April 29, 2024, 03:31:50 PM

Author Topic: Beijing Men's 200m  (Read 14752 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: Beijing Men's 200m
« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2008, 06:17:43 AM »
Armstrong on de track............and doesn't make it >:(

Heat 3
18 August 2008 - 20:19
Wind: 0.4 m/s
Position    Lane    Athlete    Country    Mark    .    React
1    5    Brendan Christian    ANT    20.26 Q    .    0.166
2    8    Churandy Martina    AHO    20.42 Q    .    0.175
3    9    Kristof Beyens    BEL    20.50 Q    .    0.155
4    6    Marcin Jedrusinski    POL    20.58    (=SB)    0.199
5    4    Aaron Armstrong    TRI    20.58    .    0.155
6    7    Obinna Metu    NGR    20.65    .    0.195
7    2    Sandro Viana    BRA    21.07    .    0.168
8    3    Marc Schneeberger    SUI    21.48    .    0.156
Photofinish:\\192.168.180.236\prod$\backend\Template.Net\images\photofinish\3659\M_200_qf_3.jpg
Heat 4
18 August 2008 - 20:26
Wind: 0.3 m/s
1    8    Paul Hession    IRL    20.32 Q    (SB)    0.190
2    4    Wallace Spearmon    USA    20.39 Q    .    0.202
3    6    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure    NOR    20.45 Q    (SB)    0.131
4    7    Rondell Sorrillo    TRI    20.63    .    0.164
5    5    Ramil Guliyev    AZE    20.66    (NR)    0.174
6    3    Visa Hongisto    FIN    20.76    .    0.124
7    2    Thuso Mpuang    RSA    21.04    .    0.162
.    9    Marvin Anderson    JAM    DNF    .    0.18

Armstrong better step his game up for the 4x100m
« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 06:42:28 AM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2008, 06:48:32 AM »
At least now he'll have something left in de tank for the relay. Because it look like he woulda have to run every 200m full speed.

« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2008, 07:28:19 AM »
Like canada doing the same shyte as the US broad casters, the canadian ran 3rd  but you would think he won the heat by the way they talked him up , while nothing of the 1st & 2nd place runners.  sttuueepppsss.

« Reply #33 on: August 18, 2008, 09:29:38 AM »
Like canada doing the same shyte as the US broad casters, the canadian ran 3rd  but you would think he won the heat by the way they talked him up , while nothing of the 1st & 2nd place runners.  sttuueepppsss.

meh little small TV in meh office draw, not doing no justice nah, but for some strange reason i an all see dat.  >:(

steupse

« Reply #34 on: August 18, 2008, 09:34:55 AM »
Sorrillo just beat Bolt for first place to move on to next rounds   ;D

Offline sinned

« Reply #35 on: August 18, 2008, 12:14:12 PM »
Armstrong on de track............and doesn't make it >:(

Heat 3
18 August 2008 - 20:19
Wind: 0.4 m/s
1    5    Brendan Christian    ANT    20.26 Q    .    0.166
2    8    Churandy Martina    AHO    20.42 Q    .    0.175
3    9    Kristof Beyens    BEL    20.50 Q    .    0.155
4    6    Marcin Jedrusinski    POL    20.58    (=SB)    0.199
5    4    Aaron Armstrong    TRI    20.58    .    0.155
6    7    Obinna Metu    NGR    20.65    .    0.195
7    2    Sandro Viana    BRA    21.07    .    0.168
8    3    Marc Schneeberger    SUI    21.48    .    0.156
Photofinish:\\192.168.180.236\prod$\backend\Template.Net\images\photofinish\3659\M_200_qf_3.jpg
Heat 4
18 August 2008 - 20:26
Wind: 0.3 m/s
1    8    Paul Hession    IRL    20.32 Q    (SB)    0.190
2    4    Wallace Spearmon    USA    20.39 Q    .    0.202
3    6    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure    NOR    20.45 Q    (SB)    0.131
4    7    Rondell Sorrillo    TRI    20.63    .    0.164
5    5    Ramil Guliyev    AZE    20.66    (NR)    0.174
6    3    Visa Hongisto    FIN    20.76    .    0.124
7    2    Thuso Mpuang    RSA    21.04    .    0.162
.    9    Marvin Anderson    JAM    DNF    .    0.18

