March 28, 2024, 09:54:04 AM

Author Topic: Phelps or Bolt...you decide  (Read 7182 times)

Re: Phelps or Bolt...you decide
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 01:39:16 PM »
Like everybody doing dis .....
Look dey Canadian version

http://www.cbc.ca/olympics/story/2008/08/20/olympics-bolt-phelps.html

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 02:47:19 PM »
black man cyar swin good and white man cyar run good so they even

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2008, 02:50:06 PM »

Talk done Morvant!!...

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2008, 03:41:57 PM »

Cullen Jones and Jeremy Wariner might have some issues with that.

Right now Phelps more dominant than Bolt.

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2008, 03:43:35 PM »

ooooohhh shit man morva' ah buss yes  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
but coming to think bout it, ah never did see ah black man swim in olympics.
shari roberts from TnT, he was swimming right ??

Ah could understand ah black woman NOT swimming, cause hair relaxer expensive, and is only shower cap does go on dey head. Plus dem judges woulda get confused by dey bumper floatin in dey water.  So dis case closed.

Ain't it have ah white US sprinter with tattoos all over he torso in this year's Olympics ???
And also a Canadian sprinter too

***edit***
Bakes jus confirmed it

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2008, 03:49:40 PM »
ah have to go with Phelps...eight Gold medals?? damn!!

But Usain is simply amazing!! :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2008, 04:08:14 PM »
This is kind of hard. Logic says Mr. Phelps, but meh heart says the "Lightening". Worse case. A Tie!!!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2008, 04:16:50 PM »

when yuh make a statement there is always 1 or 2 execptions. by your logic how does "what goes up must come down" stand??? we could always say once somthing leaves the atmosphere it not affected by gravity nomore so i stand by my statement cause when i see more white men swimming on a competitive level and more black men winning 100m. I STAND BY MY QUOTE

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2008, 04:18:45 PM »
I will say Bolt.  The Caribbean connection aside, he does not have as long a history in his sport as Phelps.  Certainly not in the 100. 

Secondly, Bolt did not have the elite facilities to train as Phelps. 

Thirdly, (and i"m not sure about this), there were more categories in swimming than in T&F which by that alone gave MF a lead.  Bolt could probably have collected more medals (Gold) if there were. 

So given his achievements under all those circumstances, my vote is Bolt.

I'm sure Bakes will correct me if I'm incorrect any of the above.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2008, 04:36:33 PM »
didnt know this Jeremy Wariner colour thing was such a big deal. real funny though... anyways

By no stretch of the imagination can one even honestly and fairly make such a comparison. The consumate ease with which one usain bolt  dispatched  his competition makes one stutter in awe. Is this guy for real? slowing down yet still breaking the WR?
BUt  how does one measure the achievements of an olympic athlete?  Is it a complicated process? no. very simple actually. Gold medals. As Asafa Powell so sadly demonstrated winning a gold medal is every bit a mental effort as it is a physical one.
  Mr. Phelps has dispatched every competitor brave enough to come up against him each time doing it in either olympic or world record time. Count that  8 times. Yes 8 times of combing physical and mental excellence and dont 4get the countless heats.  you may think for a moment that bolt's feat was better beacuse of him breaking the world records but  I have to remind u again that phelps did smash some OR and WR too. so compare that to Mr. Bolts 2 times, yes jaw dropping as they may have been.  they can only be one, no its not highlander. they can only and in alll fairness be one true winner of this head to head. Mr Michael Phelps if u please
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 04:41:26 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2008, 05:21:54 PM »
Give Bolt he lightning and gih jack he jacket

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2008, 05:27:20 PM »
This is not a fair argument or comparison.

The Athletics program at the Olympics does not have an egg and spoon race, a sack race, and a running backwards race at both distance so that Bolt has a fair shot at eight gold medals :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2008, 07:30:28 PM »

when yuh make a statement there is always 1 or 2 execptions. by your logic how does "what goes up must come down" stand??? we could always say once somthing leaves the atmosphere it not affected by gravity nomore so i stand by my statement cause when i see more white men swimming on a competitive level and more black men winning 100m. I STAND BY MY QUOTE

I dunno why you eating up yuhself so nuh dred...

