March 28, 2024, 02:47:45 PM

Author Topic: FC Santa Rosa Thread  (Read 9283 times)

King takes over as FC Santa Rosa coach
« Reply #30 on: April 04, 2018, 04:49:16 AM »
King takes over as FC Santa Rosa coach
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

DEREK KING, former assistant coach of the Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team, who led two clubs to TT Pro League glory – Joe Public (2009) and North East Stars (2017), have undertaken a new challenge as coach of TT Super League outfit FC Santa Rosa.

This news was announced at a media conference at the boardroom, Arima Town Hall, yesterday morning.

The team, also known as “Big Cannons”, has been coached by Keith Look Loy, its owner, president and Chief Executive Officer (CEO), who is also the president of the TT Super League.

Upon the conclusion of the 2017 season, which saw Santa Rosa finish second to Guaya United in League One, Look Loy stated his desire to pass on the coaching baton to a new face, instead of performing a dual role as club coach and organisation’s head.

King stepped down as North East Stars coach in February, after the Pro League kings implemented a wage structure which saw drastic cuts in salaries for players and members of the technical staff.

According to Look Loy, “I approached him. He said he was not only available but willing to do it. One thing led to another and so here we are.”

And King, the former Trinidad and Tobago central defender, pointed out, “When the opportunity arrived I took it with both hands. I believe we’ll compete, not only with the Super League teams but with the Pro (League) teams, in the FA (Cup).

Look Loy revealed that King was given a one-year contract and both will have special connections with the Eastern borough, having been born and bred in Arima.

FC Santa Rosa, who will be celebrating its 26th year of existence, will be using the Arima Velodrome, which has seen new lighting and soon, an upgraded field.

And the long-serving FC Santa Rosa boss stated, “This year we’re looking to play our matches on Friday nights and Saturday nights to maximise the appeal to the crowd and to maximise the gate receipts.

“FC Santa Rosa is one of the clubs in Trinidad and Tobago football that is not content to ask people for a handout or a favour. We want to generate our own income stream.”

King admitted that he is a fan of Barcelona and Brazil, and may want to use those styles of play with his team. However, Look Loy emphasised, “One of the challenges Derek will have is working with Keith Look Loy, who is a demanding fella. My ultimate demand is not about strategy or tactics, my ultimate demand is that the team must win.”

The 37-year-old King does not see a problem in moving a step down, from the Pro League to the Super League level.

“If you coach at the highest level it shouldn’t be a problem coaching in the Super League,” he acknowledged.

Look Loy made it emphatically clear that his club will not be entering the TT Pro League anytime soon, if at all.

“Not only Santa Rosa is receiving calls from Pro League players (but) other Super League clubs (are) being contacted, because they recognise that the Super League is a stable league,” he noted.

“If the powers-that-be, in Trinidad and Tobago football want to sit with the Super League and talk about how we can do better with the organisation of our elite football, specifically merging the clubs that belong to both leagues into a true united national elite competition, then we can begin that discussion immediately.”

Re: FC Santa Rosa Thread
« Reply #31 on: October 31, 2018, 02:51:28 PM »
FC Santa Rosa's Kishun Seecharan and Akeem Garcia to go on trial with Mexico's Celaya FC
FC Santa Rosa Media

FC Santa Rosa is pleased to announce the extension of an invitation for trial by Celaya FC of Mexico to Big Cannons Kishun Seecharan and Akeem Garcia. Both players are twenty-two years old and have represented Trinidad and Tobago at Under-17 and Under-20 level.

Celaya FC plays in Liga Ascenso MX, the Mexican second division, and is based in Celaya, Guanajuato state, in central Mexico.

The players will travel to Mexico on 4 December, which means they will complete the Super League regular season on 2 December but will be absent for Santa Rosa's League Cup semi-final on 9 December.

Santa Rosa plays UTT on Saturday 3 November from 7.30PM in the Velodrome.

« Reply #32 on: March 27, 2019, 12:07:24 AM »
David new Santa Rosa coach.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Venezue­lans to play for Big Can­nons.

For­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er, now turn coach Shur­land David is the new coach of T&T Su­per League cham­pi­ons FC San­ta Rosa.

