March 28, 2024, 04:55:32 PM

Author Topic: Joe Public beats NE Revolution in CONCACAF opener.  (Read 7142 times)

Joe Public beats NE Revolution in CONCACAF opener.
« on: August 27, 2008, 08:40:08 AM »
Joe Public beats NE Revolution in CONCACAF opener.
By: revolutionsoccer.net.

Revs drop first leg of CONCACAF Champions League preliminary series, but Mauricio Castro scores a crucial late goal to boost New England’s chances in the return leg at Gillette Stadium.

MACOYA, Trinidad – A determined Joe Public FC club from Trinidad and Tobago defended its home field and defeated the New England Revolution, 2-1, on Tuesday night in the first leg of a CONCACAF Champions League preliminary-round series at Marvin Lee Stadium. However, Mauricio Castro converted a late penalty kick for the Revs, giving them a crucial goal in the two-game series that will be decided on aggregate score.

Castro’s goal is even more critical in that it was scored away from home, giving New England a possible edge in the first tiebreaker should the Revs and Eastern Lions finish even on aggregate after the second leg on Sept. 2 at Gillette Stadium. If the two teams are tied on aggregate goals after the second match, the first tiebreaker is away goals.

Just as they did in Toronto three nights prior, the Revs began the match in a 4-4-1-1 formation, with Steve Ralston playing as a withdrawn forward behind lone striker Taylor Twellman.

Joe Public – which out-shot the Revs, 11-2, in the first half – had a great chance to open the scoring in the ninth minute when forwards Gregory Richardson and Reon Nelson linked up inside the box, but Nelson didn’t connect on his shot and the effort rolled harmlessly wide.

New England was forced to shuffle its formation in the 25th minute, as back spasms forced Ralston out of the game, to be replaced by Wells Thompson. Castro shifted into Ralston’s withdrawn forward position, while Thompson slotted into left midfield.

The Revolution’s best chance of the first half came in the 35th minute, when Twellman was taken down 20 yards from goal to set up a free kick in the center of the field. Jeff Larentowicz, filling in as a center back, stepped up to strike the free kick, but his driven effort was parried over the bar by Joe Public goalkeeper Alejandro Figueroa.

Nelson almost put the host Lions into the lead right before halftime when he ran on to Kerry Baptiste’s long ball behind the Revs’ defense, but again his shot went wide.

The home side finally did take advantage of its possession and go ahead, 1-0, in the 51st minute. Baptiste broke free down the right wing and played a ball across the face of goal to Richardson, who tapped into the empty net from six yards out to finish the move.

Joe Public forward Jamal Gay replaced Nelson in the 69th minute, and then proceeded to score with his first touch of the game just one minute later to put the Eastern Lions ahead, 2-0. Once again, Baptiste burst down the right wing before playing a teasing cross to the six-yard box, where Gay one-timed a shot past Revs goalkeeper Doug Warren.

Six minutes later, New England cut the deficit in half, as Castro converted a penalty kick after Shalrie Joseph was taken down in the box. The goal was Castro’s first for the Revolution since joining the team prior to the start of this season and handed the Revs a huge boost heading into the final match of the series.

New England will host the second leg of the preliminary series at Gillette Stadium on Tuesday, Sept. 2, with the winner of the series advancing to the tournament’s group stage. The match will once again be televised nationally on Fox Soccer Channel at 8 p.m. ET.

Before finishing the preliminary-round series with Joe Public next Tuesday, the Revs will host David Beckham and the Los Angeles Galaxy in an MLS regular-season match at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 30, at Gillette Stadium.

New England Revolution at Joe Public FC
August 26, 2008 – Macoya, Trinidad (Marvin Lee Stadium)

Scoring Summary:

JPF – Gregory Richardson (Kerry Baptiste) 51
JPF – Jamal Gay (Kerry Baptiste) 70
NE – Mauricio Castro (penalty kick) 76

New England Revolution (4-4-1-1): Doug Warren (GK), Chris Tierney, Jeff Larentowicz, Michael Parkhurst, Jay Heaps, Mauricio Castro (Joe Germanese 80), Shalrie Joseph, Pat Phelan, Sainey Nyassi (Amaechi Igwe 65), Steve Ralston © (Wells Thompson 25), Taylor Twellman

Substitutes Not Used: Brad Knighton (GK), Matt Reis (GK), Rob Valentino

STATS: Shots 5; Shots on Goal 2; Saves 4; Corner Kicks 3; Offside 2; Fouls Committed 7