Black swimmers are more than just some "exception"... just because you don't know about them doh mean they don't exist.  The same holds true for fast white runners... societal and economic pressures may serve to depress the representative numbers in each category but these are artificial rather than natural obstacles to achievement in each respective sport.

At any rate my comment was more an aside and wasn't intended to spark discussion.  You have every right to stand by your statement.  White men cyah run 'good'... good is subjective and by your own standard I'm sure you will always be right.  As a black man I dunno what 'swin' is, but whatever it is ah pretty sure ah cyah do it...let alone do it good.

« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 07:36:52 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2008, 11:14:45 PM »
I believe that with runners it is much more common that they concentrate on one event
maybe choosing from one of the following three disciplines......a sprint, middle or long distant event.
where as in swimming it is more common for a swimmer to try many events.
and in swimming there are four strokes
so I think that they are both great
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 07:41:15 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2008, 06:49:54 AM »
Please remember that Swimmers have been breaking records left right and center in the pool due to new technology(Phelps isn't the only one). I don't see other Track athletes doing the same these olympics. There were more record-breaking performances in the pool than those where records didn't fall. Come again, it's no comparison. Besides, swimming got a whole lot of unnecessary events. If they had backward 100M and 200m, 85.5m skip race and all them kinda crap I'm sure Bolt would get more golds and records.
Smoke and Fly

« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2008, 07:37:31 AM »
I believe it has already been decided ... Imagine a man win 8 gold medals at the olympics and he has been overshadowed ! It is Bolt for me ! The 100 metres is the prestegeous event and winning in such a convincing manner was enough for me. The fact that he also broke the world record as well in the 200 metres ...2 records which seemed untouchable ...well ???

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2008, 07:53:28 AM »
I can't believe it have people who would belittle the fantastic acheivements of Phelps by putting it down to "new technology" and the variety of swimming events available to compete in.  Allyuh will do well to remember that he take 6 golds and 2 bronze in Athens 2004.  On top of which, look at the number of events he compete in over a relatively short space of time - you really feel any ordinary athlete coulda recover so well from one event to the other and come out with 8 golds??

Respect to Bolt - his acheivements are monumental.  But "already decided"???  Overshadowed??? Steupppsssss..........
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 07:59:10 AM by Pur_Trini »
.........and may God bless our Nation.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2008, 08:00:25 AM »
I can't believe it have people who would belittle the fantastic acheivements of Phelps by putting it down to "new technology" and the variety of swimming events available to compete in.  Allyuh will do well to remember that he take 6 golds and 2 bronze in Athens 2004.  On top of which, look at the number of events he compete in over a relatively short space of time - you really feel any ordinary athlete coulda recover so well from one event to the other and come out with 8 golds??

Respect to Bolt - his acheivements are monumental.  But "already decided"???  Steupppsssss..........

I don't see it as belittleing.  Somebody ask a question and gave two answers from which to chose.  You choose one, while others picked the other.  What rong wid dat!!   ???
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2008, 08:02:08 AM »
ah ask ah canadian dis same question....

she say phelps cause he know how to breast stroke and deep dive better dan Bolt.
ah kick she out and close meh office door.  8)

anyway i still undecided on dis one

« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2008, 08:03:17 AM »
Please remember that Swimmers have been breaking records left right and center in the pool due to new technology(Phelps isn't the only one). I don't see other Track athletes doing the same these olympics. There were more record-breaking performances in the pool than those where records didn't fall. Come again, it's no comparison. Besides, swimming got a whole lot of unnecessary events. If they had backward 100M and 200m, 85.5m skip race and all them kinda crap I'm sure Bolt would get more golds and records.

this is also an argument for how strong the field is in swimming compared to athletics. carl lewis proved his all-round athleticism by gold in sprints as well as the long jump - sad to say but that is the standard in track & field. phelps has set the standard in the pool.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 08:05:23 AM by ribbit »

« Reply #21 on: August 21, 2008, 08:06:20 AM »
she say phelps cause he know how to breast stroke and deep dive better dan Bolt.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2008, 08:07:24 AM »

Respect to Bolt - his acheivements are monumental.  But "already decided"???  Overshadowed??? Steupppsssss..........

