April 19, 2024, 11:41:21 PM

Author Topic: Simoes fired !!!  (Read 13732 times)

Re: Simoes fired !!!
« Reply #60 on: September 12, 2008, 10:31:29 AM »
Asylumseeker,good work very informative,it's nice to know we are not alone with problems it's a part of the game,what i observe though is that the problems these countries have are similar,developmental programs,staff/coaching problems,infrastructure(fields/practice/training facilities),equipment,exposure to better competition,having players available etc etc when you take these things into consideration you realise it will take some money to get it done and that's the biggest problem for countries in our region.   
« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 05:54:16 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #61 on: September 12, 2008, 05:37:30 PM »
The life of the modern coach. Hero today, goat tomorrow!!!!

« Reply #62 on: September 12, 2008, 06:17:25 PM »
Well in we case d fella is a goat from day 1

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
Rene Simoes fired as coach of Jamaica soccer team
« Reply #63 on: September 12, 2008, 09:32:11 PM »
Rene Simoes fired as coach of Jamaica soccer team
Sep 11, 8:06 pm EDT

Buzz Up PrintKINGSTON, Jamaica (AP)—Rene Simoes was fired Thursday as coach of Jamaica’s soccer team following a slow start in the semifinal round of World Cup qualifying.

Jamaica tied Canada 1-1, lost to Mexico and dropped a 2-0 decision at Honduras on Wednesday, although the Reggae Boyz play their final three games at home.

Simoes was nine months into a three-year contract. The Jamaica Football Federation said it had “severed ties with Simoes and his Brazilian staff.”

He led Jamaica to its first World Cup appearance in 1998, then resigned in 2000 after six years as technical director. He returned in January to succeed Bora Milutinovic, who was fired for breach of contract.

Mexico (3-0) leads Group Two with nine points, followed by Honduras (2-1) with six, and Canada and Jamaica (both 0-2-1) with one apiece. The top two nations advance to next year’s finals of North and Central America and the Caribbean.

Jamaica hosts Mexico on Oct. 11, Honduras on Oct. 15 and Canada on Oct. 19, needing to win all three to have any chance of advancing
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #64 on: September 13, 2008, 10:25:24 AM »
More parallels:

JFF dissatisfied with Simoes' selection policy

Garfield Myers
Saturday, September 13, 2008

MANDEVILLE, Manchester - He did not say so in as many words, but chairman of the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) technical committee Howard McIntosh made it plain in Mandeville on Thursday night that dissatisfaction with team selection had much to do with the sacking of Rene Simoes as technical director of Jamaica's football.

"It really comes down to performance." was the reply from McIntosh when asked what were the "main concerns" that triggered the decision by JFF president Captain Horace Burrell to fire Simoes following successive, though not unexpected away defeats to Mexico and Honduras in CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

But when asked specifically what would be expected of Simoes' replacement in terms of team selection, McIntosh was unequivocal.

"I would hope that the new technical director and his staff will pick the best 11 to represent the country and if it follows that that best 11 is really from overseas representation, then that's the 11 that should be picked. I always believe that the best 11 (from) the best squad of 18/20 players should be on the field all the time," he said.

Asked whether he thought Simoes, a Brazilian, who famously guided Jamaica to the 1998 World Cup was in the habit of selecting his "best team" during the current campaign, McIntosh was equally clear.

"No, I don't think the best squad was always selected.," noted the JFF executive who was in Mandeville as guest speaker at the Manchester FA's annual awards ceremony. McIntosh said while the move to fire Simoes was ultimately that of Burrell, senior executives were involved in extensive consultation prior to the decision.

"Ultimately the full responsibility falls on the president but it was through a process of consultation with senior executives of the federation, not only in Honduras, but also here in Jamaica, but at the end of the day, the president made the decision," said the long-time ally of Burrell.

He said there had been "an ongoing process of consultation" even before the game in Honduras.

Simoes drew raised eyebrows and criticism after preferring several youthful and inexperienced local-based players to seasoned overseas-based pros in the tough second phase of CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup.

The Brazilian's position was manifestly risky since Burrell has long held that Jamaica should always take the field with its strongest available team. Concerns that Simoes' immediate predecessor 'Bora' Multinovic "experimented" too much with the Jamaica team experiencing in the process a number of poor results were said to have contributed to Burrell's decision to fire the Serb shortly after taking the reins as JFF president late last year.

Currently, Jamaica, drawn in the so-called 'Group of Death' with Mexico, Honduras and Canada, have just one point from three away games after drawing 1-1 with Canada and losing 0-3 and 0-2 to Mexico and Honduras respectively.