Joe Public FC (4-4-2): Alejandro Figueroa (GK), Jason Springer, Keyeno Thomas, Christopher Harvey, Carlyle Mitchell, Wolry Wolfe (Kerry Noray 81), Dale Saunders ©, Arnold Dwarika (Lyndon Andrews 83), Kerry Baptiste, Reon Nelson (Jamal Gay 69), Gregory Richardson

Substitutes Not Used: Andre Foster (GK), Peterson Desrivieres, Gary Glasgow, Elusma Pierre

STATS: Shots 15; Shots on Goal 6; Saves 1; Corner Kicks 3; Offside 4; Fouls Committed 11

Misconduct Summary:
NE – Wells Thompson (caution) 26
JPF – Wolry Wolfe (caution) 55
JPF – Carlyle Mitchell (caution) 74
JPF – Jamal Gay (caution) 78
NE – Michael Parkhurst (caution) 88

Officials;
Referee: Courtney Campbell
Referee’s Assistants: Egbert Paesch (SAR), Pablo de Avila (JAR)
Fourth Official: Jaggernath Goolcharan
Time of Game: 1:55
Weather: 82 degrees and cloudy
Attendance: 2,100

NOTES

The match was not only the first-ever meeting between New England and Joe Public FC, but it also marked the first time that the Revs played any team from Trinidad and Tobago.

While the CONCACAF Champions League is in its inaugural year of competition, the Revs twice competed in the region’s previous premier club tournament, the CONCACAF Champions Cup … New England played in the round of 16 in the 2003 Champions Cup and the quarterfinal round of the 2006 Champions Cup, falling to LD Alajuelense of Costa Rica both times.

Mauricio Castro’s goal was his first for the Revolution in all competitions … Castro, who joined the Revolution prior to this season, has three assists in all competitions.

Goalkeeper Doug Warren started in place of the injured Matt Reis (R adductor strain) for the third straight match, though Reis was available as a substitute on the bench.

Khano Smith was unavailable for the match, as the midfielder is with the Bermuda National Team for the Digicel Caribbean Cup.

Chris Albright was unavailable after suffering a concussion and a left hip flexor strain in the Revs’ previous match at Toronto (Aug. 23) … while the rest of the club went straight from Toronto to Trinidad, Albright flew back to Massachusetts.

With Chris Albright unavailable, Jeff Larentowicz moved back to the center of defense to pair with Michael Parkhurst, while Jay Heaps moved out to the right.

Forwards Adam Cristman, Kheli Dube and Kenny Mansally were all unavailable because of injury.
Amaechi Igwe replaced Sainey Nyassi in the 65th minute, pushing Wells Thompson to right midfield while Igwe took over at left midfield.

New England altered its formation once more in the 80th minute when Joe Germanese replaced Mauricio Castro … Amaechi Igwe dropped back into the center of defense with Michael Parkhurst, Jeff Larentowicz slid into defensive midfield, Germanese took over on the right wing and Shalrie Joseph played behind lone striker Taylor Twellman.

The surface at Marvin Lee Stadium is FieldTurf, similar to that at Gillette Stadium.

NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION HEAD COACH STEVE NICOL

"The big problem we were always going to have was what we had left in our legs. We saw today that when Joe Public got out ahead of us, with the schedule we've had and the travel we've had, it's been taken out of us. Certainly, we're pleased to only lose 2-1. Joe Public had a couple of chances, but we had a couple of chances, as well. So we've given ourselves a chance."

"We knew Joe Public had good players, players we had to keep our eyes on. And what we saw tonight was exactly what we'd thought we'd get."

"What worked against us was the amount of time it took to get here. We had some injuries as well, and had to make some changes, so that was against us. Joe Public played well and deserved to win the game, but we're glad that we have a chance next week."

"They played better, passed the ball better. We knew it was going to be tough. The biggest thing for us was that we gave ourselves the chance to tie."
Public draw first blood.
But tired Revolution stay close.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Bend it like Baptiste.

If the majority of patrons at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya on Tuesday night turned up for entertainment by top United States Major League Soccer (MLS) club, New England Revolution, they left with newfound respect for hosts bmobile Joe Public and, by extension, the local Pro League.

Public's 2-1 first leg CONCACAF Champions League triumph did not offer much security for their return fixture in Boston on September 2. Yet, it was a timely reminder that Trinidad and Tobago's domestic football is not irrelevant outside the Caribbean.

