April 26, 2024, 11:16:20 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (06-Sept-2008).  (Read 65306 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (06-Sept-2008).
« Reply #210 on: September 05, 2008, 08:34:10 AM »
I think we need to drop lawrence for this game and go with Thomas. He would be more able to handle the quick short Guatemalans than the tallman.

and from reports tallman look like he giving trouble, recent reports have thomas playing good for Joe Public.

I would keep hislop in the side because he is quicker and also we need to mold our defense for the future.
But I think we might need to add thomas to the defense to sure things up.

M.Hislop quicker.....  :rotfl:

Lawrence is a must !!!!!! he is very verbal too... he scored against the quick Panama side last WCQ...

« Reply #211 on: September 05, 2008, 08:44:34 AM »
I think we need to drop lawrence for this game and go with Thomas. He would be more able to handle the quick short Guatemalans than the tallman.

and from reports tallman look like he giving trouble, recent reports have thomas playing good for Joe Public.

I would keep hislop in the side because he is quicker and also we need to mold our defense for the future.

Lawrence is a must !!!!!! he is very verbal too... he scored against the quick Panama side last WCQ...

His lack of club matches is a worry but his WCQ experience is invaluable...he's faced Guatemala and similar style teams in these pressure situations several times before and done well.  if anything Thomas (or James) for Hislop.

« Reply #212 on: September 05, 2008, 09:10:53 AM »

His lack of club matches is a worry but his WCQ experience is invaluable...he's faced Guatemala and similar style teams in these pressure situations several times before and done well.  if anything Thomas (or James) for Hislop.

I wouldn't put james in this match just because of the pressure. I rather him play against the USA where the pressure is off and where he knows most of the defenders. Then again, he plays on the same side as Ruiz, so one could argue that he knows HIS game better than any of our defenders..

decisions decisions...

How does James match up speedwise to Lawrence, Hislop and Thomas ?

« Reply #213 on: September 05, 2008, 09:24:32 AM »
I wouldn't put james in this match just because of the pressure. I rather him play against the USA where the pressure is off and where he knows most of the defenders. Then again, he plays on the same side as Ruiz, so one could argue that he knows HIS game better than any of our defenders..

decisions decisions...

One the flip side Ruiz will know James' game well and be able to exploit his weaknesses.  I would say advantage Ruiz in that scenario.

« Reply #214 on: September 05, 2008, 09:31:43 AM »

Thomas is not quicker than Lawrence. If anybody needs to be replaced is Hislop.  Let Thomas man mark Ruiz.

« Reply #215 on: September 05, 2008, 12:48:15 PM »
Does anyone know if its showing closedcircuit in NY? IF so can you give the name(s) of the bar(s)?

tenks.

Television Schedule
« Reply #216 on: September 05, 2008, 12:56:53 PM »
Hey guys just wondering what is the television schedule for the SAturday world cup qualifying games. I will like to know the Concacaf region schedule . Thanks
War...

TNT vs Guatemala TV Viewing NY/TriState area UNITE!!
« Reply #217 on: September 05, 2008, 01:03:51 PM »
Alright fellas... I know de vibes kinda ent de same as last time...
But lewee get this ting going....

Last time most forumites were at the Continental bar in Brooklyn and we also had another much smaller bunch braving it out in ah next bar on Jamaica Ave, Queens.

I am currently searching out info on who showing de game where. Please do not hesitate to add any input here. Let we rally and do this ting right!!

WARRIORS!!!

IF ALL ELSE FAIL http://www.canalchapin.com/ WILL BE SHOWING THE GAME LIVE
SCROLL DOWN YOU CAN'T MISS IT
.... [/b] still searching for bars.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2008, 02:30:32 PM by FF »

« Reply #218 on: September 05, 2008, 01:10:06 PM »

decisions decisions...

One the flip side Ruiz will know James' game well and be able to exploit his weaknesses.  I would say advantage Ruiz in that scenario.

Why?  That doh make no sense. What about the other way around, Julius knowing Ruiz' weakness?  Why allyuh does talk stupidness so?  It is easier to defend that to play forward and score goals....

Re: TNT vs Guatemala TV Viewing NY/TriState area UNITE!!
« Reply #219 on: September 05, 2008, 01:10:39 PM »
Boy that last Guatemala game was an experience in Continental Bar last WC Campaign, see saw of emotions whole game and how the screen black out right after the last goal and we thought it was offside.

