April 28, 2024, 04:15:36 PM

Author Topic: Google's Android unveiled  (Read 42888 times)

Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #210 on: August 12, 2013, 03:24:26 PM »
New leak shows off Sony “lens cameras” that attach to and are controlled by a smartphone

Sony seems to have a new, innovative product up their sleeve. This is a leak and a rumor, but it’s pretty damn credible. The rumored devices are the DSC-QX10 and QX100, which are new products Sony will probably call “lens cameras.” With a lens, image sensor, BIONZ image processor, WiFi, NFC and an SD slot, they are fully equipped to take high quality photos. However, they lack a screen or any way to control them.

They are made to attach to a smartphone. Using WiFI and/or NFC, they will connect to the phone and allow it to control the lens camera. With this fairly small accessory, you’ll be able to take awesome photos on the go using your favorite smartphone. And best of all, these accessories will work with both Android and iOS devices.

According to this leak, there will be two models. The bigger one will contain the 20.2MP RX100 Mark II sensor, which is a very large 1-inch sensor. The other model will come with a smaller 1/2.3-inch 18MP sensor and 10x zoom lens. Those are pretty impressive sensors for phone accessories.

This photo is a double leak, because if you look closer, the phone that is being used is actually the rumored Sony Honami.

We hope that Sony will price these devices well, because these could really improve mobile photography while we wait for phones to get better sensors and lenses. We may see these devices at IFA on September 4, so stay tuned. Would you get one? And if not, tell us why!

http://androidandme.com/2013/08/devices/new-leak-shows-off-sony-lens-cameras-that-attach-to-and-are-controlled-by-a-smartphone/

« Reply #211 on: August 29, 2013, 10:46:24 AM »

« Reply #212 on: September 18, 2013, 12:30:19 PM »
 Blackberry's message service coming to Android on Sept 21st and iPhone on Sept 22nd.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #213 on: September 18, 2013, 03:00:36 PM »
Blackberry's message service coming to Android on Sept 21st and iPhone on Sept 22nd.

I never used BBM, but I've been awaiting the the BBM-App for the iPhone for months now. 4 more days! 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #214 on: September 18, 2013, 06:18:12 PM »
BBM Available for Android on September 21 and iPhone on September 22

That’s right BBM fans — the iconic mobile social network will begin rolling out for Android and iPhone customers around the world from September 21. Soon, you’ll be able to easily connect with friends on different platforms. As you may know BBM was previously exclusive to BlackBerry smartphones, and it will be available as a free download in Google Play and the App Store.

While some of you are no strangers to BBM, many will be new and might be asking: What is BBM? Below, you’ll find all the highlights for BBM for Android and iPhone.

BBM for Android and iPhone features:
BBM Chat – Enjoy real, immediate conversations with friends on Android, iPhone and BlackBerry smartphones. Not only does BBM let you know that your message has been delivered and read, it also shows you that your friend is responding to the message.

More than chat – With BBM you can share files on your phone such as photos and voice notes, all in an instant.

Keep your group in the loop – Multi-person chats are a great way to invite contacts to chat together. BBM Groups lets you invite up to 30 friends to chat together, and go a step further than multi-chat by sharing photos and schedules. And, with Broadcast Message, you can send a message out to all your BBM contacts at once.

Post Updates and stay in the know – BBM lets you post a personal message, profile picture and your current status, and lets your contacts know instantly in Updates.

Your unique PIN – Every BBM user has a unique PIN that maintains your privacy, so you don’t have to give out your phone number or email address to a new or casual contact.

BBM gives you a private social network for active, real conversations and it has more than 60 million customers on BlackBerry alone. The overwhelming majority use BBM an average of 90 minutes per day. BBM customers collectively send and receive more than 10 billion messages each day, nearly twice as many messages per user per day as compared to other mobile messaging apps. Messages on BBM are typically read within seconds, reflecting how truly engaged BBM customers are.

It’s immediate. BBM is always on so you are always connected. And because messages on BBM are typically delivered and read within seconds, it’s the closest thing to a live conversation.

