March 29, 2024, 03:01:31 AM

Author Topic: Ato a hater  (Read 16541 times)

Re: Ato a hater
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2008, 03:31:37 AM »
Every sport that has a charismatic individual benefits from that individual....no one on this forum needs me to tell them about what Mohammed Ali did for the sport.

Lewwe go to cricket....Kevin Pietersen do 2 reverse sweep sixes, the purists complaining about showmanship ran to the MCC and ask them if the stroke need to be outlawed...the MCC said no, it's good for the sport.

And everyone know how C. Ronaldo was lambsated for his stepovers as 'showmanship'....42 goals later, a richer EPL later, no complaints.

Bolt is a tremendous breath of fresh air for track and field, whose image has been tarnished by the doping scandal. Ato even acknowledges that when he concludes in the NY Times article that Swimming has Phelps, their 3m pools and LZR suits, while track and field has ussain bolt.

And who are we to see that it wasn't a a spontaneous eruption of joy at what he had/was about to achieve

How many of all yuh winning by such a clear margin at the tender age of 21, know how u'll would have reacted.

The commentators mused how fast he would have run had he not put up his hands when he ran the 9.72, he show them he could run a 9.69 with no wind and his hands up again...you figure he cater bout whether he break the WR?... he said and i believe him that he didn't know he broke the record until he did his lap of honour.....records could be broken, they can't take away his gold .....(well unless the Beijing lab find something, which I doubt they will)

Also the fact that no one did it before DURING a race is because they COULDN'T; no one has EVER won a 100m final by that margin.

As they said in Trelawney....'Gwan Ussain'..Like urself brethren

p.s Big up to man like Torpedo Thompson...QRC go hadda name a 'house' after you for sports day!
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 03:35:16 AM by FLi ! »

« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2008, 05:39:35 AM »

i going to chew up some more bandwidth to comment on this tempest in a teapot.

So de man pound his chest ... so what?

Poor showmanship? ... maybe, maybe not.

Was he disrespecting his competitors?  from what i saw, i dont think so, all i saw was an exuberant youth. But i dont know the man .... all i saw was a few minutes of pre and post game coverage.

I did not see any one the 91,000 fans sitting and admonishing Bolt after the race.  In fact they were standing and cheering,

Much ado about nothing.

Contrary to what many people think, the Olympic Games is a big political well oiled behemoth. What Bolt did or did not do is small potatoes in the overall scheme of the Olympics

OK , enuf with my use of idioms

that is my 2 cents (oops)

« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2008, 06:50:08 AM »
thats a good informative post Flash but you know what I have to laugh at.

Not one of you voiced displeasure with or objection to Bolt's celebrations until it came up in this article.

so if it was so blatantly unacceptable, where was the outcry all the long? how all of a sudden now man jumping on that train and saying yes, Bolt shouldn't have done what he did?

As for the post race as opposed to pre race argument, there's no significant difference in my opinion.

I'd take Bolt and the chest thump over any of HSI with Greene and yes Ato self with they testosterone driven lil boy pre and post race antics any day of the week.

At least Bolt does handle himself like ah big man.

You can stop laughing at the fact that I raised no objection before the article because I said in my post that what Bolt did is not the worst thing in the world. It isn't!
Usain Bolt is the most incredible athlete I have seen in person...period!  I saw the man live in person at Hampton Games this year and when I saw his acceleration the first image that rushed to my mind was a BWEE plane taking off. That 9.92 he jogged in the Beijing QF is eaxctly what he did in Trinidad.
This chesthumping incident does not make me any less off a Usain Bolt fan simply because I know the kind of person he is. I ran unto the infield and waited till he finish his cool down and got my autograph and the next time he comes to Trinidad come hell or high water I'm getting a picture with him this time!

Having said that I can laugh at his antics and then say I wouldn't want to see any of the kids in my club or school district doing that. Beating your chest is entertaining...it is not exemplary. I haven't lost sleep over Usain's behavior but I'm not gonna sit here and say it is behavior worth emulating and I sure as hell am not gonna sit and say Ato should defend it because his mother is from Clarendon.