Offline Father Abraham

where the masses from the dc/md area watching the game tomorrow?
« Reply #220 on: September 05, 2008, 01:26:10 PM »

lets link up and do something, the last time we watched the game against guatemala in some restaurant in wheaton, holla back

« Reply #221 on: September 05, 2008, 01:30:17 PM »
Who comin through ??

« Reply #222 on: September 05, 2008, 01:43:37 PM »
i go try to swing thru when allyuh confirm the spot.

« Reply #223 on: September 05, 2008, 01:53:04 PM »
I will be there  :beermug:

Re: Television Schedule
« Reply #224 on: September 05, 2008, 01:57:27 PM »
Jamiaca VS mexico on the mexican channel starts @ 2pm on sataurday, it's channel 41 on time warner, don't know bout the other cable net works, the symbol for that paticular channel is the letter T, don't quite know what it stands for.

USA VS cuba will be showing on galaviaion @ 8pm on sataurday.                                 positive.

« Reply #225 on: September 05, 2008, 02:01:00 PM »

decisions decisions...

Why?  That doh make no sense. What about the other way around, Julius knowing Ruiz' weakness?  Why allyuh does talk stupidness so?  It is easier to defend that to play forward and score goals....

If you could read you would see that Midnight already mentioned the other way around (that it could be an advantage to play James because he would know Ruiz' game from club ball) so I was just giving a counter point of view.  Of course it is easier to defend a goal than to score one BUT just one mistake in the back could also mean the difference between winning and losing 3pts.  What I meant by 'advantage Ruiz' is that at this stage of their careers and experience levels there are probably more glaring (exploitable) weaknesses in James' game than in Ruiz's seeing that Ruiz is one of the best strikers in Concacaf and James is an MLS rookie so the fact that they are familiar with each others game could benefit Guatemala more than T&T.  Of course I didn't mean that Ruiz will be able to score more times than James will be able to stop him.  ::)

« Reply #226 on: September 05, 2008, 02:03:30 PM »
espn classic showing cuba-us 8pm

« Reply #227 on: September 05, 2008, 02:04:48 PM »
Julius better

tork done

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #228 on: September 05, 2008, 02:07:49 PM »
what station will be bringing the game in new york at continental bar?

Re: where the masses from the dc/md area watching the game tomorrow?
« Reply #229 on: September 05, 2008, 02:13:22 PM »
Yes I, I've called ah couple places in thee area and so far nuttin dread. The place in wheaten do you know the name of it?

« Reply #230 on: September 05, 2008, 02:17:56 PM »
T stand for telemundo

« Reply #231 on: September 05, 2008, 02:23:11 PM »
T stand for telemundo
ah figured that , but the print is so small that i didn't want to speculate.

« Reply #232 on: September 05, 2008, 02:30:53 PM »
First post update

« Reply #233 on: September 05, 2008, 02:31:00 PM »
That game was de best game experience I ever had watching ah football match.  Dem spanish throwing beer all on de ceiling when Guatemala score.  In de end it was heartbreak fuh dem.

« Reply #234 on: September 05, 2008, 02:31:54 PM »
http://www.canalchapin.com/

This website showing we game live tomorrow

« Reply #235 on: September 05, 2008, 02:32:26 PM »
Does anyone know if its showing closedcircuit in NY? IF so can you give the name(s) of the bar(s)?

tenks.

http://www.canalchapin.com/

This website showing we game live tomorrow

« Reply #236 on: September 05, 2008, 02:38:12 PM »
you guys are de greatest Thasnks..

« Reply #237 on: September 05, 2008, 02:38:34 PM »
Good FINE FF.............. !! Sabado I will be viewing this !!

« Reply #238 on: September 05, 2008, 02:44:11 PM »
right- I'll be watching by internet instead of live in the stadium >:(

GO WARRIORS!!!

« Reply #239 on: September 05, 2008, 02:58:18 PM »
Good FINE FF.............. !! Sabado I will be viewing this !!

Agreed, the old board would have all the venues which was posted when we last played them in the 06 WCQ at the HCS, all I could recall is New Rochelle Westchester, but there were quite a few venues across tri-state showing it last time around