April 19, 2024, 06:35:03 AM

Author Topic: Six Inspired Transfers (incl. Dwight Yorke)  (Read 6745 times)

Six Inspired Transfers (incl. Dwight Yorke)
« on: August 29, 2008, 08:27:19 AM »
The Joy of Six: inspired football transfers
As this summer's transfer deadline approaches, look back at six of the most successful deals ever done
Rob Smyth
August 29, 2008 11:05 AM

1) Diego Maradona (Barcelona to Napoli, £6.9m, 1984)
To associate the inspired transfer exclusively with the bargain is as restrictive as the inclination to associate beauty exclusively with the aesthetic. Just as heart-bursting beauty can be found by watching a bag blowing in the wind, so you can still sniff value even when paying through the nose.

As such, it feels apt that Maradona is the only footballer to break his own world-record transfer fee. Sometimes the most important thing is simply to identify the bleedin' obvious - true greatness, slap down some notes on the table and say, "Let's have some of this, then". That's what Napoli did in 1984. While Milan, Inter and Juventus faffed (Maradona was in a hurry to move as he was completely skint), they did the necessary.

Maradona had nothing to his name when he joined Napoli, but the champagne flowed over the next few years: he heads a select list of players (Alan Shearer is another) whose signing almost single-handedly brought unimaginable joy to a small or underachieving club. Napoli had finished a point off relegation the previous season.

Those corkscrew curls might occasionally have looked in need of some L'Oreal lovin', and there were issues with social dandruff as well, but there is no question that Maradona was in genuine "Because I'm worth it" territory.

2) Lee Dixon and Steve Bould (Stoke to Arsenal, £350,000 and £390,000, 1988)
Arsenal's legendary 1990s back five were so similar that it felt like they had emerged from the same sporting womb, when in fact they were adopted from all over the place to partner the club's natural child, Tony Adams. Even when Bould and Dixon were bought from second-division Stoke, it was at different times: Dixon in January 1988 and Bould in June.

In those days you could find a proper player in the lower divisions: if talent is concentrated strictly in a pyramid these days, back then it was more like Marge Simpson's hair, only squashed a bit at the top. A staggering number of players not only made the leap to the top, but looked comfortable straight away. Dixon and Bould were good enough to play 63 of 76 league games in Arsenal's championship victory in their first season. Imagine a team winning the title this year with Cardiff's Kevin McNaughton and Roger Johnson in their defence. Presactly.

But George Graham had obviously seen something - possibly two right hands going in the air and appealing for offside 50 times a game - and it was a remarkable achievement to compile such a formidable defensive unit from such disparate parts. There have been more famous and exciting double signings in English football (Ardiles/Villa and Mühren/Thijssen, mainly), but none as remorselessly effective. In signing them, Graham ensured bread would be on the table not for today or tomorrow, but for an entire decade.

3) Peter Shilton (Stoke City to Nottingham Forest, £250,000, 1977)
Peter Taylor made so many wonderful signings during his time in the Midlands: Ade Akinbiyi, Trevor Benjamin, Juni ... Let's try that one again.

Peter Taylor made so many wonderful signings during his time in the Midlands: Dave Mackay, Roy McFarland, Kenny Burns, Larry Lloyd, Frank Clark. But his best might have been the one so obvious that even Brian Clough, a notoriously modest judge of a player, knew it was a good deal. The key with signing Shilton, 27 and with nearly 400 league games already under his jockstrap, was not the player but the fee: a goalkeeper-record £250,000 for somebody whose role was so disparaged at the time it was a bit like paying £50,000 for a cleaner.

But Clough and Taylor knew the importance of bricks and mortar. They knew that Shilton was this close to being perfect. Seriously, if you are under 35, you have no idea of how magnificent this man was. This was the signing that Taylor, a goalkeeper himself, had waited his whole life to make, like a kid who had saved up his pocket money for years. In his autobiography he wrote: "I had been obsessed with him since he was 19 and already a fixture in Leicester City's first team."

Serendipity also came into it. Shilton's Stoke City, who were relegated the previous season as Forest were promoted, had their first game of the season away to Mansfield. The full horror of what lay ahead hit Shilton right between the eyes, and after a dose of the I'm-a-celebrity-get-me-out-of-heres he was off to Forest. In his first season they won the league; in the next two they were champions of Europe.

