April 27, 2024, 04:29:17 AM

Author Topic: The forgotten ones  (Read 6279 times)

The forgotten ones
« on: September 16, 2008, 05:02:22 PM »
Palos "What if?" post made me think about something.

Every coach have a few men who does get pick for a game or a couple games and then completely disappear off the National Team Radar. Sometimes, they get pick because they hit a rich vein of form/peak at the right time and then pop back down, sometimes injuries clear out the competition at their position for a particular game or tournament. Sometimes they ware blackmailing the coach (in our untrained opinions)., sometimes they were calledup after they had peaked or close to retirement age. (The only players for whom this rule doesn't apply are goalkeepers, since goalkeeper rotation is extremely limited... ) A few of them were genuine prospects and never get they head fix or just didn't have the discipline, but most of them are destined to be older versions of Maturana's Michael Edwards (no disrespect to the guy)... NB I purposely left out Hardest, Norville, Johnson, Sam etc ...and any of the guys who get pick since Corneal/Mats in charge since we have bout 15 thread about them.

Anyway, I trying to find out how some of these guys made the national team in the last 10 years and what happen to them after. As fars as I could tell, none of them were household names, even on a local level. If anyone have any information on any of them, post it and I will update the initial post. If you think that it is unfair to post anyone, or that I jumping the gun to put them into the "never was" category let me know because I only know most of these guys by name. Any input is welcome.

This is NOT a bashing thread. I genuinely want to know what went on with some of these fellas

Name              Caps   Pos.   Team (Current or X Last) (Coach* and Date of first cap)
Adams, Claude   1   D   Defence Force      Porters   10/05/2001
Aleong, Rickardo   1   M   QPCC          ?           04/04/1997 - Local Minor Leagues
Armstrong, Odelle   2   F   Defence Force      BSC           24/11/2004
Austin, Marlon   1      X ?                 ?           04/04/1997
Belfon, Addison   9   D   Defence Force      ?           04/04/1997
Benito, Keeron   1   M   Uni. South Florida      Wim           12/01/2007
Bailey, Joel         4       F      X Carolina Railhawks     Wim           15/01/2007
Borde, Marc   1   F   St. François            ?           04/04/1997 - In activity (SL)
Caseman, Devon   2   M   United Petrotrin      Wim           31/07/2003 - In activity (PFL)
Cayonne, Marlon   2   M   X Defence Force           Simoes   03/04/2001
Celestine, Michael7   M   Joe Public         BSC           13/07/2004 - In activity (PFL)
Clarence, Abiola   1   F   Rangers         Wim           24/03/2007 - In activity (PFL)
Clement, Kevon   2   M   X United Petrotrin           Wim           31/07/2003
Cruickshank, S.   3   F   Cleveland City Stars   BSC           24/11/2004
David, Shawn   1   M   X ?                        ?           23/01/1998
Davids, Kendall   1   F   Joe Public         Wim           03/07/2003
Dennis, Rodney   2   M   X ?                      ?           09/05/1998
Felicien, Lester   3   F   X L.V. Steam      ?              09/08/1999 - Retired after injury (05)
Fitzwilliams, H.   5   M   Toronto Croatia      Najar, BSC   26/03/2003
George, David    1   M   X ?                 Najar           02/01/2003
George, Selwyn   4   GK   X Defence Force           Najar           29/01/2003
Gorgeon, Marvin   1      X ?                 ?           04/04/1998
Graham, Kevin   2   GK   Defence Force      RLF           10/02/2004
Grant, Marlon   1   D   X ?                 ?           04/04/1997
Gray, Ian           4   D   SJ Jabloteh                   Najar/SCF/Wim15/11/2002 - In activity (PFL)
James, Rolston   2   F   RIP (26) W Connection   Porters   04/07/2000 - Passed Away
John, Addaryl   2   D   Joe Public         ?           04/04/1997
Knights, I            7   F   X Toronto Lynx           ?           09/05/1998 - Foreign Minor Leagues
Leacock, Devon   1   M   Joe Public         ?           06/02/2005
Leggerton, A.   1   F   X Tobago United           Najar           15/11/2002
Lewis, Bevon   1   F   X W Connection           SCF           19/11/2003
Lewis, Darin    1   F   Wasa                 ?           04/04/1997 - In activity (SL)
Manswell, H.    1   F   Tobago United      Najar           29/01/2003
Matthews, O.    1   M   X ?                 Najar           29/01/2003
Mauge, Ronald   8   M   X Aldershot Town   BSC,  Porters       08/01/2000
Mitchell, Devon   3   F   Joe Public         Najar            28/03/2003
Narine, Adrian   5   M   Arima Fire         Porters, Simoes15/11/2000
Neaves, Kevon    1       F      Univ. South Florida       Beenie         28/02/2006 - In activity (Uni)
Nottingham, T   1   GK   North East Stars      SCF            02/08/2003
Nunez, Adrian   1   F   X Starworld Strikers   Najar            29/01/2003
Phillip, Sherman   6   F   Defence Force      Porters, Simoes29/06/2000 - In activity (PFL)
Ramon Fortune, P1    ?       ? ?            Vranes       30/04/2003
Rique, Addae    1   M   Tobago United      ?           04/04/1997
Rivers, Corey   1   M   Defence Force      Morris           25/07/2002 - In activity (PFL)
Seabra, José Luis 6   M   W Connection      BSC           21/01/2005
Smith, Kwesi   4   M   X ?                 Morris      25/07/2002
Stewart, Ryan    2   M   Cleveland City Stars   SCF           31/07/2003
Taylor, U           2   D   Tobago United      Najar           15/11/2002 - In activity (PFL)
Thomas, Sheldon   3   F   O.C. Wave (LA Galaxy)   ?           22/07/1998
Titus, R.            2   D   Tor. Lynx (Toronto FC)   Najar           15/11/2002
Webb, Wesley   2   D   X Starworld Strikers      ?           01/05/1997
Williams, Kurt   6   M   Defence Force           Najar, SCF   29/01/2003 - In activity (PFL)
Wiltshire, Kwame   5   M   Joe Public         Wim          12/01/2007

