March 28, 2024, 09:32:06 AM

Can T&T break the duck vs USA this time ?

No
13 (11.1%)
Yes
95 (81.2%)
Draw
9 (7.7%)

Total Members Voted: 116

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).  (Read 106579 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (15-Oct-2008).
« Reply #660 on: October 15, 2008, 10:00:31 PM »
I missed the match guys, was it fairly even or did T&T dominate or vice versa?

« Reply #661 on: October 15, 2008, 10:03:32 PM »
Great game. Spaan had a good game. Composed. Birchall sure showed the doubters. Easy man of the match. Daniel, Latas, Yorke, Lawrence, Carlos, Scotland ALL had good games.  Big up the WN crew. Met some WN diehards today.  Weary, Kandi, Brown Sugar, Stunner, Jeffers, "de man " Patriot, Organic, Triniwhiteboy, 2004, See touches from far. No place like in de National Stadium. Oh and de Big Flag was out in full effect. Again Much love to de SWN massive.

didnt get to meet d crew again, reach late so ah hadda tak d section behin d movietowne goal post, but d flag look best as usual. lookin forward to d touches match report

bless!

« Reply #662 on: October 15, 2008, 10:03:54 PM »
Thank You Fellas...Thank you VERY MUCH
We BEAT THE USA .......TODAY..........15 Oct 2008

MEN OF THE MATCH ;)

T&T: - 1.Clayton Ince, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 3.Aklie Edwards, 5.Keyeno Thomas (4.Makan Hislop 35th), 11.Carlos Edwards, 16.Silvio Spann, 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 7.Christopher Birchall, 9.Keon Daniel, 10.Russell Latapy (8.Khaleem Hyland 75th), 12.Jason Scotland (14.Stern John 66th).
« Last Edit: October 15, 2008, 10:34:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #663 on: October 15, 2008, 10:04:54 PM »
Great game. Spaan had a good game. Composed. Birchall sure showed the doubters. Easy man of the match. Daniel, Latas, Yorke, Lawrence, Carlos, Scotland ALL had good games.  Big up the WN crew. Met some WN diehards today.  Weary, Kandi, Brown Sugar, Stunner, Jeffers, "de man " Patriot, Organic, Triniwhiteboy, 2004, See touches from far. No place like in de National Stadium. Oh and de Big Flag was out in full effect. Again Much love to de SWN massive.

boy david you called that game down the line brother well done. \m/

« Reply #664 on: October 15, 2008, 10:30:34 PM »
great game...yes tallman i was with the flag crew..so no more buff
saw plenty of the SWnet crew....hear nah, the crowd surprise me...totally behind the side...boo USA line up all kinda ting...will write more tomorro if i remember
oh and kandi have de pics

Offline Trini68

« Reply #665 on: October 15, 2008, 10:31:00 PM »
Yorkie give up he #19?

« Reply #666 on: October 15, 2008, 10:35:23 PM »
I still surprised. We finally get that monkey off we back. Well Done T&T !

« Reply #667 on: October 15, 2008, 10:36:07 PM »
Great game. Spaan had a good game. Composed. Birchall sure showed the doubters. Easy man of the match. Daniel, Latas, Yorke, Lawrence, Carlos, Scotland ALL had good games.  Big up the WN crew. Met some WN diehards today.  Weary, Kandi, Brown Sugar, Stunner, Jeffers, "de man " Patriot, Organic, Triniwhiteboy, 2004, See touches from far. No place like in de National Stadium. Oh and de Big Flag was out in full effect. Again Much love to de SWN massive.

Spann had a good game?  What game you watch? Spann and Akile Edwards play real $hit.  Everyone else had a good game.  Scotland need to lose some weight, he remind me of stern in his "half slab" days.

« Reply #668 on: October 15, 2008, 10:39:09 PM »

Spann had a good game?  What game you watch? Spann and Akile Edwards play real $hit.  Everyone else had a good game.  Scotland need to lose some weight, he remind me of stern in his "half slab" days.