4) Sol Campbell (Tottenham to Arsenal, Bosman, 2001)
This article could have dealt solely with Arsène Wenger's signings and still omitted some gems; in English football, only Peter Taylor has had a keener eye for a player in the last 50 years. Yet for all the obscenely accomplished unknowns he has unearthed, Wenger's best signing, like Taylor's, might have been somebody we all knew intimately: Sol Campbell.

The deal wasn't quite the banker that it looks in hindsight. It's important to remember that Campbell was 26 and still a little erratic. And of course it took courage to strip Tottenham of their finest, however obvious the schadenfreudian trip. Yet Wenger saw in him the monster who would totally dominate the next few years at club and international level: astonishingly, in Campbell's first three seasons at Arsenal, they only lost one away game in the league when he was on the pitch (at Everton in 2002-03).

It's difficult enough replacing one great player - Kenny Dalglish famously managed it at Liverpool - but Campbell almost single-handedly replaced a great back four. Never mind Lauren, Keown and Cole: when Campbell was on one, as he frequently was in that period, Wenger could have played Lauren Laverne, Martin Amis and Ashley from Coronation Street and still kept a clean sheet. Without him, Wenger would have not won a league title for more than a decade.

5) Mickey Evans (Plymouth to Southampton, £750,000, 1997)
There is a flawed but potent discourse in football about strikers whose mid-season signing has cost their new side the title: Rodney Marsh, Tony Cascarino and Faustino Asprilla are the principal examples. At the other end of the table, there are loads of examples of forwards whose mid-season purchase has saved their new side from relegation. Kevin Campbell's nine goals in eight games at Everton in 1998-99 stand out, as does Christophe Dugarry's holiday romance at Birmingham in 2002-03, when he even made a silk purse out of Geoff Horsfield.

In the 1996-97 season, there were instances at three different clubs, starting with John Hartson and Paul Kitson at West Ham, and Darren Huckerby at Coventry. The other was the unknown striker Mickey Evans, picked up from Plymouth by Graeme Souness in March to help Southampton in their annual relegation dogfight. He did that and more: at the start of April, with Southampton bottom and five points away from safety, he scored four goals in as many games, including two in a massive win at Nottingham Forest. Evans became the most unlikely winner of the Premier League Player of the Month award (the silver medal goes to Alex Manninger). Those were the only league goals he scored for Southampton - Souness departed in the summer, and new manager Dave Jones didn't fancy him - but his place in history was secure.

6) Dwight Yorke (Aston Villa to Manchester United, £12.6m, 1998)
We all know Eric Cantona was Sir Alex Ferguson's greatest signing, but at £1.2m it wasn't that much of a risk. Signing Cantona's eventual replacement, Dwight Yorke, was a different matter; it took stones of granite. Partly because Ferguson was loosening the purse strings for the first time in nine years, and possibly the last if he got it wrong; partly because most observers, neutral and partisan, thought Yorke, scorer of a modest 73 goals in 232 league games for Villa, was hideously overpriced; but mainly because Ferguson had absolutely no support for the purchase within his own club.

Yorke had barely scored a goal against United (just one, a penalty) but the loose-limbed mischief of his performances against them had wowed Ferguson. Yet Ferguson's assistant, Brian Kidd, wanted John Hartson - no, you don't need to adjust your screen - and thought Yorke didn't have the "remarkable range of exceptional abilities", particularly dribbling, that so interested Ferguson. Staggeringly, most of the directors took Kidd's side, to the extent that Ferguson asked the board if they wanted to "call it a day". Having called their bluff, he got his man - and in his first season Yorke delivered 29 goals, more than 20 assists, the partnership from heaven with Andy Cole, the treble and a knighthood.

The Guardian

Re: Six Inspired Transfers (incl. Dwight Yorke)
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 08:43:56 AM »
Bad man ah Bad man (Talking about Yorke).  ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 08:51:43 AM »
Dat Yorke move from Villa ito Man U still remains as the most popular move by a Trinbagonian from one pro club to another pro club..

