April 18, 2024, 06:42:44 PM

Author Topic: Google's Android unveiled  (Read 42613 times)

Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #90 on: November 12, 2012, 04:47:47 PM »
Isheep

« Reply #91 on: November 12, 2012, 04:48:49 PM »
Isheep

Sure... if that gives you comfort.  I was an Android adherent before you even heard of the term.  I think I'm qualified to speak.

« Reply #92 on: November 12, 2012, 05:09:19 PM »
I see Apple coming out with iphone 6 in spring 2013  ::)

« Reply #93 on: November 12, 2012, 05:33:40 PM »
IOS 6  vs Jellybean , what does Apple do better?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YwwJ8kgmcdc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YwwJ8kgmcdc</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RNrb5neu6kw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RNrb5neu6kw</a>

« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 05:39:55 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #94 on: November 12, 2012, 09:04:30 PM »
IOS 6  vs Jellybean , what does Apple do better?
]

speed and cloud services?

but I still prefer Android.

« Reply #95 on: November 12, 2012, 10:09:36 PM »
for the average user there's no real difference between iphone and droids and it comes down to preference. But if you plan on having a device close or as powerful as a compact laptop, droid would get my vote.

Fellas in Canada, you guys see where there's going to be new legislation where all cell phone in Canada will be on lock down if it goes missing or stolen. means no matter what jail break you try a phone registered on one network will not work on another as long as it's reported.

« Reply #96 on: November 12, 2012, 11:25:52 PM »
I have an HTC evo android now and can't complain about anything, it does everything I need it for but I was considering getting the new iPhone 6 when it comes out next spring....however all my friends with the new Samsung Galaxy S3 has nothing but good things to say about it so I really don't know. Glad I found this thread, now I'll keeping reading this and here what the peeps on here have to say before I make up my mind.

Re: Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #97 on: November 13, 2012, 04:36:41 AM »
I have an HTC evo android now and can't complain about anything, it does everything I need it for but I was considering getting the new iPhone 6 when it comes out next spring....however all my friends with the new Samsung Galaxy S3 has nothing but good things to say about it so I really don't know. Glad I found this thread, now I'll keeping reading this and here what the peeps on here have to say before I make up my mind.

Galaxy S4 will be out by Q1 next year same yearly trend. Samsung has Apple under it's cross hairs, they have got a foothold on the Smartphone market. You will have plenty thinking to do next year.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 05:00:37 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #98 on: November 13, 2012, 05:16:20 AM »
considering the S3.....since nutten nice comin with hardware keyboard no more............but anybody know why name brands doh enter d duel sim market.......dem clones jus not up to scratch and I dont want to be totin two phones around

« Reply #99 on: November 13, 2012, 07:20:17 AM »
You still carrying two phones? I ditch bmobile long time. Plus you can forward calls from a digi to a bmobile phone, not sure if you can forward bmobile to Digicel, last I checked a few years ago it didn't work.

« Reply #100 on: November 13, 2012, 08:28:13 AM »
You still carrying two phones? I ditch bmobile long time. Plus you can forward calls from a digi to a bmobile phone, not sure if you can forward bmobile to Digicel, last I checked a few years ago it didn't work.

two phones ??? never did :P my present phone is duel sim and while b'mo get mih vex, when dey try ah shit wit d free bonus top up, it still better for b'mo to b'mo since I have more b'mo people dan digi, but if I am forced to go single sim might opt to keep the digi installed outa dreadness >:( d bmo f**kers still have $20 for me tie up in a 121 account although they switch back d system.

just saw d sumsung S duos, but dat less powerful then d S3 by some measure and yuh not gettin no warranty on amazon.........I dont trust shopping direct from Asia

« Reply #101 on: November 13, 2012, 08:35:53 AM »

Galaxy S4 will be out by Q1 next year same yearly trend. Samsung has Apple under it's cross hairs, they have got a foothold on the Smartphone market. You will have plenty thinking to do next year.

ay DHW,  I still toting around a Galaxy SGH-I896 with gingerbread (no android updates for this model as of yesterday) and was considering upgrading to the S3. Should I wait for the S4?