Noone is trying to belittle phelps'  achievement.... that would be to deminish bolts acclaim wouldn't it ? in fact to appreciate phelps is to give bolt more credit according to my point of view....yuh ever hear ah whole stadium sing happy birthday to an athlete yet ???? ...and they did it twice on two different days !

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #23 on: August 21, 2008, 08:08:45 AM »

Respect to Bolt - his acheivements are monumental.  But "already decided"???  Steupppsssss..........

I don't see it as belittleing.  Somebody ask a question and gave two answers from which to chose.  You choose one, while others picked the other.  What rong wid dat!!   ???

Choosing an answer is fine.  Justifying it logically is fine.  But to imply that Phelps' acheivements are any less commendable because of "new technology" is, in my view, belittling those acheivements.  And by the way, I didn't choose an answer.  I find it hard to choose between them.  Both fantastic athletes.

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #24 on: August 21, 2008, 08:13:24 AM »

Noone is trying to belittle phelps'  achievement.... that would be to deminish bolts acclaim wouldn't it ? in fact to appreciate phelps is to give bolt more credit according to my point of view....yuh ever hear ah whole stadium sing happy birthday to an athlete yet ???? ...and they did it twice on two different days !

I will put my hands up and say I really not following your argument - but in my defence ah dotish so sometimes!

« Reply #25 on: August 21, 2008, 08:21:15 AM »

cana, :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: 

« Reply #26 on: August 21, 2008, 08:22:27 AM »
If they had a 50m 70m run back wards run sideways, shuttle runs, Bolt might have 8 medals too. ;D

Offline Swima

« Reply #27 on: August 21, 2008, 08:52:32 AM »

this is also an argument for how strong the field is in swimming compared to athletics. carl lewis proved his all-round athleticism by gold in sprints as well as the long jump - sad to say but that is the standard in track & field. phelps has set the standard in the pool.

All that egg and spoon and run backwards talk is shit and allyuh know it. As was quoted above Carl Lewis win a relay, two individual sprints and long jumps golds in multiple olympics. It can and has been done in track. Jesse Owens did it over 70 years ago. Where Track is at a disadvantage is the runner's inability to recover as fast as a swimmer. You would see a swimmer recovering in a little over an hour to swim a world class time if they are extremely fit, yet it is not the same for a runner.

As for the Bolt/Phelps argument, I honestly believe that if the schedule permitted and he trained for it, bolt would be able to run sub 44 in the 400. Add the prospect of two more relay gold like how Phelps had the backing of 3 world class relays and Bolt would have had 5 medals which to me would have been every bit as tremendous as Michael Phelps. Only for the sake of the schedule permitting him, does Phelps have the edge. As far as dominance in best events and the ability to crush the rest of the world while winning with relative ease, I would say they are even. Never have I seen such dominance by the same sprinter in both the 100 and 200 as has been seen with Bolt. What Phelps has swum in the 200 and 400 IM and the 200 free alone puts him just as far ahead of anyone else in the world.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #28 on: August 21, 2008, 09:03:02 AM »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #29 on: August 21, 2008, 09:03:50 AM »

Choosing an answer is fine.  Justifying it logically is fine.  But to imply that Phelps' acheivements are any less commendable because of "new technology" is, in my view, belittling those acheivements.  And by the way, I didn't choose an answer.  I find it hard to choose between them.  Both fantastic athletes.

My bad

I still don't see anyone implying by their response that MP is any less commendable than UB.  People are simply expressing how they came by their decision one of criteria being new technology.

Would it have been more satisfactory to simply state a name in response to the question and move on?