Nightmare i does wonder if dem fellas watchin de same game we watchin yes

« Reply #669 on: October 15, 2008, 10:40:10 PM »
I still surprised. We finally get that monkey off we back. Well Done T&T !

AND, Elan, Latas and Yorke did SCORE ;D
both played in the infamous game ........... as Arrow say........ya cant make this stuff up
« Last Edit: October 15, 2008, 10:42:20 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #670 on: October 15, 2008, 10:42:32 PM »
Hislop is a man I jam plenty in this board. I have to say tonight is the best I've seen him.

« Reply #671 on: October 15, 2008, 10:49:13 PM »
Sweet sweet victory. Well done players

« Reply #672 on: October 15, 2008, 10:58:59 PM »
This win against the US should give us a nice boost in the FIFA ranking.

Jamaica will be soaring as well.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2008, 11:01:49 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #673 on: October 15, 2008, 11:08:20 PM »
If/When we make it to the Hex we should have Kenwyn Jones with a few games under his belt.

Offline sinned

« Reply #674 on: October 15, 2008, 11:08:44 PM »
Great win fellas. To finally beat the US is like a dream come true.

My Man-of-the-Match: Chris Birchall aka J Cloth. He played with great tenacity and the tackles he was putting down in the midfield was biting. The man run up and down all night and really drove up the field with the ball when he had possession. I see someone call him our Genaro Gattuso - he's Gatusso who could buss bullets. He and Yorke made sure we won the battle in the midfield tonight. Them boys work real hard in the trenches

Carlos had a very good game also. His energy was there again (as it was in the precious matches). What was improved though was his control and 'touches'. He was more creative, and after starting off a bit hesitantly, took on his man and played some good balls - none better than the cross to Latapy.

But Birchall take win. Somebody on the forum for the Guatemala game say once Birchall could walk he should be on this team. I agree. Birchall could play for my team any day so Anton and Coventry City allyuh could put allyuh tail between allyuh leg

« Reply #675 on: October 15, 2008, 11:09:26 PM »

Offline legal alien

« Reply #676 on: October 15, 2008, 11:09:52 PM »
Yorkie give up he #19?
For whatever reason , players on each team had to play wearing a number from 1 to 18.

« Reply #677 on: October 15, 2008, 11:15:24 PM »

And Hyland could finally get he work permit?  8)

« Reply #678 on: October 15, 2008, 11:18:37 PM »
Well I real popular so leh me answer all d question

Trin- me,brown and kandi was under d flagg ah make tv so u can check me 4 d autograph

Palos boi it was a palce coup what we need is ah bloody revolution because I cyah under or overstand what A Edwards was doin on d pitch

Me mum is a bossssssssssssss Alvin and d chipmunks need 2 take out ah ad in every daily and apologize 2 he

When I saw DL in d defence I ask meh self what was dumbtist tinkin v USA

Glad 2 say I was there when history was created

« Reply #679 on: October 15, 2008, 11:22:25 PM »

Yeah...maybe Daniel and Wolfe might get ah bligh as well.  ;)

« Reply #680 on: October 15, 2008, 11:24:23 PM »
Well I real popular so leh me answer all d question

Trin- me,brown and kandi was under d flagg ah make tv so u can check me 4 d autograph

Palos boi it was a palce coup what we need is ah bloody revolution because I cyah under or overstand what A Edwards was doin on d pitch

Me mum is a bossssssssssssss Alvin and d chipmunks need 2 take out ah ad in every daily and apologize 2 he

When I saw DL in d defence I ask meh self what was dumbtist tinkin v USA

Glad 2 say I was there when history was created

So watch...yuh givin Pacho ANY credit fuh de HISTORIC victory tonight?  ;D ;D

« Reply #681 on: October 15, 2008, 11:26:25 PM »

Yeah...maybe Daniel and Wolfe might get ah bligh as well.  ;)

Daniel fuh sure.  Wolfe woulda ha dem Yanks beezee tonight.  But he and Keon bring something totally different but necessary to de team.  Would be nice if BOTH a dem could play at de same time...but dat would mean droppin Latas and I eh about to do dat at dis point.  8)

« Reply #682 on: October 15, 2008, 11:26:58 PM »
History will record dat he was d coach when we get d monkey of we back. Warrior Queen CUBA IT IS

« Reply #683 on: October 15, 2008, 11:38:31 PM »
History will record dat he was d coach when we get d monkey of we back. Warrior Queen CUBA IT IS

Stop DODGIN de question!  I eh arkse yuh bout no history bein recorded.