There were several commendable performances in the Public strip; not least by defender Keyeno Thomas, midfielder Arnold Dwarika, Guyanese striker Gregory Richardson, Jamaican flanker Wolry Wolfe and teenaged substitute Jamal Gay. But it was the educated right boot of Kerry Baptiste that shone brightest.

If Revolution have any idea of how to stave off a capable winger-and the MLS does possess England star David Beckham, mind you-they certainly did not show it in Macoya. The closest Revolution left back Chris Tierney got to Baptiste was when the pair shook hands before kick off as the versatile attacker gave another indication of his worth to national coach Francisco Maturana, who has used him sparingly thus far.

Both Public goals, converted by Richardson and Gay, came off Baptiste deliveries and there should have been at least two more but for poor finishing by Jamaican striker Roen Nelson.

New Public coach Keith Griffith was ecstatic at the triumph and predicted an encore in Boston.

"The players played wonderful football and we deserved the win," said the Barbadian coach, "although I think we should have scored more goals I am confident that we will win (there) and advance."

Griffith spent barely a month at the club before Tuesday's test and suggested that his job was more difficult because he was "Bajan".

He will soon discover that locals are not picky about such trivia as St Lucian Stuart Charles-Fevrier (W Connection), Guyanese James McLean (Economy North East Stars) and Englishmen Terry Fenwick and Ricky Hill (both Clico San Juan Jabloteh) have all been coaches of the year since the advent of the professional game here.

Griffith is some way from matching those imports but Public captain Dale Saunders said his new boss made a good start by virtually erasing the tension that existed under his predecessor, Michael Mc Comie, who deserves credit for getting the "Eastern Lions" this far.

Public certainly played happy, albeit open, football on Tuesday although Griffith should not disregard Revolution coach Steve Nicol's assertion that his team was leg weary and should be in better condition next week.

While Public's last fixture was on August 16, due to several postponements and a gracious break granted by the Pro League last weekend, Revolution played in Boston on August 20, flew to Toronto for action on the night of August 23 before arriving in Trinidad on August 25.

"The big problem we were always going to have was what we had left in our legs," said Nicol. "But we are pleased to give ourselves a chance for the next leg."

Revolution's starting team boasted 28-year-old US striker Taylor Twellman and 30-year-old Grenadian midfield star Shalrie Joseph-a five-time and four-time MLS All Star respectively-but it was 34-year-old former national star, Dwarika, who ignited as Public took early control.

Wolfe forced a save from Revolution goalkeeper Doug Warren in the second minute while Nelson miskicked from one Richardson cross and then failed to meet another within the opening 20 minutes.

A fierce Jeff Larentwicz free kick brought a fortuitous save from Public's Colombian custodian Alejandro Figueroa in the 36th minute but normal service soon resumed and Dwarika had a decent penalty shout, two minutes later, as he dragged the ball past Tierney and fell over his outstretched leg.

The deadlock was finally broken, five minutes after the interval, as Baptiste ran on to a Nelson pass and his raking low cross was calmly tapped home by Richardson. Nelson wasted a similar Baptiste delivery in the 65th minute while Dwarika headed over from another right side cross as the Public winger ran riot.

Gay, who rose to prominence earlier this year with three caps and one goal in a brief international stint, replaced Nelson in the 69th minute and, within seconds, celebrated Public's second with a close ranged finish off another Baptiste cross. It was Gay's first goal for Public after three appearances off the bench.

But Revolution managed a consolation item in the 76th minute when Honduran Mauricio Castro converted a penalty kick won by Joseph off Public defender Carlyle Mitchell.

Nicol believes the away goal would be crucial but he has underestimated Trinidad and Tobago talent before.

Last season, "Soca Warrior" and 2006 World Cup player Avery John was Revolution's first choice left-back but Nicol did not do enough to keep him on their roster.

Revolution cannot help but improve for the second leg. But, if Baptiste is in the same mood, John's absence could be costly.

Joe Public: - 1.Alejandro Figueroa; 19.Carlyle Mitchell, 20.Christopher Harvey, 23.Keyeno Thomas, 13.Jason Springer; 8.Dale Saunders (capt); 17.Kerry Baptiste, 9.Arnold Dwarika (10.Lyndon Andrews 83), 11.Wolry Wolfe (16.Kerry Noray 81); 21.Gregory Richardson, 14.Roen Nelson (31.Jamal Gay 69).
Joe Public thankful, disappointed.
T&T Express Reports.

