April 18, 2024, 01:21:37 PM

Can T&T break the duck vs USA this time ?

No
13 (11.1%)
Yes
95 (81.2%)
Draw
9 (7.7%)

Total Members Voted: 116

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).  (Read 107277 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).
« Reply #210 on: October 14, 2008, 12:07:32 PM »
i didn read thru d whole thread.......so ammm what color we wearing tomorrow?  ???

since its a home game i guessing the alternate kit

Offline Ali

« Reply #211 on: October 14, 2008, 12:19:28 PM »
when England came we played in white...so i dunno.......i go walk with two jersey  :D

WCQ Preview: United States - Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #212 on: October 14, 2008, 12:56:17 PM »
WCQ Preview: United States - Trinidad and Tobago
By Noah Davis (goal.com)

Well that looked easy. After a dominating 6-1 victory over Cuba this weekend, the United States National Team finds itself assured of a place in the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualification with two matches remaining. The win allowed coach Bob Bradley to send Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Oguchi Onyewu home, while calling up sometime internationals Chris Rolfe, Brian Carroll, and Jonathan Bornstein, as well as newcomer Marvell Wynne.

Wednesday's game against Trinidad and Tobago marks a chance for to evaluate some younger talent in a hostile environment against a squad that absolutely needs this win. The match should provide an excellent trial by fire for Freddy Adu and Jozy Altidore -- who look to start -- as well as show who can step up in the absence of the team's traditional veteran leadership.

One team needs a win
While the outcome doesn't matter for the United States, getting a result is Trinidad and Tobago's No. 1 priority. After four matches, the Soca Warriors sit on five points, even with Guatemala. Of any match in the semifinal round, the U.S. is at its most vulnerable in this one. (For November's game against Guatemala, Bradley could bring some of his regular vets back as pre-preparation for the Hexagonal.)

A T&T win, which isn't a stretch, would almost certainly give the squad the upper hand in the race for second place in Group A. It would also provide some measure of revenge for the 3-0 pasting the team suffered at the hands of the U.S. in September.

The leadership of Beasley
Before Saturday's game, followers of U.S. soccer (including, I'll admit, yours truly) were questioning the continued usefulness of the Beas on the national team. And for good reason: he had looked terrible since coming back from a gruesome knee injury. After two goals and, more importantly, a dynamic, inspired performance against Cuba, it's clear that the Rangers man wasn't been 100 percent until Saturday's match.

Now, he finds himself as both the most capped player and the one with the most goals on a team facing a tough, if ultimately meaningless, road game. How he handles the situation will likely reflect directly on the performance on the younger members of the team and dictate how the U.S. plays.

Give Torres, Adu and Altidore 90 minutes
All three impressed against Cuba on Saturday. That said, they were playing a squad that was beaten down both by the distraction of the defections and from playing with 10 men for the entire second half. T&T will provide a much better opponent. There will be no home crowd providing support, especially for Adu who fed off the love he received from the D.C. fan base. Landon won't be running the offense, nor will the defense will be anchored by Gooch, Bocanegra, and Tim Howard. Beasley and Mastroeni will offer some help, but this trio represents the future of U.S. soccer. On Wednesday, there's no time like the present to show you're ready.

In Search of Kenny Cooper
Once again, the Dallas striker won't be partaking in a United States game. This time, however, it's his own choice.  After getting a call from Bradley, Cooper decided against traveling to Port of Spain. "I made the difficult decision to pass on this opportunity because I had picked up a virus and have been playing with a sprained ankle," he told the FCD Dallas blog.

An acceptable decision -- especially since he needs to make an impression in his first appearance -- but afterwards he added some words about choosing his club team over the Nats: "Considering the importance of my club's game versus Real Salt Lake this week, and that the National Team has already clinched a berth in the next round of qualifying, I felt it was the right thing to do to stay in Dallas and make sure I get well, and hopefully there will be other opportunities down the line." This likely, and shouldn't, effect his future with the team, but maybe Kenny should keep your mouth shut next time.

Projected U.S. Lineup

-----------------Altidore-------------------

--- Beasley----------Torres-------Adu---

-------Kljestan----------Mastroeni-------

Pearce-----Wynne------Edu----- Hejduk

-------------------Guzan-------------------

Goal.com prediction: United States 2-1 Trinidad and Tobago

« Reply #213 on: October 14, 2008, 12:59:03 PM »
Projected U.S. Lineup

that team getting manners, goal.com forget we have our full team for this encounter, which we havent had in a while, especially after the world cup
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 01:25:59 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #214 on: October 14, 2008, 01:15:27 PM »
Projected U.S. Lineup

that team getting manners, goal.com forget we have our full team for this encounter, which we havent had in a while, especially after the world cup

What alyuh expect them to say...Trinidad beating thee US.  We have to prove to the world that we could beat thee US hands down, because they've owned us for many years. Dat must change this week.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 01:27:17 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #215 on: October 14, 2008, 03:02:21 PM »
All I know is that they better win...cause I will be losing sleep to watch this game.  Plus my American comrades will be waiting to get on my case if we lose again.

SO...TNT WE WANT AH GOAL!!!

BIG UP THE RED WHITE AND BLACK

« Reply #216 on: October 14, 2008, 03:10:44 PM »
Curious to know who allyuh think the US prefer to make it betweem T&T and Guatemala.
I would say T&T but that is my opinion.

« Reply #217 on: October 14, 2008, 03:14:16 PM »
CNMG not showing this game live?

espn showing it.

if the game was sellout then yuh woulda have a chance on C

Doh think ESPN might show it locally...broadcast rights and all dat. If CMMG have de broadcast rights locally...den Flow would block ESPN...kinda like Sportsmax and FSC with EPL.

nah nah, ESPN showing it fuhshure...