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 08:52:02 AM »
stones of granite  :rotfl:

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2008, 09:33:45 AM »
I never realise that yorke transfer did cause SO much bad blood and sabre rattlin in Man U. management  :o real upstairs drama

So, I guess it safe to say Yorkie save Ferguson job and his subsequent legendary status...plus he worth much more than the great Diego 'L'Oreal' Maradona ent?  ;)

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2008, 09:50:13 AM »
Man United never had a better forward than Dwight Yorke.

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2008, 10:42:30 AM »
Dat Yorke move from Villa ito Man U still remains as the most popular move by a Trinbagonian from one pro club to another pro club..

Call it what it is

Tobagonian

The man from Tobago not Trinidad; But yes the country is Trinidad and Tobago.

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2008, 12:09:16 PM »
Man United never had a better forward than Dwight Yorke.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2008, 12:34:21 PM »
In terms of achievement at Old Trafford Dwight Yorke is very comparable to Cantona.

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2008, 01:19:35 PM »

Call it what it is

Tobagonian

The man from Tobago not Trinidad; But yes the country is Trinidad and Tobago.

dont know what type ah little argument u tryin to have..when i meant "the most popular move by a trinbagonian" obviously am regardling all players from trinidad and tobago..if i had said tobagonian then i would just be regarding players from tobago..please tell me what part in that statement you dont understand?..

and if you know the country is "trinidad and tobago"...then there should not be any correction with a tobagonian being called trinbagonian
« Last Edit: August 29, 2008, 01:34:44 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2008, 11:20:07 AM »
In terms of achievement at Old Trafford Dwight Yorke is very comparable to Cantona.

Cantona ushered in a new era, inspired and guided a younger generation of United to success.

People underestimate his legacy.

Yorke had no such impact. Granted, he was a great signing and had a tremendous first season but mostly reaped the benefits of having a number of players who were approaching their peak playing around him (Cole, Scholes, Beckham, Keane). Yorke was a great player playing in a team of great players.

Cantona came in 1993 and inspired a team which was languishing in mid-table to the title. He then took a group of virtually untried youngsters and led them to the league and cup double. The entire team was built around him up until his retirement in 1997.

His legacy still lives on today.

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2008, 08:14:38 PM »
Alyuh good yes Catona kicking down man in the crowd and created a legacy.

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2008, 08:40:11 PM »

Cantona ushered in a new era, inspired and guided a younger generation of United to success.

Yorke had no such impact. Granted, he was a great signing and had a tremendous first season but mostly reaped the benefits of having a number of players who were approaching their peak playing around him (Cole, Scholes, Beckham, Keane). Yorke was a great player playing in a team of great players.

Cantona came in 1993 and inspired a team which was languishing in mid-table to the title. He then took a group of virtually untried youngsters and led them to the league and cup double. The entire team was built around him up until his retirement in 1997.

Mr. Man, You ever watch ah couple of games, ah mean thee entire game with Yorke playing fuh Man-U in his prime? You talking about the players around him, it did make him a better player but he was a masterpiece signing by Sir Alex Furguson. Do you know the meaning of "Treble"??? Did Cantona help or lead to accomplish such?   

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2008, 08:43:40 PM »
A legacy of being a thug is still ah legacy

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2008, 09:48:25 PM »

Mr. Man, You ever watch ah couple of games, ah mean thee entire game with Yorke playing fuh Man-U in his prime? You talking about the players around him, it did make him a better player but he was a masterpiece signing by Sir Alex Furguson. Do you know the meaning of "Treble"??? Did Cantona help or lead to accomplish such?   

Mr Man, you ever watch a football game pre-1999?

I ask this question because I can only assume that you nothing about Manchester United before and during the Cantona era or just jumped on the Yorke bandwagon in 1999.

Unlike Yorke, Cantona practically influenced games on his own in his pomp, guided United to two domestic doubles (something that had never been achieved in English football at that time). Yorke was coming into a side that had already enjoyed success and who had already had some world class players at their disposal. Before Cantona had signed in the November of '92, United were mid-table and looked nothing like a title winning side. Noone is disputing the impact that Yorke made, nor are they disputing that he was a great player...but to say because United won the treble while he was there that he was SOLELY responsible for it, can be nothing more than the bizarre rantings of some fool with red, black and white tinted spectacles.