All of you who sooo offended by Ato's criticism of Bolt would cringe if you went to Primary School Championships and Secondary School Championships and every school boy celebrated in that manner. THAT is what this debate about Bolt's display is all about. Kids emulate these guys and you know it. Perhaps many of you don't even attend those championships but if you do I am certain you would see any such behavior admonished by the teachers and coaches involved. As someone involved in BOTH events I have to disagree with the indifference with Bolt's behavior simply because I can't preach one thing to children and not have a problem with their hero, Usain, practicing another

If you think Bolt is more "manly" than HSI that's your perogative.
Ask yourself this question though...which is more likely to make an IOC commercial promoting the Olympic Spirit in four years to promote the London Games?
Mo, Ato and Obadele praying after the Sydney 100m or Usain looking around and beating his chest as he crosses the line?
I know which image I'd pick and I think Jacques Rogge does too.

Flash, you say that you wouldn't want to see any of the kids reproducing Bolt's antics in a Primary School Championships.

Fair enough.

But I counter that 90% of the behaviour we've seen over the years from top tier sprinters you wouldn't want to see from the kids. Oh gosh man, we all know how sprinters for the most part does conduct it.. like some egotistical pricks.. But if that is what they feel they need to do to pump themselves up to give them an edge over the competition, then so be it.

I like how Ato in his rebuttal conveniently skip over the references to his and his HSI buddies' antics during their time in the limelight. Most of what he responded to was not even a bone of contention in this post. All that stuff about the fans hating on him, and about what he has to deal with being on the big stage belongs in the Sam thread.  I just really don't get this sudden change of heart from a man who used to fully endorse Mo Greene and his disrespectful antics throughout his career.

Like Fli said.. I sincerely doubt that anyone in that stadium or watching on television, or even running alongside him interpreted Bolt's celebration stunt as anything offensive.. Everyone I talk to just recount how they sat in awe and marvelled at that performance.

but like Ato rightly said, he's entitled to his opinion and we're entitled to ours.

« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2008, 07:50:35 AM »
Yesterday when Wallace Spearmon did a "brush my shoulder off" move in his 200m round, I asked that it not make air...it didn't. Where is Wallace from?

So nobody in the U.S. saw that??...no wonder  costas or nobody else  mention it
I find that look way worse than Bolt chest ting plus spearmon was runnin ah heat...(btw what is the story wit he and dat chain in he mout for de whole race ting?)

Anyway, to add pitchoil to the fire, why would you ask that spearmons silly antics not be shown?
so far man call yuh ah "bullah" a "hater"..ah go hadda add 'censorship maker' to yuh resume or wha?  ;)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 08:09:12 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #34 on: August 19, 2008, 08:34:58 AM »
Yesterday when Wallace Spearmon did a "brush my shoulder off" move in his 200m round, I asked that it not make air...it didn't. Where is Wallace from?

..(btw what is the story wit he and dat chain in he mout for de whole race ting?)

loads of ppl doing that, including Marc Burns; that's a comfort thing, like those running with shades or with the nike wings, or even tall socks.... ;D

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #35 on: August 19, 2008, 09:21:30 AM »
Bolt was running with chain in he mouth all up to early last year too and Wally was dusting him left right and centre. As soon as he stop Wally cyar beat him since ;D

« Reply #36 on: August 19, 2008, 09:38:37 AM »

I like how Ato in his rebuttal conveniently skip over the references to his and his HSI buddies' antics during their time in the limelight. Most of what he responded to was not even a bone of contention in this post. All that stuff about the fans hating on him, and about what he has to deal with being on the big stage belongs in the Sam thread.  I just really don't get this sudden change of heart from a man who used to fully endorse Mo Greene and his disrespectful antics throughout his career.

Actually if you read closer you'd see where he said he voiced his own objections to some of the antics... and then he underscored the fact that the celebrations were done AFTER the race.

Everybody who talking about spontaneous celebration and what who woulda dun in his position is missing the point... I haven't heard one person say that Usain Bolt intended to disrespect his opponents.  As we all know sometimes even the most innocent of actions can have unintended consequences, so intent doesn't really factor into this discussion, a fact that should have been clear by the focus (by critics) on his youth.

