March 28, 2024, 02:51:15 AM

Author Topic: What ever happened to Justin Latapy ?  (Read 5101 times)

Offline christiano

What ever happened to Justin Latapy ?
« on: September 23, 2008, 02:01:18 PM »
Hi. Wasnt Justin Latapy one of those players with huge potential under the wings of Russel while he was in Portugal ?

Re: What ever happened to Justin Latapy ?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 02:05:42 PM »
dais latas brother?

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 02:09:28 PM »
Yes Latapy brother.... big defender for Barataria Ball players  ;D ... then Belmont and Malick..

Every now and again a thread asking bout he does pop up

de lil brother Mark was de real hot man who was supposed to bust big too... i ent hear bout Mark in years

EDIT: Look ah thread bout Justin from couple years ago

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=12658.msg122900#msg122900

Careful.. is really ah Barataria thread in disguise  ;D
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 02:17:00 PM by FF »

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 02:16:38 PM »
Yes Latapy brother.... big defender for Barataria Ball players  ;D ... then Belmont and Malick..

de lil brother Mark was de real hot man who was supposed to bust big too... i ent hear bout Mark in years

Some serious confusion about this one which was not resolved a while ago when a thread in the same name popped up

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=12658.msg123556#msg123556

I remember a Latapy playing w/BBP in the mid 80s w/Callendar, Monkey, Bojo, and others, anyway, ah guess we culd ask Russell himself, BM, hook it up nah

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2008, 02:19:44 PM »

Some serious confusion about this one which was not resolved a while ago when a thread in the same name popped up

I remember a Latapy playing w/BBP in the mid 80s w/Callendar, Monkey, Bojo, and others, anyway, ah guess we culd ask Russell himself, BM, hook it up nah

Ha ha ah now edit my first post with that thread... I feel we could hijack this thread too...

Whatever happen to Jason Rocke? Colin Rocke little brother... also play for Barataria BP and had pace for days real rip up U-14 and U-16

Roger Callender is meh real partner Randy big brother... dem from up 6th Avenue Malick

« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2008, 02:23:55 PM »

Ha ha ah now edit my first post with that thread... I feel we could hijack this thread too...

Whatever happen to Jason Rocke? Colin Rocke little brother... also play for Barataria BP and had pace for days real rip up U-14 and U-16

Roger Callender is meh real partner Randy big brother... dem from up 6th Avenue Malick

Ent, leh we start  ;D

So yuh know Callender?  What ever happened to him? Along side Ronnie they were two of the impressive youths from the U-19 side to make the senior squad at a fairly young age, he was a crowd favorite, remember him well.  Remember big head Noxy?  One time he score a diving header vs La Brea Angels dat send de Mang wild  :devil:
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 02:25:42 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2008, 02:36:50 PM »
Last I hear... and this is years now... Rodney was wukking Angostura and engaged or something so...

paging College...

I think de hijack complete  :devil:

Hear nah.. I ever ask you if you play BBP cricket too?

« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2008, 04:32:23 PM »
Last I hear... and this is years now... Rodney was wukking Angostura and engaged or something so...

paging College...

Bani and Tony (Gray) thought ah best reserve meh wildness fuh de football field  :rotfl:  Ah remember one time in de nets, after meh run up, Gray say, nah boy, you belong on de field yes (pointin to de mang).  You did sweat cricket fuh BBP?

Is a wonder Callender neva geh ah national call up, had a few players that could have made the grade, apart from those that did.  Like College hidin boy  ;D

« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2008, 04:36:48 PM »

paging College...

Bani and Tony (Gray) thought ah best reserve meh wildness fuh de football field  :rotfl:  Ah remember one time in de nets, after meh run up, Gray say, nah boy, you belong on de field yes (pointin to de mang).  You did sweat cricket fuh BBP?

Is a wonder Callender neva geh ah national call up, had a few players that could have made the grade, apart from those that did.  Like College hidin boy  ;D

Yeah man I play for bout 4 years... Mr. Winkey was de coach... Tony used to come and do clinics now and den... ah had a little talent yuh know... but ah evening I pick up a bouncer to meh head in Aranguez savannah... think it was 95.. I done cricket after that season oui

« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 04:37:04 PM »
he wasn't playing bank league with republic up to a couple years ago?

« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2008, 04:43:31 PM »
Yeah man I play for bout 4 years... Mr. Winkey was de coach... Tony used to come and do clinics now and den... ah had a little talent yuh know... but ah evening I pick up a bouncer to meh head in Aranguez savannah... think it was 95.. I done cricket after that season oui

Talk about a father figure, he was real cool boy, true "village raising many youths" kinda mentality...ah now see why yuh does quarrel on de field, dat bouncer from since back when piss yuh off  ;D  leh we ride fuh dat man oui

I mehself geh a buss mouth in Tranquil, after dat I lock off

he wasn't playing bank league with republic up to a couple years ago?

Callender or Justin?  No clue
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 04:45:10 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2008, 04:52:14 PM »

Talk about a father figure, he was real cool boy, true "village raising many youths" kinda mentality...ah now see why yuh does quarrel on de field, dat bouncer from since back when piss yuh off  ;D  leh we ride fuh dat man oui

I mehself geh a buss mouth in Tranquil, after dat I lock off

Yeah boy.. I have real love for Mr. Winkey... I hadda go and look for de man next time I home.. His house was right across de street from Barataria Snr Comp grounds... I hope he still around and kicking yes..

ah real best was de married man vs bachelors good friday cricket match... every now and den dey used to switch it up and have cricketers vs footballers... I was a bachelor and a footballer and up to now ah never win ah match yet... Winkey used to dus off he old pads and turn back de clock dem occasions...

Fus time ah play in one of dem ah musbe was 13... and big hard back poochoon hit meh a first ball yorker right on meh big toe... bus toe and first ball duck LBW ....  >:(  no wonder ah lock off cricket

Offline scooby

« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2008, 05:37:43 PM »
damn them barataria men do give boy but can`t remember college I play against ball players many time when they meet hillsdale in aranguez that was always a crowd puller I even remember missing a penalty in know out semi final

Offline Warrior30

« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2008, 08:15:02 PM »
Justin hang up his boots
For de love of de game

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2008, 04:27:21 PM »

EDIT: Look ah thread bout Justin from couple years ago

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=12658.msg122900#msg122900

Careful.. is really ah Barataria thread in disguise  ;D

I knew Mark personally we both went to school together a few years back he was a great player on the field and well known for that small finger he have attached to his pinky finger on his right hand.

Justin Latapy is new TTFA general secretary.
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2016, 01:13:49 PM »
Justin Latapy is new TTFA general secretary.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Justin Latapy, brother of T&T Football Association staff coach Russell Latapy, is the new general secretary of the TTFA.

Latapy, a former director of sports at the Tobago House of Assembly (THA), got the nod in a rigorous recruitment exercise in which there were 57 applicants, inclusive of people from the Caribbean and Europe.

His appointment comes in the wake of legal action being pursued against the TTFA by Sheldon Phillips, a former general secretary for wrongful dismissal, as well as questions of why interim secretary Azaad Khan was blanked for the position a few months ago.

Latapy’s appointment gives him the responsibility to run the affairs of the football association office on a daily basis.

He could not be reached for comments yesterday but his appointment means he will receive a monthly salary of between $25, 000- $30, 000, a month, a vehicle and other perks.

Khan, who has been interim general secretary since the inception of the David John-Williams-led administration assumed office in November last year, was not among the applicants for the general secretary post. The Trinidad Guardian understands he withdrew his application for another position with in the organisation.

Tobago Football Association president Anthony Moore, who had said publicly that he was interested in the top job initially, later declined, citing increasing workload.

Contacted yesterday Joanne Salazar, Third Vice President of the TTFA revealed the position of general secretary was chosen but did not say who it was, saying the association president David John-Williams was due to make an announcement on it soon. She said final interviews were to be conducted today for the position of Manager of Finance which puts them in a position to select the best person for the job.

According to Salazar the association was now down to a shortlist of six persons to be interviewed from a whopping total of 77 which was later reduced to 30.

She explained the association is also seeking to fill the positions of Manager Communications and Public Relations as well as Marketing and Commercial.

Justin Latapy

Re: Justin Latapy is new TTFA general secretary.
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2016, 01:54:33 PM »
I know Justin since we was about 10. Played for Ballplayers together. Good luck!

« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2016, 03:32:59 PM »
Ballplayers!

« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2016, 03:39:06 PM »
Will now you could expect to see Russell "shit hound" Latapy as head coach soon.

Sorry for Hutson Charles and Derek King.

Joanne Salazar is a snake !!!!

« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 03:44:08 PM by Sam »

« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2016, 04:17:34 PM »
If Russell accepts that job, he will lose standing and credibility.

« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2016, 05:22:14 PM »

I doubt the TTFF will believe that the public will find it acceptable to hire Latapy right after a failed campaign with the U-17 team. I know DJW is smarter dan dat

« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2017, 05:55:38 AM »
Justin Latapy is now known as Justin Latapy-George.

« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2017, 04:57:26 AM »
Latapy-George ready to make his mark as TTFA general sec.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

RECENTLY APPOINTED general secretary of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), Justin Latapy-George, is ready to make his mark in his new role, having served over five months in the job.

Latapy-George, brother of ex-national captain and coach Russell Latapy, replaced Azaad Khan who served in an interim role for a year.

During a recent interview, Latapy- George spoke of his career in football, on and off the field, and what he wishes to accomplish during his time as the TTFA general secretary.

JOEL BAILEY: “How have you adapted to this new role so far?”

JUSTIN LATAPY-GEORGE: “it is a pleasure to have been selected, through an interview process, to be the g eneral secretary of the TTFA. Football has been a major part of my life from ever since I could remember and now, having gotten into administration as a full-time job for a number of years, to come to this point, I think it’s a personal accomplishment and a professional one as well. Having said that, the adjustment continues.

“The TTFA is a very unique company. It’s over 100 years old. We have had good things and some challenges. Now we’re looking to see how carefully we can review all that we’re doing, all our operations, to take us into that next direction which is really ensuring that we implement football, with all of our stakeholders in Trinidad and Tobago and the larger world, in a very positive and progressive way.”

JB: “Who is Justin Latapy- George?”

JLG: “I went to Nelson Street Boys, played at Success Laventille before getting in to Malick Secondary where I played at the InterCol level, went on to playing a bit at Jabloteh, then I finally got a scholarship opportunity prior to living a bit in Europe with my brother Russell Latapy.

I got a scholarship opportunity in the US which really took me on the trajectory to balancing both the academic and athletics.

From there really pursing an education in recreation through Sports Management and finally ending with a MBA with a specialisation in management and a Masters in Sports Management, with a Minor in Business.” JB: “Were you into football administration before or is this something new to you?”

JLG: “The administration of football as a sole sporting product, it’s the first time. I worked with the Ministry of Sports as a Facility Manager. I also worked at the Sports Company where I was a Sports Services Officer for cycling and basketball. I later went on to work at the University of the West Indies (UWI) where I served as a Sports Coordinator before, through an interview process, being selected as a director at UWI SPEC (Sports and Physical Education Centre), related to my substantive post, after serving off my term.

“Then I moved on to my last dispensation, in terms of work, (as) the Technical Sports Director for the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) in the Division of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports.”

JB: “Being the brother of Russell Latapy, are you asked that question every time you say your name or do you take it in stride and chart your own path? JLG: “I think it has been a 50- 50. Obviously the last name is synonymous with someone we know and love as a country, and then the Latapy-George (tends) to throw people off a bit because I do have a hyphenated last name. But, ultimately, my career and my life thus far has been one where the opportunity of having the name of Latapy has opened a lot of doors.

“From time to time, it has really allowed me to get into avenues that may not have been easily available for others. But, having said that, the fact of the matter is that I had to prove myself every step of the way. And I think I would have done that successfully.

I’m just being a little bit shy about it but to be where I’m at should say something about what I’m doing as a professional in the field of sports management.

JB: “Finally, have you set himself any aims or accomplishments as the TTFA general secretary, or are you taking things step by step?”

JLG: “it’s a combination of the two. The reality is that the Association is going through that change. The executive is still new, it’s over a year. We’re looking at what we’re doing. We’re implementing a couple new programmes.

So there is that day-by-day function that we have to monitor.

On a professional level, what I would really want to do is see us getting our home for football (and) really operationalise our office structure.

“I think we’re at a point now, after a 100 years-plus of history, that we need to have our office structure that is independent of what happens at that level, where the Association has hired professionals that are competent in their own rights, who are able to deliver the mandate that may be set forth by the Board or the executive, do that competently (and) professionally. We have a degree of integrity that a 100-plus year old company should have, to ensure that we continue to propel football in that direction.

“We have to go back to the fact that years ago, we dominated the Caribbean and to the point that we even tackled our regional partners.

Whether we have regressed a bit or whether our partners have caught up with us, we can debate.

But the reality is that we are not where we used to be in terms of dominance. And a lot of that has to do with an overall structure.

“Our administrative arm, I believe, plays a very significant role to ensure that we gain some level of prominence in the region but, more importantly, we step forward understanding that football has evolved where the administration of sport, in particular football, has evolved.

And we have to ensure that we are doing the things as a sporting entity that speaks to the yeoman service that we need to give to the people of Trinidad and Tobago.”