To reach the final qualification round of six, Jamaica must now win their three home games in October and November while hoping that Honduras flounder in remaining home matches against Mexico and Canada.

McIntosh, a businessman, appeared open to the suggestion that for the three remaining games in this qualification phase, the JFF may look locally for a coach rather than overseas, although he stressed that the 'call' was Burrell's alone.

"I don't want to comment at this point in time. That will require some consultation and at the end of the day, the president will rule on that one.," he said when asked whether the JFF would be looking overseas or locally.

But in response to the question of whether a new coach would not be severely handicapped by the short preparation period, McIntosh was more expansive.

"It's going to be tough, but we believe that we have the talent pool and we have some people in terms of assistant coaches who can help in the continuity. When you are playing at the World Cup level, you only get together for four, five days. That's how it really works because you are bringing all the players from overseas primarily and you're integrating them with a number of local players and that's what we need to do," he said.

Theodore Whitmore, a former midfield wizard who was pivotal to the World Cup qualifying Jamaica team 10 years ago, has served as Simoes' assistant over recent months. Late last year, in the period between the departure of Milutinovic and the arrival of Simoes, Whitmore guided the Reggae Boyz to home victories against El Salvador and Guatemala.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________
Jamaica Observer Editorial

The fall of Mr Simoes

Job security doesn't count for much when you are an international football coach. That is probably one reason such people are paid so much.

Even so, most Jamaicans and very probably Mr Rene Simoes himself were taken aback at his dismissal as technical director of Jamaica's football.

In retrospect though, the writing was on the wall. Football fans will recall that Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and the man who dropped the axe, has long insisted that Jamaica should always seek to field its strongest available team. 

Indeed, it was the expressed position of Captain Horace Burrell in explaining the decision to fire Mr Simoes' predecessor Mr 'Bora' Milutinovic late last year that among other faults, the latter had been cavalier in the selection of Jamaican teams. The feeling then was that "experimental" team selection had led to a number of defeats for the Reggae Boyz, triggering a headlong drop in the FIFA rankings.

So it was then that football watchers were puzzled by the decision of Mr Simoes - who so gloriously guided Jamaica to the 1998 World Cup in France - to ignore the claims of several experienced, overseas-based professionals as he entered the second phase of CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers. Readers will note that Jamaica are drawn in the so-called 'Group of Death' with powerful Mexico, Honduras and Canada. Only two can go forward to the final qualifying Group of Six which will determine the CONCACAF representatives for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010, so there could be no room for error. To borrow from Jamaican folk culture "as yuh slip, yuh slide".

A 1-1 draw against Canada in that country was a fair start. The Jamaican management and coaching staff would surely have recognised that defeat against mighty Mexico at high altitude in the famous Azteca was the overwhelmingly likely result. The hope was that in Honduras, Jamaica would have at least matched the performance in Canada. Things looked good up to half-time with the Reggae Boyz holding at 0-0.

But then injury forced the withdrawal of central defender Mr Jermaine Taylor and suddenly the risky selection policy of Mr Simoes was cruelly exposed. Without an experienced replacement for Mr Taylor, the coach brought in a midfielder, Mr Jevaughn Watson, in only his second game at the international level and pulled back Mr Tyrone Marshall from central midfield to central defence.

The team lost its form and compactness in defence and Honduras would score two unanswered goals.

With three home games remaining, there still remains an outside chance that Jamaica can qualify for the final qualifying group. But by choosing to terminate his services at this point, Captain Burrell sent the clear message that he no longer trusted the judgement of the Brazilian.

We will probably never know all the reasons for Mr Simoes' decision not to bolster his squad with more hardened and seasoned players. In the end it may simply have had to do with personality.

We recall making the point in March shortly after his arrival, that Mr Simoes was entering a football arena that was very different from the one he found in the 1990s. Back then there were almost no home-bred Jamaicans playing professionally. As a result Mr Simoes developed an understandingly paternalistic relationship with a largely home-based squad. 

Currently, we are told that more than 50 home-bred Jamaicans play professionally abroad. It was an entirely new challenge and we wondered how Mr Simoes would cope. Sadly, he didn't.

« Reply #65 on: September 13, 2008, 10:34:55 AM »
Get a new football coach

Wednesday, September 10, 2008 (Jamaica Observer)

Dear Editor,

The recent pathetic display by the Reggae Boyz in their 3-0 drubbing at the Azteca does not augur well for Jamaica's qualification for World Cup in 2010 in South Africa. The blame for Saturday's defeat has to be laid squarely at the feet of coach Rene Simoes.

