April 24, 2024, 12:03:38 AM

Author Topic: Google's Android unveiled  (Read 42686 times)

Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #180 on: January 30, 2013, 05:31:29 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-rvbtkWFDFM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-rvbtkWFDFM</a>

« Reply #181 on: January 30, 2013, 05:43:42 PM »
d blackberry seems to hold its own, functionality wise, it would be interesting to see a multimedia comparison though

« Reply #182 on: January 30, 2013, 06:11:43 PM »
RIM aka Blackberry share price dropped today.

« Reply #183 on: February 03, 2013, 09:30:00 AM »
Samsung Mobile USA - The Next Big Thing (Super Bowl Commercial)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5ae7E8J7h7Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5ae7E8J7h7Y</a>

« Reply #184 on: February 19, 2013, 09:34:19 AM »
HTC One goes official with 4.7" 1080p screen, quad-core CPU

Just as we expected, the HTC events turned out to be about the company's new flagship - the HTC One.
HTC One features a 4.7-inch Super LCD 3 display of 1080p resolution (that's 469ppi). It should be able to match the image quality of the Butterfly's unit.

The One is powered by the latest Qualcomm Snapdragon 600 chipset (the same ticking inside the LG Optimus G Pro) utilizing a quad-core 1.7GHz Krait 300 processor, Adreno 320 graphics and 2GB (LPDDR3) of RAM.

The test of the HTC One specs include a 4MP camera with 1080p@60fps video recording relying on a new ultrapixel technology for improved image quality, 32 or 64 GB of non-expandable storage and rich connectivity settings including LTE, NFC, Wi-Fi a/ac/b/g/n, Bluetooth 4 and GPS with GLONASS.

HTC One will launch running on Android 4.1.2 but the 4.2.2 update is already in the works.

The new flagship is made out of aluminum and is about 9.3 mm thick. It has stereo speakers at the front with impressive 93db loudness and a 2300 mAh non-removable battery. Also, its Power/Lock key on top is transparent and doubles as an IR port to control home equipment.

HTC One will be available in black and silver colors and will launch in March this year. HTC has already made deals with 185 carriers worldwide including USA's AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint; all major UK carriers and many more. There is still no info on its retail price, though.

You should check out this article for live photos of the HTC One, garnished with our first hand impressions of the device.

http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_one_goes_official_1080p_screen_quad-news-5566.php

« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 09:37:07 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #185 on: February 28, 2013, 06:01:18 AM »
Galaxy S IV to premiere at Times Square on March 14

Samsung has already sent out invitations for a press event on March 14, where it will unveil the Galaxy S IV smartphone. It seems though its plans for the announcement are much bigger.
Today Samsung invites all of its social network followers to join the Galaxy S IV premiere in New York. Everyone is invited on March 14, 7PM at Times Square.
The people there will be able the follow the UNPACKED announcement event via a livestream, which, we guess, will be hooked on to some of the big screens, lining the square. They should also be able to "experience Samsung's new flagship smartphone at Times Square", whatever that means.

http://www.gsmarena.com/galaxy_s_iv_to_premiere_at_times_square_on_march_14-news-5625.php

« Reply #186 on: February 28, 2013, 06:51:41 AM »
UK based, how is BB10 doing?  Supposedly goes on sale in US from Fri

« Reply #187 on: March 03, 2013, 09:45:08 AM »

« Reply #188 on: March 14, 2013, 06:58:16 AM »
S4 is going to be revealed today

« Reply #189 on: March 14, 2013, 08:11:03 AM »
Blackberry announced they just received an order for 1 million phones. No word on who the customer is.

« Reply #190 on: March 14, 2013, 05:55:38 PM »
S4 Hands on

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/j4K61QXrEMM&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/j4K61QXrEMM&amp;</a>

The GS 4 features a 5-inch 1080p (1,920 x 1,080) Super AMOLED panel which offers a pixel density of 441 ppi and the ability to use your gloves at the same time. It's also a powerful beast: it packs 2GB RAM and will come with either a 1.6GHz Exynos Octa-core chip or a 1.9GHz quad-core Qualcomm, depending on your region. (Unfortunately, Samsung hasn't yet specified which Snapdragon we can expect, but we're guessing it's at least a 600 if not an 800.) Refreshingly, it will also come with Android 4.2.2 on-board when it launches.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 06:12:39 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #191 on: March 14, 2013, 06:50:00 PM »
just add ah S3 mini to mih cart............wonder if dey goh release a s4 mini....me eh tink I want a big ass phone I get used to have a pouch on mih waist

« Reply #192 on: March 14, 2013, 07:33:44 PM »
Official video with all the features.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/2LHv1FPd1Ec&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/2LHv1FPd1Ec&amp;</a>

« Reply #193 on: March 15, 2013, 08:31:01 AM »
Was in Time Square last nigh and they had a free demo event going on. Line was too long to stand in the cold to play with that.

« Reply #194 on: March 15, 2013, 08:43:09 AM »
just add ah S3 mini to mih cart............wonder if dey goh release a s4 mini....me eh tink I want a big ass phone I get used to have a pouch on mih waist

and two sim cards....still not convinced cross network calls doh hurt yuh pocket on digicel, ah really thinkin on d S4 though ah would take ah S4 duos if it sized like d mini...rumour is dat comin too..... ah go take less features , processing power and less size to not have to carry two phone

wonder if d smaller phones will have gorilla glass ???
« Last Edit: March 15, 2013, 08:53:56 AM by lefty »

« Reply #195 on: March 15, 2013, 10:11:21 AM »
Once it in the upper echelons it should.

