April 23, 2024, 05:50:15 AM

Author Topic: Who Should be the new coach?  (Read 5684 times)

Who Should be the new coach?
« on: March 27, 2005, 04:18:51 PM »
Everybody talking about fire the coach.  We having this discussion for de last year but the fire Bertille and hire who.  I agree that he is incompetent and clueless but who should be put in charge.  Doh just say fire de coach.  Name ah replacement.

Ah know ah go take heat fuh saying this but this is my firm belief.  There is no coach in Trinidad or Tobago that can take this team to Germany, NONE.  I am not one who suscribes to the "FOREIGN IS BETTER" mentality but at some point we have to be honest with our selves.  We need outside help. not just a coach but our whole football administration.

What we need to do is look at countries that have improved their football through creating a strong competent, visionary, administration and building strong national programs from the youth level upward.

Two countries that come to mind immediately are Germany and U.S.A.
The U.S has moved from an underdog, lucky team in 1989 to the Quarter finals of the world cup in 2002.

Germany has been the most consistent team in the world, apart from Brazil, over the last 20 to 25 years. 

We should hire someone with experience from one of these countries to be head of the TTFF and have them show us how to run a football federation and how to build a successful football federation and develop our football program from youth level up.

I would also hire an American for the marketing department of the TTFF because the U.S is hands down the best country in terms of marketing in the world.  It's a shame that in 2006 the TTFF is still begging the government for money.  The U.S.S.F doesn't get a dime from the U.S government how do they raise money? 

After we have a successful youth system in place and a solid league where our players can develop then we can.  Go back to football being run by locals.

The people in charge of  education in T&T need to realize that sports and entertainment are just as viable and respectable means of earning a living as being a doctor or lawyer and should be given just as much emphasis in the curriculum as bookwork. 

Everyday these big multinatioinal corporations are setting up shop in T&T.  If we had smart forward thinking people in our government.  They would have these companies make some type of mandatory contribution to sport in T&T.  A $20,000 us dollars per year contribution is a small price for these campanies to pay for doing business in our country.

Imagine Coca Cola  $20,000
            Mcdonalds $20,000
            KFC          $20,000
            Nestle       $20,000
            Pepsi        $20,000

That's just five companies and we have already raised $100,000 us dollars per year. 

There are many ways that we can go about raising funds for football and sport in general but we have to many mentally lazy people in leadership positions in T&T.

Re: Who Should be the new coach?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2005, 04:27:57 PM »
Terri Fewick or Ricki Hill they both worked in T&T both played at the highest level and both understand the game. Bertill is one for three in what i just said and 0 for 3 if you put working to mean the pro league.

Offline NC

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 04:41:11 PM »
GALLY cUMMINGS, HE UNDERSTANS OUR CULTURE AND IS QUITE FAMALIAR WTH WHAT IT TAKES TO GET THERE BECAUSE OF HIS 1989 EXPERIENCE ALONG WITH HIS PLAYING EXPERIENCE

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2005, 04:44:44 PM »
Gally,

NaKHID

Ricky Hill,

These are viable choices.

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2005, 06:16:51 PM »
GALLY cUMMINGS, HE UNDERSTANS OUR CULTURE AND IS QUITE FAMALIAR WTH WHAT IT TAKES TO GET THERE BECAUSE OF HIS 1989 EXPERIENCE ALONG WITH HIS PLAYING EXPERIENCE

Yes but Gally too bitter right now. I think his time has passed also. Sad but true.

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2005, 06:19:52 PM »
Whoever was in charge of Jabloteh 2 years ago when they ultimately lost to Chicago Fire...and I don't just mean the coach...but the entire support staff INCLUDING administration.

I always remember when they went to Jamaica for the game before the Fire game and the professional way they went about it....the preparations that were taken....I knew that the talent and professionalism from a technical staff and administration standpoint was right there in the country...it just wasn't present at the National team level.

« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2005, 06:40:57 PM »
Whoever was in charge of Jabloteh 2 years ago when they ultimately lost to Chicago Fire...and I don't just mean the coach...but the entire support staff INCLUDING administration.