His shocking admission that he travelled with the team less than 48 hours before the fixture points to very poor planning by Simoes and is inexcusable. In addition, we also hear reports of indiscipline among the players, and the results showed on the pitch. On the day, the team looked tired, flat and unimaginative. They were also lucky to escape with a draw against Canada after falling behind by a goal. As things currently stand, Simoes' team is a rag-tag bunch that we can hardly take to the World Cup with any confidence. They will embarass us there terribly, setting new world records for most goals conceded. Let us recall that Simoes is costing the taxpayer more than US$600,000 a year. And this is at a time when the government is pleading poverty in order to avoid paying our teachers, nurses and police officers a decent wage. It is a shocking waste of money.

Our next opponents Honduras are ranked 60th in the FIFA rankings, well above Jamaica's lowly 105 out of 150 countries. We have become a football lightweight and the whipping boys in the region - behind a confident Trinidad and Tobago, Costa Rica, Suriname, etc. Victories against the Bahamas and St Vincent have proved illusory. If we are serious about going to South Africa in 2010, the team has much work to do, starting with the search for a new and decent coach.

Zev Love
Red Hills Rd
Kingston 10
zev_love@yahoo.co.uk

+++

Why fire Simoes?

Dear Editor,

The firing of Rene Simoes was uncalled for at this time. Has anyone taken a look at our competitors? Would one say they played well? Sure, they did.

Coaching takes time, what was Captain Burrell thinking? Does he believe firing coaches solves the problems? Our players are young and need nurturing. I love Jamaican football and I believe the firing of the "professor" will affect the players mentally. This is already obvious by the reaction of some of the players.

Let's see Captain Burrell's solution. I guess he needs to start coaching to see if his results will mature overnight.

Kerry-Ann Allen
Toronto, Canada
kerisel2003@yahoo.com

« Reply #66 on: September 13, 2008, 10:44:50 AM »
From the Gleaner:

Issue: René Simoes' dismissal - Team not world class
published: Saturday | September 13, 2008

The Reggae Boyz will sadly not make Africa 2010, but this should not be a surprise to anyone. Their standard of play is woefully inept and very suspect.

Anyone who watched the game could see the fright in their faces as they faced their worst nightmare. This team has not advanced in its standard of play not one iota, and that is a disgrace.

Honduras made the next level by actually beating Mexico sometime ago, and so have the Americans. The Jamaicans, on the other hand, have remained stuck in a quagmire with inept ball playing, which is terrible to watch.

How can you play a game and not complete simple passes before losing the ball to the opposition?

The Boyz have simply not made a smooth transition to world-class standards and that's the plain truth. So, don't go blaming Simoes and staff (although he deserves some). But blame the system and structure of Jamaican coaches who can't seem to get over that last hurdle. Maybe by 2014 we will get there, but right now 'tings look bleak'.

- CHRISTOPHER ISAACS, CIsaacs3@hvc.rr.com, New York

Foolish to fire René

Once again, it was a foolish decision to fire René Simoes. How many more of these can Jamaica or the West Indies take?

It would have been a miracle to win or draw either of these matches in Central America and stupid Jamaicans sit on the side and act as if there is someone in our fraternity who could have done a better job.

Please, get the best out of what you have. I remember when it was the big talk in Jamaica that Usain Bolt's trainer and coach were going to ruin him and he would never be anything. Oh, well ... fools.!

- STEPHEN CAT COORE, catcoore73@hotmail.com, Kingston 8

FYI:
Reggae fans will know who this is!!!  8)

« Reply #67 on: September 13, 2008, 10:51:26 AM »
The Simoes controversy: Dismissal poorly handled

The Editor, Sir:

If what I have been hearing and reading in the media is true, it appears that the services of Prof René Simoes was unceremoniously terminated while he was still in Honduras. If this is indeed what happened, it is my belief that it could have been done in a more dignified manner.

If his services warranted termination (and with that I am neither pro nor con) why does this have to happen on foreign soil? After all, he was hired in Jamaica, so why fire him abroad? There is precedent for this sort of behaviour by the JFF so I have to ask, is this the culture of football internationally?

Our national anthem is played before every international football match involving Jamaica, and the first line of the second verse says 'Teach us true respect for all' and so this should not be the Jamaican way.

Sports teaches a lot of life lessons on the field, and some are taught off the field as well.

