March 28, 2024, 03:01:25 AM

Do you think T&T could have won vs GUA without Russell Latapy.

Yes
8 (9.9%)
No
49 (60.5%)
Possible
24 (29.6%)

Total Members Voted: 80

Author Topic: T&T vs Costa Rica Thread.  (Read 43820 times)

Re: T&T vs Costa Rica Thread.
« Reply #30 on: September 06, 2005, 06:28:20 AM »
Regarding the left back issue, Glenton Wolfe in the squad as the back up left back. True, it will be loathe to see him make his full international debut in Costa Rica but who can give us an idea of how he looks for North east Stars. What kind of player is he? Speedy or slow? Overlaps or stays at home? Has good ball skilll or just kicks it out like Avery? Wildman like Cyd Gray or composed?

Offline ladywarrior

« Reply #31 on: September 06, 2005, 10:58:31 AM »

Being the eternal optimist, I believe we must all say our prayers for our warriors in Costa Rica! Coming off of the win at home (which I am proud to say I witnessed!), I see all things are possible if we believe. No matter what happens T&T fans need to leave the baggage of the past in the past and come out for their team no matter what. I have been a fan for a long time and witnessing the unity coming out of Saturday's game was a powerful feeling. May we take that with us for the rest of the games!
The only thing to fear is fear itself.

Offline santacruz

• This year is the Dutch year!
« Reply #32 on: September 06, 2005, 12:20:04 PM »
I just check telemundo website and I i aint seeing the Trinidad game, they have Paraguay vs Argentina starting at 11:30pm. www.soccertv.com backing that up to:

http://www.soccertv.com/

Fatima old boy graduate in '95 from Form 5, '97 from Form 6, lived in Santa Cruz.

« Reply #33 on: September 06, 2005, 02:37:13 PM »
TODAYS PAPERS SAY THAT THE GAME ON CHANNEL FOUR AT 9 BUT CHANNEL 4 SAYIN IT AT 10

MY ADVICE PUT YOUR TV ON 4 FROM 6 CUZ D GAME CUD START AT 6 30 :rotfl:

« Reply #34 on: September 06, 2005, 04:19:58 PM »
having the opportunity to observe CR up close. I would say that they are far from what they were. they lack consistency and a truescoring threat. Their overall team speed is not good and their gking is suspect. definately they are cutassable

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #35 on: September 06, 2005, 04:31:32 PM »
anybody realise dat stern tied for 1st in scoring in de reigon?

CONCACAF Final Stage Top Scorers:
GUA - Carlos Ruiz 3 - TRI (2), PAN (1)
GUA - Guillermo Ramirez 3 - TRI (3)
MEX - Jared Borgetti  3 - USA (1), TRI (1), CRC (1)
TRI - Stern John 3 - PAN (1), GUA (2)
USA - Landon Donovan 3 - CRC (2), PAN (1)
CRC - Ronald Gomez 2 - GUA (1), PAN (1)
CRC - Paulo Wanchope 2 - MEX (1), GUA (1
 de same mann dat everybody lambasting..... well, hopefully he go buss some more against costa rica and go tops..... even though he is ah shit hound, he is still ah striker, he geh de monkey off he back goal like rain now :o :o :o :beermug:

ummm...doesn borghetti have like 13 goals meh frend....?

Offline Israel

« Reply #36 on: September 06, 2005, 05:08:59 PM »
in response to d00d, i think the goals are only for the hex.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #37 on: September 06, 2005, 06:42:26 PM »

Offline Solo

« Reply #38 on: September 06, 2005, 07:21:27 PM »
I have seen Glenton Wolfe play and he is not a wildman, in fact he is very composed sometimes too composed to the point of complacent because he gives the ball away a lot, lacks aggression and does not look up early nor does he play early balls ( which is something Dwight will straigthen out) but he looks usable in that position if they can make sure he does not try to dribble the ball down the sideline and lose it like I saw him do once too often. He has talent as a defender though ( has a good blade)  but his left foot coming forward is not a killer-left like ( like Roberto Carlos kinda ting) it is more a curling left like Avery kinda ting