I always remember when they went to Jamaica for the game before the Fire game and the professional way they went about it....the preparations that were taken....I knew that the talent and professionalism from a technical staff and administration standpoint was right there in the country...it just wasn't present at the National team level.

Ricky Hill recommende by Terri Fenwick

« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2005, 06:47:10 PM »

Gally.
After we get some more names we go start a poll.

« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2005, 06:57:07 PM »

Gally.
After we get some more names we go start a poll.

This exercise has been repeated ad nauseum on this forum many times before.

The fact remains....we had a coach in 2001 and he wasn't kept allegedly because we couldn't "afford" him.  We were showing PROGRESS under his guidance...slow...but PROGRESS.  The players respected him....they played AT LEAST as hard for him as they did for BSC.  He also was not afraid to give young and upcoming players opportunities....players who were rejected by other coaches and who showed their worth under him.   He got Arnold Dwarika to play his BEST in a T&T uniform....the same Dwarika who many does run dey mout on and say doh like to train and only like fete, weed and beers.  Yet he was able to get he best out of this T&T reject.  I wonder how?  Could it be because he knew how to MANAGE people?  Not just be a drill sergeant?  Give and DEMAND respect?

Sadly he is not there anymore...but can't dwell in the past.

The fact is....the talent exists in the players.  Maybe...where the talent is slim is in the local coaching ranks.  We know fuh damn sure it non existent in the TTFF.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2005, 07:00:36 PM by palos »

« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2005, 07:24:53 PM »
Lincoln can support a local coach who should take over fuh de rest of de campaign after de Costa Rica Match and then do a Coach Search.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2005, 07:36:51 PM by Savannah boy »

Offline NC

« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2005, 07:41:13 PM »
What about Mervyn Joseph, look at his track record with police and Caledonia?  He is quite knowledgable and knows what it takes to win.

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2005, 07:46:20 PM »
Five months agp, I stated that BSC was not suitable to lead this team. Again, he may have been the right man 4 or 5 years ago, but not today.

After speaking with several sources close to the team, it appears that he does not include his assistant coaches and still feels that he is coaching school kids in Tobago.

We have the talent and skill to compete with most of the teams in this group. It is incomprehensible that we lose to Guatemala by 4 goals. Something is seriously wrong here and a mass overhaul is needed.

« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2005, 07:58:44 PM »

I say leave Lincoln to do all the coaching courses and other stuff he working on cuz that too valuable to sideline for this wreck we have going on.
He better suited for them things anyway, he is a specialist at developing comprehensive programs so I doh want to take him away from that.

Find somebody else who they may want long term too.  If they have any sense at all they would have a short list of coaches from the day they hired BSC.  This new coach has to get a long term too.  If anything they would stick with that new policy but for goodness sake hire someone qualified.

« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2005, 08:22:00 PM »
Ok so we have an identifiable perceived problem: that to be :the coach. But what is the solution?

Who do you suggest to be the successor:

Latapy?

Phillips?

Corneal?

Some foreign 'flunkie?"

Offline NC

« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2005, 09:00:01 PM »
Gentlemen, we need to learn to work outside of our comfor zone.  We are always trying to recycle the names that we know or you the our colonial masters to rescue.  You all must understand we have been using plater for years tryng to prop up this program.  How many of you are willing to call the TTFF and voice your displeasure about the fact that we do not have a program?  Calling for BSC sacking is not the answer to this dilemma (not saying that he should not be sacked), a total overhaul of the program that may include forgetting about this campaign.  Also we need to learn as a people to fight for what we want.  Although Mexico put on a clinic and was favorite o win today (rightfully so), did any of you notice how the opponents fought from beginning to end.  We do not have that fire in our belly, our culture is to layed back.

Changin a coach alone will not solve our problems
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2005, 09:50:07 PM »
we need a change in overall administration, like how some of them pro clubs in T&T going about business now, like real entrepeneurs.
A coach is only as good as his players and administration.

