April 16, 2024, 05:53:52 AM

Author Topic: Beijing Men's 200m  (Read 14654 times)

Re: Beijing Men's 200m
« Reply #60 on: August 20, 2008, 08:32:03 AM »
spearmon celebrating the bronze.  nbc site say he disqualified.

that is serious talk?

and spearmon busy farling with bolt.

« Reply #61 on: August 20, 2008, 08:32:48 AM »
ah miss it...

what was the second place time?

He crawl the on he hands and de knees the last 20 metres?
Tip toe across the line? anything?

nah boy
he run it out

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #62 on: August 20, 2008, 08:34:48 AM »
Bolt give that one everything he had, from start to finish.  And even though there was no-one close, he still dip at the line.  He wanted that world record.

Amazing performance by Bolt. :beermug:
.........and may God bless our Nation.

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #63 on: August 20, 2008, 08:35:24 AM »

Here is what Michael Johnson has to say for the record.

Michael Johnson, The Daily Telegraph

RECORD SAFE … FOR NOW

I have believed for some time now that Bolt is capable of breaking that record, but I don’t think he will do it here.

But the 200-metre race is different because it requires not just speed but also speed endurance. Also, while the 100 metres is a simple straight sprint requiring just one technique, the 200-metre race is broken down into three different zones, each requiring something different.

I don’t think Bolt has the ability at this point to run the curve well enough to clock 19.32 seconds. And I doubt if the emphasis in his training has been on speed endurance, since it was clear from what we witnessed on Saturday that his focus has been on improving his 100-metre technique.

So, for now at least, the record is safe. But only for now.

[urlhttp://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/live_action/default.stm]1529: "Unbelievable. That was even better then the 100m because he used every single ounce of energy. He wanted that world record. It wasn't about beating anyone else because he was way ahead. Congratulations Usain Bolt."
Former 200m world record holder Michael Johnson[/url]

eating crow!!!!!!!

« Reply #64 on: August 20, 2008, 08:37:02 AM »
yuh done know!!!....

Wheeeeyyyy where dey find dis man dread!!....and look at de distance between he and de 2nd place..... :o :o :o

Nah it official.....he eh human...

Big up Bolt!!!

« Reply #65 on: August 20, 2008, 09:15:01 AM »

« Reply #66 on: August 20, 2008, 09:27:54 AM »
.....and de fella who come 3rd from the US ...Wallace Spearmon (ah think).....get disqualified....poor fella, he run in somebody lane....

he celebrating, and celebrating and next ting he face change to "who me??"...when de officials tell him he get disqualified....ah feel bad for him....

« Reply #67 on: August 20, 2008, 09:30:07 AM »

« Reply #68 on: August 20, 2008, 09:32:43 AM »
Bolt give that one everything he had, from start to finish.  And even though there was no-one close, he still dip at the line.  He wanted that world record.

Amazing performance by Bolt. :beermug:
yeah, he proved that he is a class act even though he may have offended some in the 100m

GREAT run man :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #69 on: August 20, 2008, 09:35:38 AM »
sigh  :( , this is just unreal  :o

« Reply #70 on: August 20, 2008, 10:46:00 AM »

« Reply #71 on: August 20, 2008, 10:58:12 AM »
Wha dey jail is dis....uhmm Bolt and he record okay doh ???

Churandy MARTINA of Netherlands Antilles finished and American Wallace Spearmon finished third, but both were disqualified for stepping on lane lines.

That elevated American Shawn Crawford, who entered as the defending Olympic champion, to silver and teammate Walter Dix to bronze. (Full results)

Spearmon's DQ happened almost immediately after the race, but he learned only after several minutes of celebration. Martina's DQ came nearly two hours after the race, after officials analyzed video replays.