Next you'll be saying that Yorke created every single one of goals on his own and that Beckham, Scholes, Giggs and Cole were merely sideshow acts in the Dwight Yorke roadshow. I don't recall Yorke scoring in the Champions Leagune final in '99 or the FA Cup final in '99 either. But its a team game, so we won't criticise him for that.

And while we're talking about masterpiece signings, Cantona cost Ferguson 1.2 million pounds compared to the 12.4 million that was spent on Yorke.

Did Cantona help or lead to accomplish such?

Hardly conclusive as he had already retired before '99.  :rotfl:

In any case, a treble is one of those things that is rarely achieved and Yorke played a big part in that, but don't sit there an tell me that it was all down to him. Schmeichels penalty save in the FA Cup semi final, Giggs' injury time equaliser against Juve at Old Trafford in the Champions League semi final, Bergs goal line clearance against Inter in the Champions League quarter finals which denied them a crucial away goal, Sheringham and Solskjaers injury time salvo against Bayern in the Champions League final, Solskjaers injury time winner against Liverpool in the FA Cup 4th round...

We could say that any of those players were solely responsible for the Treble using your warped logic...If you want to base status on goals scored then Van Nistelrooy was streets ahead of Yorke as he had broken Denis Laws record of goals scored for United in Europe and scored more goals in his time at United than Yorke did...even while he spent a lot of his third season there injured. You just don't have a clue as to what you're taking about...

Cantona was voted as Uniteds #1 player of all time by the fans themselves. The crowd STILL sing his name...His influence at United was unprecedented and those who have been supporting United before 1999 and have been following football before the advent of the Premiership will know a lot more about it than you do...Yorke was a great player who prospered in a team full of great players. Cantona was a great player who made a fairly decent team great.

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2008, 09:54:42 PM »
A legacy of being a thug is still ah legacy

The fan he attacked was found to have ties with a local Nazi outift.

Still think Cantona was a thug?

Again, you don't know what you're talking about...

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2008, 10:20:59 PM »

Mr Man, you ever watch a football game pre-1999?

I ask this question because I can only assume that you nothing about Manchester United before and during the Cantona era or just jumped on the Yorke bandwagon in 1999.

Unlike Yorke, Cantona practically influenced games on his own in his pomp, guided United to two domestic doubles (something that had never been achieved in English football at that time). Yorke was coming into a side that had already enjoyed success and who had already had some world class players at their disposal. Before Cantona had signed in the November of '92, United were mid-table and looked nothing like a title winning side. Noone is disputing the impact that Yorke made, nor are they disputing that he was a great player...but to say because United won the treble while he was there that he was SOLELY responsible for it, can be nothing more than the bizarre rantings of some fool with red, black and white tinted spectacles.

Next you'll be saying that Yorke created every single one of goals on his own and that Beckham, Scholes, Giggs and Cole were merely sideshow acts in the Dwight Yorke roadshow. I don't recall Yorke scoring in the Champions Leagune final in '99 or the FA Cup final in '99 either. But its a team game, so we won't criticise him for that.

And while we're talking about masterpiece signings, Cantona cost Ferguson 1.2 million pounds compared to the 12.4 million that was spent on Yorke.

Did Cantona help or lead to accomplish such?

Hardly conclusive as he had already retired before '99.  :rotfl:

In any case, a treble is one of those things that is rarely achieved and Yorke played a big part in that, but don't sit there an tell me that it was all down to him. Schmeichels penalty save in the FA Cup semi final, Giggs' injury time equaliser against Juve at Old Trafford in the Champions League semi final, Bergs goal line clearance against Inter in the Champions League quarter finals which denied them a crucial away goal, Sheringham and Solskjaers injury time salvo against Bayern in the Champions League final, Solskjaers injury time winner against Liverpool in the FA Cup 4th round...

We could say that any of those players were solely responsible for the Treble using your warped logic...If you want to base status on goals scored then Van Nistelrooy was streets ahead of Yorke as he had broken Denis Laws record of goals scored for United in Europe and scored more goals in his time at United than Yorke did...even while he spent a lot of his third season there injured. You just don't have a clue as to what you're taking about...