I was taking in de match against Cuba and dem commentators was saying that they done have equipement in route to trinidad, and that they will be airing the game live from Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, (they say TUh BAG GO)...

Yeah..ESPN would be showing it...just local viewers of ESPN wont be able to see it....live at least. That is if CMMG has exclusive broadcast rights.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #218 on: October 14, 2008, 03:29:53 PM »
i didn read thru d whole thread.......so ammm what color we wearing tomorrow?  ???

red obviously , we home

« Reply #219 on: October 14, 2008, 04:45:20 PM »
Projected U.S. Lineup

Like you forget our full team wudda had Kenwyne in it......

« Reply #220 on: October 14, 2008, 05:26:39 PM »
U.S. MNT Set for Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday, Oct. 15, as Qualifying Continues    

U.S. Men's National Team
2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying
Port of Spain, Trinidad
October 14, 2008

OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS: While the U.S. has booked a place in the final round, the match against T&T provides a different but equally difficult challenge as a host of players will get the opportunity to test themselves in an match with major implications for the future aspirations the hosts. The United States will face a T&T team that knows a victory would be a huge step towards qualifying for the final round, and the already many of the locals are treating it as the game of their lives. Kickoff at Hasely Crawford Stadium is set for 8 p.m. ET, and the match will be broadcast live on ESPN and Galavision. Fans can also follow along live on ussoccer.com's MatchTracker.

QUICK HITS

Eighteen players are eligible to dress for both the U.S. and Trinidad & Tobago, and must wear 1-18 for jersey numbers.

Michael Bradley is suspended for this match after picking up his second yellow card of the qualifying campaign this past Saturday against Cuba. Any player accumulating two cautions in the Semifinal Round will be suspended for the next FIFA World Cup qualifier.

T&T defender Cyd Gray is suspended after picking up two yellow cards in the last game against Guatemala. Forward Anthony White is also unavailable through card accumulation.

The U.S. has an undefeated 9-0-2 record in qualifying against Trinidad & Tobago, including an unblemished 3-0-1 record in Trinidad. Overall, the U.S. is 14-1-3 lifetime against the Soca Warriors, with 28 goals scored and 11 shutouts posted. Equally impressive is the fact that the U.S. has only given up one goal against T&T in the last eight meetings dating back to 1996.

Dating back to the Final Round of 2006 qualifying, the U.S. has won seven consecutive qualifiers, a team record. The six straight victories in the 2010 campaign also set a team record for most consecutive wins in one cycle.

In the 6-1 win against Cuba, DaMarcus Beasley recorded multiple goals in a game for the first time since June 12, 2007, a 4-0 victory against El Salvador in group play of the Gold Cup. Those were also the last two goals scored by Beasley in a U.S. kit prior to last Saturday.

Beasley made his first-ever appearance in a World Cup qualifier in the USA’s last match of the 2002 qualifying tournament against Trinidad & Tobago. Beasley only managed 45 minutes of the 0-0 draw on Nov. 11, 2001, at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, as a he received a concussion at the midway point of the first half and had to be replaced after the break.

With the victory, the U.S. became the second team from CONCACAF to move on to the hexagonal. Earlier in the day, Costa Rica clinched their place in the final round with a 4-1 win against Suriname.

Fourteen players on the roster have 10 caps or fewer, and seven are in search of their first appearance in a World Cup qualifier. Two players, Michael Orozco and Troy Perkins are looking for their first-ever cap for the full team.

Three players on the roster appeared in the USA’s last meeting against T&T, a 3-0 win in World Cup qualifying on Sept. 10 in Bridgeview, Ill.: Beasley, Kljestan, and Pearce (all three were starters).

Trinidad & Tobago have 11 players on the current roster who were part of the 2006 FIFA World Cup squad.
Heath Pearce is one of two players to appear in all six of the USA’s World Cup qualifiers this year. Michael Bradley is the other.

The goal by Cuba forward Jenzy Muñoz in the 32nd minute on Saturday ended a 582-minute shutout streak for the U.S. defense that dated back to the 79th minute of the 1-0 loss to Spain on June 4 in Santander.

The goal also ended the USA’s run of 24 unanswered goals at home in World Cup qualifying dating back to the 1-1 tie against Jamaica on Nov. 17, 2004, in Columbus, Ohio.

Brian Ching and Clint Dempsey are tied for the U.S. lead in goals scored in the current qualifying campaign with four goals each. Landon Donovan now has nine career qualifying goals, one behind the USA’s all-time leader Brian McBride.

In the latest FIFA World Rankings issued this week, the U.S. moved up seven places to 21st and is now ranked as the top team in CONCACAF ahead of Mexico, who remained 24th.

The U.S. boasts a 14-2-6 all-time record against Caribbean nations during World Cup qualifying, with a 32-1-5 overall record at home against teams from the Caribbean.

The U.S. has posted an 8-2-2 record in 2008, which includes six straight victories in FIFA World Cup qualifying, a road win against Poland and a 0-0 draw against then No. 1-ranked Argentina. Overall, the U.S. has scored 27 goals while surrendering only six.

OFF TO A FLYING START: The U.S. has begun the rigorous road that is CONCACAF qualifying with impressive numbers, collecting an unblemished 6-0-0 record with 20 goals scored and only one surrendered. Consider this:

The U.S. has won six consecutive qualifiers, setting the record for most consecutive games won in one cycle, topping the five-game winning streak during the Final Round of qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.

The U.S. has posted three straight road victories in qualifying for the first time ever.

Including the 2-0 win against Panama on Oct. 12, 2005, the U.S. has won every game in their last seven World Cup qualifiers.