I agree with many...Jabloteh is an example of what a T&T can accomplish (ie beating a US team like steelpan with the right prep).

But that will not happen in the near future.

Camps and dem will have to die first.

« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2005, 09:53:05 PM »
Aye...ketch yuhself eh.....we does PLAY de steelpan.   >:( >:(

;)

Warner
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2005, 06:38:09 AM »
Warner has openly stated that he doesn't want Gally as national Coach.

He believes that Gally is better suited coaching and motivating the youth team.

« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2005, 07:24:01 AM »
I would prefer Ricky Hill, just because apart from Jabloteh Fenwick has been very successful as a manager.

In either case it is a shot in the dark and we don't know what we getting as a national team manager (other than the fact that he will be better than BSC).

Porters worked out for a while, Stuart Charles had a harder time.

If we really going by choosing the most succesful local manager why aren't we talking about the NE Stars management team.

Whoever we choose, we need to have Latas and/or Nakhid in a junior capacity being grromed for the future.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2005, 07:25:52 AM by JDB »

« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2005, 08:26:10 AM »
If I was in charge of the TTFF no Englishman would ever coach a T&T team.  I hate the English style of football.  It's an unimaginitive, hardman brand of football that has a negative influence on our players (see Stern John and Dwight Yorke).  To me the only good thing about our players playing in England is that they earn a paycheck.

« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2005, 09:49:08 AM »
If I was in charge of the TTFF no Englishman would ever coach a T&T team.  I hate the English style of football.  It's an unimaginitive, hardman brand of football that has a negative influence on our players (see Stern John and Dwight Yorke).  To me the only good thing about our players playing in England is that they earn a paycheck.

I wonder how come English coaches don't have a negative effect on C. Ronaldo, Van Nisl, Heinze, Angel, Okocha etc is only on Trini players Stern & Dwight allyuh good we.

« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2005, 09:59:40 AM »
In regrads to who should be coaching: I am not sure if an English man per say effects the team in as much as the sustem and style of play .

Our players who are stationed in  the U.K. are surrounded by a different talent pool on their respective teams. For them to adopt back to our style, would mean that they need to adjust their style and thinking to the players around them.

I am not sure if the players are adapting or making that transition from what they are 'disciplined' to do in the U.K.  compared to what is expected of them on a TNT team. I believe that playing  for TNT may require them to  ACT more as oppose to always REACTING to the opposition. Stern John, Dwight Yorke will have to find themselves having to run more and create opportunities as oppose to waiting for those to happen.

No wit would take an astute coach to help these players make this transition and to utilize thier respective strengths. Is BSC the man? I honestly don't know. I can only judge by the team's performance of late , that something is not been effectively done.

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2005, 11:11:11 AM »
My choices for BSC successor:
Local:
1).Mervyn Joseph as a likely local successor to BSC. I think he has been overlooked  and has had considerable local success with local clubs and may even be a holder of a Brazilian coaching license, if I am not mistaken.
2.Gally, also naturally comes to mind.
3.Hayden Martin
4.Jean Lillywhite
5. Jan Steadman.
Foreign:
1.BRING BACK SIMMOES (Big $: but he been here before).
2.Ricky Hill.
3. Zoran Vranes
4.Bora Mulitinovich (big $,)

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2005, 11:34:41 AM »
ricky hill i think would be the more organized and tactical coaches that we could use. he will be a great choice and my first       others i wud pick r alvin and gally

« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2005, 11:58:52 AM »
STEPHEN HART IS DE MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2005, 12:14:19 PM »
STEPHEN HART IS DE MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I eh think Harty that brave!

« Reply #26 on: August 18, 2009, 09:01:18 PM »
 Is Like this talk  never done in TNT  society.

« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2009, 01:20:17 PM »
RUSSEL LATAPY

TALK DONE!!!!

Offline Mackie

« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2009, 01:50:58 PM »

« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2009, 10:39:42 PM »
jack "d brain" warner, d smartest man on dis side ah d planet