The Joe Public Football Club have expressed their gratitude to their supporters following Tuesday night's earned 2-1 victory over the New England Revolution in the opening leg of their 2008 Concacaf Champions League tie at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

Joe Public achieved the win courtesy of goals by Gregory Richardson and Jamal Gay to hold an advantage going into the return leg at the Gillette Stadium, Boston on September 2.

There was a one minute silence before kick off in memory of the late Richard Abraham, former general manager of the club.

Sam Phillip, the current general manager, stated: "We at Joe Public wish to thank all our loyal supporters particularly our main sponsors BMobile, Francis Fashion, Sportsworld,VEMCO and Blue Waters for giving us that extra hand in the lead up to yesterday's victory over New England Revolution.

"The club's board of directors wishes to specially thank the coaching staff headed by Mr Keith Griffith and all the players for their superb efforts in achieving what is undoubtedly one of our best results in the history of the club. Our chairman Mr Jack Warner and managing director Daryll Warner has also been of tremendous support to the team."

Phillip added: "We know the journey is far from over but we believe that with continued support and commitment we can go to Boston and complete the win which will take us through to the next stage. We wish to also make it clear that this is not just a victory for Joe Public, but also one for the T&T Pro League and football in Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean which was witnessed by thousands of viewers on (cable TV station) Fox Sports."

However, Daryll Warner, in his capacity as managing director expressed disappointment with the lack of solidarity within the football fraternity and the scheduling of matches on the day his players--representing the T&T Pro League--were playing the MLS' number one team - New England Revolution.

"One finds it very difficult to understand why the Pro League would not fully support such an encounter in which one of its team was participating and representing the League. Despite the obvious lack of support from certain factions within the football fraternity of Trinidad and Tobago, Joe Public FC again defied the odds and were victorious both on and off the field of play and this was viewed live in 35 countries via Fox Sports and other affiliates on the internet as well."

Team coach Griffith said the players' determination was a key factor.

"We felt that we had to play some of our best football and that's what we did on the night. The guys stuck to the plan and they gave it their all. It was disappointing to concede the penalty because I wanted to win by three goals but now we will go to Boston and play our natural game which is to play attractive football and try to win the game. It's a big win for the club and I am happy to be part of it especially after only coming here a month ago to prepare the team for this game. The entire club from the bosses, the coaching and management staff and the players have been a terrific bunch which played a big role in us getting this victory," the former Barbados technical director added.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2008, 07:21:28 AM by Flex »

Re: Joe Public beats NE Revolution in CONCACAF opener.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2008, 09:12:11 AM »
welcome to the TT pro league bitches

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2008, 09:15:20 AM »
tops

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2008, 09:36:43 AM »
It's very interesting to me when you can get a report like this from a team/club/reporters from the MLS,people who are seeing/playing against this team for the first time,a team based on reports on this site would have thought this team was a shyt team,i'm yet to see a report anything close to this from a reporter in T&T,i know this may be is a surprise to most but based on the history of this team it should not be because the Pro league has grown and is not only Jabloteh it have,they are not doing as well as they should but they are a force,they have proved themselves by their results in the league,the criticisms leveled against them is only because they are associated with JW but what they are doing is no different to what all other teams do,so i want to say well done JP keep up the good works. 

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2008, 09:41:44 AM »
great stuff.

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2008, 09:49:27 AM »
It's very interesting to me when you can get a report like this from a team/club/reporters from the MLS,people who are seeing/playing against this team for the first time,a team based on reports on this site would have thought this team was a shyt team,i'm yet to see a report anything close to this from a reporter in T&T,i know this may be is a surprise to most but based on the history of this team it should not be because the Pro league has grown and is not only Jabloteh it have,they are not doing as well as they should but they are a force,they have proved themselves by their results in the league,the criticisms leveled against them is only because they are associated with JW but what they are doing is no different to what all other teams do,so i want to say well done JP keep up the good works. 
Coops, I watch the game and for the first 75 minutes Joe Public basically dominated the game.  What Joe Public did is exactly what our national team has to do in order to compete with the us....attack.

Dwarika and Richardson were a thorn in the side of the revs.  They really had no answer for either of them.  The one thing that US coaches fear in T&T players is our skill and that is exactly what we do not use against them.  I cannot for the life of me figure out why we do not attack, dribble and be creative against the US.  To me that is our only chance to win.  BEAT THEM....