The win against Guatemala was the first-ever in a FIFA World Cup qualifier on Guatemalan soil, and only the second victory there in 20 years.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION
GOALKEEPERS (2): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa: 2/2 SO), Troy Perkins (Valerenga IF: 0/0)
DEFENDERS (6): Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA: 0/0), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland: 2/0), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew: 13/1), Michael Orozco (San Luis: 0/0), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock: 6/0), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC: 0/0)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Freddy Adu (AS Monaco: 3/0), DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers: 20/6), Brian Carroll (Columbus Crew: 1/0)Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers: 3/0), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA: 4/0), Danny Szetela (Brescia Calcio: 1/0) José Francisco Torres (Pachuca: 1/0)
FORWARDS (3): Jozy Altidore (Villarreal C.F.: 1/1), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF: 0/0), Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire: 1/0)

*numbers indicate all-time World Cup Qualifying caps/goals

ROSTER MOVES: Following the USA’s 6-1 victory against Cuba that clinched their place in the Final Round of qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, Bradley released nine players from the roster, while adding four players from Major League Soccer. 2008 Olympian Marvell Wynne was added to the squad, along with Chivas USA defender Jonathan Bornstein. Midfielder Brian Carroll and forward Chris Rolfe were late additions following injuries to Pablo Mastroeni and Robbie Rogers, who were initially named to the roster. Meanwhile, Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard, and Oguchi Onyewu returned to their clubs.

INJURIES FORCE CHANGES: Injuries forced Bob Bradley to make changes on Monday, with Pablo Mastroeni and Robbie Rogers withdrawing due to injury. Mastroeni, a two-time FIFA World Cup veteran, tweaked his knee during a 3-2 loss against the Los Angeles Galaxy on Sunday, while Rogers was sidelined after experiencing a sore back. Brian Carroll will replace Mastroeni. The 27-year-old has six caps for the United States, making his debut in the 6-0 win against Panama in the World Cup qualifier on Oct. 13, 2004 at RFK Stadium. Chris Rolfe has been called up in place of Rogers. Rolfe has played eight times for the full team, most recently in an appearance in the USA's 1-0 win in Barbados on June 22 in the second round of qualifying.

PROVING GROUND: With the task of advancing to the final phase complete, the current U.S. roster is colored with an eye towards the future as 10 alumni of the 2008 Olympic Games traveled to Trinidad. Aston Villa ‘keeper Brad Guzan is coming off an outstanding performance at the 2008 Olympic Games, earning Sierra Mist Man of the Match honors in the gut-wrenching 2-1 loss to Nigeria that eliminated the squad from the tournament. Guzan posted clean sheets in both of the USA’s second round qualifying victories against Barbados. Defender Michael Orozco, in for his second senior team camp, appeared in all three Olympic matches, as did Marvell Wynne. With the exception of DaMarcus Beasley, the entire U.S. midfield was age eligible for the Olympics, although Jose Francisco Torres is in his first U.S. camp at any level and was not on the Olympic squad. Chivas USA midfielder Sacha Kljestan recorded two goals in China, and Freddy Adu, Michael Bradley, Maurice Edu, Sacha Kljestan, and Danny Szetela all played in China. Up top, Jozy Altidore and Charlie Davies also saw action in Beijing.

GETTING TO KNOW YOU: With the departure of so many veterans, Wednesday’s match will provide most of the current crop a chance to get their first taste of action against the Soca Warriors. Only three players in the group have lined up against T&T at the full international level, and two of them got their one and only look against them last month in Bridgeview. There’s only one way to learn …

PAST APPEARANCES AND GOALS AGAINST TRINIDAD & TOBAGO:
(Starters in Bold)

Sept. 10, 2008 - CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying, Semifinal Round: 3-0 W
Pearce, Beasley, Kljestan

Feb. 9, 2005 - CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying, Final Round; 2-1 W
Beasley

November 11, 2001 – CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying, Final Round; 0-0 T
Beasley

TRINI CONNECTIONS- EARLY ON: Several of the U.S. players have faced Trinidad at the youth international level. Freddy Adu, Sacha Kljestan, Danny Szetela, and Marvell Wynne played in the 6-1 win against Trinidad & Tobago on Jan. 12, 2005, in CONCACAF qualifying for the 2005 FIFA U-20 World Cup. Wynne is currently club teammates with Julius James, who is still looking for his first cap for T&T. DaMarcus Beasley had a pair of goals in the 5-1 win against T&T on March 20, 2001 in Tunapuna, Trinidad, in the second group game of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2001 U-20 World Youth Championship. Beasley scored three goals and set up the game-tying goal that earned the U.S. a place in the finals en route to being named Tournament MVP.

On the T&T side, several players on the roster made stops in MLS during their career journey. Stern John had the most success in MLS, scoring 44 goals in 55 matches for the Columbus Crew. John was the 1998 MLS Scoring Champion and, with 26 goals, he was also a member of the MLS Best XI that year.