You trust it. BBM always tells you that messages are delivered and read. BBM conversations come alive on a private network you can count on.

You control it. BBM allows you to choose your contacts and how you share your information. BBM uses a PIN so you don’t have to give anyone your phone number or email address.

In a recent press release, Andrew Bocking, Executive Vice President for BBM at BlackBerry said:

“BBM is a very engaging messaging service that is simple to use, easy to personalize and has an immediacy that is necessary for mobile communications. With more than a billion Android, iOS, and BlackBerry smartphones in the market, and no dominant mobile instant messaging platform, this is absolutely the right time to bring BBM to Android and iPhone customers.”

Availability
BBM will be available as a free download for Android smartphones running Ice Cream Sandwich and Jelly Bean (Android 4.x) beginning at 7AM EDT on September 21. BBM for iPhones running iOS 6 and iOS 7 will become available for each market on the App Store schedule of 12:01 AM local time on September 22. For more information, or to download BBM for Android or iPhone, visit www.BBM.com.

BBM will continue to evolve quickly. Later this year, BBM Channels will provide a forum for active, real conversations between you and the people, brands, celebrities, artists, service providers, communities and more, that matter to you. By creating a Channel, individuals and brands can engage their friends and communities in conversations sparked by their thoughts, ideas and passions. Subscribing to a Channel will let you join conversations with people who share your interests. In addition, BBM Video calling and BBM Voice calling are planned for availability for Android and iPhone in a future version.

Excited about getting BBM on your Android or iPhone? Let us know in the comments and spread the word to your friends.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-for-android-iphone/?CPID=SOC_C_WW_TW1379525489

« Reply #215 on: September 19, 2013, 07:21:46 AM »

people done sayin dey too late .....even in trini where d proportion of BB to android and iOS still high............plenty people I know stickin to BB only 'cause dey ent have no money or dey BB still workin good, but goh change when dey circumstances change

BB have to do someting real special at this point to get people interested.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #216 on: September 19, 2013, 10:31:23 AM »

people done sayin dey too late .....even in trini where d proportion of BB to android and iOS still high............plenty people I know stickin to BB only 'cause dey ent have no money or dey BB still workin good, but goh change when dey circumstances change

kids (teenagers) usually are the ones to fuel digital growth and I see they're using iphone face to face thing on the regular, even more than skype, whatapp etc. so yea, BB (if they're smart) will try to get their old customers back due to nostalgia PLUS, their system is still considered very easy to use so look for them to target the 40 something + age group. bb with the physical keyboard is still a draw for older folks with thick fingers, who also like the feel of pressing a keyboard
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #217 on: September 19, 2013, 10:51:24 AM »

kids (teenagers) usually are the ones to fuel digital growth and I see they're using iphone face to face thing on the regular, even more than skype, whatapp etc. so yea, BB (if they're smart) will try to get their old customers back due to nostalgia PLUS, their system is still considered very easy to use so look for them to target the 40 something + age group. bb with the physical keyboard is still a draw for older folks with thick fingers, who also like the feel of pressing a keyboard

I favor a physical keyboard to touch tech but I 36........doh mind touch.... is jus dat mih hands heavy....and have been known to be slippery at times too, fraid ah break it, thinking about d duel sim S4 still though, jus waitin for a cheaper price...............would be willing to get a BB if they dropped their OS and adopted android...plenty potential their I think

« Reply #218 on: September 19, 2013, 03:38:43 PM »

WSJ reports BlackBerry may lay off up to 40% of its employees

http://www.gsmarena.com/wsj_reports_blackberry_will_layoff_up_to_40_of_its_employees-news-6820.php

« Reply #219 on: September 21, 2013, 06:46:04 PM »
Blackberry fails again

BBM for Android and iPhone Update

Prior to launching BBM for Android, an unreleased version of the BBM for Android app was posted online. The interest and enthusiasm we have seen already – more than 1.1 million active users in the first 8 hours without even launching the official Android app – is incredible. Consequently, this unreleased version caused issues, which we have attempted to address throughout the day.

