April 28, 2024, 07:20:22 AM

Author Topic: We Genuinely have a midfield problem  (Read 3532 times)

Offline ON DE BLOCK

We Genuinely have a midfield problem
« on: September 11, 2008, 09:12:16 AM »
Watching and listenin to the last few games it is clear to see that our midfield are not penetrative enough, our strikers have been left to battle with 2-3 defenders at times to no avail, it is also clear our combinaton in the midfield is not generating the opportunities we need at this point in time. It was very disturbing to watch our midfield struggle to string together 7 passes at least or maintain possession without needing the long ball which on almost every occasion was turned over to the opposition. It comes a time when people have to realize we are not picking the best team, especially the midfield combination.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2008, 09:16:46 PM by ON DE BLOCK »

Re: We Genuinely have a midfield problem
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2008, 09:18:16 AM »
Leh we start at d head a federation problem a Special Advisor problem, a coaching problem. Solve dem problem we go b in business. D 1st 2 require a long term plan but d coachin problem easy flight avialble 1 way 2 Colombia found on expedia.com

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2008, 09:21:53 AM »
We Genuinely have a coaching problem, not midfield alone.

« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2008, 09:22:50 AM »
Ah midfield problem you say !!!! go and watch de game again...no sir our problems much deeper dan dat !

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2008, 09:30:31 AM »
Is thee federation the coaches and some ah thee players. Not just the midfielders! 
« Last Edit: September 11, 2008, 09:32:08 AM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2008, 10:06:28 AM »
I second that !! The midfield position is the heart of any team. You dont have a decent mid you will be prone to leak goals and have no bit in attack............. I am absolutely disguested to see mid fielders escort players.......... men running along side a man istead of chooking the foot. Have men gallerying on dem........... another thing.......MEN does wait for the ball to reah dem........MEN doh move towards the BALL at all...... this is not a new symptom, but man it real frigging disappointing !!

HAVE some frigging pride..........I doh care if you have to get nasty I rather than to be a passive timid player.....what the hell show some bite !!

« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2008, 10:18:14 AM »
I second that !! The midfield position is the heart of any team. You dont have a decent mid you will be prone to leak goals and have no bit in attack............. I am absolutely disguested to see mid fielders escort players.......... men running along side a man istead of chooking the foot. Have men gallerying on dem........... another thing.......MEN does wait for the ball to reah dem........MEN doh move towards the BALL at all...... this is not a new symptom, but man it real frigging disappointing !!
HAVE some frigging pride..........I doh care if you have to get nasty I rather than to be a passive timid player.....what the hell show some bite !!

Correck! And these are just 2 areas in which we were extremely casual ... basic things known to any player worth his salt ... who is to blame fuh that shit?

Imagine ... Beasley unmarked in de middle ah de park!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fully THREE players gravitated to the ball and de man unmarked almost dead center ... it eh difficult to unbalance a team playing that kinda toots. A lesson in what not to do.

« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2008, 10:28:21 AM »
All I think we really have is a coaching problem.....or maybe it's the failure of the coaches to communicate their ideas as to how they want the team to play. What I saw last night was the inability of the midfielders to move up to support the forward. Carlos tried to create time and space by cutting inside but no one was moving off the ball to support him. He ended up trying to do things himself and that didn't work. The lone forward should have been holding on to the ball longer and then dropping it back to the mids so as to create numbers in the attack.

« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2008, 10:33:34 AM »

U totally correct here boss seemed to me like a heap of  bad marking, ball watching, no pressure on the ball.

When usa enter yuh midfield apply pressure stay compact.  Dem boy stay on top the defense and strolling, I may be wrong but look like they play low pressure all over the field. Dempsey say he shocked he get room like that. Call the man man a rookie yes.  

« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2008, 10:37:22 AM »
MEP yuh point out one of our historic footballing problems OFF THE BALL MOVEMENT.  This is the main reason why just about every team we play always has more posession than us. 

« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2008, 10:42:04 AM »
Alyuh could try to dissect,t break it down, divided it etc etc. The damm team in ah mess. Starting from thee top with thee dummy coach. You can't fix something when you don't have the right pieces. Man like Spann even Brent Sancho, Brichall who could help yuh midfield you ent pick them...thai two links right they that could of helps up out hustle the US in the middle.  

« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2008, 10:46:49 AM »
What I have serious issues with is that how come everybody else could see the problem but the coaches cyah see it....I always thought that knowing the problem was half the solution.....

« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2008, 10:48:57 AM »
MEP yuh point out one of our historic footballing problems OFF THE BALL MOVEMENT.  This is the main reason why just about every team we play always has more posession than us. 

I see Carlos screaming at one ah them while tryna make ah play as ah matter of fact (Theobold) he was just gazing standing around looking at Carlos with the ball like thee rest ah them. If they don't understand that off the ball movement is part of the game that open up space to attack then they need to quit the profession.

« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2008, 10:50:08 AM »
With excerpts from Reuters)
“It’s ideal, right?” Landon Donovan said. “We were excellent tonight. The first half was one of the most dominating performances I’ve ever been a part of. We were good all over the field.”

« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2008, 11:56:47 AM »
Is Wim Fault!