Player Club Years
Cornell Glen MetroStars, Columbus Crew, Colorado Rapids, LA Galaxy 2004-2006
Julius James Toronto FC 2008-
Avery John New England Revoultion 2004-2007
Stern John Columbus Crew 1998-1999
Keyeno Thomas Colorado Rapids 2000-2001

SPREADING THE WEALTH: Much has been made about the USA’s smothering defense in 2008 – and with eight shutouts, including a scoreless draw against then-No. 1 ranked Argentina, why shouldn’t there be – but just as a successful defense requires all 11 players, so does the attack. So where have the U.S. goals come from? A quick examination of the 26 goals the U.S. put in the back of the net — the 27th is registered as an own goal — reveals that:

Six goals have come from defenders; five of those on set pieces
20 goals have come from attacking players, whether midfielders or forwards
One came from the penalty spot
BOB ON THE JOB: Since January of 2007 it has been the charge of U.S. head coach Bob Bradley to achieve the most important goal of any soccer playing nation: qualification for the FIFA World Cup. With 29 games under his belt, seeing 68 different players at least once, and the process of reaching South Africa in 2010 in full swing, a review of the body of work during the past 20 months points to the U.S. clearly heading in the right direction. Since the start of the four-year cycle, the U.S. has:

Won six straight FIFA World Cup qualifiers, five by shutout
Defended the CONCACAF Gold Cup title and qualified for the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup
Won by the largest margin of victory in U.S. World Cup qualifying history (8-0 vs. Barbados on 6/15/08)
Won back-to-back games in Europe for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, at Switzerland and March 26, 2008, at Poland)
Won three straight matches on the road for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, at Switzerland, Nov. 17, 2007, at South Africa and March 26, 2008, at Poland)
Played five matches against four teams ranked in the Top 10 in the world at the time they stepped on the field against them (Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Spain)
Played matches on four continents (Africa, Europe, North America and South America) and in two major international tournaments

THE BRADLEY BREAKDOWN

Record ...   
All-Time: 20-7-3   

Qualifying: 6-0-0
Goal For: 58
Goals Against: 26
Shutouts:  13

Record vs. ...

CONCACAF:  12-0-2, 31 GF, 7 GA
CONMEBOL:  1-4-1, 7 GF, 13 GA
UEFA: 4-3-0, 9 GF, 5 GA
AFC: 1-0-0, 4 GF, 1 GA
CAF: 1-0-0, 1 GF, 0 GA

Record when ...   
When leading at half:
 13-0-1

When losing at half: 1-2-0
When tied at half: 6-5-2

STREAKING THROUGH QUALIFYING: Cuban forward Jenzy Muñoz’s 32nd minute goal in Washington, D.C., ended the U.S. MNT’s recent shutout streak at 582 minutes. Prior to Muñoz’s tally, the last goal allowed by the U.S. defense was in the 79th minute of the 1-1 tie with Spain on June 4, 2008. While the recent shutout streak took place over eight matches and included six consecutive shutouts (which is a team record), it is not the longest shutout streak in terms of actual minutes. From June 23, 2003, until July 19, 2003, the U.S. went for 606 minutes over a span of seven matches (including five consecutive shutouts) without allowing a goal.

GOLDEN ANNIVERSARY: The 1-0 victory against Cuba earlier this round marked the USA’s 50th all-time win in qualifying play for the U.S. Overall, the U.S. holds a 52-30-28 lifetime record in FIFA World Cup qualifying action, posting a 39-9-18 mark since 1990. Also since qualifying for the 1990 FIFA World Cup, the U.S. boasts an impressive 26-1-6 record on home soil.

BE OFFICIAL WHEN YOU’RE WATCHING: What’s the next best thing to being at a game surrounded by your fellow screaming fans? Watching a game at an Official U.S. Soccer Bar surrounded by your fellow screaming fans! Bars across the U.S. are becoming the destination spots to gather and watch your U.S. teams in an atmosphere that is loud and rowdy. Check the latest listings for the Official U.S. Soccer Bar in your area.

2008 Statistical Leaders
Goals   
Dempsey 4
Ching 4
Donovan 3
Onyewu 3

Assists   
Donovan 5
Adu 2
Beasley 2
Kljestan 2
Pearce 2

Ching 9
Dempsey 9
Onyewu 7

Minutes Played   
Bradley 893
Pearce 858
Onyewu 842
Bocanegra 810
Dempsey 765

Games Started   
Bradley 11
Dempsey 10
Onyewu 10
Pearce 10
2 tied with 9

Yellow Cards   
Cherundolo 4
Bradley 4
Mastroeni 3
Onyewu 2
11 tied with 1

CONCACAF WORLD CUP QUALIFYING RESET

USA CLINCHED GROUP 1 AFTER FOUR: The U.S. has an iron-clad grip on first place in Group 1, collecting the maximum 12 points from four matches.  T&T pulled off a giant result away to Guatemala, snatching back the point they surrendered at home to the Guatemalans by earning a hard-fought scoreless draw on Saturday.  Down to 10 men after 40 minutes, the visitors held on and remain level on points with Guatemala at five apiece. Despite having zero points from four matches, Cuba are still not mathematically eliminated from contention, but would need victories in their last two games and some help from the United States to have a shot at advancement.

Standings
Group 1 GP W L T GF GA GD Pts.
United States 4 4 0 0 11 1 +10 12
Guatemala 4 1 1 2 5 3 +2 5
Trinidad & Tobago 4 1 1 2 4 5 -1 5
Cuba 4 0 4 0 3 12 -9 0

PLOT THICKENS IN GROUP 2 AS MEXICO STUMBLES, HONDURAS WINS BIG: In Group 2, Mexico lost their place at the top and Honduras continues to build momentum with two games remaining.  After playing their first three games at home, Mexico were defeated 1-0 at “The Office” in Kingston on a goal by Ricardo Fuller, the Mexicans missing out on the chance to secure their place in the hexagonal.  Meantime, the Hondurans put a trio on the board in San Pedro Sula and have now scored seven goals in their last three matches.  With a superior goal total, the Catrachos are ahead in the group.  Jamaica kept their hopes of advancement alive and face a must-win game at home against Honduras on Wednesday, while the Canadians have only pride to play for in their remaining games.

