April 25, 2024, 10:55:31 PM

Author Topic: Google's Android unveiled  (Read 42757 times)

Google's Android unveiled
« on: September 23, 2008, 08:25:13 PM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7630888.stm

Google's Android mobile unveiled

The T-Mobile G1 is the first phone to use Android

Specs http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_g1-2533.php

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/7632395.stm <---- video link

The T-Mobile G1 handset will be available in the UK in time for Christmas.

The first device to run the search giant's operating system will feature a touch screen as well as a Qwerty keyboard.

It will be available for free on T-Mobile tariffs of over £40 a month and includes unlimited net browsing.

Other features include a three megapixel camera, a 'one click' contextual search and a browser that users can zoom in on by tapping the screen.

The handset will be wi-fi and 3G enabled and has built-in support for YouTube.

Users will also have access the so-called Android Market, where they will be able to download a variety of applications.

Prototypes

Google announced its plans for the Android phone software in November 2007 with a declared aim of making it easier to get at the web while on the move.

To help develop Android, Google also unveiled the Open Handset Alliance - a partnership of more than 30 firms that would work to make phone software easier to work with.

The group includes operators such as Telefonica, handset makers such as HTC and Motorola as well as chip makers such as Intel and Qualcomm.

Many of the partners demonstrated early prototype Android phones at the Mobile World Congress held in Barcelona in mid-February.

The idea behind Android is to do for phone software what the open source Linux software has done for PCs. Developers of phone software can get at most of the core elements of the Android software to help them write better applications.

Smartphones

However, in launching Android, Google faces stiff competition from established players such as Nokia with its Symbian software and Microsoft with its Mobile operating system.

More recently Apple has been gaining customers with its much hyped iPhone.

The Android software is squarely aimed at the smartphone segment of the handset market which adds sophisticated functions to the basic calling and texting capabilities of most phones.

Current estimates suggest that only 12-13% of the all handsets can be considered smartphones.

IMAGES

« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 09:49:03 AM by D.H.W »

Google Android Technology
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 08:27:41 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSk9TW7z-4

...exciting stuff.  T-mobile just launched their G1 phone today as Android makes its debut.

I'll probably wait until better models come out before upgrading... I have the Dash 14 months now, I could wait another year before getting a new phone.

Re: Google Android Technology
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 08:29:45 PM »
lol i just post the same thing  :D we both exited

Re: Google Android Technology
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 09:33:48 PM »
Lol...yours was just before mine too, and ah make sure and scan tuh see if anybody had posted it enuh, lol.  Hopefully the mods will merge.

Re: Google's Android mobile unveiled (Made by HTC)
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 08:01:16 AM »
Can Android run on the Iphone hardware ?

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 09:00:11 AM »

i think so its open source seeing its just an OS, i saw someone talking about it

http://hackinthebox.org/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=28327

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 11:06:51 AM »

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2008, 11:53:48 AM »

Yeah it's supposed to be open source as Die Hard posted... you should be able to run it on any mobile device.

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2008, 01:21:08 PM »
In that case you be able to get around all the silly restrictions apple put on the iphone.

I have a Motorola a1200
Apparently this guy got Android to work on it

I won't try it until I have a replacement.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 01:24:36 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2008, 12:53:42 AM »
In that case you be able to get around all the silly restrictions apple put on the iphone.

I have a Motorola a1200

That is too facking cool.... :o

« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2008, 05:18:08 PM »

I have a Motorola a1200

Jah I'm in the market for a new phone. I had my eyes on the a1200 but found out that there's a a1600 hanging somewhere in China. Not sure if they deciding to bring it to North America yet. I love my flip phones plus stylus pen (cyah live without them). So Jah tell me how you find the 1200 working for you ? I currently have a Motorola a288. Old faithful as I call it, but it's time to give it up.

Give me the pros and cons about a1200 from your prespective please Jah??

DieHard if only that was a flip phone boy.....steupse :(

« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2008, 05:49:43 PM »

I have a Motorola a1200

Jah I'm in the market for a new phone. I had my eyes on the a1200 but found out that there's a a1600 hanging somewhere in China. Not sure if they deciding to bring it to North America yet. I love my flip phones plus stylus pen (cyah live without them). So Jah tell me how you find the 1200 working for you ? I currently have a Motorola a288. Old faithful as I call it, but it's time to give it up.