« Reply #72 on: August 20, 2008, 11:01:10 AM »
I feel them get disqualified because they was watching bolt performance. Don't blame them

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #73 on: August 20, 2008, 11:11:17 AM »
http://www.iaaf.org/oly08/results/eventCode=3659/racedate=08-20-2008/sex=M/discCode=200/combCode=hash/roundCode=f/results.html#det15 Aug

200 Metres - M   FINAL
20 August 2008 - 22:20 - revisedWind: -0.9 m/s
Position   Lane   Athlete   Country   Mark    .   React
1   5   Usain Bolt               JAM   19.30   (WR)   0.182
2   4   Shawn Crawford      USA   19.96    .   0.210
3   8   Walter Dix               USA   19.98    .   0.151
4   6   Brian Dzingai           ZIM   20.22    .   0.185
5   3   Christian Malcolm     GBR   20.40    .   0.212
6   2   Kim Collins              SKN   20.59    .   0.165
.   7   Churandy Martina      AHO   DQ    .   0.144
.   9   Wallace Spearmon  USA   DQ    .   0.167

« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 12:05:26 PM by takenoprisoners »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #74 on: August 20, 2008, 11:31:17 AM »
http://s157.photobucket.com/albums/t76/TCana/?action=view&current=Picture-3.flv

for allyuh who ain't see it yet

Thanks...ah was in de dentist chair at de time.

Congrats to Bolt and to Jamaica.  Well deserved.  Ah woulda well like tuh be in Jamaica dis week.  Ah could jes imagine de party.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #75 on: August 20, 2008, 11:41:57 AM »

Thanks to Carib-Briton... on another site.

You can see Martina stepping on the line as he rounds the curve in the first frame... Spearmon doing the same in the next.

« Reply #76 on: August 20, 2008, 11:45:44 AM »
i actually saw spearmon's breaching of the line  when they where showing the replays but since  i  saw him celebrating i thought it was ok to mash the line once u dont pass it.

feel very sorry 4 them. especially martina , the man was chalking up PB one after the other both in the 100 and 200

« Reply #77 on: August 20, 2008, 12:44:54 PM »
Ah feeling it for Churandy Martin....woulda be nice to for him to get a medal. He was running very, very good through the 100 heats....I didn't even realise he was second in the 200 I was too busy marvelling at Bolt...

Ah boy....ah cyar begin to imagine how he feeling.... :(

« Reply #78 on: August 20, 2008, 02:19:25 PM »
i actually saw spearmon's breaching of the line  when they where showing the replays but since  i  saw him celebrating i thought it was ok to mash the line once u dont pass it.

feel very sorry 4 them. especially martina , the man was chalking up PB one after the other both in the 100 and 200

In hindsight this performance in the 200 shouldn't have been a surprise (at least not to me)... in the 100m he was dead last at 40m and ran down the whole pack to take the bronze. Another 10-20 meters and he mighta pass Richard too.

« Reply #79 on: August 20, 2008, 03:46:52 PM »
dat 200m finals go be UGLY...Bolt winning by about 10 meters. :beermug: :beermug:

Like I said before....UGLY :beermug: :beermug:

BIG UP BOLT!!!!! :beermug:

« Reply #80 on: August 20, 2008, 04:15:52 PM »
I really feel sad for Martina. That is a cruel lesson. Especially in the big dance. I hope the youth learn from their mistakes.

« Reply #81 on: August 20, 2008, 04:18:39 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

man start to celebrate and uncle sam take they medals :rotfl: :rotfl:

iz ato fault ;D

« Reply #82 on: August 20, 2008, 05:31:24 PM »
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/html/20080819T210000-0500_139229_OBS_OH_TO_BE_YOUNG__GIFTED_AND_BLACK.asp

Oh to be young, gifted and black

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

We are absolutely dumbfounded by the uncomplimentary spin that some sections of the international community have begun to put on what, from our perspective, reflects the playful, confident and charming side of young Mr Usain Bolt, the world's fastest man.

According to the detractors, the congratulatory slap of the chest that Mr Bolt gave himself and the fact that he looked around at his competitors just before crossing the finish line on Saturday were unsportsmanlike and disrespectful of the spirit of the games.

He should have waited, they say, until he crossed the finish line before congratulating himself.

Why? we ask.

Given the length by which Mr Bolt trumped his competition, he was certainly within his rights.

And the magnitude of his achievement - breaking his own record of 9.72 seconds to set a new Olympic and World record of 9.69 seconds - certainly demanded celebration.

But whether they realise it or not, the thing that is really hurting Mr Bolt's detractors is what we here in Jamaica call plain old 'bad mind'.

Yes, jealousy, envy, covetousness, the entire gamut of sinful emotions that rear their ugly heads in people who see others accomplish - with obvious and consummate ease - what they would so badly love to achieve themselves, but can only dream of, are behind this diseased opinion. For if he had punched the air in personal triumph before crossing the finish line in last position, long after everyone had finished the race, nobody would be complaining.

