April 19, 2024, 08:17:08 PM

Author Topic: Overweight footballers face fat fines  (Read 1673 times)

Overweight footballers face fat fines
« on: September 25, 2008, 05:35:40 AM »
Overweight footballers face fat fines
Toronto Star

The coach of Brazilian club Vasco will make his players pay if they don't stay in shape – literally.

"They either shut their mouth or we make them pay," Renato Gaucho said yesterday. "We decided to make them pay because I know football players like to eat a lot."

Renato Gaucho, a former all-star striker, said he will fine his players 300 reals ($167 Canadian) per day for every kilogram over their optimum weight. He said the players have until tomorrow to lose the extra weight or start paying the fine.

Vasco's press office confirmed that six players on the team's roster are currently overweight, including striker Edmundo, a member of the Brazil team that was runner-up to France in the 1998 World Cup.

Renato Gaucho made the announcement in a meeting with his players yesterday.

"Overweight players won't play in my team," he said.

All Vasco players went through physical evaluations recently and the team's medical staff established an ideal weight for each of them.

"Physical conditioning plays a big part in football," Vasco trainer Alexandre Mendes said. "The more players are able to endure 90 minutes, the better it is for Renato."

Re: Overweight footballers face fat fines
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 07:02:39 AM »
He said the players have until tomorrow to lose the extra weight or start paying the fine.

Once I read that line I realize it's just another case of a club trying to take advantage its players. how much weight you could lose in one day. Club probably in some financial difficulties and figure a new way to make some money. wonder who decides what is the payers optimal weight..an independent specialist or the club. bet its the latter. Brazilian FPA to the rescue?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 07:45:07 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 07:09:44 AM »
He said the players have until tomorrow to lose the extra weight or start paying the fine.

Once I read that line I realize it's just another case of a club trying to take advantage its players. how much weight you could lose in one day. Club probably in some financial difficulties and figure a new way to make some money. wonder who decides what is the payers optimal weight..an independent specialist or the club. bet its the latter. Brazilian FPA to the rescue?

The article says, "All Vasco players went through physical evaluations recently and the team's medical staff established an ideal weight for each of them."

Do you know whether the players were warned about their weight at that time and failed to comply?  The article does not state one way or the other.  But if I am paying players loads of money to play a game in wich weight control and fitness are absolutely necessary for success, you bet they will tow the line, be fired or they can chose to play someplace else.  One thing we don't also know:  "What does their contract say!"
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 07:45:19 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 12:44:42 PM »

The article says, "All Vasco players went through physical evaluations recently and the team's medical staff established an ideal weight for each of them."

Do you know whether the players were warned about their weight at that time and failed to comply?  The article does not state one way or the other.  But if I am paying players loads of money to play a game in wich weight control and fitness are absolutely necessary for success, you bet they will tow the line, be fired or they can chose to play someplace else.  One thing we don't also know:  "What does their contract say!"

yep..thanks for answering that question. was focusing too much on the fine. The team's medical staff decides the ideal weight. I'd be less skeptical if it were an independent firm that provided the ideal weights.

also, it's probably not in the player's contracts based on the language used by Renato. This is a recent decision and the club seemed to be weighing whether to drop players or fine them. It's my opinion that if tthis wsa language in a contract, its unlikely the club would be hemming and hawing. Furthermore, there would be no need for a press conference if they were simply executing what was in the players' contacts. The medical staff wouldn't now be figuring out what the ideal weights were if it were a contractual obligation to maintain weight from day one, imo. In any case, just because its in a contract doesn't mean the club isn't taking advantage of the players. basically..i have three issues with the fine. 1) there are far better scientific ways of measuring endurance, strength and agility. i don't think these 'ideal weight' tests prove anything unless a player is substantially overweight 2) the players are being fined every day. this is not promoting proper healthy weight loss and to me is a show that the club does not actually care about the health of its players, and 3) the club's own medical staff did the tests, so its not independent. Most players don't get paid alot in Brazil..300 reals a day is good money.

and his is just my opinion..so doh get so excited

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 03:07:39 PM »
Edmundo still playin football??  :o

« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2008, 12:41:28 PM »
If dey bring dat rule in de savannah league.....football goh done!!!

« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2008, 01:43:16 PM »
If dey bring dat rule in de savannah league.....football goh done!!!

In savannah league dey go hadda fine men if dey too maggah...  ;D...