Kudos to Joe Public as I thought the game was entertaining.

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2008, 10:04:12 AM »
same sentiments Arimaman... I have not seen a pro-league game in years as I do not live in T&T, I kind of expected the reverse of the match in terms of Revs dominating and T&T on de back foot for most of the game.. I was pleasnatly surprised to see the reverse and also that JP was able to keep up the intensity for such a long period...
Good showing JP...

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2008, 11:49:22 AM »
Coops, I watch the game and for the first 75 minutes Joe Public basically dominated the game.  What Joe Public did is exactly what our national team has to do in order to compete with the us....attack.

Dwarika and Richardson were a thorn in the side of the revs.  They really had no answer for either of them.  The one thing that US coaches fear in T&T players is our skill and that is exactly what we do not use against them.  I cannot for the life of me figure out why we do not attack, dribble and be creative against the US.  To me that is our only chance to win.  BEAT THEM....

I understand and agree with your thoughts here but from my experience i will say that through out our history our strengths has always been our individual skills/flair,our downfall has always been our ability to play as a team,i think the modern game takes away the individualism and places more emphasis on playing as a team,through that players have lost their confidence to dribble and be creative,today if you are successful with it you are a hero and vilified if you are not,it's the easiest way to not make a team (just dribble too much) although i think every team needs a good dribbler on it.You will find our teams on any given day will play excellent and the next poorly because our success most times depends on who we play,our game in recent years has been very defensive and there are lots of reasons for that,we more tend to try and keep possession/play it safe than take risk,Latapy is a perfect example he was too risky for Benie,any how i gone.

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2008, 12:15:39 PM »
I enjoyed the game and tip my hat to Joe Public and yes the score should have been bigger. Playing devils advocate fatigue is fatigue & NE players looked it. They had just come off a game on Saturday night & had to fly into T&T and play Tuesday. Now they have to go to LA Saturday & then cross country back home to play JP on Tuesday. If is any time to ketch them is now.

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2008, 12:28:01 PM »
I understand and agree with your thoughts here but from my experience i will say that through out our history our strengths has always been our individual skills/flair,our downfall has always been our ability to play as a team,i think the modern game takes away the individualism and places more emphasis on playing as a team,through that players have lost their confidence to dribble and be creative,today if you are successful with it you are a hero and vilified if you are not,it's the easiest way to not make a team (just dribble too much) although i think every team needs a good dribbler on it.You will find our teams on any given day will play excellent and the next poorly because our success most times depends on who we play,our game in recent years has been very defensive and there are lots of reasons for that,we more tend to try and keep possession/play it safe than take risk,Latapy is a perfect example he was too risky for Benie,any how i gone.

I think you make good points here.

However.....you say that Latas was too risky for Beenie and to a large extent that is true.

What's left unsaid is WHY Latas may have been deemed too risky for Beenie.

Latas started the Guatemala, Panama, Mexico, and 1st leg playoff game against Bahrain.  Aganst Guatemala, a team that resembled our own, Latas was at his most effective.

In Panama, he was less so.  We were playing away from home needing victory but we absolutely could not afford a loss against them.  He saw much less of the ball and was less effective.

Against Mexico, he played wonderfully well in what was for the most part, an open game.  A game where players were afforded room to play even though we needed to win.  Mexico could afford to play that way because they had already qualified.  This kind of game is where Latas excels and excel he did.

The 1st leg game against Bahrain revealed the chinks in Latas' armor.  They came for a point.  They set out their stall from early, and knew exactly who our danger men were.  Latas was rendered ineffective for the vast majority of time that he was on the field.  Beenie knew he could not afford such a luxury in Bahrain and dropped Latas from the starting lineup.  A move that Latas hilmself said he agreed with.

After the euphoria of qualifying for the World Cup, the real test of preparing ourselved against the European style team that we would play in our group began.  It is clear to see that ALL the players adore playing with Latas.  When Latas is on the field, the team gets a visible lift.  The players up their adrenaline levels and are anxious to play FOOTBALL because when he's on the field, you know that Latas is one man will find you no matter where you are.  All of these are tremendous positives.

But there is also a downside to that.  Having played Iceland and Wales...game in which we did well but lost to Wales although outplaying them we then moved on to opposition that closer resembled our opponents in our world cup group.  We were beaten handily and soundly by BOTH Slovakia & Czech Republic.  Our weaknesses were glaring.  We allowed the opposition too much room, we played too slowly, we lost our shape and discipline in defence far too often, and we had little creativity in attack because we were busy defending for much of the game.