At the end of the day Usain Bolt is paid to run races, not listen to critics.  Commentators are paid to offer opinions, not worry about who will agree with them or not.  Finally, for all the ccorruption and commercialism that has encroached upon the Olympics, an overriding spirit of sportsmanship is still a part of the mission statement and very much expected among competitors... hence the retroactive disqualification of the Swedish (?) weightlifter for tossing aside his bronze medal.  It is in light of this high estimation of sportsmanship that much of the criticism seems justified... whether we choose to agree with it or not.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 10:40:14 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #37 on: August 19, 2008, 09:53:45 AM »
Yow Ato , you have time to satisfy these  fellas who looking for attention! stuueepppsss, bredder yuh have ah job to do and yuh doing it well.

these dick heads can't pay yuh, so fack away with them! i suggest that yuh concentrate on yuh bread and butter and tuh hell wid john public.

you are ah legend in my book, so keep on keeping on. Good luck fardder with yuh new career. these punks just looking for rank so they could say they dis Ato bolden.                            positive.

Yuh know!
I woulda think that instead of wasting he time with the fools on this forum, hewoulda be practicing he Chinese. Ay Ato, how yuh does say "happy ending"?  ;D

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #38 on: August 19, 2008, 10:12:57 AM »
Flash, you say that you wouldn't want to see any of the kids reproducing Bolt's antics in a Primary School Championships.

Fair enough.

But I counter that 90% of the behaviour we've seen over the years from top tier sprinters you wouldn't want to see from the kids. Oh gosh man, we all know how sprinters for the most part does conduct it.. like some egotistical pricks.. But if that is what they feel they need to do to pump themselves up to give them an edge over the competition, then so be it.

Like Fli said.. I sincerely doubt that anyone in that stadium or watching on television, or even running alongside him interpreted Bolt's celebration stunt as anything offensive.. Everyone I talk to just recount how they sat in awe and marvelled at that performance.

but like Ato rightly said, he's entitled to his opinion and we're entitled to ours.

Omarldinho you absolutely right...most sprinters does gallery deyself and that is what I like about it. At the same time I see nothing wrong with somebody who prides themself as being a role model telling kids not to do that. To be quite honest I never see HSI do anything during a race. There is a huge difference. If you don't understand that you don't understand track and field.

You ever see Cristiano Ronaldo take off he jersey before he hit a goal? You ever see Raul kiss his wedding ring before stringing up de keeper? When Rene Higuita come out and Roger Milla run past him to an Open goal did Roger stop and wine before OR after the goal?
I can't vouch for football but I know in track and field you celebrate after the race and even before it...not during.

If you so sure there weren't people offended by Bolts antics do an internet search on some Sports Blogs. I read thousands of messages criticising Bolt and, quite frankly, many of them were very offensive and went overboard but the fact is many people weren't too impressed by the chest thumping. There is a blog called Fourth Place Medal where a writer asked "Why Is NBC Ignoring Usain Bolt". Read the responses to that blog at your own peril.

The most I ever see HSI do is hug each other after races, Mo Greene would lick up he tongue before the race, Ato and Drummond go do dey best Darreem Charles pose after, etc. I had no problem with Mo's fire extinguisher because it was after the race. The only stupid thing Greene do on the Olympics stage was the preening after the Sydney 4x100m and the US Media killed him for it.
In any case I'd hardly call Ato congratulating his teammate an endorsement. That's more like men who bled, sweat and cried striving towards the same goal being happy for each other' s sucess. BTw there is a big difference between clowning at a Professional Grand Prix meet and clowning at the Olympics Games which is supposed to be about sportsmanship. Had Mo been pulled that Fire Extinguisher out in Sydney he woulda been expelled from that Stadium...trust me.

This is no sudden change of heart from Ato...it's called change of age. You think Ato is proud of everything he did in public when HE was 21? So because the big brother learn from his mistakes he can't advise the younger brother? Wanna bet that Thompson will never be seen doing some of the things Ato did back in the day? That's because an older, wiser Ato is in his corner advising him to act better.

Again we all fully understand Usain's exhilaration in the moment and I can live with that. This is not the end of the world. Having said that, now that he's an Olympic Champion...I hope when he wins the 200m tommorow he acts like he's been there before...because he has.

« Reply #39 on: August 19, 2008, 10:21:52 AM »
Does anyone here believe that Bolt's antics were in keeping with the olympic spirit ? I eh asking bout anybody else .... Just Bolt ..
Why he did it is another question isn't it ? In my view he took it a little too far just like de player who imitated a dog  peeing on de corner flag i after scoring in a football game... In my view he did it and I hope he learns not to do it again, and he is adivised accordingly,  ....lets move on ...if he does it again that's another story !
Ato was placed between a rock and a hard place ...he is more jamaican dan most on dis forum and put in a decent explanation but he is paid to do a professional job so he has to demonstate his professionalism ...dats why is a good ting Brown eh win de 100 metres so I coulda take he wuk ...I eh dat professional ..