I saw this today.

S4 has Gorrilla Glass 3

" According to the manufacturer, the Gorilla Glass 3 is
stronger, and is 3x more scratch-resistant than Gorilla
Glass 2. Plus some 40% less scratches are visble once
they occur."

« Reply #196 on: March 22, 2013, 01:37:34 PM »

and two sim cards....still not convinced cross network calls doh hurt yuh pocket on digicel, ah really thinkin on d S4 though ah would take ah S4 duos if it sized like d mini...rumour is dat comin too..... ah go take less features , processing power and less size to not have to carry two phone

wonder if d smaller phones will have gorilla glass ???

for you lefty

First Samsung Galaxy S4 mini live photos appear

"The Galaxy S4 mini (GT-I9190) will be available in a dual-SIM version as well"

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_mini_live_photos_appear_packs_dualcore_cpu-news-5750.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

« Reply #197 on: March 22, 2013, 04:02:14 PM »
yeah a could rock dat

« Reply #198 on: April 10, 2013, 01:35:22 PM »
Once it in the upper echelons it should.

I saw this today.

S4 has Gorrilla Glass 3

" According to the manufacturer, the Gorilla Glass 3 is
stronger, and is 3x more scratch-resistant than Gorilla
Glass 2. Plus some 40% less scratches are visble once
they occur."

DHW as the resident Android expert, yout opinion please - I use a netbook to take notes (Word) when I meet my clients.

What is your gut opinion: should I use the S3 notes in this scenario and take written notes which I can convert to text.  Or upgrade to the S4 for my phone and use another device for note taking in the field?

Right now, I have a older Galaxy Captivate + Acer netbook + separate wireless internet (I do not use the Captivate as a internet portal as the battery dies faster than a corbeaux in Chaguaramas).

Also, your opinion on Sony Google TV - I can get one by cashing in some credit cards rewards points. Is that a good alternative to a Smart TV?

« Reply #199 on: April 10, 2013, 01:54:52 PM »
Depends. Nothing beats a good old fashion keyboard. But if you take notes on the fly, then you could use the galaxy note 2, since that has the pen functionality to write with. That more suited for those things.

As for the TV, never dig to much into it. You better off looking at reviews and articles online, cause I might give yuh bad info.

Galaxy Note 2 Review.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&amp;</a>
« Last Edit: April 10, 2013, 02:03:56 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #200 on: April 10, 2013, 02:29:30 PM »
For those on the fence

Samsung Galaxy S4 vs Galaxy S III: Advanced fence-sitting

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_vs_galaxy_siii-review-918.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

« Reply #201 on: April 10, 2013, 07:55:34 PM »
Depends. Nothing beats a good old fashion keyboard. But if you take notes on the fly, then you could use the galaxy note 2, since that has the pen functionality to write with. That more suited for those things.

As for the TV, never dig to much into it. You better off looking at reviews and articles online, cause I might give yuh bad info.

Galaxy Note 2 Review.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VdsMwGWvhO4&amp;</a>

thanks for this link ... greatly appreciated.

« Reply #202 on: April 28, 2013, 09:36:21 AM »
Alleged image of Samsung Galaxy Note III appears online

The rumors of the next generation Samsung Galaxy Note phablet are growing thick and fast. An alleged image of the Galaxy Note III phablet has appeared online, sporting a 5.9-inch display.

According to a report from MyDrivers, the upcoming Galaxy Note phablet will feature a Full HD display and packs a punch with the company's own Exynos 5410 Octa processor, with the four powerful Cortex A15 chips clocked at 2.0 GHz, and the remaining four power-saving Cortex A7 chips running at 1.7 GHz.
Samsung Galaxy Note III is said to come with 3 GB of RAM and will run on Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. Furthermore, the phablet is rumored to be unveiled during IFA 2013.

http://www.gsmarena.com/alleged_image_of_samsung_galaxy_note_iii_appears_online-news-5935.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

« Reply #203 on: April 29, 2013, 10:03:44 PM »
Thinking about upgrading my phone.  Any suggestions?   Right now I'm swinging with an HTC EVO Shift.  It's done well.  It's hard to pick because every phone can do everything.  A bigger screen may not be to bad. 

« Reply #205 on: May 14, 2013, 08:44:20 AM »
New BB announced today

« Reply #206 on: May 14, 2013, 10:52:44 AM »
BBM will launch on Android and IOS.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418946,00.asp

Re: Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #207 on: May 14, 2013, 11:06:52 AM »

« Reply #208 on: May 14, 2013, 12:12:47 PM »
It's a free download too.

« Reply #209 on: May 18, 2013, 08:36:47 AM »
Digicel launches its own smart phone

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PAKMYVNRDOQ&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PAKMYVNRDOQ&amp;</a>

800 TT Prepaid

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/phones_list.php?filter_manu=38&filter_styl=&filter_ring=&filter=search
« Last Edit: May 18, 2013, 09:09:02 AM by D.H.W »