March 29, 2024, 02:51:18 AM

Can T&T break the duck vs USA this time ?

No
13 (11.1%)
Yes
95 (81.2%)
Draw
9 (7.7%)

Total Members Voted: 116

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).  (Read 106628 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).
« Reply #150 on: October 13, 2008, 06:13:22 AM »
4 MLS players added to US roster

Oct 12, 3:16 pm EDT
Buzz Up
Print

WASHINGTON (AP)—Having clinched a spot in the CONCACAF qualifying finals for the 2012 World Cup, the United States will sit many of its regulars for Wednesday’s match at Trinidad and Tobago.

Coach Bob Bradley released nine players from the roster, including eight starters from Saturday night’s 6-1 rout of Cuba that clinched advancement. Bradley allowed those nine players to return to their club teams, and he added four players from Major League Soccer.

Those four were veteran midfielder Pablo Mastroeni of Colorado; Columbus forward Robbie Rogers; Toronto defender Marvell Wynne; and Chivas USA defender Jonathan Bornstein.

Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Oguchi Onyewu returned to their clubs after helping the Americans win their sixth consecutive World Cup qualifier in this cycle and their seventh straight qualifier overall.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Troy Perkins (Valerenga IF);

Defenders: Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Michael Orozco (San Luis), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC);

Midfielders: Freddy Adu (AS Monaco), DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers), Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Danny Szetela (Brescia Calcio) Jose Francisco Torres (Pachuca);

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Villarreal C.F), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew).

« Reply #151 on: October 13, 2008, 06:15:07 AM »
alright the senior (as in over 30) warriors playing waht amount to USA B / nealy U23.

therefore, victory is now the expectation.

« Reply #152 on: October 13, 2008, 08:08:19 AM »
Revamped U.S. squad to face T&T

In its next qualifier the U.S. will present a very different squad than the one that routed Cuba, 6-1, on Saturday in Washington, D.C. Coach Bob Bradley released nine players and added four more to flesh out his 18-man roster for a match Wednesday in Port of Spain against Trinidad & Tobago, which scraped out a 0-0 tie in Guatemala City Saturday. The result kept the teams tied in second place with 1-1-2 records and five points.

The USA (4-0-0, 12 points) has clinched first place in Group A; Cuba is 0-4-0 yet despite being pointless could still advance by winning its final two games. The T&T-USA match kicks off at 8 p.m. ET and is scheduled to be televised live on ESPN and Galavision.

Crew midfielder Robbie Rogers, Toronto FC defender Marvell Wynne, Colorado midfielder Pablo Mastroeni and Chivas USA defender Jonathan Bornstein were added by Bradley. All played for their MLS teams over the weekend.

Released back to their clubs were Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Oguchi Onyewu. Donovan got to Los Angeles in time Sunday to come on as a second-half substitute in a 3-2 victory over Colorado that keeps the Galaxy's playoff hopes alive.

Ching, Donovan and Onyewu scored three of the six U.S. goals against Cuba; two-goal man DaMarcus Beasley has traveled with the team to Port of Spain, as has the other scorer, Jozy Altidore, and Jose Francisco Torres, who earned his first cap by coming on as a sub in the 68th minute.

T&T held out with 10 men for nearly the entire match against Guatemala. Despite the expulsion of Cyd Gray in the second minute, T&T kept the game scoreless to stay even with Guatemala in the standings. It qualified for its first World Cup in 2006; Guatemala has never qualified.

Most of American team traveled to Trinidad & Tobago on Sunday, with a few players scheduled to arrive Monday.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #153 on: October 13, 2008, 08:38:49 AM »
with USA  sending dem B side..we cyah allow dem to come home and beat we with dem intercol side dread...dah is utter disrespect. We have to beat dem and beat dem baddd....cause it all come down to goal difference now.....we have to beat dem real bad..and Cuba have to get a good piece ah licks...cause guatemala eh lookin to skylark....Hard defence..dominant midfield and no more throwing away...hitting post does make man bawl and look good...but scoring d ppl dem goal does carry teams to the Hex
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #154 on: October 13, 2008, 09:21:02 AM »
remember that youths looking for picks as well. so they will come here & play all out to try to impress. and at the end of the day we need 6 points from 2 - with some goals as well. we hadda assume it will come down to goal difference

« Reply #155 on: October 13, 2008, 11:06:54 AM »
Dai'z not ah pushover team... Guzan is a recent Villa signee, surprised they have Hejduk at defender, ah guess his attacking days behind him... dat man so old he used to be with in Tampa Bay in de MLS.  Nice tuh see Marvell Wynne get a call up, but he in form right now... toes fuh days, we need to be careful of him whenever he pushes forward.

Beasely might be rounding into form...he's settled in at Rangers and scored 2 goals against Cuba.  Maurice Edu hasn't cracked Rangers starting lineup yet, but obviously the potential is there.  Danny Szetela was one of the stars of Gold Cup and Charlie Davies had a decent showing in the Olympics when he was brought on late... little light-skinned fella from what I remember.

It's a very inexperienced squad that will be on the road with many players making their national debut... so we definitely need to take advantage.

« Reply #156 on: October 13, 2008, 12:14:54 PM »
I agree that is no pushover team.  However, if we cannot get at least a point, we have real problems.  Me eh saying we go win convincingly or anything like that, but personally, I'll be happy with a point.  I do not care what team the US playing with against Guatemala in Colorado, Guatemala losing that game.

Thus my reasoning is 4 points, gets us to the hex.