I am, etc.,

WILBERT TOMLINSON

weltbuerger.facts@cwjamaica.com

+++

Flawed from first day

The Editor, Sir:

The decision by Captain Horace Burrell to have brought back René Simoes was a very flawed one. This may very well have cost Jamaica a berth in the 2010 World Cup.

Many of our institutions since independence continue to rely on foreigners to wave the magic wand and save us from our economic woes, social blight, criminal enterprise or to get us to the promised land of sports. We have ignored the intellect, imagination and ability of our nationals. It is often said that familiarity breeds contempt.

Jamaica has produced football coaches such as George Thompson, Jackie Bell, Carl Brown, Bradley Stewart and Jackie Walters, just to name a few. These men have never been given the accolades or support as we have done Brazilian coaches. We seem to think that a Brazilian coach in our midst will make us 'dance' like the Brazilians of old like Zico, Socrates, Falcoa. Those days are over.

The signs

We should have seen the writing on the wall when Carl Brown was treated like a 'nobody' during the 1998 World Cup. Carl Brown's confidence was shaken from that time and when he literally gave up his job to another Brazilian.

I suggest that Cpt Burrell should also resign since he is directly responsible for this catastrophe. Give someone like Ambassador Stewart Stephenson a chance to run Jamaican football.

On the question of a new technical director, let us pursue someone like John Barnes and give him a five-year plan to turn around our football. He has the national origin, intellect, international experience and connection to move our football out of this unholy cellar.

I am, etc.,

HORACE LYNCH

Sharo681@aol.com.
Queens, New York

« Reply #68 on: September 13, 2008, 10:53:56 AM »
Nonsense move, Captain Burrell

The Editor, Sir:

I am really disgruntled about the drastic move to fire Rene Simoes. This does not reflect good management skills. I think whatever the problem it should have been discussed in a general meeting and attempts made to reach a resolution in a more diplomatic way.

Captain Burrell should wake up and smell the coffee. Simoes cannot work miracles. He is not on the field playing the football. He is just the coach.

Players' reaction

Additionally, I don't think all the players accept the move to have their coach fired. I saw a brief interview on one of the television stations immediately after the team's arrival in Jamaica and at least one player sounded disgruntled over the matter.

Why wasn't the matter discussed generally with the players and the executives? Why should the coach face all the consequences of poor performances. This is totally unfair, and, if Simoes is being held accountable all the team members should be fired.

I am, etc.,

MARK BELL

Mark.bellphoto@hotmail
Kingston

Offline royalian

The fall of Mr Simoes
« Reply #69 on: September 14, 2008, 12:50:07 AM »
The fall of Mr Simoes

Jamaica Observer

Job security doesn't count for much when you are an international football coach. That is probably one reason such people are paid so much.

Even so, most Jamaicans and very probably Mr Rene Simoes himself were taken aback at his dismissal as technical director of Jamaica's football.

In retrospect though, the writing was on the wall. Football fans will recall that Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and the man who dropped the axe, has long insisted that Jamaica should always seek to field its strongest available team. 

Indeed, it was the expressed position of Captain Horace Burrell in explaining the decision to fire Mr Simoes' predecessor Mr 'Bora' Milutinovic late last year that among other faults, the latter had been cavalier in the selection of Jamaican teams. The feeling then was that "experimental" team selection had led to a number of defeats for the Reggae Boyz, triggering a headlong drop in the FIFA rankings.

So it was then that football watchers were puzzled by the decision of Mr Simoes - who so gloriously guided Jamaica to the 1998 World Cup in France - to ignore the claims of several experienced, overseas-based professionals as he entered the second phase of CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers. Readers will note that Jamaica are drawn in the so-called 'Group of Death' with powerful Mexico, Honduras and Canada. Only two can go forward to the final qualifying Group of Six which will determine the CONCACAF representatives for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010, so there could be no room for error. To borrow from Jamaican folk culture "as yuh slip, yuh slide".

A 1-1 draw against Canada in that country was a fair start. The Jamaican management and coaching staff would surely have recognised that defeat against mighty Mexico at high altitude in the famous Azteca was the overwhelmingly likely result. The hope was that in Honduras, Jamaica would have at least matched the performance in Canada. Things looked good up to half-time with the Reggae Boyz holding at 0-0.

But then injury forced the withdrawal of central defender Mr Jermaine Taylor and suddenly the risky selection policy of Mr Simoes was cruelly exposed. Without an experienced replacement for Mr Taylor, the coach brought in a midfielder, Mr Jevaughn Watson, in only his second game at the international level and pulled back Mr Tyrone Marshall from central midfield to central defence.