August 20
Canada 1, Jamaica 1
Mexico 2, Honduras 1

September 6
Mexico 3, Jamaica 1
Canada 1, Honduras 2

September 10
Honduras 2, Jamaica 0
Mexico 2, Canada 1

October 11
Jamaica 1, Mexico 0
Honduras 3, Canada 1

October 15
Jamaica vs. Honduras
Canada vs. Mexico

November 19
Honduras vs. Mexico
Jamaica vs. Canada

GROUP 3 NEARLY WRAPPED: In contrast to the other two groups in CONCACAF, Group 3 is just about wrapped up, with just one place to be decided. Costa Rica became the first team to advance to the hexagonal when they dispatched Suriname, 4-1, this past Saturday. El Salvador missed a chance to confirm their place in the final round, drawing 0-0 with Haiti, but Los Cuscatlecos still hold the upper hand in the table. Haiti needs victories from their last two games, coupled with a major slip up by El Salvador, to stand any chance of reaching the final round.

August 20
Costa Rica 1, El Salvador 0
Haiti 2, Suriname 2

September 6
El Salvador 5, Haiti 0
Costa Rica 7, Suriname 0

September 10
Suriname 0, El Salvador 1
Haiti 1, Costa Rica 3

October 11
Suriname 1, Costa Rica 4
Haiti 0, El Salvador 0

October 15
Costa Rica vs. Haiti
El Salvador vs. Suriname

November 19
Suriname vs. Haiti
El Salvador vs. Costa Rica

2004 SEMIFINAL ROUND REWIND:  After handling Grenada in the home and home series in the second round, the U.S. advanced to Group 1 of the semifinal phase along with El Salvador, Panama and Jamaica. Like this time around, the U.S. opened on the road when they traveled to Kingston, Jamaica. An 89th minute goal from World Cup qualifying debutante Brian Ching delivered the U.S. the sought after point away from home in the 1-1 draw with Jamaica. The ever-reliable Cobi Jones would later follow suit, netting a 92nd minute equalizer against Panama to deliver yet another important draw. At home it was a different story, as a convincing shutout against El Salvador (2-0) set the stage for a record-setting performance from Eddie Johnson in the 6-0 pasting of Panama on Oct. 13, 2004, at RFK Stadium. Johnson became the first U.S. player in history to record a hat trick as a substitute. In that match, Oguchi Onyewu earned his first taste of qualifying action.  Overall, the U.S. finished the group with an unbeaten 3-0-3 record and momentum heading into the final phase. 

IN FOCUS: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO FACT FILE
Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation
Founded: 1908 (Joined FIFA in 1963)
Nickname: The Soca Warriors
Head Coach: Francisco Maturana (COL)
Key Players: Keon Daniel, Cornell Glen, Dwight Yorke
Best World Cup Finish: First Round, 2006
Best CONCACAF Gold Cup Finish: Semifinals, 2000

RE-CYCLED: Trinidad & Tobago proved to one of the success stories of the 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. Marooned at the bottom of the CONCACAF Final Round table after three games, the hiring of coach Leo Beenhakker coupled with the recalling of talismanic veteran Dwight Yorke turned the tide for the Soca Warriors. The team went on to finish fourth place in CONCACAF, earning a playoff with Bahrain for a spot at the 2006 FIFA World Cup. A 2-1 aggregate victory over the gulf country saw the Trinidadians book their first ever place in the FIFA World Cup Finals, where they went on to take one point from three games in Germany.

HOW THEY GOT HERE: Trinidad & Tobago were pushed all the way by Bermuda in the second round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying. Down 2-1 after a shocking home loss in the first leg, T&T were forced to go on the road in search of an all important victory to keep their 2010 FIFA World Cup dreams alive. In the end, the quality of the Socca Warriors told, and a 2-0 victory in the second leg allowed the island nation to breathe a collective sigh of the relief before progressing to the Semifinal Round.

Vs. THE U.S.: The U.S. holds a 14-1-3 lifetime record against Trinidad & Tobago, with the series dating back to 1982. The U.S. also claims 10 shutouts against the Soca Warriors, with six of those coming on home turf. It has been more than 12 years since Trinidad & Tobago have scored during their travels to the U.S., with the last goal coming during a 3-2 loss in 1996 in Anaheim, Calif. Since then, Trinidad & Tobago have gone scoreless in five games when coming stateside, the most recent being a 3-0 qualifying loss on Sept. 10 in Bridgeview, Ill. Three times the U.S. managed more than two goals against Trinidad & Tobago. In addition to the last meeting and the aforementioned 1996 victory, the U.S. claimed a 3-0 win in 1990 in High Point, N.C. The United States has scored 28 times against Trinidad & Tobago, while only surrendering eight goals to the island nation, the last of which came in 2005.

THE SHOT HEARD AROUND THE WORLD: No look ahead at a World Cup qualifier against Trinidad would be complete without first looking back at the history-making performance of the U.S. team in 1989. Known simply as the 'shot heard around the world', Paul Caliguiri's game-winning goal against Trinidad on Nov. 19, 1989 catapulted the U.S. to its first World Cup finals in 40 years and launched an unprecedented of era of success for the U.S. National Team. In this U.S. Soccer's Center Circle feature on Caliguiri, re-live through Paul's eyes the moment that changed U.S. Soccer forever.

LAST MEETING: In their first home qualifier of the Semifinal Round, the U.S. Men’s National Team earned their fifth consecutive shutout in qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup with an impressive 3-0 win against Trinidad & Tobago at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. First half goals from Michael Bradley and Clint Dempsey were complemented by a second half strike from Brian Ching. The victory marked a trio of records for the U.S. history books, including the first time ever the U.S. had earned six consecutive shutouts, going back to the team’s 0-0 draw against Argentina on June 8 at Giants Stadium. The victory was also the sixth straight victory in World Cup qualifying dating back to the final match of the 2006 campaign, setting a team record. The five straight victories in one cycle also tied a team record set during the Final Round of the last qualifying run.