« Reply #40 on: August 19, 2008, 10:22:19 AM »
good one Flash and Jai John
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline willi

« Reply #41 on: August 19, 2008, 10:49:24 AM »
I see NOT a thing wrong with what Bolt did and dont agree with Ato's assessment here. Bolt was just letting out pure joy. Bolt had NEVER dissed any opponent and always engages the crowd.

He first looked to see if Asafa was coming then looked at the crowd.

However, I  dont see any big thing in the comment either. Certanily no reason to cuss Ato or make it into any big thing.

Ato is a long time Boltist, so what's the big deal?

Storm in a teacup.

One thing though, Ato must beat his own path...not what the yankees want (entirely) and not what every Carib fans hollars at him either.

He must do what he TRULY believes and every likkle thing will be alright. I am sure Ato knows we are all opinionated squawkers! LoL

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #42 on: August 19, 2008, 11:22:05 AM »
I see NOT a thing wrong with what Bolt did and dont agree with Ato's assessment here. Bolt was just letting out pure joy. Bolt had NEVER dissed any opponent and always engages the crowd.

He first looked to see if Asafa was coming then looked at the crowd.

However, I  dont see any big thing in the comment either. Certanily no reason to cuss Ato or make it into any big thing.

Ato is a long time Boltist, so what's the big deal?

Storm in a teacup.

One thing though, Ato must beat his own path...not what the yankees want (entirely) and not what every Carib fans hollars at him either.

He must do what he TRULY believes and every likkle thing will be alright. I am sure Ato knows we are all opinionated squawkers! LoL

No harm done. I don't think for one second that Bolt was trying to disrespect his competition. However it can be interpreted that way and Usain has to understand that. I'm glad the likes of Juliet Cuthbert acknowledged that too.
This is no way, shape or form detracts from that great performance. Really happy I got to see it live this time

« Reply #43 on: August 19, 2008, 12:12:43 PM »
I will say it agin do a cartwheel in d 200 when u beat up on d field. Who vex lost

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #44 on: August 19, 2008, 12:32:15 PM »
I will say it agin do a cartwheel in d 200 when u beat up on d field. Who vex lost

Once he do it after de race :rotfl:

« Reply #45 on: August 19, 2008, 12:33:21 PM »
Ah see Sam like he delete he shit thread.

Offline jw107

« Reply #46 on: August 19, 2008, 01:27:46 PM »
I stated my opinion on the Bolt matter yesterday. I saw ABOSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. In fact what he did was one of the reasons the performance was so special and why I along with many will never forget it for those right reasons. The vast majority of the media around the world reported on how impressed they were and Bolts antics made it legendary. Michael Johnson, Sebastian Coe, Colin Jackson ,Donovan Bailey and so on all say Bolt is what Track and Field needs right now.

Now where I have the problem is for someone like Bob Costas to come on PRIMETIME AMERICAN tv and say what he did. It was a wanton attack. Before anybody goes into James Carter etc, what those folks did and what Bolt did was completely different. Carter was not even in the final. Wallace Spearmon  yesterday brushing off his shoulder-disgusting. American 4x100 team in Sydney taking off there tops wrapping the flag around their head and their subsequent interviews confirmed their mockery.

Bob Costas has no right to attack Bolt in that way given the platform Costas has. Something like that can colour the public's image of a gentle giant who only sought to celebrate his victory. Saying he was disrespectful is a travesty. He taunted no one. Costas needs to understand people's culture before he imposes his own on them and judges them by what HE deems right. Bolt in ALL his interviews was the picture of modesty and decency, if Costas took a look at those it would give him some insight into Bolt the man. Sure say it is your opinion that he should have run straight through the line but do not say the man was disrespectful. If journalists are going to be giving opinions so stridently then they need to do their research and attempt to empathise. I guess none of them could do that since they've never won an Olympic gold.

At least Lewis Johnson took Bolt's side and gave his reasons for doing so. Bob Costas has gone down in my book big time. Whilst I have no problem with him disagreeing with me, his competence as a journalist has left much to be desired. Poor, very poor.

Offline willi

« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2008, 01:37:38 PM »
For me the only disrespectful thing about te 100m is that NBC showed it 13 hours later! The damn marquis event of the whole Games.