Armstrong better step his game up for the 4x100m

Very disappointing result for Armstrong. But in the interest of optimism I'll turn a blind eye to the time he ran and look at the energy he saved for the relay and the amount of time we have to practice the relays (more than the Jamaicans and the US) so hopefully it's smooth sailing

Offline Aviator

« Reply #36 on: August 18, 2008, 01:08:36 PM »
Sorrillo's moment that he will remember for a lifetime ;D
http://www.sportstrick.com/play.php?vid=1231
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #37 on: August 18, 2008, 01:56:23 PM »
Startlist for the 200m semis

Source iaaf

200 Metres - M   Semi-Final
Qual. rule: first 4 of each heat (Q) qualified.
Heat 1
Tuesday 19 August 2008 - 21:25  (9:25 am EST Tuesday Aug 19, 2008)
Lane    Athlete    Country    SB 2008    PB
2    Jared Connaughton    CAN    20.34    20.34
3    Christian Malcolm    GBR    20.30    20.08
4    Walter Dix    USA    19.86    19.69
5    Paul Hession    IRL    20.32    20.30
6    Brian Dzingai     ZIM    20.17    20.12
7    Churandy Martina AHO    20.17    20.17
8    Kristof Beyens    BEL    20.45    20.44
9    Christopher Williams JAM    20.20    20.02
Heat 2
Tuesday 19 August 2008 - 21:33 (9:33 am EST Tuesday Aug 19, 2008)
Lane    Athlete    Country    SB 2008    PB
2    Stéphane Buckland    MRI    20.37    20.06
3    Marlon Devonish     GBR    20.43    20.19
4    Brendan Christian     ANT    20.12    20.12
5    Shawn Crawford     USA    19.86    19.79
6    Usain Bolt    JAM    19.67    19.67
7    Wallace Spearmon    USA    19.90    19.65
8    Kim Collins    SKN    20.43    20.20
9    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure NOR    20.45    19.89

« Reply #38 on: August 18, 2008, 02:00:48 PM »
dat 200m finals go be UGLY...Bolt winning by about 10 meters. :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #39 on: August 19, 2008, 08:00:04 PM »
CBC TV has a documentary about Tommie Smith on now
what a MAN!!!!
meh wife say he should sue dem
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 08:02:39 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #40 on: August 20, 2008, 05:57:16 AM »

the finals comin up juss now

Here is what Michael Johnson has to say for the record.

Michael Johnson, The Daily Telegraph

RECORD SAFE … FOR NOW

After Usain Bolt’s incredible sprint to win the 100 metres last Saturday, attention has now turned to what he might do over 200 metres with many suggesting I should prepare to part with my world record of 19.32 seconds.

I have believed for some time now that Bolt is capable of breaking that record, but I don’t think he will do it here. What makes Bolt so incredible is his massive stride and his ability to sprint efficiently with such long limbs. That rare formula yields incredible results, as we witnessed on Saturday when he covered 100 metres in a world record of 9.69 seconds with less than 100% effort.

But the 200-metre race is different because it requires not just speed but also speed endurance. Also, while the 100 metres is a simple straight sprint requiring just one technique, the 200-metre race is broken down into three different zones, each requiring something different.

I don’t think Bolt has the ability at this point to run the curve well enough to clock 19.32 seconds. And I doubt if the emphasis in his training has been on speed endurance, since it was clear from what we witnessed on Saturday that his focus has been on improving his 100-metre technique.

So, for now at least, the record is safe. But only for now.

As for the actual competition, I think the gold will go to Bolt easily. Americans Walter Dix, the bronze medallist from the 100m, Shawn Crawford, the defending 200m Olympic champion, and Wallace Spearmon, should all figure.

But the only way either of them will steal the gold is if Bolt makes major mistakes and doesn’t run to his potential. Although he may not smash the record, I back him to run even faster than the 19.67 seconds he ran this year in a Grand Prix at Athens.

