April 26, 2024, 03:19:42 PM

Author Topic: Kerry Baptiste. The real deal on the right wing?... Carlos watch yuhself  (Read 4668 times)

Watch dem pin-point crosses from de right.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tg1V2oE6Ds
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4_vaYGEgmc&NR=1

An' he improve since these performances too eh...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZuV1ij7tVE

Interview at de very end. Good attitude. Niceness
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzc1GgnACo8

Good luck Baptiste. Yuh have my vote ... since long time.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 11:13:53 AM by dreamer »

Re: Kerry Baptiste. The real deal on the right wing?... Carlos watch yuhself
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2008, 11:03:56 AM »
carlos hasnt impressed me on that wing in a while...in some of the games also he tends to want to drift in too much in d centre...watchin him wit sunderland he playin too fraidy fraidy and always lossin d ball and his pace has dropped...i hope he comes back into his own pretty soon but i cant see him as a sure starter like he used to be...

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2008, 11:24:25 AM »
love de second video

really like this player from what little I've seen

worried about Carlos. not even making the Sunderland squad these days and the form real slip.

but if this is what lining up to take his place, we in good shape. depth and competition for places is a must. and Baptiste look to me like he should be in the driver seat as far as confidence and form. How has he performed against our toughest opposition to date. who else gets a run on the right?

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2008, 12:01:11 PM »
Taken from the player directory on the new look SW.net site page
http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/player-directory.html?view=playerprofile&id=39

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2008, 12:12:03 PM »
I wouldnt discount Carlos, he is quality, for those who saw the last WC qualifier at home vs Bermuda where we lost would have seen that he still has a serious change of pace even though we only saw it for the last 10 minutes of the game when things were desparate. He is still the fastest player we have in the national set up. 

The question is to me, why do we not see it replicated more often for club and country.

Natural wingers rely very much on confidence, confidence to take on the defender to beat his man every time and we know that he is a little low on confidence these days and it will take some time for him to get back to that kind of level.

I watched Shaun Wright Phillips going back to Man City, back to a place where there is a level of comfort where he knows that his position on the right is his own. It showed in his performance, very confident on the ball taking on defenders, delivering crosses, scoring goals. Watching him solidified in my mind that Carlos will come back just as strong as the last qualifying campaign for us.

« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2008, 03:39:07 PM »
carlos hasnt impressed me on that wing in a while...in some of the games also he tends to want to drift in too much in d centre...watchin him wit sunderland he playin too fraidy fraidy and always lossin d ball and his pace has dropped...i hope he comes back into his own pretty soon but i cant see him as a sure starter like he used to be...
Carlos's biggest problem right now is probably his mind....after all the injuries he has had in the past year it will be some time before he gets back to where he was..hopefully it will be sooner than expected....

« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2008, 03:42:44 PM »
Kerry Look impressive vs the Revolution...in fact he surprise me.

but in TT colours he as useful as a ashtray on a motorbike.

« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2008, 03:45:46 PM »
be careful anybody can be made to loo look good on u tube :rotfl: :rotfl:

Baptiste is a good players but I surprised men surprised because he was a starter up to when Wim leave.

I think carlose safe for now Baptiste is a good man to come on if you need to deliver a telling cross.

I see first hand the cross he give the big forward (I forget he name) in the Gutemala game in New England, world class cross.

« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2008, 04:12:39 PM »
Watch me deh, It ent only Carlos afraid... KJ go be thee same way when he get back. After them kinda injury it does have yuh playing soft fuh ah while.  :( 
« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 04:14:19 PM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2008, 09:16:31 PM »
A short while I hope

« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2008, 09:31:44 PM »
you cannot judge a mans career or talent just one one game or youtube clips. i repeat cannot.  Who was guarding Kerry, a world calss defender?  Kerry never did well in international football, going against other nation's top right backs.  I think most has to do with his size and lack of body mass/strength, and getting 'pushed' around on the field. Lets see when or if he get on a weight training program.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 09:35:10 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2008, 10:36:10 PM »
Watch me deh, It ent only Carlos afraid... KJ go be thee same way when he get back. After them kinda injury it does have yuh playing soft fuh ah while.  :( 

it ent easy rebounding back from a serious injury like what carlos went through. he just needs a few more games to rebuild confidence. same thing with KJ, when he is fully recovered. we limping a little bit now but we'll be back up to speed.

« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2008, 01:19:32 AM »

Remember....Evans Wise not only impress but excite you in T&T colours too...against GRENADA 

Den he play fuh T&T in REAL games and was wuss dan a box a matches on de same bike....;D
« Last Edit: September 02, 2008, 01:22:29 AM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2008, 05:03:14 AM »
you cannot judge a mans career or talent just one one game or youtube clips. i repeat cannot.

of course, i'm pretty sure everyone would agree with that.

the other thing too. if you took a compilation of carlos' best highlights it would probably be a lot more impressive.

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2008, 07:15:48 AM »

against the NE revs is the only time I saw him play a full match and he looked superb. but I realize that is not much to go by, which is why I wondered how he look against tougher opposition. also wondered who else in the running at right mid. Sad to hear he doh replicate on the larger stage...not yet anyway. with Carlos lacking confidence and form, I was hopng we had someone pushing to take his place and hopefully light a fire under him...oh well :-\

« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2008, 07:25:43 AM »

against the NE revs is the only time I saw him play a full match and he looked superb. but I realize that is not much to go by, which is why I wondered how he look against tougher opposition. also wondered who else in the running at right mid. Sad to hear he doh replicate on the larger stage...not yet anyway. with Carlos lacking confidence and form, I was hopng we had someone pushing to take his place and hopefully light a fire under him...oh well :-\

U studyin Touches?   ::) 8)

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2008, 08:20:10 AM »

Remember....Evans Wise not only impress but excite you in T&T colours too...against GRENADA 

Den he play fuh T&T in REAL games and was wuss dan a box a matches on de same bike....;D
:D
buh dem same matches does come-in really handy if/when the bike bruk down, an yuh need to take ah smoke (buh if yuh doh smoke), or just light ah fire to start a cook or something.  ;)

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2008, 08:31:16 AM »
SPEED, SKILL CONTROL AND A GOOD EYE FOR D GAME  ALL THE ATTRIBUTES OF A WING MAN
AND A SEE THE HIM IN D GAME NE THEY HAD NO ANS. FOR HIM ON D FIELD HE DID AS HE WANTED
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2008, 12:17:49 PM »
SPEED, SKILL CONTROL AND A GOOD EYE FOR D GAME  ALL THE ATTRIBUTES OF A WING MAN
AND A SEE THE HIM IN D GAME NE THEY HAD NO ANS. FOR HIM ON D FIELD HE DID AS HE WANTED

how many games have you seen him play?..cause its only in his recent games in JP colours he showed these attributes..

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2008, 02:17:39 PM »
Nice to see Kerry steping up and improving his game.   Now he needs to be consistent.   I dont think he is anywhere near Carlos level yet but he is still a quality player.  Its always good to have options.

« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2008, 03:06:15 PM »

how many games have you seen him play?..cause its only in his recent games in JP colours he showed these attributes..

Dat is so not true dread.  Like u never see he play too much or wha?

Baptiste? Can he still help up front for World Cup qualifiers
« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2015, 10:50:57 AM »
I really liked this player in the past but I am not up to date now on whether:

1. His speed at his current age is still pipin' hot to be a striker
2. His state of mind is healthy
3. Is he still one of the hardest working most disciplined players in T&T?
4. Is he hungry for a last rodeo?
5. Is BraveHart watching him to deepen the squad up front just in case. Imagine if KJ pulls a muscle, where will the experience be up front? Need to see how he looks for Central FC against the Concacaf teams. That will be his test. Score a goal and ah feel BraveHart will be callin'.

Forumites with insider info, help please?

Re: Baptiste? Can he still help up front for World Cup qualifiers
« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2015, 10:53:22 AM »
I really liked this player in the past but I am not up to date now on whether:

1. His speed at his current age is still pipin' hot to be a striker
2. His state of mind is healthy
3. Is he still one of the hardest working most disciplined players in T&T?
4. Is he hungry for a last rodeo?
5. Is BraveHart watching him to deepen the squad up front just in case. Imagine if KJ pulls a muscle, where will the experience be up front? Need to see how he looks for Central FC against the Concacaf teams. That will be his test. Score a goal and ah feel BraveHart will be callin'.

Forumites with insider info, help please?

Imo it's a youth first policy for Hart... And I believe he's doing the right thing... I don't think baptiste will fit into this model...

« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2015, 05:27:09 AM »
No Way !!!!

« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2015, 06:12:08 AM »

Baptiste will be 34 in December, and de last time he play for T&T was 5 years ago under Latapy. He never lit up de international scene as a striker, so I eh think there is any more international football in his future except at club level. If Jorsling and Glen eh getting called, then Baptiste eh getting call.

« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2015, 07:28:25 AM »
... Agreed! Ah doh see that happening at all!

« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2015, 07:54:21 AM »
... Agreed! Ah doh see that happening at all!

Same here. It was unfortunate he peak in the dark days of football. He was a very good player.