In fact, many of those complaining about Mr Bolt's exuberance now - including Mr Ato Boldon, who himself indulged in his own bit of showboating when he was competitive - were silent when, in previous years, American sprinters celebrated their victories in almost similar style at the Olympics.
But the glorious fact is that Mr Bolt won - handsomely - with consummate ease while his opponents struggled. He had time to cruise across the finish line in style - justifiably proud style - giving the cameras a truly attractive champion shot which embodied the spirit of the late great Dr Nina Simone's song, Young, Gifted And Black.

That's a signature shot that will give generations of young Jamaicans and indeed Caribbean nationals an image of black pride for years to come.

Mr Bolt will be remembered for his record-breaking speed.

Just as important, he'll be remembered for his unique identity and his vivacious personality to which we are indebted for the marvellous mix of sports and entertainment which the Olympics is about.

Anyone with the simplest working knowledge of the history of slavery will understand the importance that issues of identity hold for people like Jamaicans whose ancestors were robbed of it by colonialists who worked so hard to dehumanise generations of other races in order to justify their ruthless and immoral acts of domination.

And they'll be offended by the notion that Mr Bolt's displays of personality are offensive.

Because they're not.

They simply point to the fact that Mr Bolt is on top of his game, enjoying fine form courtesy of years of hard work and God-given talent and, as every proud black person who knows themselves should be doing right now, rightfully revelling in the moment.

« Reply #83 on: August 20, 2008, 07:24:34 PM »
That editorial is such an uneducated, unmitigated, unfounded pack of shit it's not even funny.  Conveniently enough the comment section is disabled.

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #84 on: August 20, 2008, 07:24:51 PM »
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/html/20080819T210000-0500_139229_OBS_OH_TO_BE_YOUNG__GIFTED_AND_BLACK.asp

Oh to be young, gifted and black

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

We are absolutely dumbfounded by the uncomplimentary spin that some sections of the international community have begun to put on what, from our perspective, reflects the playful, confident and charming side of young Mr Usain Bolt, the world's fastest man.

According to the detractors, the congratulatory slap of the chest that Mr Bolt gave himself and the fact that he looked around at his competitors just before crossing the finish line on Saturday were unsportsmanlike and disrespectful of the spirit of the games.

He should have waited, they say, until he crossed the finish line before congratulating himself.

Why? we ask.

Given the length by which Mr Bolt trumped his competition, he was certainly within his rights.

And the magnitude of his achievement - breaking his own record of 9.72 seconds to set a new Olympic and World record of 9.69 seconds - certainly demanded celebration.

But whether they realise it or not, the thing that is really hurting Mr Bolt's detractors is what we here in Jamaica call plain old 'bad mind'.

Yes, jealousy, envy, covetousness, the entire gamut of sinful emotions that rear their ugly heads in people who see others accomplish - with obvious and consummate ease - what they would so badly love to achieve themselves, but can only dream of, are behind this diseased opinion. For if he had punched the air in personal triumph before crossing the finish line in last position, long after everyone had finished the race, nobody would be complaining.

In fact, many of those complaining about Mr Bolt's exuberance now - including Mr Ato Boldon, who himself indulged in his own bit of showboating when he was competitive - were silent when, in previous years, American sprinters celebrated their victories in almost similar style at the Olympics.
But the glorious fact is that Mr Bolt won - handsomely - with consummate ease while his opponents struggled. He had time to cruise across the finish line in style - justifiably proud style - giving the cameras a truly attractive champion shot which embodied the spirit of the late great Dr Nina Simone's song, Young, Gifted And Black.

That's a signature shot that will give generations of young Jamaicans and indeed Caribbean nationals an image of black pride for years to come.

Mr Bolt will be remembered for his record-breaking speed.

Just as important, he'll be remembered for his unique identity and his vivacious personality to which we are indebted for the marvellous mix of sports and entertainment which the Olympics is about.

Anyone with the simplest working knowledge of the history of slavery will understand the importance that issues of identity hold for people like Jamaicans whose ancestors were robbed of it by colonialists who worked so hard to dehumanise generations of other races in order to justify their ruthless and immoral acts of domination.

And they'll be offended by the notion that Mr Bolt's displays of personality are offensive.

Because they're not.

They simply point to the fact that Mr Bolt is on top of his game, enjoying fine form courtesy of years of hard work and God-given talent and, as every proud black person who knows themselves should be doing right now, rightfully revelling in the moment.

