March 28, 2024, 03:45:35 AM

Author Topic: Maturana's lack of vision.  (Read 1224 times)

Offline PEG

Maturana's lack of vision.
« on: September 26, 2008, 12:31:58 AM »
Maturana's lack of vision.
Fazeer Mohammed (Express).

Is this the swiftest comeback of all time? Buh wait, ent this is a bringback?

I really don't know, nah, I really don't know.

One minute, we're hearing that Stern John is no longer part of Francisco Maturana's plans and that he got word of his permanent (or so we thought) axing via a text message. Apparently, the player himself took the back-of-the-hand dismissal in that context and, with his international career seemingly at an end, local football writers and fans were free to pass final judgement.

Well boy, I wonder if the old Sternos, who is now back in the thick of things for the next two CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers, has taken note of all the characterisations of him as a glorified loafer and a dressing room troublemaker and will use that as motivation to hurl in the face of the critics, as he did three years ago when two late goals against Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium resurrected a campaign that was almost dead and buried.

This time, though, the critical clash with the Guatemalans is away from home on October 11, so he will have to save his off-field vengeance for the showdown with the United States four days later.

But seriously, what are we to make of this complete about-turn by the Colombian head coach of our national team? Was there something lost in the translation and he didn't really mean that it was the end of the line for the veteran striker?

Otherwise, there are only two options: that the man is extremely erratic in his thinking or that he is easily swayed by influential persons in the team or administrative structure.

In either case, he clearly isn't fit to take Trinidad and Tobago's football forward, even if we do manage to scramble into next year's final phase of qualifying for South Africa 2010.

Again, I will happily defer to the experts, however, there appears to be no cohesive plan, no clearly defined strategy other than a policy of musical chairs, and whoever happens to find a seat when the music stops gets a game.

In keeping with the national pastime of completely missing the point, John's fans will interpret this column as saying that the Southampton player isn't good enough to be in the Trinidad and Tobago squad anymore, in the same manner that the PNM fanatics (both the well-dressed ones in Parliament and the rabble-rousers outside) saw the lawless Woodford Square show of force of two weeks ago as a vindication of their great leader.

For what it's worth, let me emphasise that it's not the people, but the process that I'm focussed on. You can't be going one way, then the other, then back to the point where you started from without questions being raised about your suitability for the job.

Only seismographs recording an earthquake or global financial markets in the last fortnight do that sort of thing.

No-one is clamouring for dead-boring predictability. Still, just because there is stability and consistency in a particular organisation it doesn't mean that innovative thinking and adaptability are stifled.

Like building in an earthquake zone, it's all about designing buildings on the same core concept of flexibility, while still allowing the freedom for individual architectural design.

Like playing the stock market, it is about having the discipline to recognise that there is a clearly defined lower limit to risk-taking, given that there are still so many profitable options in the safe zone.

So in the footballing context, it doesn't mean that so-and-so player must get a game no matter what, but that if there are changes, they are made in keeping with a particular vision that incorporates where you are now, where you would like to be by a certain time and the challenges that stand in the way of achieving that objective.

Okay, so we know that the immediate objective is to finish in the top two of Group A to advance to the final phase of qualifying. But the by-any-means-necessary way of doing things is like putting super in your premium engine just to save money.

When, after a while, the vehicle-or the team-isn't running as efficiently as it should, the quick-fix idea doesn't seem so bright, especially if there is considerable expense or inconvenience involved.

Amid the early-season preoccupation with the big-money sheikhs of Abu Dhabi who have bought Manchester City, and the expensive signings by Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool to boost their Premier League title aspirations, football writers in England are now falling over themselves in admiration of the next generation of talent emerging from Arsenal.

Last Tuesday, Arsene Wenger put out a team with an average age of 19 to face Sheffield United of the Championship Division in a League Cup tie at the Emirates Stadium. The result, 6-0 for the Gunners, wasn't so much a brutal mauling as a delightful exhibition of footballing artistry by youngsters groomed to enjoy the beautiful game in a specific structure.

Even if they don't challenge for the Premier League crown this year, there is already the belief that Wenger's vision is positioning Arsenal to enjoy a period of sustained dominance in the very near future.

Whether local or foreign, this is what we need: vision, structure, stability and consistency.

Francisco Maturana can't provide that. Indeed, no-one can if we continue to believe that the vaps of comebacks, bringbacks and begbacks is the way to go.

-fazeer2001@hotmail.com
« Last Edit: September 26, 2008, 04:23:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Maturana's lack of vision.
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 05:05:14 AM »
they give stern uncovered tickets fuh he mother and he screw now all of ah sudden he is trouble in the locker room.

why everybody goin back to guatemala to c de last time he save we when bermuda almost take we spot

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2008, 10:59:27 AM »
:) lol, Fazeer, yuh really say de ENTIRE nation duss miss de point? :rotfl: heheh :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2008, 05:27:07 PM »
He assumin dat he had vision in d 1st place