He was un­veiled to the me­dia at a press con­fer­ence at the Ari­ma Town Hall yes­ter­day on a one-year con­tract, of­fi­cial­ly re­plac­ing Derek King who led the team to the su­per league ti­tle for a sec­ond time in 2018, be­fore mov­ing on to HFX Wan­der­ers FC in the Cana­di­an Pre­mier League.

David whose coach­ing ca­reer be­gan as an as­sis­tant to Jer­ry Moe at Cale­do­nia AIA and in­clud­ed stints at North East Stars as an as­sis­tant coach and head coach, WASA FC and a Mal­oney de­vel­op­ment team up to re­cent, said his in­ten­tion is to main­tain the win­ning cul­ture which the Ari­ma club has been known for over the years.

The 'Big Can­nons' as they are af­fec­tion­ate­ly called, won the ti­tle back in 2016 un­der Kei­th Look Loy as a coach, be­fore Hy­dro-Tech Guaya Unit­ed made a clean sweep a year lat­er (2017). Look Loy, who al­so held the po­si­tion of club pres­i­dent, re­lin­quished his coach­ing du­ties to King last year, a de­ci­sion that al­so reaped in­stant suc­cess.

In front, a small gath­er­ing David said "It is good to join the San­ta Rosa fam­i­ly. They have a good track record, the at­ti­tude of the team, the cul­ture of the team is mar­vel­lous, con­sid­er­ing they came from the zone and when they reached in­to the su­per league, they were con­tenders. It's a nice task to fol­low af­ter Kei­th as a coach win­ning, and af­ter Derek, as a coach win­ning. So we want to main­tain the win­ning at­ti­tude."

He not­ed "The cul­ture the club has cre­at­ed over the past four years is one of a pos­i­tive at­ti­tude, dis­ci­pline-wise al­so. I just want to con­tin­ue and im­prove what has been done and try to make it bet­ter. Last year Queen's Park came close so we have some work to do. We can­not af­ford to sit on our lau­rels and say we won last year and we will do it again."

David promised his team will be boost­ed by a num­ber of new faces to their ros­ter this year but told the me­dia he could not re­veal any names un­til the deals have been sealed and signed. But Look Loy, who was in­stru­men­tal in bring­ing David to their fold, said they will be giv­ing tri­als to two Venezue­lan play­ers as the Venezue­lan com­mu­ni­ty has be­come part of the na­tion­al com­mu­ni­ty and main­ly the Ari­ma com­mu­ni­ty.

The play­ers whom both have a lot of ex­pe­ri­ence play­ing in the top tier Venezue­lan League sys­tem are aged 18 and 21.

The de­ci­sion to give the op­por­tu­ni­ty to the Venezue­lans is in line with his phi­los­o­phy to re­fresh­en the squad every year, en­sur­ing new blood and new com­pe­ti­tion for spaces.

Ac­cord­ing to Look Loy "This sea­son, fol­low­ing on the suc­cess last year and the fact that we sent two play­ers to pro­fes­sion­als con­tracts in Cana­da, this year we look­ing to bring in new play­ers, par­tic­u­lar­ly new younger play­ers. We have a size­able pool of ex­pe­ri­enced play­ers from last year and we can­not win any­thing with­out ex­pe­ri­enced play­ers, but we're al­so bring­ing in sev­er­al young play­ers from with­in and out­side the club, who fall in the age range 17 to 20-21, with an eye to pro­duc­ing play­ers to go abroad."

The su­per league faces an ex­pect­ed change in the struc­ture this year, fol­low­ing a rec­om­men­da­tion by FI­FA/CON­CA­CAF for a merged league.

Video - SPORT: David Takes Over As Santa Rosa Head Coach

« Last Edit: March 27, 2019, 12:21:23 AM by Flex »

« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2019, 02:14:14 AM »
David quits as Santa Rosa coach.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

FC San­ta Rosa has lost its coach, Shur­land David, even be­fore the 2019 sea­son could have been start­ed.

Guardian Me­dia Sports learnt David, a for­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er de­cid­ed to part ways with the club be­cause of dif­fer­ences with club pres­i­dent Kei­th Look Loy.

And David con­firmed yes­ter­day that there were dif­fer­ences be­tween him and Look Loy, in his method of coach­ing, so he de­cid­ed to call it a day. David whose coach­ing ca­reer be­gan as an as­sis­tant to Jer­ry Moe at Cale­do­nia AIA and in­clud­ed stints at North East Stars as an as­sis­tant coach and head coach at WASA FC and a Mal­oney de­vel­op­ment team up to re­cent, did not want to say too much more.