Cantona was voted as Uniteds #1 player of all time by the fans themselves. The crowd STILL sing his name...His influence at United was unprecedented and those who have been supporting United before 1999 and have been following football before the advent of the Premiership will know a lot more about it than you do...Yorke was a great player who prospered in a team full of great players. Cantona was a great player who made a fairly decent team great.

You answered the question. Thanks fuh thee break down of Catona's accomplishments at Man-U but it still does not negate the fact that he did not help or was a part of winning a Treble at Man-U. Yorke was one of the main reasons why, anytime you say" TREBLEt" at man-u guess who they think about?? YORKE!!!! ;D

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2008, 10:40:08 PM »
As a man followin Man Utd b4 Yorke time I must say Cantona was a boss! I does still talk about him to this day, cuz real men didn't c d class on d field that he was. I'm 27 now...and I think anybody who around that age would confess to being like me, or seeing somebody come to school with their shirt collar up...starch and press....just to be like Eric. Even Yorke copy that for awhile...so it says something. bless
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2008, 09:15:57 AM »
You answered the question. Thanks fuh thee break down of Catona's accomplishments at Man-U but it still does not negate the fact that he did not help or was a part of winning a Treble at Man-U. Yorke was one of the main reasons why, anytime you say" TREBLEt" at man-u guess who they think about?? YORKE!!!! ;D

Personally, when I think of the Treble I think of Sheringham and Solskjaer. Two subs who came on and won the European Cup in a final that Yorke was largely marked out of the game...

This where your logic is flawed. You seem to think that our success was based on one man, out of some blinkered patriotic drivel. Yorke scored 29 goals but half them came from assists from David Beckham who was having the season of his life. Yorkes success also owes a lot to Andy Cole. Reading all the fluff you posted above, you'd think that Yorke was the only one up there creating chances and scoring...

So, because Cantona never helped United win a Treble he is less of a player? So I assume this means that Yorke is better than any other player who never won the treble as well? Cantona came and turned an average Leeds side into title winners in his first season. He then went to United and helped usher in a NEW ERA of success on the pitch, his guidance was also invaluable to Scholes, Beckham, Neville and the rest, as they have all said that Cantona was the one that had influenced them and learned from. The Treble was partly the result of the legacy he left behind, those players that he helped along in 1996 became European Champions in '99.

« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2008, 09:17:05 AM »
As a man followin Man Utd b4 Yorke time I must say Cantona was a boss! I does still talk about him to this day, cuz real men didn't c d class on d field that he was. I'm 27 now...and I think anybody who around that age would confess to being like me, or seeing somebody come to school with their shirt collar up...starch and press....just to be like Eric. Even Yorke copy that for awhile...so it says something. bless

Finally.

Someone who knows something about football outside of reading a few articles on the internet.

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2008, 11:04:23 AM »

Personally, when I think of the Treble I think of Sheringham and Solskjaer. Two subs who came on and won the European Cup in a final that Yorke was largely marked out of the game...

This where your logic is flawed. You seem to think that our success was based on one man, out of some blinkered patriotic drivel. Yorke scored 29 goals but half them came from assists from David Beckham who was having the season of his life. Yorkes success also owes a lot to Andy Cole. Reading all the fluff you posted above, you'd think that Yorke was the only one up there creating chances and scoring...

So, because Cantona never helped United win a Treble he is less of a player? So I assume this means that Yorke is better than any other player who never won the treble as well? Cantona came and turned an average Leeds side into title winners in his first season. He then went to United and helped usher in a NEW ERA of success on the pitch, his guidance was also invaluable to Scholes, Beckham, Neville and the rest, as they have all said that Cantona was the one that had influenced them and learned from. The Treble was partly the result of the legacy he left behind, those players that he helped along in 1996 became European Champions in '99.

That alone should show you who they were worried about. They could not be bothered with the other "great players" around Yorke. Teddy boy scored a goal, how many times that season Yorke kept them going?

Cantona was the one eye mad in the blind world. How hard it was to be a success. Yorke came in and dominate with "great players" already on the team. How good you have to be to make Beckham, Keane, and the others role players. Get of whatever you on.

Remind me of the English boys and them who does say that no islander can be better than them.

« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2008, 11:45:31 AM »
So it is ok 2 attack a nazi?  I did not know he played during d WW2 period. Did he know that he was a nazi when he attacked him? D man was an exceptional footballer but a boy scout he was not. Y is it must b black or white luv him or hate him. Dis level of tinking on dis MB showsmedaily y on dis 46th anniversary of we independence how far as a peeps we have 2 go

« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2008, 12:08:02 PM »

You missing thee point. Why continue with small talk?

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2008, 12:23:46 PM »
I wasn't going to get involved in this thread, because frankly a discussion about Man United bores me, but venerable de mess yuh talking getting exponential now.. just building up.

Yorke was THE BEST united forward of the last couple decades or for my lifetime. I agree in principle that Cantona may have conributed more in his career to the club than Yorke did but that was solely because of the straying of Yorke's focus. It still irks me to this day because Yorke had the potential to be an even bigger legend at the club if it wasn't for the extracurricular. I think he couldve have been in George Best realm, thats how far I think he could have gone.

But lets not use Cantona to underplay the role that Yorke played in that treble season.

For you to say that Andy Cole played a big part in Yorke's success is hilarious to say the least, especially from a man like you who claim to know something about football and the club you support.

Fellah, it was 360 degrees the other way. Is that profligous GOAT Andy Cole who profit from Yorke.. Is nuff goal he score from Yorke rebound or off the post from yorke, is scores of times Yorke hold up the play for him, is even more bess ball he get from Yorke to score and lewwe eh talk bout chrow way from him.. More often when people reflect about that period of United history, they either speak about Yorke or the Yorke-Cole partnership not Andy Cole!!! Simply put United could have survived just fine without Cole but not without Yorke!

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was. Thats why for all Van Nistelrooy's goalscoring prowess at the club, his selfish brand of play never made them click the way they did when Yorke was there. He never was as good as Yorke at involving the rest of the team and while he prospered, it was often at the expense of the team. To watch Yorke play was to see what made Utd good that year. He was superb at holding up the ball up top and making the right pass and involving everyone around him.. Beckham made many chances for him but he also made Beckham good that year, it was a reciprocal effect. Cole was de chief beneficiary of that hold up play..

As for your reference re: him being marked out of the CL final, lets not forget the champions league is not just one game.. What about his performances against Barcelona and Juventus to get them there in the first place?!

Anyway, all this is the main reason why I frown on Yorke for messing up things at Utd, and at the same time never forgive Ferguson for not giving Yorke even more chances to redeem himself because he deserved it imo. Ferguson is ah ass as far as i concerned, but Yorke coulda done so much more.

Lets not forget that in the treble winning season, the only notable signings were Yorke and Stam and it was the season with their most unprecedented success. At the very least that has to count for something with regards to the nature of this topic.

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2008, 12:49:05 PM »
I wasn't going to get involved in this thread, because frankly a discussion about Man United bores me, but venerable de mess yuh talking getting exponential now.. just building up.

Yorke was THE BEST united forward of the last couple decades or for my lifetime. I agree in principle that Cantona may have conributed more in his career to the club than Yorke did but that was solely because of the straying of Yorke's focus. It still irks me to this day because Yorke had the potential to be an even bigger legend at the club if it wasn't for the extracurricular. I think he couldve have been in George Best realm, thats how far I think he could have gone.

But lets not use Cantona to underplay the role that Yorke played in that treble season.

For you to say that Andy Cole played a big part in Yorke's success is hilarious to say the least, especially from a man like you who claim to know something about football and the club you support.

Fellah, it was 360 degrees the other way. Is that profligous GOAT Andy Cole who profit from Yorke.. Is nuff goal he score from Yorke rebound or off the post from yorke, is scores of times Yorke hold up the play for him, is even more bess ball he get from Yorke to score and lewwe eh talk bout chrow way from him.. More often when people reflect about that period of United history, they either speak about Yorke or the Yorke-Cole partnership not Andy Cole!!! Simply put United could have survived just fine without Cole but not without Yorke!

