March 28, 2024, 04:44:57 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (20-Aug-2008).  (Read 56846 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (20-Aug-2008).
« on: June 23, 2008, 06:51:47 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs Cuba (August 20th, 20:00, La Habana) will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

105fm

I95.5fm

Cuba Vision International

Cuba Vision

Turbo Channels

TV Viewing.

To be updated.

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers[/b]
Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Jan Michael Williams (Ferencvaros FC).

Defenders
Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Dennis Lawrence (Swansea City), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Avery John (Miami FC), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Midfielders
Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Khaleem Hyland (Unattached), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Christopher Birchall (Coventry City), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Kerry Baptiste (Joe Public).

Forwards
Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Cornell Glen (Unattached), Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Darryl Roberts (Denizlispor FC).

Injured-Out
Aurtis Whitley (W Connection).

Family Emergency
Carlos Edwards (Sunderland).

Cuba Squad:[/b]

To be updated
« Last Edit: August 19, 2008, 03:58:28 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (TBA).
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 12:11:12 PM »
How soon til we get the fixture list?

Somebody already contact me cause they want to organise a tour group to Cuba for the game and could get some cheap rates for hotels and flights.

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (TBA).
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 12:13:25 PM »
it have the dates in the express breddah :beermug:

God is de BOSS....

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (20-Aug-2008).
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2008, 06:52:54 PM »
August 20th; I could make that. Anyone planning on going? Leh we organize tickets, accommodations etc....

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2008, 10:41:12 PM »
When I saw d Guatemala thread I say good no game in Aug as I eh go b around.  Well I have other travel plans dat all of a sudden lil iffy Spidey leh we go Castro land b4 d old Fidel Cross Over. How long we goin 4 a day b4 d game and we stayin a day after?

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2008, 10:55:38 PM »
 There have to be some all inclusive deal; even ah week in Cuba: time to test the rum; the night life; the . latinas.... oh yeah and to  stake out a place for the game. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Serious: anyone with information as to where in Cuba  is the stadium? I want to begin exploring accommodations and checking out the place.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2008, 11:00:22 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2008, 09:43:59 AM »
Cuba next stop for Warriors

Ian Prescott Hamilton Â

Tuesday, June 24th 2008

AN away match in Havana against Fidel Castro's Cuba on August 20 is the next step for Trinidad and Tobago on the road to the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

Immediately after beating Bermuda 2-0 in Hamilton on Sunday night to advance 3-2 on aggregate after losing the first leg 2-1, T&T team manager David Muhammad said the victory marked a new beginning for the Soca Warriors.

"This  is a new start for the next stage of qualifying matches, which begin on August 20 against Cuba in Cuba. After playing Cuba, we have the first of our home games against Guatemala on September 6. Then, after that, we travel to Chicago to play the United States on September 10, and on October 11 and 15 we have two other matches against Guatemala (away) and the USA (at home).

"And we end it all on (Wednesday) November 19 against Cuba at home. So the deja vu of a November 19 home game for Trinidad and Tobago is relived once again," said Muhammad, referring to the infamous match against the USA on November 19, 1989 when, needing just a draw to qualify for the 1990 World Cup in Italy, T&T lost 1-0 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Muhammad said going into Sunday's World Cup qualifier away to Bermuda, the Soca Warriors were always confident of  overturning a 1-2 deficit.

"Over the last few days in the camp there was a lot of reflection over the last match. We were confident all along that we would be able to achieve the required victory and that is exactly what we did."

« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2008, 10:23:57 AM »
"And we end it all on (Wednesday) November 19 against Cuba at home. So the deja vu of a November 19 home game for Trinidad and Tobago is relived once again," said Muhammad, referring to the infamous match against the USA on November 19, 1989 when, needing just a draw to qualify for the 1990 World Cup in Italy, T&T lost 1-0 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Dis is de second time we will be playing Cuba on dat date. We played dem on Nov 19, 2003 and we beat dem 2-1 on a goal by Whitley, and an own-goal by de Cubans. Apart from dat 1989 loss, we have won the three other matches that we have played on that date.

« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2008, 10:51:54 AM »
ayeeee i have vacation during that time...Cuba real sounding like a good resting place and taking in the game  :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2008, 11:06:25 AM »
http://www.concacaf.com/viewCompetition.aspx?id=233

20.8.2008 Cuba - Trinidad & Tobago TBD TBD, CUB
20.8.2008 Guatemala - USA TBD TBD, GUA
6.9.2008 Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala TBD TBD, TRI
6.9.2008 Cuba - USA TBD TBD, CUB
10.9.2008 USA - Trinidad & Tobago 19:00 Bridgeview, Illinois USA
10.9.2008 Guatemala - Cuba TBD TBD, GUA
11.10.2008 Guatemala - Trinidad & Tobago TBD TBD, GUA
11.10.2008 USA - Cuba 16:00 Washington, D.C. USA
15.10.2008 Trinidad & Tobago - USA TBD TBD, TRI
15.10.2008 Cuba - Guatemala TBD TBD, CUB
19.11.2008 Trinidad & Tobago - Cuba TBD TBD, TRI
19.11.2008 USA - Guatemala TBD Commerce City, Colorado USA

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2008, 12:14:37 PM »
this package is cutting it close but not sure how far the venue if form manzanillo de cuba

Cuba is no small island like Barbados or Trinidad

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2008, 05:35:40 PM »
 Could some one please confirm where the venue is for this game in Cuba?

« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2008, 06:28:11 PM »
Could some one please confirm where the venue is for this game in Cuba?

Most likely it will be at de Estadio Pedro Marrero in La Habana.

« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2008, 06:33:14 PM »
So where d info on d packages

« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2008, 07:09:10 PM »
Will be in sweet T&T beginning july 1st till the 15th. Any friendlies? Whey de lime go be???

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2008, 09:11:04 PM »
anyone here beento Cuba previously and has hook ups with some locals,
even if a group of us get dey, you go need transport, tickets, guides

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2008, 09:50:08 AM »
Lawd; before we decry the state of our stadiums, look at this one in Cuba:

http://www.fussballtempel.net/concacaf/CUB/Pedro_Marrero.html

And this is where they this hold big competitions?

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2008, 09:57:39 AM »
Lawd; before we decry the state of our stadiums, look at this one in Cuba:

http://www.fussballtempel.net/concacaf/CUB/Pedro_Marrero.html

And this is where they this hold big competitions?
what about this one
it holds 34,000
http://www.fussballtempel.net/concacaf/CUB.html
« Last Edit: June 29, 2008, 09:59:34 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2008, 11:02:26 AM »

Might as well do an all-inclusive package for 7-nights on de week of the game in Varadero or another beach town in Matanzas province, since Havana is jess a two-hour drive from dey and yuh could rent a vehicle or it have buses with guides going there real regular.

I eh know from T&T but from Canada is about $600 fuh a package. I met others who had pay $400 and thing. It might work out to be cheaper than just dropping in fuh a two days to see the game and fly back home, why not make a week long trip out of it and eat and drink like ah king

and well hard luck for allyuh men from the USA ..
« Last Edit: June 29, 2008, 11:24:36 AM by Grande »

Offline Trinishottaz

« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2008, 11:08:37 AM »
oh yes i wish meh pocket waz fat like alyuh own :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2008, 11:28:44 AM »
Victoria have direct flights.....
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2008, 12:17:34 PM »

Might as well do an all-inclusive package for 7-nights on de week of the game in Varadero or another beach town in Matanzas province, since Havana is jess a two-hour drive from dey and yuh could rent a vehicle or it have buses with guides going there real regular.

I eh know from T&T but from Canada is about $600 fuh a package. I met others who had pay $400 and thing. It might work out to be cheaper than just dropping in fuh a two days to see the game and fly back home, why not make a week long trip out of it and eat and drink like ah king

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
At this time, I'm in for that lime oui. Tomorrow I'll check on  flight to TNT in late July from Trinidad to Cuba and then back to Canada.

Once  venue is confirmed and  game time and JW ticket outlets are ready to go...let's seriously look at rallying Brownsugar, TrinCana Coco, KandiTT and the Carib girls for this all inclusive .

« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2008, 12:19:28 PM »
i was just checking prices about $600+ for an all inclusive 7 days in I think a 3 and 1/2 star hotel.

all inclusive = no other expenses other than tickets for the game and transport

« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2008, 12:26:26 PM »
i was just checking prices about $600+ for an all inclusive 7 days in I think a 3 and 1/2 star hotel.

Do you have the link /url for this all inclusive?

« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2008, 03:59:04 PM »

is chinee on dragon login  ;D

here is the link (but this flight out of Toronto, not sure about other cities)

http://ret.sax.softvoyage.com/cgi-bin/resultspackage.cgi?sid=b5c47e5f1e0f4951435b506dfc28a089&flex=Y

« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2008, 04:36:47 PM »
Tallman= Let us organise an all inclusive from Miami . A one night stop over.
 I promise to sponsor Touches just for a match report.

« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2008, 04:57:01 PM »

http://ret.sax.softvoyage.com/cgi-bin/resultspackage.cgi?sid=b5c47e5f1e0f4951435b506dfc28a089&flex=Y

De original link is redtag.ca, I eh think that link chinee post dey working. If yuh go to the last minute deals tab and then alll inclusives, yuh go get fares fuh under $600 and thing. A good bet is to probably secure yuh game tickets early and then hit up the site closer to the game date for the last minute fares

« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2008, 10:56:01 PM »

De original link is redtag.ca, I eh think that link chinee post dey working. If yuh go to the last minute deals tab and then alll inclusives, yuh go get fares fuh under $600 and thing. A good bet is to probably secure yuh game tickets early and then hit up the site closer to the game date for the last minute fares

boy i trying to get the "passport" stamp 1st then I could try and get game tickets  :rotfl:

« Reply #28 on: June 30, 2008, 03:06:33 AM »

AB check here

« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2008, 02:24:30 PM »
Locals who have a cool 10,000 TT to part wit Willoughby's travel 652-7747,627-7058 have a 1 wk 2 Panama and Cuba tickets 4 d game included.