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2008, 12:14:15 PM »
Is it that Pacho didn't pick certain players, or is it that the players were not available, or that they preferred to stay with their respective clubs to secure a spot. Apart from Dennis, Jason, Carlos and possibly Stern and Dwight most of our foreign pros are battling for spots on their clubs. Remember, that no spots could mean possible release, and it is clear that playing for T&T won't guarantee you a starting position on your club team.

Don't ask me to call names, but a few years ago a young T&T striker was called to national team training, but refused to go because he was battling for a starting spot on his pro club, but 2 weeks after the call up (an after refusing to go) in an interview spoke about wanting the opportunity to represent T&T. Like it or not, but it is more important for these players to play for their clubs than T&T.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2008, 01:14:37 PM »

U totally correct here boss seemed to me like a heap of  bad marking, ball watching, no pressure on the ball.

When usa enter yuh midfield apply pressure stay compact.  Dem boy stay on top the defense and strolling, I may be wrong but look like they play low pressure all over the field. Dempsey say he shocked he get room like that. Call the man man a rookie yes.  

Totally agree with both of you.   Just to add.....the guys were not on the same page.  There was no unity when it came to wining the ball.  When some guys were hustling the others were backing off or ball watching, as a result some players became visibly upset.  We need united ball wining aggression.  I think guys like Birchall, Yorke and whitley have that aggressive ball wining mentality and they can influence the other guys.  However Yorke was not available, whitley injured and Pacho eh select Birchall.  That means that those on the field need to step and and play confident and aggressive as a team

« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2008, 01:33:20 PM »

Totally agree with both of you.   Just to add.....the guys were not on the same page.  There was no unity when it came to wining the ball.  When some guys were hustling the others were backing off or ball watching, as a result some players became visibly upset.  We need united ball wining aggression.  I think guys like Birchall, Yorke and whitley have that aggressive ball wining mentality and they can influence the other guys.  However Yorke was not available, whitley injured and Pacho eh select Birchall.  That means that those on the field need to step and and play confident and aggressive as a team

Wha kill me even more is they adjust for the first 10 mins 2nd half push Usa back then for some unknown reason went back to the same 1st half madness. 

« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2008, 01:36:35 PM »
They get hit with a 3rd US goal is wha happen....

« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2008, 03:04:55 PM »
Yeh as the 3rd goal score we boil like bhagi.
We were mentally frail out there.

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2008, 08:10:38 PM »
All I think we really have is a coaching problem.....or maybe it's the failure of the coaches to communicate their ideas as to how they want the team to play. What I saw last night was the inability of the midfielders to move up to support the forward. Carlos tried to create time and space by cutting inside but no one was moving off the ball to support him. He ended up trying to do things himself and that didn't work. The lone forward should have been holding on to the ball longer and then dropping it back to the mids so as to create numbers in the attack.

YES YES WE DO NEED STERN, NOT EVEN KENWAYNE HIGH WORK RATE CAYAH TRAP JONES CAN DO THAT
GLEN AND STERN IS A GOOD COMBO IF USED TOGETHER

« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2008, 08:42:29 PM »
I am not a big maturana fan but the real problem is the not just the coach or the players.  The problem is both.

It appears as though maturana have the guys using some type of approach that they are not comfortable with, looking at the game live yesterday (close up at the stadium and not on TV), the players were looking totally confused at times, not sure of what system there were suppose to play.  Now it could be the case the players are just dunce and not maturana confusing them but I will give them the benefit of the doubt.

That being said, these players suppose are big hard back men with ah brain so common sense should tell thim that they have to tackle and not escort the US players to our penalty box, that 2 men atatcking against 6 defenders have little chance of scoring, etc.  So even if maturana is confusing them certain football instincts and knowledge should have prevented that disgusting display yesteday.

We genuinely have a talent problem and lot of allyuh don't want to accept it.  People keeping talking about julius, atullah, scotland, spann, hardest, etc who are going to be our saviours.  Our players are not ready, they can't trap, pass, tackle, think, etc.  As Obama said, if you put lipstick on a pig, it is still a pig.  If we hire scolari or wenger or who else allyuh willing to fantasize about, we still don't have quality players.  Our best squad is still the starting eleven from the world cup except theobald.  Bleeder is ah ranking shitsnake.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

Re: We Genuinely Don't have a midfield problem
« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2008, 09:16:30 PM »

YES YES WE DO NEED STERN, NOT EVEN KENWAYNE HIGH WORK RATE CAYAH TRAP JONES CAN DO THAT
GLEN AND STERN IS A GOOD COMBO IF USED TOGETHER

I am a supporter of stern but glen did not, i repeat, did not get any service in the game, reason being our midfield is useless, sorry to say, no through passes, no running off the ball, when they attacked it was never in numbers nor unison, we gave too much space at centre and our first third for the US to operate. We are not playing as a team and it seems like the squad has no structure. It is either maturana and corneal dont have a clue or someone take money. >:(

« Reply #23 on: September 11, 2008, 09:21:00 PM »
We need a special advisor fuh de special advisor.

« Reply #24 on: September 11, 2008, 09:53:53 PM »
Stern as def. midfiled. You would be surprised  :)

« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2008, 04:52:55 AM »
       :devil:I think this is the solution to all our problems,seriously.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 04:54:54 AM by Coop's »

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2008, 08:44:44 AM »
       :devil:I think this is the solution to all our problems,seriously.

any suggestions  :D