*some were called up by two or more coaches but barely managed 10 caps despite this.

As far as I can tell Najar did a whole heap of experimenting in the 4 months he was last at the helm. Was this during the Blacklist 1 or was he just off his head? He gave about half the team their first caps in a friendly against Finland, and added a couple more for good measure in our gold cup qualifying (we ultimately failed to make it)

You also have a few guys who rack up caps without either really being fixtures per se on the national team or shining lights abroad as well:

Demmin, Craig   13   D   X VB Mariners         29/11/1995
Hutchinson,  C   10   M   X                    04/07/1997
King, Derek           33   D   X Joe Public            06/05/1999 - Coaching Staff (PFL)
Rahim, Brent   49   M   X IF Sylvia                 08/01/2000 - Civil Life
Rojas, M.            23   D   X Apex                 12/10/1999 - Civil Life
Smith, Conrad    18   F      Caledonia AIA         03/08/2001 - In activity (PFL)

Away we go.

« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 07:48:09 AM by Midknight »

Re: The forgotten ones
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2008, 05:14:58 PM »
Here's a start

Felicien, Lester   3   F   X L.V. Steam      ?              09/08/1999
ended professional career after knee injury in 2005 (played in MISL before that)
Now runs a summer camp: http://www.hmms-soccer.org/docs/FelicianCamp08.pdf

Smith, Conrad    18   F      Caledonia AIA         03/08/2001
on tour to find a club with Hayden Tinto (they have the same agent?) Seen on trial at SJ Earthquakes at start of season, then at Yeovil in July, now back at Caledonia?

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2008, 07:05:08 AM »
Where is Hector Sam? Notts County released him, right?

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2008, 07:29:33 AM »
Here's a start

Felicien, Lester   3   F   X L.V. Steam      ?              09/08/1999
ended professional career after knee injury in 2005 (played in MISL before that)
Now runs a summer camp: http://www.hmms-soccer.org/docs/FelicianCamp08.pdf

Smith, Conrad    18   F      Caledonia AIA         03/08/2001
on tour to find a club with Hayden Tinto (they have the same agent?) Seen on trial at SJ Earthquakes at start of season, then at Yeovil in July, now back at Caledonia?

Matter of fact, Lester was in Chicago last week for the game riling up the crowd. RETIRED!!!

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2008, 08:20:05 AM »
Where is Hector Sam? Notts County released him, right?
Yes, he was released back in March. He had some personal issues to deal with, but I understand that he is back in training trying to get fit with the hope of getting some trials.

« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2008, 08:27:03 AM »
Gorian Highley?

Terry "Jughead" St Louis?

Michael "WTF is dat?" Edwards?

Justin Fogge?

Michael Celestine?

« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2008, 09:31:49 AM »
Gorian Highley?
I thought about him but i couldn't find a official cap for him (match against Wasa and Brazil Village over 30 all stars not counted) so he can't make this list. Correct me if you find one.

Terry "Jughead" St Louis?
I only have 6 caps for him, but he fall a bit out of my time period, because it hard to find complete squad lists for non official (and even some official games) before 1998.

Michael "WTF is dat?" Edwards?
Too recent. You never know. Pacho replacement might call him up for the hex and next thing you know man become a fixture on the World Cup team. This goes for almost anybody else who play for the team in the last year or so.

Whitley mighta make this list if Beenie didn't bring him back. Now he is one of our most influential and most capped NT footballers.

Justin Fogge?
Who ?

Michael Celestine?
He's there.

Offline christiano

« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2008, 09:38:20 AM »
Last year Wim played a couple of guys. One that was impressive was a Guy called Bailey who plays somewhere in Canada. He looked impressive.

Anyone knows about his status

« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2008, 09:54:03 AM »
ricardo aleong too old now for that...
and he kicking ball for Queens' Park in the north zone league

Marc Borde playing for St. Francois i think in Super league

B. Rahim overs competitive football...workin now

D. King is a coach with Joe Public i think

Darin Lewis playing for WASA in super league...have a belly and ting..but still ripping men!

