March 28, 2024, 06:40:33 AM

Which teams has the best chance to advance to the hex?

Canada
6 (7.1%)
Jamaica
3 (3.5%)
Trinidad & Tobago
29 (34.1%)
Guatemala
20 (23.5%)
Haiti
2 (2.4%)
El Salvador
25 (29.4%)

Total Members Voted: 40

Author Topic: Which teams has the best chance to advance to the hex?  (Read 2938 times)

Which teams has the best chance to advance to the hex?
« on: September 12, 2008, 09:21:01 AM »
Which teams has the best chance to advance to the hexagonal ?

October Games
11.10.2008 - Guatemala v Trinidad & Tobago, 20:00, Ciudad de Guatemala, GUA
11.10.2008 - USA v Cuba, 16:00, Washington D.C., USA

15.10.2008 - Trinidad & Tobago v USA, TBD, TBD, TRI
15.10.2008 - Cuba v Guatemala, 20:00, La Habana, CUB

Novemer Games
19.11.2008 - Trinidad & Tobago v Cuba, TBD, TBD, TRI
19.11.2008 - USA v Guatemala, TBA, Commerce City, Colorado, USA

P  W  L  D  F  A  P

USA  3  3  0  0  5  0  9
GUA  3  1  1  1  5  3  4

TRI   3  1  1  1  4  5  4
CUB  3  0  3  0  2  8  0

October Games
11.10.2008 - Jamaica v Mexico, TBD, Kingston, JAM
11.10.2008 - Honduras v Canada, TBD, TBD, HON

15.10.2008 - Jamaica v Honduras, 19:00, Kingston, JAM
15.10.2008 - Canada v Mexico, 19:00, Edmonton, Alberta, CAN

Novemer Games
19.11.2008 - Jamaica v Canada, TBD, Kingston, JAM
19.11.2008 - Honduras v Mexico, TBD, TBD, HON

P  W  L  D  G  A  P

MEX  3  3  0  0  7  2  9
HON  3  2  1  0  5  3  6

CAN  3  0  2  1  3  5  1
JAM  3  0  2  1  1  6  1

October Games
11.10.2008 - Haiti v El Salvador, 17:00, Port-au-Prince, HAI
11.10.2008 Surinam v Costa Rica, 16:30, Paramaribo, SUR

15.10.2008 - El Salvador v Surinam, 19:30, San Salvador, SLV
15.10.2008 - Costa Rica v Haiti, 20:00, San Jose, CRC

Novemer Games
19.11.2008 - El Salvador v Costa Rica, TBD, San Salvador, SLV
19.11.2008 - Surinam v Haiti, 16:30, Paramaribo, SUR

P  W  L  D  F  A  P

CRC  3  3  0  0  11  1  9
SLV  3  2  1  0  7  1  6

HAI  3  0  2  1  3  10  1
SUR  3  0  2  1  2  11  1

Pick three choices.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2008, 06:03:09 AM by Flex »

Re: Which teams has the best chance to advance to the hex?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 09:39:43 AM »
My predictions

October Games
11.10.2008 - Guatemala 1 v Trinidad & Tobago 1, 20:00, Ciudad de Guatemala, GUA
11.10.2008 - USA 3 v Cuba 0, 16:00, Washington D.C., USA

15.10.2008 - Trinidad & Tobago 1 v USA 1, TBD, TBD, TRI
15.10.2008 - Cuba 1 v Guatemala 1, 20:00, La Habana, CUB

Novemer Games
19.11.2008 - Trinidad & Tobago 4 v Cuba 0, TBD, TBD, TRI
19.11.2008 - USA 2 v Guatemala 0, TBA, Commerce City, Colorado, USA

P  W  L  D  F  A  P

USA  6  5  0  1  11  1  16
TRI   6  2  1  2  6  7  9
GUA  6  1  2  3  7  4  6
CUB  6  0  5  1  3  16  0

Guatemala have 2 away games, T&T have 2 home games left, de ball in we court. In 2005 qualifiers USA try to sell out to GUA so they could go instead of T&T. Lets hope they beat GUA this time. And if my prediction goes accordingly, a tie between USA and GUA wouldn't affect T&T and I doubt USA will make GUA beat them. And in November Colorado very cold.