Having seen those weaknesses going into the World Cup, any thought of playing the same way quickly and RIGHTFULLY went out the window.  Instead, a more pragmatic, disciplined, and tactical approach was taken and adopted.  Boring....yes.  Defensive minded....yes.  Necessary....oh yes.

The very characterisitics that Latas possesses that make him such a joy to play with and are positives for the team became negatives in this disciplined way of playing at the world cup.  It begs the question....what was the primary goal of our World Cup participation?

Was it to introduce the world to "kaisoca soccer"? Whatever that is?

Was it to play attractive, attacking football, taking the attack to the opposition even though the results against Slovakia & Czech Republic were fresh in our minds?

Was it to go there and not be embarassed at all costs?

Was it to go and play to the best of our ability and show that we belonged at this level?

Well whatever it is...rhere will always be debate about Latas' role or lack thereof in the World Cup.  But no matter what your opinion is, there are good reasons either way for what transpired.

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2008, 12:36:36 PM »
..that was de first good game Kerry Baptise played in ah long time..

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2008, 12:58:00 PM »

Arimaman - spot on observations boss...I felt the same way watching that match last night.  Richardson..if he is a T&T native should be on the national team...especially since someone (crazy) thought that Toussaint was good enough to play in the colors!! ....the fella is worries dread..and the commentators were basically telling MLS clubs to scout the man.  He played under control, fearless and was full of confidence attacking that backline. 

It was good to see Dwarika could still play ..he showed flashes of the stuff we saw all too often when I played for CIC.. the fella used to do what he wanted....ah know allyuh remember dat Malick side that took the North by storm!!

Coop's I hear yuh but tend to disagree that "the modern game takes away the individualism and places more emphasis on playing as a team" - - I think that players today are more technical all around and more players are capable of being a threat...so that lends for more balance.  I tell my youth teams that yes, we need to play as a team, but we have to be technically sound in all 11 positions....not just rely on "one good dribbler" as you say.  The good dribblers aka more creative players can play to their strengths and flair because they know that they have solid (technical) players around them.  They are more willing to take chances and commit to attack.  Our national team lacks that balance of skill ..you have some men that are comfortable regardless of pressure on the ball (Yorke, Daniel) - some men that could hold it under pressure most of the time (Hyland, Whitley, Lawrence) and then some men that ...pass off responsibility as opposed to making passes (Cyd, Avery,) ...I trust that you understand the difference....

I firmly believe that the team should be built around players that are highly to above average technically, that could read the game ..and share the occasional blade.... and ofcourse an enforcer in the middle of the park ..and a bonafide shot stopper that can distribute the ball accurately to initiate the attack....  Find that 11 and we qualify for 2010..no worries..

Joe Public look good last night....players of the game were Baptiste, Richardson, Thomas and Figueroa

Well done fellas..
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2008, 12:59:50 PM »
Strong 'Public' show

The Revolution, tied for the best record in Major League Soccer, fell to Joe Public FC, 2-1, last night, in a preliminary-round game of the CONCACAF Champions League at Macoya, Trinidad.

But all is not lost for New England.

Mauricio Castro, who earned a recall with Khano Smith lost to Bermuda national team duty, scored on a penalty kick for the Revolution in the 76th minute.

While New England could not notch the equalizer, Castro's goal was critical in that it was scored away from home, giving the Revolution the possible edge in the first tiebreaker should the teams finish even on aggregate in the second leg.

(continue)

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2008, 01:38:03 PM »
this game doh mean who say joe public is shyt lie. this just means the other teams in the pro league better

ask anybody who does actually go pro league who is the best team

anyways nasri and fabregas rippin on deportes

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2008, 01:41:22 PM »
Good analysis Uprising (and others), BTW Richardson from Guyana..hope JP can pull it out in the return....

« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2008, 01:46:55 PM »
Nice to see Dale Saunders, Dwarika and Lyndon Chubby andrews still sweating.

Give them a call up for Guatemala

That is a real experienced midfield they.

It will take a miracle to win the second round
Hopefully they could keep them men off the carnival parkway on Labor Day match is on Tuesday.

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2008, 01:51:25 PM »
Game showing now on FOX now. First half now finish.

JP looking real good  :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2008, 01:52:20 PM »
Many perceptions are being discussed here and I like it.