He was ap­point­ed more than four months ago and un­veiled to the pub­lic via the me­dia. Then, David had said he in­tend­ed to main­tain the win­ning cul­ture which the Ari­ma club had been known for over the years. The team is now be­ing coached by Look Loy. It is un­der­stood a search for a new coach is un­der­way. San­ta Rosa, known pop­u­lar­ly as the 'Big Can­nons' are in the fifth po­si­tion on the As­cen­sion In­vi­ta­tion­al League stand­ing on four points from a win, loss and draw.

The Ari­ma based Big Can­nons will next face Club San­do FC to­day at the Man­nie Ramjohn Train­ing Field from 4 pm.

« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2019, 05:36:08 AM »
Not surprised by this.

« Reply #35 on: August 04, 2019, 01:45:08 PM »

« Reply #36 on: August 04, 2019, 02:22:59 PM »
Not surprised by this.
why ?

Because it's a situation in which a demanding coach, with success in that arena, has retired but is still actively assessing that standards are maintained and certain methodologies and best practices are applied. If you build a house, you'll zealously guard against it's deterioration. One has leeway to innovate or depart from what is advisable, only when the results favourably correlate to whatever is happening in practice. Other than that, its pack yuh bags.

Also, personality plays no small part in this mix.

« Reply #37 on: August 04, 2019, 03:19:05 PM »
Not surprised by this.
why ?

Because it's a situation in which a demanding coach, with success in that arena, has retired but is still actively assessing that standards are maintained and certain methodologies and best practices are applied. If you build a house, you'll zealously guard against it's deterioration. One has leeway to innovate or depart from what is advisable, only when the results favourably correlate to whatever is happening in practice. Other than that, its pack yuh bags.

Also, personality plays no small part in this mix.
got it

FC Santa Rosa pulls out of Ascension League
« Reply #38 on: August 12, 2020, 06:48:38 AM »
FC Santa Rosa pulls out of Ascension League
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

FC SANTA Rosa has pulled out of all local football competitions for the remainder of 2020 as a precautionary measure to protect club personnel and staff from contracting covid19.

The club has opted to forfeit its participation in the Ascension Invitational League and any other tournament within this duration. Additionally, a decision will be made in the coming weeks regarding the club’s football school which comprises over 100 children.

With the second annual Ascension Invitational still awaiting confirmation by the Ministry of Health for an August 14 kickoff, FC Santa Rosa will not be featured this time around.

Club president Keith Look Loy confirmed the club’s decision to stay away.

“We took that decision in principle several weeks ago and we were monitoring the situation. When we saw the rapid spike and increase in cases, our motto right now is life before football. We cannot, in good conscience, expose players, coaches and officials to these health risks. FC Santa Rosa is observing the situation and will be guided by further information from the Ministry of Health,” said Look Loy.

The TT Super League president also revealed that Matura FC, Erin FC and Queen’s Park have also chosen to omit themselves from the Ascension tourney due to similar circumstances.

With the competitive youth season also pushed back courtesy the novel virus, FC Santa Rosa currently awaits a decision by the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Education on the resumption of school and extracurricular activities.

Depending on how the situation evolved, the club would only then know how to proceed with its school programme.

“We have a football school with well over 100 children. We’re going to keep looking at this and as much as we can stay in line with the government regarding the reopening of school. We remain vigilant and will make a decision on that as well. If you can’t control adults, you have no chance of controlling kids. The decision is we are not playing adult football and we’re going to finalise our decision on the football school in the coming weeks,” he added.

Look Loy also called on national sporting organisations to let good sense prevail before sending children back out to play sport. Due to coronavirus, the National Youth League was also cancelled in July.

“Every sporting organisation needs to make up its mind on how it wants to proceed with covid19. We are not telling people don’t play football but FC Santa Rosa has taken a public decision to not play. We can’t expose our people to this virus,” he said.

With schools still on vacation, club age group representative teams would have still been playing in the Youth League at this time. However, FC Santa Rosa remains committed to protecting their players, officials and staff and plans to resume domestic competition in 2021.

“The club hasn’t (kicked) a ball since March. If it is, this is what has to be done to safeguard our members, then so be it,” he concluded.