Our teams continue to work around the clock to bring BBM to Android and iPhone, but only when it’s ready and we know it will live up to your expectations of BBM. We are pausing the global roll-out of BBM for Android and iPhone. Customers who have already downloaded BBM for iPhone will be able to continue to use BBM. The unreleased Android app will be disabled, and customers who downloaded it should visit www.BBM.com to register for updates on official BBM for Android availability.

As soon as we are able, we will begin a staggered country roll-out of BBM for Android and continue the roll-out of BBM for iPhone. Please follow @BBM on Twitter for the latest updates and go to www.BBM.com to sign-up for updates about BBM for Android and iPhone. These issues have not impacted BBM service for BlackBerry.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-for-android-iphone-launch-update/?CPID=SOC_C_WW_TW1379807723

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #220 on: September 22, 2013, 05:29:09 PM »
BBM to iPhone and Android still delayed in most places. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #221 on: September 23, 2013, 05:15:50 AM »

incredible!! handin over they prized jewel an all gettin fork up

sad to see ah company go from King Kong to ah stuffed monkey in less than 5 years

« Reply #222 on: September 23, 2013, 05:43:25 AM »

sad to see ah company go from King Kong to ah stuffed monkey in less than 5 years

Daiz because dey was too damn harden and arrogant, not to mention dotish.

Re: Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #223 on: September 23, 2013, 11:56:57 AM »

And just like that BlackBerry is sold off

@BBCBreaking: Smartphone maker Blackberry agrees to sell to group led by largest shareholder, Fairfax, for $4.7bn (Ł2.9bn)

http://t.co/oMsZLrE9RX
« Last Edit: September 23, 2013, 12:01:54 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #224 on: September 23, 2013, 03:42:59 PM »
yeah boy.........ah tink d writing was always on d wall though....let see what happens going forward..........

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #225 on: September 23, 2013, 03:45:19 PM »

And just like that BlackBerry is sold off

@BBCBreaking: Smartphone maker Blackberry agrees to sell to group led by largest shareholder, Fairfax, for $4.7bn (Ł2.9bn)

http://t.co/oMsZLrE9RX

I just saw the news, but it states that nothing has been agreed to as of yet, and that Fairfax Financial has no exclusivity on the deal (meaning that BB can still speak to other potential suitors).  Also, I'm wondering if the entire rollout debacle this weekend was due to some sort of ultimatum by Fairfax Financial, informing RIM to halt the distribution of the BBM service to other outlets since they (Fairfax) see BBM as the only main positive for the company.

The tentative offer of $4.7 billion seems a bit too high valuation for RIM in relation to all of their recent financial struggles and lack of demand for their products.  The price may come waaaaay WAAAY down if any deal is to eventuate.   

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Last Edit: September 24, 2013, 07:21:21 AM by OutsideMan »

« Reply #227 on: September 27, 2013, 05:32:28 AM »
Just read this update from the EVP of the BBM division at RIM.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-android-iphone-update/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+InsideBlackberry-TheOfficialBlackBerryBlog+(Inside+BlackBerry+-+The+Official+BlackBerry+Blog)

And the hits keep coming

@BBCWorld: #Blackberry confirms $965m net loss for second quarter of 2013, a week after announcing it was cutting 40% of jobs

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #228 on: September 27, 2013, 09:25:20 AM »

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm-android-iphone-update/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+InsideBlackberry-TheOfficialBlackBerryBlog+(Inside+BlackBerry+-+The+Official+BlackBerry+Blog)

And the hits keep coming

@BBCWorld: #Blackberry confirms $965m net loss for second quarter of 2013, a week after announcing it was cutting 40% of jobs

Yeah, that $965 million loss was released about 2 weeks ago, but wasn't fully confirmed until just recently.  They took a lot of risk with the release of their last phone earlier this year...and the thing didn't sell at all.  I believe that's where the bulk of their losses stemmed from.