Yes the collective game is stressed more (especially defensively) and consequently makes it more difficult for individual expression. However, I do believe that individual expression is encouraged and utilized to maximum effect by many coaches. Kaka, Messi, Silva, Xavi, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo, Fabragas (i could go on) are all players that are encouraged to express their individuality within their respective team's. It is a matter of mentality, coaching philosophy, club / country philosophy etc.

As for technically better players today, I sometimes question that. Now I say this with a couple things in mind. Modern football pitches are billard tables and well watered before every game. This makes a huge difference in technique. One bounce on todays pitches and the ball is dead. Players have to concern themselves far less today with the bounce and flight of the ball. Also for me players are far less two footed and not as good in the air. Maybe it is just my fading memory. Now when I see players struggling with a wet pitch and complaining about ground conditions after the game, I could only shake my head. Just look back at pitches, not that far back late 70's 80's even 90's and one will see a huhe difference.  

« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2008, 02:04:48 PM »
Good insights into the game/players Observer appreciate your input,i was hoping you would contribute.One thing i would like to add here because i'm watching the game,Dwarika looks like he still have it,he is really having a good game. 

Offline gothic

« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2008, 02:31:09 PM »
One thing i would like to add here because i'm watching the game,Dwarika looks like he still have it,he is really having a good game. 

ohoh

« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2008, 02:36:28 PM »
Good insights into the game/players Observer appreciate your input,i was hoping you would contribute.One thing i would like to add here because i'm watching the game,Dwarika looks like he still have it,he is really having a good game. 

One of our past National coaches told me that, when playing at home he would always pick Dwarika. He definately looked very creative last night.

« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2008, 02:40:09 PM »
I have not felt so proud of a T&T team for a long time as I did yesterday with JP. My only disappointment was that we should have been up three goals in the first half. Kerry Baptiste had a boss game and those crosses were brilliant. I hope Maturana was present. Dwarika still have what it takes and for those against flair, there is a young German that is called MESSI like , and who gives that flair that German is not known for and scored a beauty against Belguim yesterday.
 Dwarika showed yesterday what T&T is lacking in midfield presently.

« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2008, 03:00:56 PM »
One thing i would like to add here because i'm watching the game,Dwarika looks like he still have it,he is really having a good game. 

ohoh
        Explain,can't understand spanish.

« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2008, 03:01:05 PM »
I hope Maturana was present.

Yes, he was at de game.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2008, 03:03:06 PM »
Bring back Dwarika :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2008, 03:15:35 PM »
Good Evening Fellahs,
                                   JP played well. I was pleasantly surprised. All yuh know how I feel about JW, so I am not being biased about what I say about this team. I thought the coach did a good job with the preparation and also the timely sub for Reon Nelson. I think Nelson is a good player. He put himself in the right position but is unable to finish. He should have had a hat-trick last night. JP ball control, their confidence receiving and moving with the ball was refreshing. I have not seen the national team  done that in a while.

I had apprehensions about JP coming into this game, only because the last outing they had in DC a couple years ago was a disaster. The got 8 from DC United. They did not belong on the field that night. But yesterday they proved that the PFl is not bad or improving or both. What the league needs badly is fan support. Not only for the big games but the regular games.

I also thought NE was a bit tired. But say what. When you are a pro you have to adjust.  Good luck JP in next week game. The shoe will be on the other foot.

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2008, 03:16:40 PM »
wats up people a well played game by joe public . dwarika and richardson should be considered for nationals. and to add to a good point made by  some of u guys is that T&T does not have enough confidence in there back four  if u look at england and some other european teams  they attack   on offense cause they trust there defenders and i believe if we get some stable defenders we can trust and live with there decisions then we can be more of our skillfull selves on offense  but we also have to pick our points when we choose to  dribble the ball   overall its about recognizing the situation and wats going on,all over the field. 
« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 03:18:46 PM by WARRIORKING »
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #27 on: August 27, 2008, 03:18:56 PM »
wats up people a well played game by joe public . dwarika and richardson should be considered for nationals.
Richardson is Guyanese.

« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2008, 03:29:15 PM »
I guess posters ignored  the notes below

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #29 on: August 27, 2008, 03:35:53 PM »
wats up people a well played game by joe public . dwarika and richardson should be considered for nationals.
Richardson is Guyanese.

Naturalize him!! ...the fella could play ..he doh hav a Trini grandmum??
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."