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was. Thats why for all Van Nistelrooy's goalscoring prowess at the club, his selfish brand of play never made them click the way they did when Yorke was there. He never was as good as Yorke at involving the rest of the team and while he prospered, it was often at the expense of the team. To watch Yorke play was to see what made Utd good that year. He was superb at holding up the ball up top and making the right pass and involving everyone around him.. Beckham made many chances for him but he also made Beckham good that year, it was a reciprocal effect. Cole was de chief beneficiary of that hold up play..

As for your reference re: him being marked out of the CL final, lets not forget the champions league is not just one game.. What about his performances against Barcelona and Juventus to get them there in the first place?!

Anyway, all this is the main reason why I frown on Yorke for messing up things at Utd, and at the same time never forgive Ferguson for not giving Yorke even more chances to redeem himself because he deserved it imo. Ferguson is ah ass as far as i concerned, but Yorke coulda done so much more.

Lets not forget that in the treble winning season, the only notable signings were Yorke and Stam and it was the season with their most unprecedented success. At the very least that has to count for something with regards to the nature of this topic.

Amen Omar

« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2008, 01:15:00 PM »

:applause: I couldn’t have said it any better.   

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2008, 01:21:10 PM »
I wasn't going to get involved in this thread

But you will, as your continued predilection for irrelevancy will demonstrate...

Yorke had the potential to be an even bigger legend at the club if it wasn't for the extracurricular. I think he couldve have been in George Best realm, thats how far I think he could have gone.

He was in the George Best realm, as his extra-curricular nightclubbing activities and penchant for pornstars demonstrated. Best forward in the last 20 years?

Three words.

Ruud Van Nistelrooy.

Yeah right, Cole only scored five less than Yorke. During the 1998/99 season. 

Is that profligous GOAT Andy Cole who profit from Yorke

Yet he still managed 25 goals in the season before Yorke arrived... :rotfl:

United could have survived just fine without Cole but not without Yorke!

See above.

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was.

The unselfishness of Yorke, in full...

Number of assists from Beckham to Yorke in 1998/99:

And heres the stat that will blow your argument clean out of the water...

Number of assists from Cole to Yorke in 1998/99:

Number of assists from Yorke to Cole in 1998/99:

Opinions mean nothing if they aren't based on fact.

Oh yeah, largely anonymous in the first leg against Juve...United had to rely on Giggs getting an injury time equaliser to keep them in it. Nowhere to be seen in the second leg until Keane pulled United back into them into the game, a game which was largely down to Keane marshaling Zidane and Davids on his own and putting in a truly heroic performance, despite the fact that he knew that he would miss the final.

Like I have iterated before, it wasn't all down to Yorke as you would all have us believe. You could rattle off five other players who made just as big a contribution as he did.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 01:25:18 PM by The Venerable One »

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2008, 01:29:03 PM »

It truly is the school vacation period.

So it is ok 2 attack a nazi?

You're right, we should just leave them be.

I did not know he played during d WW2 period.

Who said he ever played? You are away of far-right factions right, such as neo-Nazis?

Did he know that he was a nazi when he attacked him?

I already explained that in my last post regarding the subject. 

D man was an exceptional footballer but a boy scout he was not.

Never said he was. 

Y is it must b black or white luv him or hate him.

Again, you're going off in a tangent. 

Dis level of tinking on dis MB showsmedaily y on dis 46th anniversary of we independence how far as a peeps we have 2 go

Get back to bed, the nurse will be with you shortly...

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2008, 01:37:23 PM »
Yeah don't stop wit Nazis lets attack d KKK as well. He had no right 2 attack d man d fact dat he turned out 2 b a Nazi eh make it correck. Yes in d 1990's we did not deal wit Nazi's by attackin dem that what was done in d WW2 era.

Please indicate Cantona involvement 2 stamp out Hitler followers or is it ltd 2 hitting a man at a foootball game. D man action just like d next thug Artest behavior can neva b condoned

« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2008, 01:46:52 PM »

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was.

The unselfishness of Yorke, in full...

Number of assists from Beckham (Midfielder, supports the forward) to Yorke in 1998/99:

And heres the stat that will blow your argument clean out of the water...

Number of assists from Cole (Supporting forward) to Yorke in 1998/99:

Number of assists from Yorke to Cole in 1998/99:

Opinions mean nothing if they aren't based on fact.

I guess school really is on Vacation