All this could be prevented if T&T beat Guatemala in Guatemala, but I cant make a good prediction without seeing who will be called, so my prediction will be changing.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 09:45:18 AM by Sam »

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 10:23:12 AM »
we need a draw against Guatemala or better yet  a win and Guatemala goose cook. We have played  the tough Ticos in CR and played against them very well. I see no reason why we cya beat or tie shit squad in Guatemala. Suriname Haiti outa de question dem gone thru already but will still try to put up a resistance .. Jamaica wid di Firing of simoes and 3 games left have serious problems.. Honduras does get consistant beating in Kingston, canada go collect about 4 with ease .Mexico will be JA bigest problem and JA will need to win dat game .TNT did it against Mexico,  JA can.. Good luck guys let

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2008, 11:39:39 AM »
Jamaica out, trust me, they have to beat Mex, Hon and Can and they dont even have a coach, 30 days to go.

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2008, 11:51:18 AM »
USA- Mexico- Costa rica- Elsalvador- Honduras and the winner of Guatema/ T&T.

« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2008, 11:55:51 AM »
Injunchile I could live wit your selection

« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2008, 06:19:04 PM »
Jamaica's record at home to all thrre teams is better than anything we have iin Guatemala. If they can find a coach on short notice, who knows what can happen? But I still think Honduras will take their spot.

We on the other hand need to LOSE a coach at short notice

Offline gothic

« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2008, 06:57:26 PM »
As long as we get a result against Guatemala we will be in excellent position to make the Hex, both teams will beat up on Cuba and possibly lose against the US so this may come down to goal difference or whatever the tiebreaker is.

Btw, what is the tiebreaker?

« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2008, 08:00:34 PM »
As long as we get a result against Guatemala we will be in excellent position to make the Hex, both teams will beat up on Cuba and possibly lose against the US so this may come down to goal difference or whatever the tiebreaker is.

Btw, what is the tiebreaker?

Goal difference, goals scored, then head to head

« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2008, 10:30:27 PM »
My picks....

T&T and El Salvador......ah backing my country no matter what, but that flecking joker we have parading as a coach making my job as a supporter real friggin hard!!....steups

« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2008, 07:27:49 AM »
The El Salvador one is obvious. Jamaica and Canada have no chance since even if jamaica win there 3 home games the have to hope that canada takes some points from Honduras in Hounduras. The only group with any contention is our group with Guatemala and TT.

We must not lose in guatemala.  However, i still believe that Cuba will take some points from somebody and i hope that it would be the Guats at home.

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2008, 07:39:43 AM »
Guatemala away could go either way IMO.

Trinidad to lose against the USA at home followed by a win against Cuba.

A potential four points from nine.

« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2008, 08:46:11 AM »
Guatemala away could go either way IMO.

Trinidad to lose against the USA at home followed by a win against Cuba.

A potential four points from nine.

I will agree with you on this one.  Although if things doh change by way of coaching and team selection, I think we could be more embarrassed in Guatemala than what happened in the US last week.  Ah feel wey yuh see de Guats get a sniff of the saltfish...dey ent go let nobody bowl them out so easy in dey own backyard.

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2008, 08:58:40 AM »
I think we  going to have a surprise win against the US in Trinidad despite the record.  We due a win against the US and this time go be it, when we need it more than ever.  The second half of that game showed me that we can beat that team with the right mental approach. 

« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2008, 10:02:59 AM »
I think we  going to have a surprise win against the US in Trinidad despite the record.  We due a win against the US and this time go be it, when we need it more than ever.  The second half of that game showed me that we can beat that team with the right mental approach. 

you mean the first 15 minutes of the 2nd half when it was already 2-0 and the US had dropped their intensity? to be honest, i do beleive that if we had started the game like that, it would be a different story. we may not have collected any points, but we would have given ourselves a chance and not looked so amateurish. but at the end of the day, the score was already 2-0 and the US was bossing the game and had made several other scoring opportunities, so a brief floursih at the beginning o the 2nd half has little value.

By the time the US comes to T&T they should be already qualified. They will send a B-squad and we will have a good chance of getting a win. By good chance, I mean better than usual, but seeing as we've never done it in WCQ and only once in history, I would still count on a very tough game. We'll need something special to get 3 points cuz no matter who the US send out, they doh concede easy. big game..I can't wait. but first to take care of Guateh

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2008, 10:18:36 AM »
I really doh want to spell gloom and doom, but going on what I see so far, unless things change drastically, I seeing that the group might possibly end just as it is right now, with us losing out on goal difference.  This is just a hope...nothing to do with reality...but ah just hoping that Cuba upset de Guats somehow.