« Reply #39 on: September 06, 2005, 07:33:33 PM »
I have seen Glenton Wolfe play and he is not a wildman, in fact he is very composed sometimes too composed to the point of complacent because he gives the ball away a lot, lacks aggression and does not look up early nor does he play early balls ( which is something Dwight will straigthen out) but he looks usable in that position if they can make sure he does not try to dribble the ball down the sideline and lose it like I saw him do once too often. He has talent as a defender though ( has a good blade)  but his left foot coming forward is not a killer-left like ( like Roberto Carlos kinda ting) it is more a curling left like Avery kinda ting

That does not sound too encouraging Solo. That is not the kind of profile we are looking for now unless he has improved since you saw him or you saw him on a bad day. if that's the case, put Sancho back on the left (reluctantly I say so) and let Dog and Tallest sweat it out in center-back. Note too how close the stadium crowd is to the players. We will need players with nerves of steel and good hearing.

Offline Solo

« Reply #40 on: September 06, 2005, 07:37:42 PM »
I hope he improve too but I calling as I saw him maybe Andre Samuel or someone who saw him more recent than I did can comment but that is what I remember of him.

« Reply #41 on: September 07, 2005, 02:49:50 AM »
ummm...doesn borghetti have like 13 goals meh frend....?

Those stats gunman posted are only goals scored in the final Hex..... if you count last year qualifiers then Borgetti probably has 13 plus goals...

« Reply #42 on: September 07, 2005, 02:50:30 AM »
‘Warriors’ go for the advantage.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Trinidad and Tobago will be pressing for the advantage away from home when they face off with Central American giants Costa Rica in their 2006 World cup qualifier at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, San Jose from 8pm (10pm T&T time).
Team captain Dwight Yorke says he foresees a “very difficult” match for the Warriors but is not counting out the possibility of a positive result, particularly on the back of a inspiring come from behind 3-2 win over Guatemala in Port of Spain on Saturday.
A charter flight will be arriving in San Jose through the efforts of team sponsor TSTT as well as CLICO with Honourable President Max Richards and other fans coming to support the ‘Warriors’. FIFA Vice President Jack Warner will also be on hand to witness the affair. Yorke and  company awoke for a 9am breakfast and had their first session in San Jose at 11am on Tuesday followed by a second one at 7pm.
With the match being played on artificial surface, coach Leo Beenhakker made  a request for two sessions and was  allowed to conduct two separate one hour sessions.
Following a five-hour stay in Miami after leaving Port of Spain at 9am, T&T’s footballers set out on the journey to San Jose and touched down around 7:15pm,  Costa Rican time and were immediately escorted through immigration before having to brace through a heap of Costa Rican media with several TV cameras surrounding the team bus, making the entrance to the bus at least a couple minutes longer than anticipated.
Upon arrival at the TryP Corobici Hotel, the “Warriors” were greeted by more cameramen, including a couple who have been camping out at the hotel since early Tuesday morning which started much earlier as the sun is fully up from 5:30 here.
“It’s nothing new in football,” Beenhakker said.  “But we are here for a match and we know it will be played on an artificial turf. There’s nothing to complain about but to just go and get on with our game.”
Defender Brent Sancho, because of his dreadlocks was mistaken by reporters for Russell Latapy and some of his teammates couldn’t resist laughing at him being to get through some shouting “Russell, Russell, how do you feel?”
“Obviously we’re here to try and get a result. A victory would be great but we know that Costa Rica are also on a high and they will be going all out to get the three points,” Sancho said.
The morning session was watched by a host of Costa Rican media as the “Warriors” went through their paces, getting accustomed to the new surface. The conditions were cool with a strong wind coming across the tight venue which puts the fans virtually on the backs of the players on the pitch.
And having played here alongside Latapy when Costa Rica won 3-0 back in 2001, Yorke said his team is prepared for anything on the night.
“The surface is not a problem at the moment. But we expect it to be a difficult match for us. We know that the Costa Rican fans will be trying to make it very hard for us on the night but it’s not something that should throw us off. I am hoping to be part of a very  entertaining game because we know that our team is a good one offensively and so are the Costa Ricans,” Yorke told TTFF Media. “But in saying that, we need to be as tight as possible at the back and ensure that we don’t give anything away.”
Latapy has been most popular among the people here who have jumped at every opportunity to shake hands or take photos with the him.
“We know it’s going to be tough out there because this is the time where all the teams will be trying to get results. But at the same time, there’s no reason for us to feel we can’t get something out of this match,” Latapy said.
Costa Rican head coach Alexandre Guimaraes has been suspended for the match after being ejected in the last game versus Panama. The homeside will undoubtedly look to the services of Ronald Gomes, Paulo Wanchope, Winston Parks, Jafet Soto and Walter Centeno.
Beenhakker added: “It’s not anything big because he (Guimaraes) isn’t playing. We must be as ready as we can be and try to get the best result possible.” A victory will push T&T to ten points, same as Costa Rica while the T&T faithful will be hoping for Mexico to do their job on Panama and likewise USA on Guatemala.

