April 28, 2024, 06:42:45 AM

Author Topic: Close call for goalkeeper Holder.  (Read 2558 times)

Close call for goalkeeper Holder.
« on: September 24, 2008, 05:25:07 AM »
Close call for goalkeeper Holder.

Former National Under 20 goalkeeper Thorne Holder is recovering from a head injury which required operation last month.

The former Joe Public and Queen’s Royal College custodian escaped serious injury after suffering a blow to the head from a teammate during a practice session with the University of Maryland  and had to be rushed to the Winthrop University Hospital where he underwent an MRI scan and subsequent operation. Holder gave an account of what took place to TTFF Media.

“I sustained this injury on August 11th at around 645 pm while practicing with my college team. This was two days before pre-season game on August 13th. Someone took a shot and Iparried it wide. As I was getting up a freshman ran into me trying to jump over me, his knee connected wit my forehead. I didn't lose consciousness but was a bit disoriented so I stepped off the field. One of my teammates that was on sideline brought me some water. As he was handing it to me, he discovered that there was a depression in my forehead. I dragged my hand across my forehead and realized that there was a big whole over my right eye. I felt no pain however.

“My coach Carlo Aquista, who was nearby, was alerted as to the severity of the injury. I was then rushed to Winthrop University Hospital where I was immediately admitted to the emergency room. In a matter of twenty minutes, there were about 22 doctors that came by to observe and  ask me questions relating to my consciousness and memory. Then did the MRI which  revealed that there was no damage to my brain. They were still concerned about my right eye. Over the course of the that week I was visited by more doctors and optical specialists. All test showed that my eye was fine.

My sinus was still impaired and the depression was very visible so it was necessary that they operated. They waited until Friday August 15th to operate, because of swelling and caution because of how close to my eye they would be operating.

“I had a depressed right anterior sinus. The impact shattered a 1.5 inch square area so they had to put a titanium plate to hold the broken bones together. The procedure was done by surgeon Dr Glickman and I do wish to that him, the other doctors and staff as well my College team staff for their assistance during this time and I’m hoping to be back to full fitness and playing in the near future,” Holder added. We continue to wish Thorne a safe and  successful recovery.

Re: Close call for goalkeeper Holder.
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2008, 05:41:50 AM »
Good luck to you boss.

Speedy recovery.

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2008, 05:53:32 AM »
Holder went to the University of Maryland last year, but he now attends Adelphi University. He has recovered from the injury, and has since been named Atlantic Soccer Conference Goalie of the Week for the last two weeks.

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2008, 06:47:29 AM »
Tallman ah see yuh done with the college round up

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 07:14:29 AM »
Tallman ah see yuh done with the college round up
Since we have ah US College Players News section on de website now, I eh bothering wit de round-up. What used to be in de round-up is now contained there.

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 07:26:07 AM »
Good luck to you boss.

Speedy recovery.

Ditto.  Seems like this was handled very responsibly.

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 11:56:07 AM »
Adelphi ent UMD, but happy to hear that he's over the injury all the same.

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2008, 01:18:42 PM »
Very close call ...good to see he's ok

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2008, 02:33:33 PM »
I did not know Holder transferred to Adelphi. But Good luck and God Bless!!!!

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2008, 08:15:38 PM »
Thank God he is alright. God Bless Holder.

Question??

Since I realize the US college system of football seems to be arduous. Ah mean, for some reason our players doh seem to flurish in that league/system.

What about the UK? I don't hear about T&T kids getting schplarships to play in the UK's Universities???

Whais D scene??

« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2008, 08:19:44 PM »
Thank God he is alright. God Bless Holder.

Question??

Since I realize the US college system of football seems to be arduous. Ah mean, for some reason our players doh seem to flurish in that league/system.

What about the UK? I don't hear about T&T kids getting schplarships to play in the UK's Universities???

Whais D scene??

Doh think the UK offers sports scholarships...they mostly academic. Only UK based university player i could remember was Abu Bakr....i could be wrong.

Oh by the way....glad to hear Thorne doing well. Big Keeper indeed.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2008, 08:37:39 PM »
What exactly do you mean by that statement? Our footballers do very well in the US College leagues. Unless yuh talking about dey overall development as a footballer.

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2008, 08:50:23 PM »
Tallest,

ah cyar put mih finger on why, buh for some reason they don't seem to flourish. To me our players do better in the UK. Their overall development appears to be better in the UK.

« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2008, 11:41:56 AM »
Tallest,

ah cyar put mih finger on why, buh for some reason they don't seem to flourish. To me our players do better in the UK. Their overall development appears to be better in the UK.

Maybe yuh mean players tend to disappear, never to be heard of again ... except perhaps in one a dem 'what happened to so and so' threads?

« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2008, 05:30:51 PM »
Thank god he eh get injured at home dat is all I have 2 say

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2008, 05:44:20 PM »
The university system here in the UK does not have a competitive set up like the US. You'd find that a bunch of friends may get together and form the team from the student union, and therefore one of the players "coaches" the team, and I use that term loosely. You might get a few good players in there, ( ex academy that did not make it) but the standard is pretty poor. That most likely is becaause of the number of pro/semi pro clubs with academies reserves etc. players prefer to aspire to become a pro than pursue education. those with little or no talent (football) make up the "uni team"

« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2008, 12:36:30 PM »
Thanks Teddy Bear. That was helpful info. and may help explain why we don't see our secondary school players heading to the UK on scholarships as they do in the US.