The nerve of them!

Bhuttos with money...they highjack the Games with their filthy lucre now now all US residents are left to suffer! They rather show rythmic gymnastic qualifiers than the darn 100m final (even slightly delayed). Pathetic

« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2008, 02:20:48 PM »
I stated my opinion on the Bolt matter yesterday. I saw ABOSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. In fact what he did was one of the reasons the performance was so special and why I along with many will never forget it for those right reasons. The vast majority of the media around the world reported on how impressed they were and Bolts antics made it legendary. Michael Johnson, Sebastian Coe, Colin Jackson ,Donovan Bailey and so on all say Bolt is what Track and Field needs right now.

Now where I have the problem is for someone like Bob Costas to come on PRIMETIME AMERICAN tv and say what he did. It was a wanton attack. Before anybody goes into James Carter etc, what those folks did and what Bolt did was completely different. Carter was not even in the final. Wallace Spearmon  yesterday brushing off his shoulder-disgusting. American 4x100 team in Sydney taking off there tops wrapping the flag around their head and their subsequent interviews confirmed their mockery.

Bob Costas has no right to attack Bolt in that way given the platform Costas has. Something like that can colour the public's image of a gentle giant who only sought to celebrate his victory. Saying he was disrespectful is a travesty. He taunted no one. Costas needs to understand people's culture before he imposes his own on them and judges them by what HE deems right. Bolt in ALL his interviews was the picture of modesty and decency, if Costas took a look at those it would give him some insight into Bolt the man. Sure say it is your opinion that he should have run straight through the line but do not say the man was disrespectful. If journalists are going to be giving opinions so stridently then they need to do their research and attempt to empathise. I guess none of them could do that since they've never won an Olympic gold.

At least Lewis Johnson took Bolt's side and gave his reasons for doing so. Bob Costas has gone down in my book big time. Whilst I have no problem with him disagreeing with me, his competence as a journalist has left much to be desired. Poor, very poor.

Easy on the bombast there hero...

Offline Aviator

« Reply #49 on: August 19, 2008, 02:21:39 PM »

[/quote

Amen....hallelujah.....done talk
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #50 on: August 19, 2008, 02:42:59 PM »
Like Willi said, the only disrespectfull thing is not showing the 100metres live. Those who complaining are upset because Usain upset the so-called natural order of things. Americans must always be first.  Also the JA women clean sweep added more wood in the fire.

Much ADO about nothing.

« Reply #51 on: August 19, 2008, 02:49:23 PM »
I guess this wasn't showing off.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3m0eKpNX24

NUTSMAN was in the stands boy!! damn!!! :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #52 on: August 19, 2008, 05:11:48 PM »
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #53 on: August 19, 2008, 05:22:10 PM »
Steups, Ato is anybody to be talking about disrespecting other competitors?

He, he partner Maurice Greene and de ress ah he HSI squad was any examples for de kids to look up to as regards on track behavior?

Look doh make meh join up with Sam and go over to de dark side eh!  :devil:

boy i actually saw the thing live on NBC and was shocked Ato said it
what i bolded was the first thing that came to mind
he saying that after all the chest beating and prancing he did when he sprint....steupps

and bob costas is a lil jackass allyuh remember them forkers when donovan win the 100m and that fawker break down johnson race ion the 200m saying johnson faster at this and that point so thus is the fastest man in the world.....its nuttin but a set of USA USA USA bullshit from them all the time

What about that man who does run with the gold chain in he mouth in the 200 and beat he chest, dey ent say boo about he
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 05:24:28 PM by ricky »

« Reply #54 on: August 19, 2008, 05:27:50 PM »
Dey just play Ato talkin d nonesense 4 TNT peeps 2 here

« Reply #55 on: August 19, 2008, 06:22:43 PM »

Omarldinho you absolutely right...most sprinters does gallery deyself and that is what I like about it. At the same time I see nothing wrong with somebody who prides themself as being a role model telling kids not to do that. To be quite honest I never see HSI do anything during a race. There is a huge difference. If you don't understand that you don't understand track and field.

You ever see Cristiano Ronaldo take off he jersey before he hit a goal? You ever see Raul kiss his wedding ring before stringing up de keeper? When Rene Higuita come out and Roger Milla run past him to an Open goal did Roger stop and wine before OR after the goal?
I can't vouch for football but I know in track and field you celebrate after the race and even before it...not during.