I love the a1200. Even though it was released since 2006 it still cool. I can't go back to a regular keypad phone. The interface is good , very responsive and the phone itself works fast unlike some other touchscreen phones. You get decent 2.0 mp (1600x1200 pixel) camera without a flash. There is a  voice and video recorder ( decent quality) for a cheap phone too.

As phone I have few problems. I have bars when a lot other phones have "emergency only". The speaker phone is good too.

If you like to customise the look of the phone there are lots of options online. There are endless skins available. I flashed my phone and added some stuff to it too. I've never installed programs easier on a phone. Java files are  ridiculously easy to install. One program I would recommend is Opera mini browser, which  is a full html browser. If you're on the Digicel network the GPRS works almost automatically. On the Bmobile you have to do a little configuring.

One drawback some people talk about is the texting which utilizes an on-screen keyboard or handwriting. Some people say it is too hard to use. I disagree. Even the handwriting works well and I never won any awards for penmanship in school.

I am disappointed that it doesn't have WIFI. nb WIFI is included in the a1600

I want to get the Iphone in a few months but if the a1200 is anything to go by I think its successor (a1600) will be a good bet as well.

« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2008, 06:11:53 PM »
thanks luv

if it's one thing i don't have the patience for is texting with ya thumbs.
this is why i'm quite happy with my stylus pen and on screen keyboard.

i'll wait for the a1600. my old faithful a388 was before a1200 i believe and still going strong.

« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2008, 06:33:33 PM »

I have a Motorola a1200

:rotfl: doh worry im sure someone might make your beloved flip soon  :devil:

« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2008, 06:46:46 PM »

I have a Motorola a1200

I love the a1200. Even though it was released since 2006 it still cool. I can't go back to a regular keypad phone. The interface is good , very responsive and the phone itself works fast unlike some other touchscreen phones. You get decent 2.0 mp (1600x1200 pixel) camera without a flash. There is a  voice and video recorder ( decent quality) for a cheap phone too.

As phone I have few problems. I have bars when a lot other phones have "emergency only". The speaker phone is good too.

If you like to customise the look of the phone there are lots of options online. There are endless skins available. I flashed my phone and added some stuff to it too. I've never installed programs easier on a phone. Java files are  ridiculously easy to install. One program I would recommend is Opera mini browser, which  is a full html browser. If you're on the Digicel network the GPRS works almost automatically. On the Bmobile you have to do a little configuring.

One drawback some people talk about is the texting which utilizes an on-screen keyboard or handwriting. Some people say it is too hard to use. I disagree. Even the handwriting works well and I never won any awards for penmanship in school.

I am disappointed that it doesn't have WIFI. nb WIFI is included in the a1600

I want to get the Iphone in a few months but if the a1200 is anything to go by I think its successor (a1600) will be a good bet as well.

dread you know how to get bmobile GPRS to work. i does use opera mini on my digicel but i cah get it to work on bmobile

this go be my next baby when i get some cash  ;) alyuh stay with alyuh flip Motorola  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2008, 07:39:35 PM »
My cousin who working TSTT put in his blackberry sim card in my a1200 change 2 lil settings and the internet worked faster on my phone than his blackberry.

« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2008, 04:07:53 PM »
http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_a1600_with_gps_and_wlan-news-469.php <-----meh dream phone  :'(
meh loves it ;D

ah call motorala.ca today to ask dem if dey planning on bringing it down to dey DOT. Hear what dis man tell me nah, oh it might be a bit expensive plus he doubt dat any of the service providers would also.

steupse and double steupse oui.

ah have meh peeps in england, US and Trinidad on dey look out.
dat phone is mine and fido better doh play dey arse when ah come to stick ein meh sim card and get meh tra lala from dem. once ah remind dem dat meh contract go be up wid dem by dey end of dey year, come bet something hadda wouk :devil:

« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2008, 10:32:13 PM »
I am torn betwen the HTC Touch Diamond and the Nokia N95
The HTC is a sweet looking phone, but the N95 have lots of stuff.
any suggestions from owners
thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2008, 07:34:00 AM »
I am torn betwen the HTC Touch Diamond and the Nokia N95
The HTC is a sweet looking phone, but the N95 have lots of stuff.
any suggestions from owners
thanks
Ent the N95 is an old phone. The N96 is the upgrade to it. Its a good phone but I wouldn't buy something so old. Go for the N96 instead if thats the route you want to take.

That HTC brand is making progress now. I hardly hear anything negative about their phones. Check this . That rating is good for that site. Since the A1200 I real like touch screens. I would go for this one. The fluidity of movement on the screen is not as smooth as the Iphone (but nothing is anyway).

« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2008, 07:49:28 AM »
I have the HTC DIAMOND
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #21 on: December 21, 2008, 10:20:18 AM »
HTC DIAMOND IS A BOSS PHONE, u cah go wrong there

but here is a comparison

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone2=1716&idPhone1=2368
« Last Edit: December 21, 2008, 10:24:01 AM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2008, 03:26:16 AM »
I have a HTC Touch Cruise

running GPRS on bmobile... Faster than most blackberrys. It sweet to bad but i already trying to upgrade to the pro version which has the flip keyboard

« Reply #23 on: December 23, 2008, 03:18:00 PM »
this go be my next baby when i get some cash 

in addition to the HTC Touch Diamond,
I am also looking at the LG Voyager, but it is not even listed on the GSMArena website?
PhoneScoop compares them
« Last Edit: December 23, 2008, 03:33:24 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #24 on: January 03, 2009, 01:06:25 PM »
someone asked....cyah remeber who lossed the pm..so ah replying here
the htc touch diamond/ google maps powered by tom tom/gps system
is partly fucntional in trini. it pin pts your location within 100 meters or so. but driving directions not available..
the phone working very nicely in trini ah liking meh self.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #25 on: January 03, 2009, 01:14:54 PM »
Meh boss an' he wife buy meh ah iphone 3g for christmas. ah guess he heard dat ah phone searching. Steupse!
He set up everything already - all ah hafta do is put ein meh sim card. AH STICK! He stick meh man. It coming in dey mail dis week coming....

Ah say thanks and give he ah little hug, but ah vex no arse, cause allyuh know dis girl like she flip and stylus pen.  Ah not ungrateful, is juss he mess up meh plans man... And knowing he, he go be asking me non stop how dey phone working, how dey phone working. SO AH CYAH SELL IT now  :-[

Ah want meh motoming 1600 bad. Dese flippin service providers over here playin dey arse, bout how dey system won't support dis and dat. But dem feel i born lass week wednesday.

« Reply #26 on: January 03, 2009, 01:21:00 PM »
Meh boss an' he wife buy meh ah iphone 3g for christmas. ah guess he heard dat ah phone searching. Steupse!
He set up everything already - all ah hafta do is put ein meh sim card. AH STICK! He stick meh man. It coming in dey mail dis week coming....

Ah say thanks and give he ah little hug, but ah vex no arse, cause allyuh know dis girl like she flip and stylus pen.  Ah not ungrateful, is juss he mess up meh plans man... And knowing he, he go be asking me non stop how dey phone working, how dey phone working. SO AH CYAH SELL IT now  :-[

Ah want meh motoming 1600 bad. Dese flippin service providers over here playin dey arse, bout how dey system won't support dis and dat. But dem feel i born lass week wednesday.
lol@lst week wednesday.......is not 1972 u born....ah hear yuh had some afro days, bell bottoms.. etc
 the 1600 decent. canada and northamerica on de whole backward wiht fone gyul..the slight advantage is ..after the come out in eurpoe and asia and the glithces are identified they usally rectified before they reach northiamerica

htc diamond had some problems...european version was slow....the americna version...wukkin crisp..
on a side..note
why trinis does act so never see come see with fone.? ah gyul breaking she neck ina  resturant to look at the kinda fone ahhave.. whne she couldnt take it no more she walk up and ask meh.....smiling smiling
if she was only red, with(cana wah size bra again) breasts ..was me and she...to bad she was ah bloody.........lol

« Reply #27 on: January 03, 2009, 01:26:31 PM »
1902...watch meh profile nuh?
ah older dan dirt

hmm for ah lesbian you ain't know cup size juss by watching boobs yet ??  Shame
Go on Spike TV and watch Manswers....

BTW ah was surprised that Blackberry Storm get so much bad ratings. I was tempted to take a long look at it, until i read some bad ratings, like it too big, touchscreens detection bad..etc etc..
« Last Edit: January 03, 2009, 01:28:23 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #28 on: January 03, 2009, 04:18:38 PM »
this go be my next baby when i get some cash 

in addition to the HTC Touch Diamond,
I am also looking at the LG Voyager, but it is not even listed on the GSMArena website?
PhoneScoop compares them

gsm arena doh have CDMA phones which sprint ans verizon use, only GSM phones

« Reply #29 on: January 03, 2009, 04:44:26 PM »
gsm arena doh have CDMA phones which sprint ans verizon use, only GSM phones
Thanks
too much Fernades and Punch a creme I guess