Whoever wrote this should be fired on the spot. I am realizing more and more on a daily basis that "our people" have a serious problem with the command of the English Language as well as basic research skills.

Since when does margin of victory justify "chest thumping" or "demand celebration"? Who exactly made this declaration? Samaranch? Rogges? De Coubertin?

And since when is the Olympics about "sports and entertainment"?!

"The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well."

Anybody read anything about "entertainment" in the Olympic Creed?! WHO exactly is the idiot that wrote this article?

BTW reading that Olympic Creed should dispel this lunacy that trashing you competition somehow validates more outlandish celebration than someone who wins by a smaller margin. Not to mention thrash the comparisons people are trying to make with the NBA/NFL and the OLYMPIC GAMES

Furthermore, the attempt to suggest Ato was silent when the Americans celebrated their victories in the past is a terrible comparison. Anybody recall Ato broadcasting at an Olympic Games before? Yet alone on NBC? If not then he cannot be accused of remaining silent in the past when he clearly did not have the same forum to articulate his view like he had Monday night. This is his first time broadcasting the Olympic Games on NBC!

What is most disturbing about this "editorial" is that Usain's behavior is somehow seen as empowering Afro-Caribbean people. To infer the suppression of expression during slavery as justification for hot-dogging in 2008 is absolutely and totally ridiculous. I can live with youthfiul exuberance, flair and elation as justification for Usain's antics...NOT slavery! This piece of shit article really does a great injustice to Jamaicans, West Indians and Black people as a whole.

Usain Bolt inspires Jamaicans with his hard work, great performances and vibrant personality. I doubt any of us would feel less empowered if he didn't slap his chest or more empowered if he did. It ain't that serious where a supposedly credible media house has to stoop so low to baselessly accuse Ato of jealousy, envy, covetousness and badmind when all he has done is sing Usain's praises all year...including the SAID interview that so many people have a problem with.

To be honest I can understand both sides of this debate even though I disagree with one side but this was an atrocious piece of journalism! Really sad when the worst view expressed on this whole 'situation' as Ato puts it comes from a respected Caribbean newspaper

P.S. I hope when Barack Obama win the White House, he slaps his chest while being sworn in. Black Power! :rotfl:

« Reply #85 on: August 20, 2008, 08:21:28 PM »
just saw dix reaction wen he realized he won the bronze. He was not overly happy and even commented to his agent wen she was congratulating him, "I still lost". Glad to see he was still humble with it.
Still really feeling it for them DQ-ed runners tho

« Reply #86 on: August 20, 2008, 08:35:15 PM »
Flash,
 this quote:
The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well."

In  this day and age nobody takes those idealistic creed seriously. Especially the big countries. It is win at all cost. Did you read some of the reaction of the Chinese when some of their athlets failed. You would be surprised

What if TT did not get a medal, you think the people home would be talking about Olympic ideals. Is "they is a bunch of damn shithounds".

Do you think a bronze medal would get a US athlete on the cornflakes box. Think again.

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #87 on: August 20, 2008, 08:45:07 PM »
Flash,
 this quote:
The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well."

In  this day and age nobody takes those idealistic creed seriously. Especially the big countries. It is win at all cost. Did you read some of the reaction of the Chinese when some of their athlets failed. You would be surprised

What if TT did not get a medal, you think the people home would be talking about Olympic ideals. Is "they is a bunch of damn shithounds".

Do you think a bronze medal would get a US athlete on the cornflakes box. Think again.

While I don't disagree with what you said, that doesn't make it right. Everybody knows the Olympics is over commercialized and politicized and that is one of the reasons why drug use has been so rampant.

The FACT of the matter is that the Olympic Creed still governs the Spirit of the Games and thus the writer of that editorial was being ridiculous in saying the games were about "sports and entertainment". Maybe it is in his/her warped mind but that is not what the games is supposed to be about

No overzealous Chinese, fickle Trinidadians or cereal companies can ever change that

« Reply #88 on: August 20, 2008, 10:11:18 PM »
fLaSh, you are right on!  I understand the exuberance.  If I was in Bolt's shoes, I may have done what he did.  That still don't make it right, and it is good when in our moments of mistakes or weakness someone, even the corrupt media, can call us to order no matter what their motive might be.  And Bolt is still a great young man, but our people must always aim higher and don't react so negatively to every criticism.