September 17, 2024, 03:46:24 PM

Author Topic: T&T bound Delta aircraft avoids collision by a minute  (Read 2324 times)

T&T bound Delta aircraft avoids collision by a minute
« on: August 29, 2008, 08:30:07 PM »
Jets avoid collision by a minute, NTSB says
CNN.com

Two airliners were one minute from colliding when one turned away from the other over the Caribbean this week, federal authorities said Friday.

The National Transportation Safety Board said it was investigating an incident Thursday in which a Delta Air Lines flight and a Russian-registered passenger jet were heading toward each other north of Puerto Rico when cockpit alarms went off.

The NTSB said the pilot of the Russian plane, a Transaero Boeing 737, descended 200 to 300 feet to avoid Delta Flight 485.

The planes were on the same altitude, 33,000 feet over open ocean, and were "60 seconds apart from occupying the same airspace," NTSB spokesman Peter Knudson said.

Knudson said the agency doesn't have enough information to know whether the planes would have collided had evasive maneuvers not been taken or whether they would have narrowly missed each other.

The two planes were about 180 miles north of San Juan when the near-collision occurred, about 6:30 p.m. ET. The Delta aircraft was headed from New York's Kennedy International Airport to Port of Spain, Trinidad.

"This was every bit the classic near-miss," said Doug Church, a spokesman for the National Air Traffic Controllers Association.

Church said controllers in the Federal Aviation Administration's air traffic control center in San Juan told him the airliners were on intersecting flight paths at the time of the incident.

The NTSB said there were no injuries.

Re: T&T bound Delta aircraft avoids collision by a minute
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 08:45:17 PM »
LAWDDDDDDDDDDDD THANK U JESUS

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 08:56:41 PM »
weyys
that delta is the same flight i took last 2 times i went trinidad

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 10:10:02 PM »
HMMMMMMMMM Ricky dat is all I go say

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2008, 05:41:43 AM »

I cud imagine the heat we woulda get if that had happpen over our airspace or another caribbean country.
I wonder how come it doh have some kinda computer systems on the ground to pick up the flight paths were within a certain range of each other rather than having to rely on stuff on the planes themselves.

It have them websites like www.flightview.com that show you exactly where planes are even out of US airspace.  The other day I track a flight coming in and they say 1 minute to landing and I look outside and see the flight approaching Piarco to land  :o...that was amazing...so kinda surprised this happen.

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2008, 08:07:23 AM »
Never travelled Delta b4...Thank goodness this flight avoid collision cause this morining would have been one big sad story..

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2008, 11:56:07 AM »

I cud imagine the heat we woulda get if that had happpen over our airspace or another caribbean country.
I wonder how come it doh have some kinda computer systems on the ground to pick up the flight paths were within a certain range of each other rather than having to rely on stuff on the planes themselves.

It have them websites like www.flightview.com that show you exactly where planes are even out of US airspace.  The other day I track a flight coming in and they say 1 minute to landing and I look outside and see the flight approaching Piarco to land  :o...that was amazing...so kinda surprised this happen.

Ther are systems in place to say what the paths are....around PR...there is NO RADAR around Barbados and Trinidad though.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2008, 05:26:50 PM »
Planes now are fitted with a system called TCAS(Traffic Collision Avoidance System), so the chances of a mid-air crash happening is close to zero. Normally when they do happen is when pilots decide to ignore it and believe what they want to and just outright switch it off. It does yell at you in a very annoying voice("descend,descend...climb,climg" among other things when you start to come close to another plane. There are close calls like that on a regular basis around Heathrow Airport, JFK and a few other high traffic airports, so I don't see the reason for all the excitement about this one.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2008, 12:47:22 AM »

Dais nothing , in this part of de world pilot does lean out de window an ask other pilot for a light an offer ah drink ah vodka.

« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2008, 07:08:10 PM »

Dais nothing , in this part of de world pilot does lean out de window an ask other pilot for a light an offer ah drink ah vodka.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2008, 07:09:17 PM »

Aye, aye DCS....what kinda spy/CIA/secret service thing yuh engaging in so??... ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2008, 12:05:51 PM »

Ther are systems in place to say what the paths are....around PR...there is NO RADAR around Barbados and Trinidad though.

but what about GPS....that doh trump radar seeing that most planes probably have it?

They does track the plane all the way into T&T....and how it is we have no radar,..that cah be true.  I know this not related but if it is we get 360 degree radar for our shores (as opposed to 90 degree radar  ::))  how it is we doh have radar for our skies.  Maybe it doh extend far but it must have some kinda radar