Costa Ricans prepare for War.

The head of the Fuerza Pública has reminded soccer fans that the encounter in Tibás Wednesday is just a game and not a war, but his units are preparing for war. More than 400 officers, including the Unidad de Intervención Policial, will be on the job inside and outside Estadio Ricardo Saprissa.
The way the North, Central American and Caribbean Conference shapes up is that  the U.S. team is guaranteed a World Cup trip. México is almost certain to be at least No. 2 in the league and win a berth also. So Costa Rica is competing with Trinidad and Guatemala for the third berth. Then the two remaining teams will slug it out for the right to meet an Asian team as the fourth-pace finisher and a possible World Cup trip.
In short, Tico spirits are high, and the Fuerza Pública head, Comisario Wálter Navarro, is warning fans against carrying anything to the game that could be thrown on the field, such as glass bottles. He also warned against flags and banners that had wooden staffs or similar. Police will be inspecting each fan as they enter the stadium. In the event of a Tico victory, fans will find heavy police presence at critical spots in the city, such as the Fuente de Hispanidad in Los Yoses, a traditional celebration site.

« Reply #43 on: September 07, 2005, 05:35:40 AM »
Last 7 qualifying matches played in CRC:

20-Jun-04 CRC:CUB 1:1 (1:1)
18-Aug-04 CRC:HON 2:5 (2:2)
08-Sep-04 CRC:CAN 1:0 (0:0)
09-Oct-04 CRC:GUA 5:0 (2:0)
09-Feb-05 CRC:MEX 1:2 (1:2)
26-Mar-05 CRC:PAN 2:1 (1:0)
08-Jun-05 CRC:GUA 3:2 (1:0)

« Reply #44 on: September 07, 2005, 05:52:32 AM »
CONCACAF.com

COSTA RICA vs. TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
07.09.2005: San José, COSTA RICA; Estadio Ricardo Saprissa (20:00)
Costa Rica (3-3-1, 10 Points) will host Trinidad & Tobago (2-3-1, 7 Points) at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa in San José as both are seeking to grab the final direct CONCACAF Final Round berth to the World Cup … The ticos leads the overall series 13-3-4 and they have not lost a world cup qualifier to the soca warriors in 11 meetings (nine victories and two ties) … The last time Trinidad & Tobago played a qualifier against Costa Rica in San José was on 11 June 1989, where the host posted a 1:0 victory at the Estadio Nacional, during the CONCACAF Final Round for the 1990 FIFA World Cup™ … The crowd of 18,282 saw Juan Cayasso score the only goal of the match in the second minute for the ticos whom would go on to win the CONCACAF Final Round and then qualify to their first World Cup in Italy 1990.

CONCACAF Final Round – 1990 World Cup Qualification
11.06.1989: San José, COSTA RICA; Estadio Nacional (A: 18282)
COSTA RICA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO 1:0 (1:0)
Juan CAYASSO 2’
CRC: Gabelo Conejo – Vladimir Quesada, Mauricio Montero, Róger Flores, Enrique Díaz, Héctor Marchena, Oscar Ramírez, Juan Cayasso, Claudio Jara, Evaristo Coronado (85: Carlos Hidalgo), Leonidas Flores. Booked: none
TRI: Earl Carter – Clayton Morris, Dexter Francis, Brian Williams, Kerry Jamerson, Richard Chinapoo (70: Ricky Nelson), Hutson Charles, Dwight Yorke, Dexter Skenne (67: Philibert Jones), Maurice Alibey, Marvin Faustin. Booked: Skenne 32’
R: Torres CADENA (COL)

« Reply #45 on: September 07, 2005, 05:59:26 AM »
CAN'T ANYBODY IN TT simply phone 105 fm or HOmeview and ask if they bringing the game.

