SR               
  7  SE Louisiana  'A'                                           
     1) Ken Breland SO                  2) Billy Minnifield SR           
     3) Raheem Brown JR                 4) Kadarius Williams JR           
     5) Marquise Frugre' JR             6)                               

Another Trini Shermund Allsop will also be on the Tiger Olympians  'A'.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

In addition Richard will also be running the 200m today at this same Meet in the section 1 Finals while Shermund Allsop will run in the Section 2 Finals.

http://results.deltatiming.com/tf/2015-battle-on-the-bayou/150403F018

Licensed to B. Moore Track & C. Maddox Field House - Site License
                                        HY-TEK's Meet Manager 4/3/2015 07:38 PM
                              Battle on the Bayou                             
                             Bernie Moore Stadium                             
                                 Meet Program                                 

Event 18  Men 200 Meter Dash
Saturday 4/4/2015 - 2:40 PM
 Final (Sections against time)
     Stadium:  19.98  1998        Justin Gatlin, Tennessee                     
        Meet:  20.67  4/2/2011    Horatio Williams, LSU                       
     Name                        Year School                               
Section 1  Timed Finals
  3  Raheem Brown                  JR SE Louisiana               
  4  Deion Reid                    SO MVSU                       
  5  Richard Thompson              SR Tiger Olympi               
  6  Darrell Bush                  SR LSU                         
  7  Adrian Kimmons                SO Hinds CC                   
  8  Sheldon Williams                 Unattached                 
Section 2  Timed Finals
  2  Jordan Burks                  FR Hinds CC                   
  3  Eric Chism                    SR MVSU                       
  4  Dontarian Evans               FR Hinds CC                   
  5  Charles Jackson Jr               Unattached                 
  6  Shermund Allsop               SR Tiger Olympi               
  7  Chadwayne Vidal               FR Southern-NO                 
  8  Gabriel Mvumvure              SR Tiger Olympi               
Section 3  Timed Finals
  3  Dario Scantlebury             SO New Orleans                 
  4  Andon Mitchell                   Unattached                 
  5  Jatarius Harris               SR MVSU                       
  6  Albert Brock                     Unattached                 
  7  Darren Darensburg             SO New Orleans                 
  8  Shane Martin                  FR MVSU                       
  9  Handon Etienne                   Unattached                 
« Last Edit: April 04, 2015, 04:01:57 AM by Socapro »

Offline jusbless

Re: Torpedo on track
« Reply #178 on: April 04, 2015, 08:07:05 PM »
B. Moore Track & C. Maddox Field House - Site License
                          Battle on the Bayou                           
                          Bernie Moore Stadium                         

Event 18  Men 200 Meter Dash
========================================================================
 Final (Sections against time)