Ah arkse yuh if YOU weary would give Pacho ANY credit at all fuh dis historic victory!!  ;D ;D

« Reply #684 on: October 15, 2008, 11:42:33 PM »
The answer Palos is NOOOOOOOOOOOOO because I feel d palace coup make d difference. He still have in fluencebecause Edwards strt b4 Avery God alone knows y.

Offline vapotrini

« Reply #685 on: October 16, 2008, 12:00:18 AM »
Oh lord what a game! My throat killing me from all the screaming in the stadium.

MOTM: C. Birchall - EVERY WHERE you look, there he is, hustling, cleaning up, releasing men. The man simply doesn't ever stop trying. Make no mistake about it, he IS the heart and soul of this team. Ironic isn't it? He wasn't even born here, yet sorry to say he have 10 times more heart than most players to ever wear our national colors. 

Congrats T&T, you really done us proud this time!  :beermug:

« Reply #686 on: October 16, 2008, 12:05:42 AM »
Just getting a chance to take in the game... unfortunately I already know the result... but a good result it is.

The pan sounds horrible... dunno where dey find dem men from.

I probably won't bother add more on the game itself as I watch it... I'm sure everything else has already been said.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #687 on: October 16, 2008, 12:50:21 AM »
Congrats to de team!

« Reply #688 on: October 16, 2008, 12:55:16 AM »
What did Carlos do to get Man of the Match.

He fought whole match no matter how much stones he was pulling. And then it payed off with the boss beat and chip for the Latas goal.And as soon as that clicked, he was the only T&T player (apart maybe Hyland) who was still running his legs off. Both Birchall and Yorke was bun by then.

Did you see the play sometime after the goal where he run from the byeline to the top of the box, manners a man running in to shoot and cutting through the midfield lke butter, take way the ball, dribble two men and then lay it off easy easy for Hyland at the opposite byeline?

That is what confidence coming back does look like.

tooootally agreed.

that play was feckin amazin... i mean... say what yuh want, but them second string players were still decent professionals and the share athleticism he showed for getting back, then tackling the ball away as if he were facin down a kid in intercol... then being bold enough to take it with you... and still have the breath to do the same energy consuming run in the opposite direction after doing all of this with the same pace for longer and then getting the cross in??

again...

sprint half of the field, TACKLE - TURN ROUND then out dribble the whole of it with the ball??

jah.

that is indeed confidence comming back.

« Reply #689 on: October 16, 2008, 01:24:24 AM »
I read all the back and forth with regards to MOTM... and being that I now watching the game I pay particular attention to both players.  Really hard to pick one over the other.  In the earlies it was Birchie... hands down.  Carlos was steady in the earlies, but not up to Birchall's hustle.  Birchall was the man who stole the ball in midfield who then laid it off to Latas... who passed to Edwards who then did his thing to set up Latas.

Long and short... I think it's Carlos by a nose over Birchall.

------------

Lost in all the exuberance is the excellent job by ESPN... fantastic broadcast, typical top-class angles.  Also, very nice professional commentary by JP Dellacamera...and particularly John Harkes.  Harkes was bigging up Latas and Yorke (who he called 'a friend of his') whole night.  He also gave nuff props to Lawrence (didn't even realize he had more caps than Latas... pro'lly de 'retirement' cause dat)... and then Stern.  They gave us our props and nobody was talking about 'missing' US players or this being a 'B' side.  They also bigged up the crowd... talking about the 'terrific atmosphere' a couple times.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 01:31:10 AM by Bake n Shark »