April 17, 2024, 09:40:23 PM

Can T&T break the duck vs USA this time ?

No
13 (11.1%)
Yes
95 (81.2%)
Draw
9 (7.7%)

Total Members Voted: 116

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).  (Read 107242 times)

Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).
« on: September 12, 2008, 07:20:47 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs USA (October 15th) in Trinidad & Tobago will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

I95.5fm

TV Viewing.

ESPN, Galavision (8pm, EST).

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers

Clayton Ince (Walsall, Eng), Marvin Phillip (W Connection, Tri)

Defenders

Dennis Lawrence (Crewe Alexandra, Eng), Avery John (Miami FC, USA), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public, Tri), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin, Tri), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force, Tri), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Midfielders

Dwight Yorke (Sunderland, Eng) Clyde Leon (W Connection, Tri), Russell Latapy (Falkirk, Scotland), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin, Tri), Christpher Birchall (Coventry City, Eng), Khaleem Hyland (S.V. Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Carlos Edwards (Wolverhampton Wanderers, Eng).

Forwards

Andre Toussaint (W Connection, Tri), Cornell Glen (Clico San Juan Jabloteh, Tri), Stern John (Southampton, Eng), Darryl Roberts (Denizlispor Kulubu, Turkey), Jason Scotland (Swansea City, Eng).

Injured

Collin Samuel (St Johnstone, Scotland), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Julius James (Toronto FC, Canada).

Suspensions

Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars, Tri), Cyd Gray (Clico San Juan Jabloteh, Tri).

United States Squad:

Goalkeepers

Brad Guzan (Aston Villa: 2/2 SO), Troy Perkins (Valerenga IF: 0/0).

Defenders

Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA: 0/0), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland: 2/0), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew: 13/1), Michael Orozco (San Luis: 0/0), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock: 6/0), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC: 0/0).

Midfielders

Freddy Adu (AS Monaco: 3/0), DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers: 20/6), Brian Carroll (Columbus Crew: 1/0)Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers: 3/0), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA: 4/0), Danny Szetela (Brescia Calcio: 1/0) José Francisco Torres (Pachuca: 1/0).

Forwards

Jozy Altidore (Villarreal C.F.: 1/1), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF: 0/0), Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire: 1/0).

*numbers indicate all-time World Cup Qualifying caps/goals.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 05:06:42 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 07:24:09 AM »
steups

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 07:49:18 AM »
steups

LOL!

Oh....and ditto by de way... 8)

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2008, 08:24:07 AM »
I hope to see these players called ASAP for training.

Kelvin Jack, Jan Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip.

Julius James, Dennis Lawrence, Avery John, Keyeno Thomas, Cyd Gray, Aklie Edwards, Nigel Daniel, Brent Sancho, Osei Telesford.

Carlos Edwards, Dwight Yorke, Christopher Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Keon Daniel, Andrei Pacheco, Silvio Spann, Khaleem Hyland, Josmir Belgrave, Kerry Baptiste, Atuallah Guerra, Clyde Leon.

Stern John, Cornell Glen, Jason Scotland, Anthony Wolfe, Scott Sealy, Andre Toussaint, Darryl Roberts.

WE STILL HAVE A CHANCE !!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2008, 08:30:33 AM »
I hope to see these players called ASAP for training.

Kelvin Jack, Jan Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip.

Julius James, Dennis Lawrence, Avery John, Keyeno Thomas, Cyd Gray, Aklie Edwards, Nigel Daniel, Brent Sancho, Osei Telesford.

Carlos Edwards, Dwight Yorke, Christopher Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Keon Daniel, Andrei Pacheco, Silvio Spann, Khaleem Hyland, Josmir Belgrave, Kerry Baptiste, Atuallah Guerra, Clyde Leon.

Stern John, Cornell Glen, Jason Scotland, Anthony Wolfe, Scott Sealy, Andre Toussaint, Darryl Roberts.

WE STILL HAVE A CHANCE !!!!!!!!!!!

where and when exactly is this training supposed to take place now that all the players are back with their clubs?

« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2008, 09:11:41 AM »
How much people paying $600 + dollars to go to this game "in the name of support"  ??? ???

« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2008, 10:16:00 AM »
Yuh know with a mixture of Glen, Scotland, Roberts and Stern, we could actually have some kinda attack.

« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2008, 10:45:47 AM »
Yuh know with a mixture of Glen, Scotland, Roberts and Stern, we could actually have some kinda attack.

On paper yes but there's no such thing as a mixture when you have a coach who only plays 1 striker and doesn't use his subs

« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2008, 12:05:01 PM »
Well if we eh have a chance I keepin my 200 in meh pocket dat could get me  2 panel Xmas comin curtain ah callin

Beating USA
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2008, 11:38:02 AM »
Do you guys realise dat in order for us to mek di final hex we will have to beat USA at Home. Now that sounds tuff but we have beaten Concacaf Giants Mexico several times  why cant we beat USA team? Playing away to Guatemala will be a tough experience for the guys . If we were to gain a point from the Guatemala clash dat will put us with 5 with 2 home games left. A must win against USA and Cuba . Our chances  looks grim honestly speaking.
a lost to Guatemala will put us at 4 pts
Guatemala will be 7 points
Guatemala next game will be against cuba  while ours will be against USA.
we need to pray from now dat Cuba Beats Guatemala no tie .. but an outright victory for Cuba ... This group looks to be more interesting than all the other groups so far.
The other groups look like it have been decided already Costa Rica & elsalvador and Mexico and Honduras(honduras love to blow there chances to carribean teams so I keep my finger cross and wish de boyz de best)
Ley we start sey prayer from now sah dat Cuba upset Guatemala in Cuba !!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Beating USA
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2008, 11:44:40 AM »
Why do we have to beat the USA to qualify? Winning 2 of our remaining 3 matches should suffice unless Guatemala beat the US.

« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2008, 12:35:08 PM »
Our only problem is a mental one.

Guatemala NOT GOOD...dey is a shit side.

We could go across there and WIN.

Forget the 4-0 and 5-1 we collect across there, water under the bridge.

Once we beat them we will be on 7, they will be on 4.

We could draw or lose to the US.

We will beat Cuba at home.

10 points and we IN.

In fact if them fellas get they head straight and we select the "correct" players for the return leg and we ATTACK WITH FULL FORCE. We will beat USA too.

« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2008, 12:40:05 PM »
warmonga we dont have to beat USA to progress...but yes beating USA will send a message and raise the team morale..We can beat them once the right players are chosen

« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2008, 12:45:02 PM »

10 points and we IN.

In fact if them fellas get they head straight and we select the "correct" players for the return leg and we ATTACK WITH FULL FORCE. We will beat USA too.

De only way we gettin a result in Guatemala is if we match dey intensity.  Dat is sumting dat T&T teams historically doh have.

Dat and not playin Akile Edwards and we good to go.  Dem fraid we.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2008, 12:51:33 PM »
If our players get motivated properly, with an addition of three players. Yorke...Brichall and Hyland. We must also change that damm formation Maturana using to ad another striker.  

Offline Swima

« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2008, 12:52:40 PM »

10 points and we IN.

Agreed, and we talk dat already. Forget the inferiority complex we usually approach the games with and play yuh natural game with confidence and intelligence. We have to stop giving teams so much respect from the opening whistle. As a matter of fact, as Leo had say, we have to play from the opening whistle. We fail to turn it on from the start and this needs to be continually addressed as I believe it is a cultural thing in us to be naturally reactionary.

We are a World Cup nation now and need to play as such. Nobody can take our spot from us jusso without a fight!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2008, 01:52:29 PM »
TnT USA in TnT would be a much closer game.

We will play better at home and they will play worse on the road.

Conditions such as the pitch, mud, Humidity etc etc will play a role.

if we catch a vaps we could beat them.

« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2008, 01:59:51 PM »
So only by vaps we could beat d US ok

« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2008, 02:11:31 PM »
Alyuh just doh get tie up eh. A win in Guatemla City alone ent guaranteeing nothing this rounds. Head to head is not the decisive criteria anymore

« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2008, 02:25:39 PM »
Yuh see if we fans was radical and made it a hostile environment at the game, booing etc etc. Like yuh know the english hooligans and them Spanish fans or any other country who realle like "futbol"...the heckling geh on bad atmosphere. That could and would make it difficult for the US players and would have help with home field advantage. Playing games at home in Trinidad is really a none factor beside us cheering on our own players. We to nice!  Ah go take licks fuh this one. :whip: I jes trying to find ah way to help we team sorry. Oh yeah... rent them ah house down by thee Beatom and let them pratice up in Lavantille on ah old pitch.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 02:30:57 PM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2008, 02:38:42 PM »
We must win every game period, if we continue to focus on GD  and points we will always be in an uphill battle. We have to get over this self imposed intimidation we have for the US, they are no better individually than our guys, BUT they play as a team and cover and support each other well, only when you take the game to them and close them down in mid field they fall apart. WHY CAN'T WE GET IT RIGHT!

Go into to an attacking formation and press them from the get go!

« Reply #21 on: September 16, 2008, 02:46:42 PM »
the coaching staff and the players who is representing this country is not take the U.S. very seriously...we never beat American...unless we start i think we will be about to have a continue foothold in gold cup and the world cup qualifying.....after watching the game we play against the U.S. it's like the guy's give up before game even started...NO PRIDE

« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2008, 02:56:54 PM »
we dont have to beat usa but it will be nice to beat them.

if de coach play de right guys and de right strategic moves, better results will come. that means we need stern up front. glen coming on running past tired defenders. birchall sniping shots 25+ yards out etc. allyuh could imagine a midfield containing birchall, keon, hyland, yorke, and carlos???? boy that sounding dangerous to me.

« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2008, 02:58:04 PM »
Guatemala will have fan support but we did beat Honduras at home. I saw the game on TV with Cuba and Guatemala has gaping holes in defence. we should have exploited it at home throwing away three chances in the first half. Two forwards up front will give us three points. We have beaten Mexico at home why not the USA- maybe we need a psychologist for the team at this stage. As a World cup nation we should be concentrating on nine points in three games. Home games must be total points and maybe a draw away as a compromise.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2008, 03:30:50 PM »
Leh we just beat everybody we play...home and away.  That's attitude we need  :beermug:   Aggressive bad mind football.  WARRIORS!  now all we need is for Maturana and the players to buy into that concept  ;D
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 03:39:38 PM by fatimarima »

« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2008, 04:41:01 PM »
Ah doh want to buss alyuh bubble but with dat disorganise team we have dey, if they want to  use  that same team to beat people that eh go happen .   

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2008, 05:00:48 PM »
it could happen fellah.  Dem fellas just need to man mark and be aggressive and bad mind.  Daz all they had to do vs USA also.  Guat do dat vs USA and almost win.  We could do it an actually win.

« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2008, 05:16:54 PM »
We been tryin to do that with the under 17 team with YORKE ,LATHERS, MARCELL, ect ,ect yuh remember that team right we doh have that lion heart and killer instint ,not untill we learn how to hold the ball and knock it around as a team and stop the boom kick and run game we ent go beat them .mind yuh ah love the warriors bad buh wen ah see them playin shit ah have to say it .

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2008, 09:13:08 PM »
yeah dey play shit....but is mainly cause they eh make a decent effort to apply pressure and win the ball.  USA put extreme pressure on our midfield when  we had possesion, thus makin it more difficult for our players  to move the ball around.  However our mids give the usa plenty space to play comfortably. That was the problem.  Easy fix....aggressive midfield pressure

« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2008, 09:38:13 PM »
Breds wah ah sayin is the US team is a very organize team from top to bottom dat is one ah the reasons they are tops in this region beating people ok , but we are so disorganize from top to bottom dat jus now we might be like the good friday boo boo lee the one that everybody does beat. Thanks to the CLOWN ,AH JUS LOVE THAT NAME BECAUSE IT SUITE IM .