THE LAST TIME …

… the USA faced T&T
September 10, 2008 | Toyota Park – Bridegview, Ill.  | 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Semifinal Round

Scoring:                      1    2    F
USA                             2    1    3      Bradley (Donovan) 9, Dempsey (Beasley) 18, Ching (Onyewu) 57
Trinidad & Tobago       0    0    0

Lineups:
USA: 1-Tim Howard; 15-Heath Pearce, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.), 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 6-Steve Cherundolo; 17-DaMarcus Beasley, 12-Michael Bradley (4-Ricardo Clark, 67), 16-Sacha Kljestan, 8-Clint Dempsey (7-Eddie Lewis, 78); 10-Landon Donovan, 11-Brian Ching (9-Eddie Johnson, 67)
Subs Not Used: 18-Brad Guzan, 2-Frankie Hejduk, 13-Maurice Edu, 14-Danny Califf
Head Coach: Bob Bradley

TRI: 1-Marvin Phillip; 3-Akile Edwards, 5-Keyeno Thomas, 9-Makan Hislop, 8-Cyd Gray (capt.); 17-Keon Daniel, 4-Osei Telesford, 2-Clyde Leon, 7-Carlos Edwards; 12-Densil Theobald (14-Anthony Wolfe, 46), 13-Cornell Glenn
Subs Not Used: 18-Jan-Michael Williams, 6-Dennis Lawrence, 10-Andre Toussaint, 11-Jason Scotland, 15-Kerry Baptiste, 16-Julius James
Head Coach: Francisco Maturana

Cautions: Akile Edwards (TRI) 57, Steve Cherundolo (USA) 59, Clyde Leon (TRI)  59; Ejections: none.

… on the field for the USA

October 11, 2008 | RFK Stadium – Washington, D.C.  | 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Semifinal Round

Scoring:                    1    2    F
USA                          2    4    6       Beasley (Kljestan) 10, Beasley (Donvan) 30, Donovan (Pearce) 48,
                                                        Ching (Kljestan) 63, Altidore (Dempsey) 87, Onyewu (Adu) 90
Trinidad & Tobago    1    0    1    Muñoz 32

Lineups:
USA: 1-Tim Howard; 6-Steve Cherundolo, 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.),15-Heath Pearce (4-José Torres, 68); 12-Michael Bradley 16-Sacha Kljestan (17- Freddy Adu, 76); 8-Clint Dempsey, 10-Landon Donovan; 11-Brian Ching (9-Jozy Altidore, 68)
Subs Not Used: 18-Brad Guzan, 2-Frankie Hejduk, 13-Maurice Edu, 14-Danny Califf.
Head Coach: Bob Bradley

CUB: 12-Odelín Molina; 6-Yoel Colomé, 16-Reysander Fernández, 3-Yeniel Márquez, 2-Silvio Miñoso; 14-Jaime Colomé (8-Alianas Urgelles, 72), 5-José Luis Clavelo (capt.), 7-Luis Villegas (13-Carlos Domingo, 46), 9-Alain Cervantes, 11-Jenzy Muñoz (10-Mario Ruiz, 80), 15-Leonel Duarte
Subs not used: 1-Danis Quintero, 4-Yosvani Caballeros.
Head Coach: Reinhold Fanz

Cautions: Yoel Colomé (CUB) 21, Yoel Colomé (CUB) 41, Reysander Fernández (CUB) 62, Michael Bradley (USA) 90+ ; Ejections: Yoel Colomé (CUB) 41

… on the field for T&T

October 11, 2008 | Estadio Mateo Flores – Guatemala City | 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Semifinal Round

Scoring:                  1    2    F
Guatemala              0    0    0   
Trinidad & Tobago   0    0    0   

Lineups:
GUA: 1-Ricardo Trigueñoo; 4-Yony Flores, 13-Marco Papa, 14-Luis Rodriguez, 5-Carlos Gallardo; 6-Gustavo Cabrera (8-Gonzalo Romero, 60); 7-Mario Rodriguez,  10-Freddy Garcia (12-Jose Contreras, 46), 11-Guillermo Ramirez,  16-Jean Marquez (17-Abner Trigueros); 9-Carlos Ruiz
Subs Not Used: 2-Carlos Castrillo, 3-Cristian Noriega, 15-Fredy Thompson, 18-Luis Molina
Head Coach: Ramon Maradiaga

TRI: 1-Clayton Ince; 2-Cyd Gray, 3-Avery John, 5-Keyeno Thomas, 6-Dennis Lawrence; 7-Chris Birchall, 8-Anthony Wolfe (13-Cornell Glen, 46), 10-Russell Latapy (15-Clyde Leon, 46), 17-Dwight Yorke, 11-Carlos Edwards; 12-Jason Scotland (9-Keon Daniel, 70)
Subs Not Used:  14-Darryl Roberts, 16-Makan Hislop, 18-Marvin Phillip
Head Coach: Francisco Maturana

Cautions:  Anthony Wolfe (TRI) 7, Guillermo Ramirez 27, Cyd Gray (TRI) 28, Chris Birchall (TRI) 45, Clayton Ince (TRI) 78, Carlos Gallardo (GUA), 86; Ejections: Cyd Gray (TRI) 39.

« Reply #221 on: October 14, 2008, 05:29:03 PM »
Curious to know who allyuh think the US prefer to make it betweem T&T and Guatemala.
I would say T&T but that is my opinion.

I think T&T, because we easy to beat up; In thee past, but so deh thinking fuh now  ;D   Thai thee bait. They ent know we still have KJ and Austis Whitley coming back to add to more arsenal. They won't prefer we in thee next rounds. ;)

If we don't beat that USA side on wednesday we will never beat USA
« Reply #222 on: October 14, 2008, 05:36:19 PM »
No excuses...