If you so sure there weren't people offended by Bolts antics do an internet search on some Sports Blogs. I read thousands of messages criticising Bolt and, quite frankly, many of them were very offensive and went overboard but the fact is many people weren't too impressed by the chest thumping. There is a blog called Fourth Place Medal where a writer asked "Why Is NBC Ignoring Usain Bolt". Read the responses to that blog at your own peril.

The most I ever see HSI do is hug each other after races, Mo Greene would lick up he tongue before the race, Ato and Drummond go do dey best Darreem Charles pose after, etc. I had no problem with Mo's fire extinguisher because it was after the race. The only stupid thing Greene do on the Olympics stage was the preening after the Sydney 4x100m and the US Media killed him for it.
In any case I'd hardly call Ato congratulating his teammate an endorsement. That's more like men who bled, sweat and cried striving towards the same goal being happy for each other' s sucess. BTw there is a big difference between clowning at a Professional Grand Prix meet and clowning at the Olympics Games which is supposed to be about sportsmanship. Had Mo been pulled that Fire Extinguisher out in Sydney he woulda been expelled from that Stadium...trust me.

This is no sudden change of heart from Ato...it's called change of age. You think Ato is proud of everything he did in public when HE was 21? So because the big brother learn from his mistakes he can't advise the younger brother? Wanna bet that Thompson will never be seen doing some of the things Ato did back in the day? That's because an older, wiser Ato is in his corner advising him to act better.

Again we all fully understand Usain's exhilaration in the moment and I can live with that. This is not the end of the world. Having said that, now that he's an Olympic Champion...I hope when he wins the 200m tommorow he acts like he's been there before...because he has.

Good post flash, but lemme pick a hole or two.

Firstly, you can't make a comparison between football and track; they not even remotely within the same realm of norms to draw that as a reference. Two whole different animals yuh talking bout there.

Secondly, I'm glad you finally introduced a source other than the folks at NBC with regard to objection to Bolt's antics. This is what I wanted to know all the time, who is the ones complaining. However, let me say that I would be very interested in getting further information about the demographic of the track forums you cited. Something tells me the majority of the aggrieved posters logging on to servers somewhere between Mexico and Canada.

Thirdly, this talk you making about Ato has matured and is a changed man is a massive assumption. We not working with that here, we are critiquing his comments on NBC.  What you said there is the equivalent to Ben Johnson sitting in an NBC studio decrying drug cheats in track and field, and us interpreting it as a man who has matured and seen the error of his ways.. U self know that cyah happen, first reaction would be who de ass is Ben Johnson to talk about drug cheats?  Oh, and I even forgot the part where you conveniently extricated the example of HSI huddling and praying after a race as an exemplary moment yet forget all the gallery and galavanting that was more often par for the course.

Now i could see the argument for during race and post race antics (much like the outlawing of taunting in the leadup to a touchdown in NFL, but pretty much anything goes once you get into the end zone), however I didn't think Bolt's celebrations were directed at his competitors. If he had turned around on his way to the finish line and laughed in men face, then I could say it was unacceptable.. but this was a man just expressing himself on the way to victory.

So at this point ah feel we go hadda agree to disagree.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 06:34:27 PM by omarldinho »

« Reply #56 on: August 19, 2008, 06:41:39 PM »
I just have a sneaky feeling that dis whole thing became an issue because it was not an American athlete gallerying heself......Gwan Bolt boy!!!........

« Reply #57 on: August 19, 2008, 07:07:23 PM »
Yuh tink I tell yuh cartwheel 4 d final in d 200

« Reply #58 on: August 19, 2008, 07:13:11 PM »
Yuh tink I tell yuh cartwheel 4 d final in d 200

Yeah boy just stop just before de finish line and do ah big ole cartwheel over the line to end....heh heh heh....

Offline jw107

« Reply #59 on: August 19, 2008, 07:15:24 PM »
Nice post Omarldinho. You make some excellent points. The whole thing is how men could sit in a studio and criticize a man like that and the man has no way of responding to what they are saying. You have a platform like that and it colours people's perception. If the man were on the show and you put the point to him and he has a chance to respond, fine. But don't tell people the man was disrespectful when it wasn't the case. You ruin a man in the public's eyes just so ? Especially when your viewpoint is NOT in the majority ? My previous post has in the other things I want to say, especially about Bob Costas and his poor journalism.