Peace,

« Reply #46 on: September 07, 2005, 06:37:09 AM »
CAN'T ANYBODY IN TT simply phone 105 fm or HOmeview and ask if they bringing the game.

Peace, VB

Allyuh feel we should play a 4-5-1 for today.. or 5-4-1.... ?

VB, yuh did good in de chat room last game pardna,,,,,, yuh sure you eh bullin in yuh bottom... buy a blasted phone card and call home nah.....  :rotfl:

« Reply #47 on: September 07, 2005, 06:49:31 AM »
Here is a chinksy photo on de CONCACAF site....memories boy....

Yorke with the shot outside the area, hit de post, back to Hutson Charles...GOAL!! Handball...Charles showin de ref the BIG BIG stain of de ball on his CHEST...We go get dem today....BIG UP SOCA WARRIORS!!

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #48 on: September 07, 2005, 07:06:43 AM »
I remeber that game all too well. Meh eh know if dat ref forget he glasses home nah. I still doh understan how he call dat a handball! Say, what goes around comes around. Warriors goh take dem tonight!
well yes

« Reply #50 on: September 07, 2005, 09:00:53 AM »
Imagine some ah we best players on de team is dreds or half dreds.....

Latapy, Sancho, Spann, Sealy, Samuel, Scotland and Whitley.... all of them woulda have to cut they hair..  :'(

Lard, Bertille St Clair woulda faint....

« Reply #51 on: September 07, 2005, 09:44:20 AM »
The crowd of 18,282 saw Juan Cayasso score the only goal of the match in the second minute for the ticos whom would go on to win the CONCACAF Final Round and then qualify to their first World Cup in Italy 1990.

Even back in 1989 we had a problem with giving up early goals?  I wonder what is the earliest goal T&T has ever scored (from 1989 to present).

« Reply #52 on: September 07, 2005, 11:33:10 AM »
I wonder what is the earliest goal T&T has ever scored (from 1989 to present).

Stern John scored after 48 seconds when we played Haiti in the Stadium on July 29, 1998 in the semi-final of de Caribbean Cup. De final result was 4-1. He also scored in de 1st minute when we played the Dominican Republic in a World Cup Qualifier in the Oval on June 23, 1996. De final result was 8-0.

« Reply #53 on: September 07, 2005, 02:19:16 PM »
Good luck to trinidad in thier game tonight against costa rica. i think we have a pretty good chance against them and i hoping we can get a victory. hopefully for a 1-0 victory. it would be great if we make the world cup. i could see the light. hope warriors play with blood in thier shoes.   good luck TNT

« Reply #54 on: September 07, 2005, 03:04:24 PM »
Teams that I would like to see qualify for the World Cup follows (that's after T&T of course);

Venezuela, Wales and Scotland...

Good Luck Warriors.

Offline StoreBayLimer

Live from San Jose today
« Reply #55 on: September 07, 2005, 04:11:06 PM »

It is a little bit cooler than expected.   Have not yet seen another SocaWarriors fan.

Re: Live from San Jose today
« Reply #56 on: September 07, 2005, 04:17:04 PM »
when did you get in?  did you get to see any training sessions?
You should try to link up with all the die hard warriors fans from CL Financial that just flew in on a charter

Offline KND

Re: Live from San Jose today
« Reply #57 on: September 07, 2005, 04:23:53 PM »
Man you gone Quite Costa Rica to report back on the weather, boy do some good reporting or something. You they live what is the general vibes

according to Soccernet.com
« Reply #58 on: September 07, 2005, 04:48:34 PM »
According to Soccernet.com, game already started, score ciurrently 0-0

Re: according to Soccernet.com
« Reply #59 on: September 07, 2005, 04:51:05 PM »
steups  ::)  that's obviously wrong