« Reply #102 on: November 13, 2012, 08:51:08 AM »
ay DHW,  I still toting around a Galaxy SGH-I896 with gingerbread (no android updates for this model as of yesterday) and was considering upgrading to the S3. Should I wait for the S4?

they do upgrade beyond a couple versions far as I know due to changes in tech over time, might wait for S4 as well ..........anybody know other good sites to get unlocked smartphones

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #103 on: November 13, 2012, 08:51:32 AM »

two phones ??? never did :P my present phone is duel sim and while b'mo get mih vex, when dey try ah shit wit d free bonus top up, it still better for b'mo to b'mo since I have more b'mo people dan digi, but if I am forced to go single sim might opt to keep the digi installed outa dreadness >:( d bmo f**kers still have $20 for me tie up in a 121 account although they switch back d system.

just saw d sumsung S duos, but dat less powerful then d S3 by some measure and yuh not gettin no warranty on amazon.........I dont trust shopping direct from Asia

How you mean it tie up?? You should be drawing from that bonus account when you call a bmobile phone...
On another note, I think bmobile steals money from my prepaid account now and then...I sometimes don't use my phone for a while but my balance still decreases  ???

« Reply #104 on: November 13, 2012, 09:07:03 AM »

How you mean it tie up?? You should be drawing from that bonus account when you call a bmobile phone...
On another note, I think bmobile steals money from my prepaid account now and then...I sometimes don't use my phone for a while but my balance still decreases  ???

it not decreasin as far as I can tell

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #105 on: November 13, 2012, 09:09:45 AM »

it not decreasin as far as I can tell

So your main balance is decreasing instead when you call a bmobile phone?  :o Nah man, yuh getting cheat out..

« Reply #106 on: November 13, 2012, 09:24:18 AM »
ok ah lie ah jus check it is $11 now(after being stuck at 21 for a while), but get this when they switch back d system ah had $0 in mih mean acc and 21 in d bonus acc..........I put on 20 and get 20 bonus daiz 40, but as of today d main account is (*120)$13 an dat bonus account now readin $11    :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: an is only bmo my bmo sim callin
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 09:26:53 AM by lefty »

« Reply #107 on: November 13, 2012, 09:37:10 AM »

If you don't like Buyers remorse you can wait, but it will be a few months away. If you really need a new phone you can get the Nexus 4 or S3

« Reply #108 on: November 13, 2012, 09:38:11 AM »
ok ah lie ah jus check it is $11 now(after being stuck at 21 for a while), but get this when they switch back d system ah had $0 in mih mean acc and 21 in d bonus acc..........I put on 20 and get 20 bonus daiz 40, but as of today d main account is (*120)$13 an dat bonus account now readin $11    :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: an is only bmo my bmo sim callin

I can even get Bmobile signal where i living , and i living in Arima , signal always cutting out.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #109 on: November 13, 2012, 09:38:22 AM »

I dunno what to say about that nah,....I feel bmobile moves by vaps sometimes  ???

« Reply #110 on: November 13, 2012, 09:38:46 AM »

they do upgrade beyond a couple versions far as I know due to changes in tech over time, might wait for S4 as well ..........anybody know other good sites to get unlocked smartphones

The Nexus 4 worth $300 came out today , beast price if you buy direct from the Google Play Store. Probably the best phone right now under the S3

Use Tunnel Bear to access the US site http://www.tunnelbear.com/

https://play.google.com/store

Nexus 4 reviews (Comes with Jelly Bean OS out of the box)
http://www.engadget.com/2012/11/02/nexus-4-review/
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6440/google-nexus-4-review

"If you're an Android enthusiast, the Nexus 4 is obviously the phone to have right now. The combination of APQ8064 and MDM9x15 is excellent in spite of some unfortunate thermal throttling, and we'll be seeing many more Fusion 3 based devices in time at prices well above the Nexus 4 out of contract. At a fundamental level there is quite literally no better vehicle out there for Google to communicate its smartphone platform via than the yearly Nexus refresh. On its own, the Nexus 4 would otherwise be phenomenally great hardware. As a Nexus, it's a level even beyond that.

Google has come an exceptionally long way since that first Nexus One."
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 09:50:23 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #111 on: November 13, 2012, 01:32:04 PM »
I doh even have the latest and greatest.  My family dealin with my Samsung Nexus S, my wife's HTC Evo 3D and an Acer A200 tablet, all on Android and these things run real good. I have all the apps I want to play around with, usually for free.  I even messin around with building my own app.
My phone is linked to my google account so I get gmail, google+, my documents, map info all synched.
I real happy with Android.

Uhm... that applies to de iPhone too.  8)

Yeah but for hundreds more.
Really?  You paying the same $200 for a top line, brand new Adroid phone as you would for an iPhone.  I like Android, but the only hold for me was the stranglehold AT&T  had on the contract with Apple.  Since Sprint and Verizon join de party the service prices get more reasonable.  Android still cool... but no real comparison to the iPhone in my mind.