« Reply #157 on: October 13, 2008, 12:31:21 PM »
Just beat dem me eh care what team turn up just beat them then beat Cuba and we in d hex

Offline Swima

« Reply #158 on: October 13, 2008, 12:48:30 PM »
The motivation should be that our 'young inexperienced' squad got three from them last month. Now, their equivalent should receive no less from our 'full squad' on Wednesday.
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #159 on: October 13, 2008, 01:26:52 PM »
Agreed this will not be a pushover side....my point is if America could send a B team that don't play together on this stage that often...and beat our best team on our home soil when we have the impetus of needing these points to advance...den sad to say we eh ready for the WC....A WC side suppose to not only be able to beat pushover sides...but tough ones as well

I believe we have the quality to beat the US full side if we show up....much more this pappee show side dem sendin
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
Today is Monday...
« Reply #160 on: October 13, 2008, 03:32:06 PM »
De game is Wednesday...

How yuh feelin?...
a minute in football is a very long time...

Re: Today is Monday...
« Reply #161 on: October 13, 2008, 03:43:11 PM »
De game is Wednesday...

How yuh feelin?...
fine, thanks for asking, and you :devil:

we goin and have a GREAT match
Go TnT!!!!
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline signal

« Reply #162 on: October 13, 2008, 03:46:54 PM »
game ticket....check
boat ticket.....check
lodging..........check
time off from work (2 days)....uncheck
GO WARRIORSSSSS
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #163 on: October 13, 2008, 03:46:58 PM »
De game is Wednesday...

How yuh feelin?...
fine, thanks for asking, and you :devil:

we goin and have a GREAT match
Go TnT!!!!

I ready for dem...

« Reply #164 on: October 13, 2008, 03:50:05 PM »
I balance........expecting anything.

« Reply #165 on: October 13, 2008, 03:51:14 PM »
De game is Wednesday...

How yuh feelin?...

Random ......but yea.. have a slight headache.. but waiting in anticipation for Wednesday... hoping to see every seat filled Waggonist or not cuz the boys deserve a full house

90 minutes of willing to die for the crest is the order of the day and we right behind them

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #166 on: October 13, 2008, 03:53:46 PM »
De game is Wednesday...

How yuh feelin?...

Random ......but yea.. have a slight headache.. but waiting in anticipation for Wednesday... hoping to see every seat filled Waggonist or not cuz the boys deserve a full house

90 minutes of willing to die for the crest is the order of the day and we right behind them

Yeah man!...

« Reply #167 on: October 13, 2008, 04:12:03 PM »
today is heroes ;D

always like mondays

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #168 on: October 13, 2008, 04:14:04 PM »
today is heroes ;D

always like mondays

is de bes' day... yeah man...

« Reply #169 on: October 13, 2008, 05:09:55 PM »
Kaiso i feelin good..enjoyin work and looking forward to the game on wednesday

« Reply #170 on: October 13, 2008, 05:18:10 PM »
stueps is goal in they mudder so and so , me aint fraid, all or nothing dread, BOOM SHOT IN THE JEP NEST

« Reply #171 on: October 13, 2008, 05:18:27 PM »
Agreed this will not be a pushover side....my point is if America could send a B team that don't play together on this stage that often...and beat our best team on our home soil when we have the impetus of needing these points to advance...den sad to say we eh ready for the WC....A WC side suppose to not only be able to beat pushover sides...but tough ones as well

I believe we have the quality to beat the US full side if we show up....much more this pappee show side dem sendin

Agreed!

« Reply #172 on: October 13, 2008, 05:25:27 PM »
oh gorrrdd i just see a pick with york without he shirt, the man is a flecking gladiator , he huge !!!!! he ah bodybuilder

« Reply #173 on: October 13, 2008, 05:27:28 PM »
Russell Latapy Post Match Comments - T&T vs Guatemala

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsJXQYHPtTA

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #174 on: October 13, 2008, 05:27:42 PM »
stueps is goal in they mudder so and so , me aint fraid, all or nothing dread, BOOM SHOT IN THE JEP NEST
... or as we say over here (in Ireland nuh...) Top Corner!

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #175 on: October 13, 2008, 05:29:50 PM »
Kaiso i feelin good..enjoyin work and looking forward to the game on wednesday

91.9)))))))))))))))))))))))

...When was Rome built?...

in de night...

weh you get dat from boy???...

Well ah always hearin' mammy tellin daddy... ROME WASN'T BUILT IN A DAY!...

Cyah wait for Wednesday pardner....

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #176 on: October 13, 2008, 05:31:21 PM »
we still have to score goals...

« Reply #177 on: October 13, 2008, 05:38:31 PM »
Russell Latapy Post Match Comments - T&T vs Guatemala

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsJXQYHPtTA

alyuh aint see that atmosphere in that stadium, i like the behind the scene look , some men does talk big here, i sure some ah dem go shit dey pants if they had to play in that  :devil:
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 05:40:07 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #178 on: October 13, 2008, 05:41:16 PM »
Meantime, there is a little doubt over Cornell Glen who is carrying a hamstring problem and he will be monitored closely up until Tuesday. There is better news for Dennis Lawrence who picked up a strain in the 0-0 draw with Guatemala, has been given the all clear to train and play.

« Reply #179 on: October 13, 2008, 05:44:38 PM »
playing to win is what I like .. I will tek an exile from this forum (from posting) if  TNT do NOT beat USA this time around.. De blight stops here