Abiola  Clarence still with rangers

« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2008, 09:55:35 AM »
Life take over...they retired, coaching, injured, get a wuk, start back school, breeding people girlchildren, hiding out in foreign etc....one even in jail.

« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2008, 09:59:51 AM »
Justin Fogge?
Who ?

De white fella who did get call up fuh a practice match and never play.  He does play college ball in de US.  Me eh know he las name so ah probably spell it wrong. Fogge, Fojo, sumting so.

« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2008, 10:00:27 AM »
Justin Fogge?
Who ?

De white fella who did get call up fuh a practice match and never play.  He does play college ball in de US.  Me eh know he las name so ah probably spell it wrong.
Fojo
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=34455.msg403514#msg403514
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2008, 10:05:08 AM »
the coaches just trying to see what it has out there
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2008, 10:14:00 AM »
ricardo aleong too old now for that...
and he kicking ball for Queens' Park in the north zone league

Marc Borde playing for St. Francois i think in Super league

B. Rahim overs competitive football...workin now

D. King is a coach with Joe Public i think

Darin Lewis playing for WASA in super league...have a belly and ting..but still ripping men!

Abiola  Clarence still with rangers

I think Darin had an ankle injury recently and has recovered, might explain de belly (dat and stag)

« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2008, 12:04:27 PM »
I could be wrong but de last time Addison Belfon play fu T&T was against Mexico in de 2002 WCQ campaign under Simoes.  He jump kick ah Mexican and received a red card.  After that I never hear about him again

« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2008, 01:37:50 PM »
I could be wrong but de last time Addison Belfon play fu T&T was against Mexico in de 2002 WCQ campaign under Simoes.  He jump kick ah Mexican and received a red card.  After that I never hear about him again

That was his second to last match, and it was two yellows he received. His last match was against USA in the same campaign.

Matches Played by Addison Belfon

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2008, 02:58:11 PM »
Joel Bailey back in Trini just holding hands with he gyal and whispering sweet nothings in she ear. De man throw way he boots since he meet dat south gyal.  ;D ;D
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2008, 03:07:58 PM »

That was his second to last match, and it was two yellows he received. His last match was against USA in the same campaign.

Matches Played by Addison Belfon

I have info that he was a sub in the 1997 Shell Cup final (plus a couple other squad members not listed on the socawarriors.net report):
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/1461

« Last Edit: September 17, 2008, 03:53:43 PM by E-man »

« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2008, 03:42:07 PM »
i would like to know whats the latest with kwame wiltshire..

last i heard was he was refusing to play for joe public super league squad and then had something being worked on with MLF..

whats the latest on this exceptional talent?

Offline jaden

« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2008, 09:38:08 AM »
what ever happened to Stokley Mason?
mistakes are stepping stones to success

« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2008, 10:41:09 AM »
Nigel 'pistol' Pierre ?

Offline Jay10

« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2008, 12:10:37 PM »
Touches is it Caseman who in jail?

Stokely Mason workin now i think...last played for NE Stars..couple years back..

Nigel pierre playing for Wasa in s Super league

Most of the Defence Force players currently playing in d Pro League or Super league or patrolling...

« Reply #22 on: September 18, 2008, 12:23:31 PM »
Caseman playing with Petrotrin. Maybe is Adrian Narine; he did get hold wit 3 keys of coke in Heathrow in 2004.

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #23 on: September 18, 2008, 01:16:02 PM »
i would like to know whats the latest with kwame wiltshire..

last i heard was he was refusing to play for joe public super league squad and then had something being worked on with MLF..

whats the latest on this exceptional talent?

kwame wiltshire somewhere down in north carolina the last time i heard.
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2008, 02:57:49 PM »

Stokely Mason workin now i think...last played for NE Stars..couple years back..

Nigel pierre playing for Wasa in s Super league

Most of the Defence Force players currently playing in d Pro League or Super league or patrolling...

Tallman done answer... but yeah Devon Caseman playing for petrotrin..

Jay10 you know Devon? I grow up playing for umpteen years with Devon for ballplayers... you from the area?

Offline Jay10

« Reply #25 on: September 18, 2008, 06:02:38 PM »
Not really, but wasnt there a former national player who was held a few years ago for murder or sumtin like dat?
I may be wrong...Tallman?

« Reply #26 on: September 18, 2008, 09:32:51 PM »
Joel Bailey back in Trini just holding hands with he gyal and whispering sweet nothings in she ear. De man throw way he boots since he meet dat south gyal.  ;D ;D

wayyzzz...this turning out to be a a place to buss files too!? lol!

« Reply #27 on: September 18, 2008, 09:33:11 PM »
now see this in friday's express

gorean highley
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161377495

« Reply #28 on: September 18, 2008, 09:34:35 PM »
coulda swear i see narine or play against him in a fete match earlier this yr though...
could be wrong but think it was him

« Reply #29 on: September 18, 2008, 11:21:48 PM »
Midknight yuh thread nearly sell arff dred...