It's one of the reasons that the $4.7 Billion price being discussed may very well end-up being a lot less when all is said and done.  Wouldn't surprise me if we see that deal being consummated at a $400-$600 million valuation.

« Reply #229 on: September 27, 2013, 09:32:10 AM »

And the hits keep coming

Yeah, that $965 million loss was released about 2 weeks ago, but wasn't fully confirmed until just recently.  They took a lot of risk with the release of their last phone earlier this year...and the thing didn't sell at all.  I believe that's where the bulk of their losses stemmed from.

It's one of the reasons that the $4.7 Billion price being discussed may very well end-up being a lot less when all is said and done.  Wouldn't surprise me if we see that deal being consummated at a $400-$600 million valuation.

Blackberry should of gone with Android. Probably too late now

« Reply #231 on: October 03, 2013, 10:32:02 AM »
Inside the fall of BlackBerry: How the smartphone inventor failed to adapt

Interesting read on the behind the scenes wrestling match dat went on....the underlying theme throughout seems to be Too slow.

ALL Dem boys at de top commin out nice with golden parachutes oui..Heins drive de car into a wall and he get ah $80million dollar airbag for that crash

I have ah contractor pardner doin work on the addition to balsille house at present. He tell mih he have wukk dey for the next two years

dem fellahs good to go

« Reply #232 on: October 23, 2013, 10:06:48 AM »
BBM for Android is released.

« Reply #233 on: November 13, 2013, 04:41:23 PM »
Motorola G $179 8gb unlocked. $199 for 16gb.Coming Soon

Quad core Snapdragon 400 cpu
4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Interchangeable cases / covers
Water proof coating
stock android 4.3, guaranteed upgrade to 4.4
5mp rear camera. 1.3mp front
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4jrz4c0UDKY&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4jrz4c0UDKY&amp;</a>

Demo
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/DKeZveLfQpI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/DKeZveLfQpI&amp;</a>

« Last Edit: November 13, 2013, 05:08:49 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #234 on: November 16, 2013, 08:37:26 PM »

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

Just got the Nexus 5 on Nov 11th. hmmmm.  DHW, what is the strategy for Motorola? wont this cannibalize its other products?

« Reply #235 on: November 17, 2013, 03:18:10 AM »

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

Just got the Nexus 5 on Nov 11th. hmmmm.  DHW, what is the strategy for Motorola? wont this cannibalize its other products?

It's made for the developing market. Third world countries. In America it won't really dent anything it's going to be sold as a prepaid phone. Motorola international presence is pretty low so this should help, I cah even remember when last I see a Motorola phone selling in Trinidad lol. And remember Google owns Motorola mobile devison, so its a great ploy to get more people on Android. I need a new phone but I might hold out for this. $179 is too good to pass up.

Nexus 5 is a better phone, so don't worry too much.

Off topic. Trinidad going to get LTE 4g. Digicel already start upgrading.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2013, 03:30:29 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #236 on: November 19, 2013, 06:36:57 AM »

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

It's made for the developing market. Third world countries. In America it won't really dent anything it's going to be sold as a prepaid phone. Motorola international presence is pretty low so this should help, I cah even remember when last I see a Motorola phone selling in Trinidad lol. And remember Google owns Motorola mobile devison, so its a great ploy to get more people on Android. I need a new phone but I might hold out for this. $179 is too good to pass up.

thanks ...

was trying to acquire a Note 2 but I waited too long. Could have got it for "free' with my carrier (2 year contract) but will I was hemming and hawing about a Note 3, they sold out. So have not done anything as yet.  the Nexus 5 was for my daughter. So as usual, the children have better technology than me.

« Reply #237 on: November 19, 2013, 08:50:17 AM »

4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Water proof coating
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

dat eh soundin bad at all was waitin on S4 mini duos to drop some more, it still just over 300US for dat plus d import costs

« Reply #238 on: November 20, 2013, 07:48:00 PM »