April 25, 2024, 09:39:44 AM

Author Topic: Honeymoon over for Soca Warriors coach Maturana  (Read 1743 times)

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
Honeymoon over for Soca Warriors coach Maturana
« on: September 14, 2008, 09:53:35 AM »
Honeymoon over for Soca Warriors coach Maturana
By PETER O’CONNOR Sunday, September 14 2008 Newsday

ALTHOUGH we in the Caribbean welcomed our
respective Olympic Medallists, during the past
week, there was little else about which to
boast—Shivnarine Chanderpaul being our one exception.

It was a gloomy week for Caribbean football, as
none of the five nations in the CONCACAF
semi-final round achieved what they needed.

In the matches played last week Saturday and on
Wednesday night, only TT came away with a
point—and a solitary point at that. Jamaica,
Cuba, Haiti and Suriname all lost twice, and all
will find it difficult to win enough points in
the final three matches in order make the final
round of six countries in 2009.

We too now have our work cut out for us, as we
sit, with Guatemala, on four points, and still to
play Guatemala in Guatemala City (October 11th),
USA here (October 14th) and Cuba (here November 19th).

It is unlikely that Cuba will present a challenge
to any of the teams at this stage, but hopefully
they will rise against Guatemala in Havana, and
set the Central Americans back.

The United States should defeat Cuba and
Guatemala in the USA and stay on top of the
group—which now suits us, and we should hope that
the Americans win both these encounters. However,
The Americans do have a habit of dropping their
standards, and using reserves, once they have qualified.

However, whatever happens between the Americans,
Cubans and Guatemalans in their encounters, we
must win ours, and this includes beating
Guatemala in their home, and the Americans and
Cubans here at Hasely Crawford Stadium. What are
our chances of this? First, let’s go back to our last two matches.

The two points lost in the final minute against
Guatemala will hurt us until we pull back points
which we may not have expected. While most of us
were satisfied with the Soca Warriors’
performance—it was an excellent game of football,
our failure to score remains a weakness. However,
my greatest disappointment was the absence of all
the so-called fans of the Soca Warriors.

Those who came, with the huge National Flag and
their painted faces, were reasonably vociferous,
but there were less than 10,000—in a stadium
seating 24,000. So where were you, Mr and Mrs Soca Warriors fan?

You, “Soca Warrior till ah dead”, let an
important home qualifier pass without your
attendance and support. But you going South
Africa, right? Yeah! At the end of the Final
Round we go see you (sic), looking for your ticket and claiming your loyalty.

In June, while you all complained about the price
of the friendly against England, you filled the
stadium to see Beckham, not to support TT. So
when you have a World Cup qualifier but without
Beckham, you have no time for the Warriors. Thanks a lot folks!

I tried to watch the replay of this match on C-TV
on Sunday afternoon. I accepted that, since it
was not live, they would interrupt for
advertisements (although FOX and ESPN—first world
broadcasters— do not interrupt soccer re-runs!).

However, C-TV suddenly, without announcement or
apology, indeed without even acknowledgment, cut
from the football to run an old Discovery Channel
re-run, cancelling the last six minutes of the
match! What is wrong with you guys at all?

I could not watch any of the match against the
United States, but I tried. I only saw distorted
and broken images for a while, then a blank and
silent screen stating “temporarily off the air” for C-TV.

As I seek to discover where the fault lay—C-TV,
FLOW, or my set—I am calling upon TTFF to ensure
that those to whom broadcast rights are given,
they “deliver” the match, in full, uninterrupted, and on time.

Roj (Roger James)

Offline signal

Re: Honeymoon over for Soca Warriors coach Maturana
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 10:11:27 AM »
This headline is wayyyyy misleading. Come on peter, your slip is showing.
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 10:53:42 AM »
However,

Yeah  boy.

Is de fans fault.  Same ting Alvin was sayin.

Dese forkin people is de bess yes.

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2008, 03:19:05 PM »
I eh take meh vitamins 4 a while

LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDSTEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2008, 02:46:46 PM »
However,

Yeah  boy.

I agree. When I saw the empty stands, I thought to myself, "Wow, we really don't deserve to have a good football team. Imagine big WCQ and we could barely get a crowd of 10,000."

Despite all the picong we does give dem, at least the Yardies does turn up at the Office to support dey team.

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2008, 03:09:05 PM »
However,

Yeah  boy.

like he think all de fans were from Trini. Like I go fly home for every game dey play.
Dem men does make yuh want to buss bottle.

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2008, 03:32:57 PM »
I was kinda surprise to see such a low turn out for the Guat. game. But guys you should see the turn out for league games in Guat. Especial the derby between Municipal and Communicasiones. 15 to 20 thousand.

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2008, 05:12:34 PM »

i too was watching the replay of the GUAT game on CNMG and in the say 60 something minute

BOOM the game cut to show something else, i could swear meh bamcy hit the remote and the channel change, i checked everything and realise it was not me

it was our retarded CNMG they dont even tell you or advertise the time of the game replay

CNMG take a big

CHUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 08:34:52 PM »
Dem say dem followin football and shock of d crowd. Dey eh serious doh compare JA wit oui dem fellas patriotic dey goin down wit dey team. We on d other hand when it is d best lime in town HCS go b full

« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2008, 09:02:53 PM »
i don't care about who was there at the game or not...my concern is winning the next three game and not depending on this team or that....the players who are chosen to represent T&T for the next three match have to dig deep and looked at themself...and say we wanna to make the final stage we have to win the next three game...bottom line