Start List

Lane     Athlete     Country     SB 2008     PB
2    Kim Collins    SKN    20.25    20.20
3    Christian Malcolm  GBR    20.25    20.08
4    Shawn Crawford    USA    19.86    19.79
5    Usain Bolt    JAM    19.67    19.67
6    Brian Dzingai    ZIM    20.17    20.12
7    Churandy Martina  AHO    20.11    20.11
8    Walter Dix    USA    19.86    19.69
9    Wallace Spearmon  USA    19.90    19.65

« Reply #41 on: August 20, 2008, 06:00:13 AM »
CBC TV has a documentary about Tommie Smith on now
what a MAN!!!!
meh wife say he should sue dem

Don't forget John Carlos either  :beermug:

leroy

« Reply #42 on: August 20, 2008, 06:33:14 AM »
as I said , If im give it 100% effort World Record !!. :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #43 on: August 20, 2008, 07:11:15 AM »
what time is the final and does anyone have a feed?

« Reply #44 on: August 20, 2008, 07:30:32 AM »

10:20 am

Check TV streams for CBC TV in Canada because i am almost positive CBC will broadcast live

« Reply #45 on: August 20, 2008, 07:40:51 AM »

10:20 am

Check TV streams for CBC TV in Canada because i am almost positive CBC will broadcast live
stream for those outside the USA
07:20 am pacific time ;)
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 07:42:28 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline QR20DET

« Reply #46 on: August 20, 2008, 07:43:18 AM »
none of them showin in trini...any others?

« Reply #47 on: August 20, 2008, 08:15:01 AM »
Ah hope Bolt turn round and run the last 5m backwards while giving the Americans Bob Costas the finger

« Reply #48 on: August 20, 2008, 08:23:25 AM »
19.31?

« Reply #49 on: August 20, 2008, 08:23:47 AM »
Wheeeeyyyyyyy....

« Reply #50 on: August 20, 2008, 08:23:50 AM »

« Reply #51 on: August 20, 2008, 08:25:33 AM »
i'm speechless....

Offline QR20DET

« Reply #52 on: August 20, 2008, 08:28:05 AM »
and to think this man is 21 goin on 22 AND HAVE ABOUT TWO OLYMPICS ONCE HE IS HEALTHY!!!
WHAT THE HELL!!!

bIG UP CHURANDY MARTINA SAME WAY

« Reply #53 on: August 20, 2008, 08:28:29 AM »
Wow, I get goosebumps watching that.
That is spectacular. Now all we could hope for is no drug related questions.

You see Churandy come 2nd.
Once again, 2 West Indians an an American.

He didn't celebrate in that one during the race though, ran through the tape.
Michael Johnson, your prediction wasn't good. 1 record gone.

« Reply #54 on: August 20, 2008, 08:29:36 AM »
ah miss it...

what was the second place time?

He crawl the on he hands and de knees the last 20 metres?
Tip toe across the line? anything?

« Reply #55 on: August 20, 2008, 08:29:56 AM »
spearmon celebrating the bronze.  nbc site say he disqualified.

« Reply #56 on: August 20, 2008, 08:30:28 AM »
ah miss it...

martina from netherlands antilles 2nd in 19.82

« Reply #57 on: August 20, 2008, 08:30:41 AM »

Here is what Michael Johnson has to say for the record.

Michael Johnson, The Daily Telegraph

RECORD SAFE … FOR NOW

I have believed for some time now that Bolt is capable of breaking that record, but I don’t think he will do it here.

But the 200-metre race is different because it requires not just speed but also speed endurance. Also, while the 100 metres is a simple straight sprint requiring just one technique, the 200-metre race is broken down into three different zones, each requiring something different.

I don’t think Bolt has the ability at this point to run the curve well enough to clock 19.32 seconds. And I doubt if the emphasis in his training has been on speed endurance, since it was clear from what we witnessed on Saturday that his focus has been on improving his 100-metre technique.

So, for now at least, the record is safe. But only for now.

« Reply #58 on: August 20, 2008, 08:31:21 AM »
LOL Spearmom prancing around like a king and trash talking into the camera with the flag and he get DQ   :rotfl:

« Reply #59 on: August 20, 2008, 08:31:52 AM »
ah miss it...

martina from netherlands antilles 2nd in 19.82

Oh geeed....

That is plenty more licks than Frankie and Ato get in 96