The team lost its form and compactness in defence and Honduras would score two unanswered goals.

With three home games remaining, there still remains an outside chance that Jamaica can qualify for the final qualifying group. But by choosing to terminate his services at this point, Captain Burrell sent the clear message that he no longer trusted the judgement of the Brazilian.

We will probably never know all the reasons for Mr Simoes' decision not to bolster his squad with more hardened and seasoned players. In the end it may simply have had to do with personality.

We recall making the point in March shortly after his arrival, that Mr Simoes was entering a football arena that was very different from the one he found in the 1990s. Back then there were almost no home-bred Jamaicans playing professionally. As a result Mr Simoes developed an understandingly paternalistic relationship with a largely home-based squad. 

Currently, we are told that more than 50 home-bred Jamaicans play professionally abroad. It was an entirely new challenge and we wondered how Mr Simoes would cope. Sadly, he didn't.

Re: The fall of Mr Simoes
« Reply #70 on: September 14, 2008, 12:52:05 AM »
Ah man say dat JA had a Brazilian coach not Brazilian players and dey like d England in 66 dey need 2 preserve 98 as it eh go happen again.

« Reply #71 on: September 14, 2008, 01:48:40 AM »
Coops in your days, all yuh would ah run the US to death.

Leh we stop perpetuatin MYTHS nah.

Wit all due respeck to Coop's and dem, in dem times, we hardly even SNIFF a Hex.

Haiti & Suriname used to REGULARLY poison we.  We was hardly ever able wit ANY a dem Central American squads.

De US in dem times eh de US team now so dat dotish talk bout Coop's and dem woulda run US to death is jes dat.

Let's be honest.  In Coop's and dem days, English club teams used to come down here on vacation and hand we national team 6 jes so.  If Coop's and dem teams did bounce up DIS USA side, more dan likely dey was holdin a easy half dozen.  No disrespeck to dem but dat is jes de likelihood given we performances back in de day.

DE FACTS are...our footballers NOW (as in since Strike Squad) have done infinitely better on de international and CONCACAF scene dan in dem days...EVEN durin de times of we so called "golden age" wit de likes of Archibald, De Leon, David etc.  Prior to de Strike Squad, I believe we did play de USA twice in WCQ and LORSE BOTH MATCHES.

Hell...dem "superstars" did even lorse to fleckin Barbados and all.  Alvin Corneal and dem did lorse to fleckin Bermuda too...so doh be lambastin we boys now and mekkin it look like "back in de day" was so much better because dat is simply not de case.

« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 02:10:39 AM by palos »

« Reply #72 on: September 14, 2008, 02:19:59 AM »
Well it look like we bring back d old time days no hex 4 oui hey Matas prove meh wrong please

Re: The fall of Mr Simoes
« Reply #73 on: September 14, 2008, 03:31:40 AM »
Ah man say dat JA had a Brazilian coach not Brazilian players and dey like d England in 66 dey need 2 preserve 98 as it eh go happen again.
[/b]2006 may not happen for we no time soon either !! ah hope yuh have ah nice glass case in place or an expensive glass frame since we not far behind.

« Reply #74 on: September 14, 2008, 03:24:39 PM »
Nah man JC your boi at d helm we safe as d sermon in Selasie I brief case

« Reply #75 on: September 14, 2008, 04:53:58 PM »
Nah man JC your boi at d helm we safe as d sermon in Selasie I brief case
My boi ? my boi when we lose , but when we win he's every body boi ? doh worry , when we start doing great he go be your boi too.

« Reply #76 on: September 14, 2008, 06:01:39 PM »
How much Maturana getting pay, and who paying him?

« Reply #77 on: September 14, 2008, 08:10:19 PM »
Brudder as u say it have 4 men who support dis clown and 1 so far goin down wit d sinkin ship. He has neva been my boi. Only when I callin go4less 2 hear bout dey SA packages he go b my boi. From ash wed 2 present he eh do nutten 2 impress me. D only time he use all he subs was v Gua but no instructions in eng, span or spanglish 2 shut down came.

« Reply #78 on: September 15, 2008, 12:44:59 PM »
D replacement is drum roll please. Leanin 2 John Barnes need 2 spak 2 dem 2day

« Reply #79 on: September 15, 2008, 02:53:09 PM »
yup, heard that barnes is the new coach....

wishing luck to the jcans :beermug: