Do you think sizzla gorn tru?

He gone tru
3 (50%)
Sizzla still alright, but not as good as before
2 (33.3%)
sizzla still good
1 (16.7%)

Total Members Voted: 6

Author Topic: When exactly sizzla gorn tru?  (Read 5545 times)

When exactly sizzla gorn tru?
« on: August 28, 2008, 04:07:45 PM »
I listenin to some ole sizzla and  I does always steups at how good he used to be, but den he gone on this gangsta rap vibes and den I fine he gorn tru.  I wonderin if anybody else does listen to old sizzla and tink the same ting, if they know exactly when it happen.  or if they find sizzla does still puttin out good tunes.

Re: When exactly sizzla gorn tru?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2008, 04:19:21 PM »
Ah know what yuh mean. Before, I used to buy anyting Sizzla put out, witout even hearing it first, and ah never used tuh be disappointed. But den he start playing de ass and start singing ah setta shit. De ting wit him though, is as soon as yuh ready tuh write him orf, he does drop ah nice album. Unlike de mid to late 90s and early 200os, he jes very inconsistent, and it hard tuh take him seriously. For me,  he started to lose his stripes around de time of de Black History and Blaze Up the Chalwa albums.

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2008, 07:27:39 PM »
Killer sizzla gone tru from long time iyah.. di man cya hold a facking note at all.. I suprise he is still rated..
War

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 09:26:06 AM »
I still ratin him, I cyah ignore the past music he put out..plus conscious or gangsta lyrics the production does always be tight

Like tallman say he inconsistent but that might be just ah man experimenting with different styles ....yuh know how musicians does get eccentric weird as they career does blossom an ting

He zaggin now...I feel he go zig back in de conscious lane and stay dey

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2008, 09:32:44 AM »
He zaggin now...I feel he go zig back in de conscious lane and stay dey

I find he gone orf on dat tangent too long now.

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2008, 10:28:19 AM »
a next man who fall off too is anthony b.  that was my artiste for years back in the late nineties early 2000's

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2008, 12:57:15 PM »
wow!! anthony b..I forget bout him

come to think of it the only time I fine he shine is when he do the handful of collaborations with sizzla

Tallman doh trow out yuh CD's yet...he go put on he bobo shanti hat an come back again

« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2008, 01:28:27 PM »
I had real sizzla album...original too...

I was a fan

den the man jest gorn tru...like he voice mash up...he hadda alternative with he high pitch screach, a low drawl a gutteral tone.

But I like how he try the calypso.

Anthony B is one of the biggest Pope Paul Rasta it have out.

Gorn tru.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2008, 02:13:13 PM »
sizzla jus studying party now..man was loving heself in de 51 las nite!
he really gone thru for me tho, cant listen to any of the new stuff he comes out with

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2008, 07:36:28 PM »
Anthony B  mi singjay Dat.. Here is anothony B and bunji ..

http://media.imeem.com/m/_AGbfOfSAJ/aus=false/
War

« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2008, 11:55:02 AM »
Yeah Miguel Collins gone tru real bad... He will still give yuh a good couple tunes here and there but nothing like back in the day.

The first Sizzla tune I heard was back in like 95 or so before he became (mainstream) popular in T&T "sometimes I smile sometimes I don't, the purpose dem nuh knoowww...cyah stop hail king selassie I though, some too high dem just knock out dey stoop de females too low, hail queen Omega unno respect haffi show" (or something like that  ;D) ...from the time I heard that tune, I was like yeah dis fella will be large- left Trini for a semester, and by the time I was back for vacation, Sizzla was ruling the airwaves wid big tune after big tune....shortly after coming back home for a 2 yrs in 2000 the man came out with "pump up her pum pum", and I cyah describe how disappointed I was....from then on I found he was hit or miss- had some good stretches in between that would occasionally bring back hope but still prone tuh vomit in the studio when he ready- real sad because he had a great voice and really strong (though repetitive at time) lyrics.

Buju takes the prize for longevity in dancehall music for me... Almost 20 years of steady good tunes whether it's conscious or jump up style...

« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2008, 12:33:43 PM »
Studio Albums

Title                                 Release date                   Label

Burning Up                         September 5, 1995           RAS
Cajun Memories                 1995    
Black Woman & Child         September 16, 1997    VP
Praise Ye Jah                 October 21, 1997            Xterminator
Strong, 2                         1998                            Star Trail
Freedom Cry                 November 9, 1998            VP
Good Ways                 1999                            VP
Royal Son of Ethiopia         June 22, 1999            Greensleeves...he eat the bad doubles here :devil:
Be I Strong                 November 2, 1999            VP.................he drink the peanut punch here
Liberate Yourself                 February 1, 2000    
Bobo Ashanti                 August 31, 2000            Greensleeves
Taking Over                 June 19, 2001            VP
Rastafari Teach I Everything    September 4, 2001    Greensleeves
Black History                 June 26, 2001            Charm...........start to fart
Blaze Up the Chalwa         January 22, 2002            Charm...........on the toilet
Ghetto Revolution         September 24, 2002    Greensleeves..leggoing rope and water steady!!!
Up in Fire                         October 1, 2002            2B1 II
Rise To The Occasion         September 30, 2003    Greensleeves
Light of My World         April 22, 2003            Jet Star.........wiping
Red Alert                         January 27, 2004    
Speak of Jah                 February 24, 2004            Bogalusa
Stay Focus                 August 24, 2004         VP................now take a lomotil
Life                                 October 12, 2004            Greensleeves
Jah Knows Best                 June 8, 2004                    RAS / Sanctuary
Brighter Day                 March 08, 2005            Kingston
Soul Deep                       July 12, 2005              Greensleeves
Burning Fire                March 29, 2005            Penitentiary
Jah Protect                March 14, 2006            Penitentiary
Ain't Gonna See Us Fall        April 4, 2006                    VP..................constipation cyar done
Waterhouse Redemption    May 5, 2006                    Greensleeves
The Overstanding        October 17, 2006    
Children of Jah                April 3, 2007                    Rude Boy
I-Space                        June 26, 2007                    Greensleeves
Rastafari                        March 4, 2008            Penitentiary
Addicted                        May 30, 2008             LGN Entertainment
No Way                        May 30, 2008                    LGN Entertainment
Give Me A Try                May 30, 2008                    LGN Entertainment

Compilations

Title                                Release date                    Label
Reggae Max                2000                            Jetstar
Reggae Chartbusters, Vol. 2    2000    
Best of Sizzla: The Story Unfolds    2002    
Judgement Yard    April 14, 2004    

[edit] Live Albums
Title    Release date    Label
Da Real Thing Live    November 19, 2002    Jet Star
Words of Truth    August 29, 2000    VP

« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2008, 02:37:14 PM »
nice breakdown dey touches.  :devil:
so who Allyuh does listen to now for conscious?  I start listening to fanton mojah, but the quality not consistently up there.  kicker say buju, and I have to agree with that he consistently good.
who else?

« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2008, 03:20:40 PM »
One of the new fellas I like is Richie Spice.

« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2008, 05:05:40 PM »
One of the new fellas I like is Richie Spice.
[/quote
yeah man .. giddeon boots wicked album dat..
war..

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2008, 03:26:02 AM »
Wha ah does listen to dese days for conscious?  Easy....old Sizzla!  ;) 8)

Wham to allyuh?!? LOUD friggin steeeeups!!!!

« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2008, 11:56:29 AM »
here is sum sizzla for unnuh .. promotional use only ..
http://www.sendspace.com/file/u09v1g
ley mi know if allyuh feal this mix tape ..

« Last Edit: September 30, 2008, 01:03:57 PM by warmonga »

« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2008, 11:59:52 AM »
Yeah Miguel Collins gone tru real bad... He will still give yuh a good couple tunes here and there but nothing like back in the day.

The first Sizzla tune I heard was back in like 95 or so before he became (mainstream) popular in T&T "sometimes I smile sometimes I don't, the purpose dem nuh knoowww...cyah stop hail king selassie I though, some too high dem just knock out dey stoop de females too low, hail queen Omega unno respect haffi show" (or something like that  ;D) ...from the time I heard that tune, I was like yeah dis fella will be large- left Trini for a semester, and by the time I was back for vacation, Sizzla was ruling the airwaves wid big tune after big tune....shortly after coming back home for a 2 yrs in 2000 the man came out with "pump up her pum pum", and I cyah describe how disappointed I was....from then on I found he was hit or miss- had some good stretches in between that would occasionally bring back hope but still prone tuh vomit in the studio when he ready- real sad because he had a great voice and really strong (though repetitive at time) lyrics.

Buju takes the prize for longevity in dancehall music for me... Almost 20 years of steady good tunes whether it's conscious or jump up style...

how yu fi be dissapointed by dat sah? sumthing wrng wid yu or what???