With that side they sending comprised of mostly scab labor, the time is now!!

if we dont break the duck here, forget it, we never beating that side again.

lewwe go.. VIBES IT UP!

Re: If we don't beat that USA side on wednesday we will never beat USA
« Reply #223 on: October 14, 2008, 05:40:34 PM »
No excuses...

lewwe go.. VIBES IT UP!

Yeah Boi if is thee farmer son and them come and beat wee, that go be realle sad.

« Reply #224 on: October 14, 2008, 05:45:14 PM »
Ince
Edwards, Thomas, Lawrence, Avery
Spann, Yorke, Birchall, Daniel
Latapy
Glen

Please dont put Osei Telesford to play.... :rotfl:

« Reply #225 on: October 14, 2008, 06:10:40 PM »
No excuses...
lewwe go.. VIBES IT UP!
Scab Labour?
what I miss?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #226 on: October 14, 2008, 06:16:59 PM »
No excuses...
lewwe go.. VIBES IT UP!
Scab Labour?
what I miss?

Americans on the 'fringe' need to show their stuff

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8675874/Americans-on-the-%27fringe%27-need-to-show-their-stuff

by Jamie Trecker
The man from the Windy City pulls no punches when it comes to soccer in the USA. Read Jamie's Blog!

Updated: October 14, 2008, 2:53 PM EST 12 comments
add this RSS blog email Print
Wednesday night the USA will face off against a desperate Trinidad and Tobago side in Port of Spain.

Missing from the team will be regulars such as Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Clint Dempsey. In their place are five players angling for their first cap in World Cup qualifying play.

Perfect.

The Americans locked up their slot in the final round of regional qualifying Saturday night with a comprehensive demolition of Cuba at RFK, giving the Americans two games to play with. It's not often you get a truly meaningful match that you can approach as if it's a friendly, and the Americans need to take full advantage of it.

While coach Bob Bradley's roster choices won't please everyone, the lineups that will play these final two matches are likely to give the guys on the fringe a chance to show they belong on the field. And given Bradley's parsimonious approach — as well as his seemingly limitless patience for "his guys" — these men had also better make the best of it.

What fans need to look for from the new guys is fairly straightforward — on-field communication, vision and control. The weaknesses of the USA are well-known, of course. The Americans make foolish defensive errors, allowing teams to run down the gut at them, and they have not displayed the kind of tactical awareness needed to beat superior opponents. Finally, they also need production up top (no one should be fooled by the six goals scored against Cuba) and to replace Brian McBride with a go-to guy under pressure.

In goal, Brad Guzan will get another chance to cement the No 2 slot behind Tim Howard. Ex-D.C. man Troy Perkins will warm the pine despite a long flight in from Norway. Once again, there is no love for Matt Reis.

In the back, things look pretty interesting. A cynic might note that throwing at least three new faces into a four-man back line is a test designed to fail, but with Jonathan Bornstein making his return to the team for the first time in just under a year, fair looks might finally be given to Marvell Wynne, Danny Califf and Michael Orozco.

Califf is arguably the most solid of this trio and has blossomed abroad with Midtjylland. He should already be penciled in on the 2010 depth chart. Wynne's speed and decision-making at this level remain questionable, and Orozco has to be seen as utterly on the fringe after his flameout in Beijing. Both need games for their development and confidence and a solid game in Trinidad would do both a world of good.

In midfield, all eyes will be on Freddy Adu, who should get a start and a chance to show what he can do. Given fourteen minutes against Cuba, he made a huge impact, and it's time to see how he links up with DaMarcus Beasley out wide and Jozy Altidore up top as a playmaker. There is still a great deal of suspicion that surrounds Adu because of his lack of playing time at Monaco, and that noise has drowned out fair assessments of his performances in the whites. A big game on national television could go a long way towards silencing his detractors.

Jose Francisco Torres and Maurice Edu will have a lot to do as well in front of a back line that will be under pressure from the kickoff. Whether they come in off the bench or not depends on how much shaking Bradley wants to do, but the truth is that Sacha Klejstan has been workmanlike as a starter, but tends to give the ball away when called on to steer the game.

Instead, Bradley should give Edu the chance to see if he can shine in a big game. Danny Szetela remains on the edge as well despite some decent games for the Olympians. The fact is the once-promising youngster regressed during his purgatory in Columbus and is just now working himself back to full form.

Up top, many expect the day to be all about Altidore, who scored against Cuba Saturday and looks to show how far he has come under Spanish training. But ignoring Charlie Davies would be a mistake as he's been a sparkplug when given a chance. Bradley has to find a game-changer off the bench, and Davies might be that man — it would be great to see him come in at the hour mark and see what he can bring to the table.

Two players of note are absent. Jay DeMerit was released back to Watford ahead of their match Saturday against Southampton — both clubs are hovering just above the relegation zone. Kenny Cooper also remains out as Dallas face RSL in a must-win game for both teams in a tight playoff race.

These are understandable omissions, but they are also unhelpful given the withdrawals of Robbie Rogers (back) and Pablo Mastroeni (knee). It would have been great to see Califf and Demerit in the heart of the defense and to see how Altidore and Cooper played together up top.

Hopefully, we will in the final game in November.

« Reply #227 on: October 14, 2008, 06:26:24 PM »
Thanks Omar
dais more like we local vs forren or "A" vs "B" team debate....I guess
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #228 on: October 14, 2008, 06:44:59 PM »
Guys its been announced that STERN IS FIT, so we will see who will start against the U.S tommorow..Stern or Scotland?

Re: US Make 2 more changes
« Reply #229 on: October 14, 2008, 08:13:22 PM »
Midfielder Pablo Mastroeni and forward Robbie Rogers were dropped from the United States roster for tomorrow's World Cup qualifier against Trinidad and Tobago in Port of Spain.

More good news, Mastroeni is a beast

« Reply #230 on: October 14, 2008, 08:28:40 PM »
Yep lets c who starts

Offline st john strikers

« Reply #231 on: October 14, 2008, 10:47:24 PM »
we should start scotty  ;D

« Reply #232 on: October 15, 2008, 12:16:56 AM »
Lets not kid ourselves people....regardless of who the US bring....

dey getting ah cutass tomorrow.....me ent care we have a Professional team and dey lookin like they ready for battle.

GO SOCA WARRIORS BUN DEM  :flamethrower:

« Reply #233 on: October 15, 2008, 02:10:08 AM »
If we can't beat this 2nd string USA team and cuba, then we don't have no right in the hex ! and all who picking scotty and glenn to start in front of stern and roberts don't want to win this game!! them two men bound to score with the smallest of opportunity especially daryl!

that fella will be an icon for T&T mark my words! he does score some difficult goals @ some difficult angles. after all it's him and stern who got us out of that jam bermuda put us in. they have to start PANCHO !!!!!!!!!

« Reply #234 on: October 15, 2008, 02:45:07 AM »
What time is de game and do we have a vid link yet?

I go be real  :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: in class tomorrow

Offline piccio

« Reply #235 on: October 15, 2008, 03:28:28 AM »
Hello fools,

do you know that all your soccer accomplishments have been fixed.  You should all be ashamed of yourself!  Your president is the most corrupt person on the face of the earth.  His wealth and ambition have been disastrous for the Concacaf region.  His political stake in soccer is so big, that anything goes.  Placing corrupt referees, starting games late, selling world cup tickets, and the list goes on.  You are not a soccer nation and will never be.  Your hero Dwight Yorke is also a manipulative and arrogant person who influences outcomes of games.  If not, watch what happens when he commits a dirty foul on Carlos Ruiz, and the ref decides not to eject the player after he figures out that Dwight was involved.  The truth is that you deserve to be punished for all the manipulations of the game of soccer.  It is a real shame that Jack Warner has been given such an important job.  Before answering my reply, or even worse, deleting it, watch the game of Guatemala vs. USA.  The ref had been invited 2 weeks earlier to call Trinidad's friendly against Englant.  What a coincidence that this same ref, or should I say thieve was scheduled to call Guatemala's first game.  I dare anyone to watch the game in its entirety and post an honest opinion of what went on.

So go on Socca Warriors, celebrate your mediocre style of play, but be honest and know that decent and loyal fans know from history what goes on behind the scenes when it comes to Jack Warner's little toy.

« Reply #236 on: October 15, 2008, 03:40:32 AM »
Hello fools,

do you know that all your soccer accomplishments have been fixed.  You should all be ashamed of yourself!  Your president is the most corrupt person on the face of the earth.  His wealth and ambition have been disastrous for the Concacaf region.  His political stake in soccer is so big, that anything goes.  Placing corrupt referees, starting games late, selling world cup tickets, and the list goes on.  You are not a soccer nation and will never be.  Your hero Dwight Yorke is also a manipulative and arrogant person who influences outcomes of games.  If not, watch what happens when he commits a dirty foul on Carlos Ruiz, and the ref decides not to eject the player after he figures out that Dwight was involved.  The truth is that you deserve to be punished for all the manipulations of the game of soccer.  It is a real shame that Jack Warner has been given such an important job.  Before answering my reply, or even worse, deleting it, watch the game of Guatemala vs. USA.  The ref had been invited 2 weeks earlier to call Trinidad's friendly against Englant.  What a coincidence that this same ref, or should I say thieve was scheduled to call Guatemala's first game.  I dare anyone to watch the game in its entirety and post an honest opinion of what went on.

So go on Socca Warriors, celebrate your mediocre style of play, but be honest and know that decent and loyal fans know from history what goes on behind the scenes when it comes to Jack Warner's little toy.

:o  Where de fack dese men is come from..... :rotfl:

google is a hell of ting we.....

Offline vapotrini

« Reply #237 on: October 15, 2008, 04:48:45 AM »
CNMG not showing this game live?

espn showing it.

if the game was sellout then yuh woulda have a chance on C

Doh think ESPN might show it locally...broadcast rights and all dat. If CMMG have de broadcast rights locally...den Flow would block ESPN...kinda like Sportsmax and FSC with EPL.

nah nah, ESPN showing it fuhshure...

I was taking in de match against Cuba and dem commentators was saying that they done have equipement in route to trinidad, and that they will be airing the game live from Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, (they say TUh BAG GO)...

Hard luck, that is a different ESPN. Neither of the two we get locally are bringing it. Check it yourself in the TV guide.

Doesn't matter me any, I'll be at the game. As for what color to wear, come on guys... you know it's always RED for the big games!

« Reply #238 on: October 15, 2008, 04:55:01 AM »
Hello fools,

yawn...

Offline vapotrini

« Reply #239 on: October 15, 2008, 04:59:43 AM »
Hello fools,

Wow, Jack Warner is corrupt??? Gee, thanks for enlightening us... we really didn't know this.

It's pretty funny that you have the balls to bring up the officiating and say that we stole the game. I guess the ref had a change of heart when he sent Cyd Gray off for a CLEAN tackle. Or how about when your LAST defender blatantly obstructed Cornell Glen from going to goal? That is a RED card anywhere else.

I realize as a Guatemalan fan you're bitter. You didn't go to the WC last time and reality is starting to set in that you aren't going this time either. Guess what kid, deal with it!