March 28, 2024, 06:53:45 AM

Author Topic: FIFA: A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words  (Read 3658 times)

FIFA: A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words
« on: September 06, 2008, 10:11:51 AM »
FIFA: A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words
By Mohammed Mukti (Bleacher Report)

Who are the people in this picture taken this Saturday?

Well, even more important is how they know each other.

Let`s deal with the who first. Left to right will give you Jack Warner (FIFA Vice-President) , Joao Havelange (ex-FIFA President), FIFA President Sepp Blatter and the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Patrick Manning.

So, what would make this little island nation of Trinidad and Tobago so important as to pull Joao Havelange out of retirement, and drag Sepp Blatter and his vice down to visit?

I`m going to leave that up to the reader to decide—but I will provide a brief history on Trinidad and Tobago's football and how these folks probably got to know each other.

Trinidad and Tobago was, and still is, a non-entity as far as world football goes.

However, the island nation hit the spotlight big-time around 1990, when all they needed was a point from their final World Cup qualifier in order to become the smallest nation to go to the tournament.

To do this they would require a draw, playing at home, against the United States, who were at the time as equal a non-entity as their ambitious hosts.

To cut a long story short, the States managed to get a goal and three points. A lobbed ball seemed to bounce and deceive the Trinidad and Tobago goalie, who apparently dived over the line of the ball.

Of course, there were penalties not given and all the other stuff that would just bore you, the reader, so I won't go into every play. 1-0, end of story...or is it?

The U.S.A and FIFA were probably pleased with this result, as it would mean that U.S.A had qualified and would not just be in a World Cup for the sake of hosting it, as would be the case in 1994, the very next Cup.

The American media commented widely about this point back in 1990.

It was no secret that both FIFA and the U.S. were very interested in promoting the sport in America, and there was nothing better than winning a place in the World Cup Final to spur on the popularity.

Joao Havelange retired in 1998 (another golden FIFA year)

Jack Warner went from being president of one of the most insignificant football nations on the planet to Vice-President of FIFA.

Trinidad and Tobago went from invisibility to host World Cup youth tournaments and eventually qualify for the World Cup.

And every now and again everyone gets together for a hug and some reminiscing.

How wonderful a job FIFA does in promoting football both in mega-nations like the U.S.A, and the tiny ones like Trinidad and Tobago.

Re: FIFA: A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 10:43:10 AM »
Some serious Football power in that Photo
Jack dun good
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2008, 10:44:08 AM »
Is good to see meh conspiracy theory being reinforced

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2008, 11:04:38 AM »
That look like The Bosses from thee “Giuliani criminal family” about to make ah big mafia deal that will benefit them and they family. 

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2008, 11:08:40 AM »
de least Manning could have dun was bring Gary Hunt along :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2008, 11:36:54 AM »
Some serious Football power in that Photo
Jack dun good

Yea but where is Gary Hunt........

Offline Saywha

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2008, 11:41:41 AM »
Crook#1 meets Crook #2, Crook #3 and Crook #4

Look, it's the Crook-Jackmann family!!!

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2008, 11:43:06 AM »
I woulda liked ah lil more noise from de bleachers.

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2008, 11:48:17 AM »

Pat: "aah my friend, I see yuh bring Luigi and Fat Tony out of retirement to put ah hit on the cabinet"

Jack: "Iz nuttn pussonal, juth businithh.....ok leh-leh we go an eat yuh lath meal nah"

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2008, 12:20:59 PM »

Pat: "aah my friend, I see yuh bring Luigi and Fat Tony out of retirement to put ah hit on the cabinet"

Jack: "Iz nuttn pussonal, juth businithh.....ok leh-leh we go an eat yuh lath meal nah"

Yuh wotless!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2008, 12:51:50 PM »

Well it would seem as though either he's being phased out in a future cabinet reshuffle, or at the very least Manning didn't want any embarrasment with him and JW in the presence of foreign company.

No other way to explain the Ministry of Sport sending a representative as opposed to the minister for such an historic event.

MOU SIGNING: FIFA President Sepp Blatter and UWI Vice Chancellor E Nigel Harris signing the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) at the principal's office UWI ST Augustine yesterday. Looking on, from left to right: UWI director of Sports Iva Gloudon, FIFA Vice President Jack Warner, UWI St Augustine Principal Professor Clement Sankat and Nasser Racha (representing the Minister of Sports). The MOU will bring the first post graduate Sports Administration degree to the Caribbean.

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2008, 12:55:47 PM »

Well it would seem as though either he's being phased out in a future cabinet reshuffle, or at the very least Manning didn't want any embarrasment with him and JW in the presence of foreign company.

No other way to explain the Ministry of Sport sending a representative as opposed to the minister for such an historic event.

MOU SIGNING: FIFA President Sepp Blatter and UWI Vice Chancellor E Nigel Harris signing the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) at the principal's office UWI ST Augustine yesterday. Looking on, from left to right: UWI director of Sports Iva Gloudon, FIFA Vice President Jack Warner, UWI St Augustine Principal Professor Clement Sankat and Nasser Racha (representing the Minister of Sports). The MOU will bring the first post graduate Sports Administration degree to the Caribbean.

well Mr Hunt
you tried your best
You go get a next ministry
POWER and money talks
I wonder if Nasser have family name Sabu
« Last Edit: September 06, 2008, 03:19:29 PM by WestCoast »

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2008, 01:29:43 PM »
Like allyuh men eh get it or wha .. Dat is the big announcement, he going an shake Patrick hand ..  :rotfl: :rotfl:
In Everything, Give Thanks

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2008, 01:52:22 PM »
check jack face nah  :rotfl:

Offline BAGOGYUL

• Miss Yorkeeee....is mi Auntyyy!
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2008, 11:59:43 AM »
That look like The Bosses from thee “Giuliani criminal family” about to make ah big mafia deal that will benefit them and they family. 

bwahhahaaa that is not even right....lol!
Hello...TRY ALLYUH BEST!

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2008, 12:23:54 PM »
Where is that friggin CRUISE MISSILE when yuh need it???
Talk about "OPPORTUNITY".
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2008, 02:08:45 PM »

JW to Manning "I will make u an offer you can't refuse!!"

« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2008, 02:10:41 PM »
[well Mr Hunt
you tried your best
You go get a next ministry
POWER and money talks
I wonder if Nasser have family name Sabu

p.s. Hunt get roundly booed in de HCS Saturday again....mih eh think it have anything he could do to redeem he self in de eyes of the public nah....