Because there are so many android devices you can get something that's not top of the line but still very good, for much less than an iphone.
Plus the difference between my little Acer tablet and an ipad 1 is a couple hundred, and my screen is still bigger.
Avoiding Apple saves a lot of dough :)

« Reply #112 on: November 13, 2012, 02:28:50 PM »

Look at that, didn't even know the S4 was coming out already....that will be a tough decision in trute.

« Reply #113 on: November 13, 2012, 10:29:22 PM »
Because there are so many android devices you can get something that's not top of the line but still very good, for much less than an iphone.
Plus the difference between my little Acer tablet and an ipad 1 is a couple hundred, and my screen is still bigger.

Haha... yeah you eh lie.  I not a hardcore Apple adherent, doh have an iPad and won't have one for a while... took me a while to take de plunge, but Apple's rep for design and performance is well-earned.

« Reply #114 on: November 14, 2012, 12:13:48 AM »

Haha... yeah you eh lie.  I not a hardcore Apple adherent, doh have an iPad and won't have one for a while... took me a while to take de plunge, but Apple's rep for design and performance is well-earned.
That's why I was leaning towards the i-phone but Samsung came back into the cell phone market and they're right up there with them, at least with the Galaxy phones.

« Reply #115 on: November 14, 2012, 07:39:14 AM »
as long as Apple and the rest of the smart phone developers go at it, and the consumers willing to pay for it, the technology will continue to improve. Long live competition.

« Reply #116 on: November 14, 2012, 11:04:02 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/opGRHj-h_D4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/opGRHj-h_D4</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MV2_7QApIRI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MV2_7QApIRI</a>

« Reply #117 on: November 14, 2012, 03:51:56 PM »
Android and Samsung build on their market shares in Q3 2012

Android's market share increased significantly during the third quarter of 2012, with the Google OS powering 72.4% of all smartphones sold in the three months' period. Apple's iOS came a very distant second with a market share of 13.9%.

This is an impressive accomplishment for Google's mobile OS, considering Android's market share was 52.5% in Q3 of 2011.

Samsung saw its position as the leading mobile manufacturer increase to 22.9% after selling almost 100 million phones in the three month period ending in September. This was mostly at the expense of Nokia, which saw its market share slide almost 5 percent points year-over-year.

The holiday season should see Apple take back some of both of those pies, as many iOS-faithfuls held off on replacing their smartphones until the iPhone 5 came around. Apple's new smartphone top dog is expanding its availability to many new markets in Q4, which should help Apple arrest the fall in iOS market share.

http://www.gsmarena.com/android_and_samsung_build_on_their_market_shares_in_q3_2012-news-5082.php

« Reply #118 on: November 16, 2012, 07:44:28 PM »
Galaxy S4 with Full HD Super AMOLED display to show up at CES?

Samsung might be plotting something

Samsung might be pulling out all the stops at CES 2013, at least according to a rumor coming out of Korea.
The firm might unveil a phone loaded with a 4.99-inch Full HD Super AMOLED display at the Vegas show, one that rivals devices coming out of HTC, LG, Sharp and Sony.
According to a Samsung official speaking to a Korean newspaper, the company will pull out a handset featuring the ultra-thin AMOLED material and a screen with a 441 pixel per inch density.
Such blockbuster screen specs are likely to only show up on a blockbuster handset, pointing to the possibility that the main attraction Samsung offers the CES crowd is the Galaxy S4.

S4 time

According to the paper's source, Samsung is using its current mass production method mixed with advanced LITI technology to bring the phone to life.
It should feature a resolution of 1920 X 1080 and if kinks in mass production scaling can get ironed out, the S4 should arrive during the second quarter of 2013.
The source also reportedly said that the head of Samsung Electronics demanded the SIV feature a Full HD AMOLED display and not (yawn) LCD, giving it a unique selling point over new arrivals like the Droid DNA, the rumored Sony Yuga and Odin and Sharp's Aquos SH903W.
TechRadar will be in the lion's den that is the CES show floor come January, so stay tuned for word on what Samsung brings forth.

http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/galaxy-s4-with-full-hd-super-amoled-display-to-show-up-at-ces-1113293?src=rss&attr=all

« Reply #119 on: November 17, 2012, 09:52:57 AM »
That S4 will be the phone to finally unseat the iphone.