March 28, 2024, 03:28:17 PM

Author Topic: T&T's best ever Central Defender.....who would that be?  (Read 12315 times)

T&T's best ever Central Defender.....who would that be?
« on: September 29, 2008, 05:57:08 PM »
I goin fuh Russell Tesheira.  Of de one's I see of course.

Re: T&T's best ever Central Defender.....who would that be?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2008, 06:06:59 PM »
Dog, Dexter Francis, Clayton Morris, Talles...

I eh picking one..daiz my 4 favorites

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2008, 06:08:16 PM »

dont fel that these gi=uys are in the same class as Tesheira.

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2008, 06:39:32 PM »

Teshiera mainly played right back for Trinidad with Selris Figaro and Ray Moraldo in the middle and Gordon Husbands on the left 

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2008, 06:44:23 PM »

I agree with you on dis Palos. I still remember the pat on de back he got from Pele when the King tried to move him and he stood still... Man all up in de carib stand was shaking dat day !

« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2008, 06:45:38 PM »

Teshiera mainly played right back for Trinidad with Selris Figaro and Ray Moraldo in the middle and Gordon Husbands on the left 

funny I could still remember him in the centre with the headband ....

« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2008, 06:46:21 PM »

That's not how I remember him but I'll go with your information.

Who would you say is the best T&T Central Defender?

« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2008, 06:52:23 PM »
Actually I remember him in the center too.
Always remember a 30 yd bullet in the oval against Police, Maurice remaining in the same position even when the ball reach back center pitch for the re start.

But Selris Figaro was also ah boss with the Murren brothers around him.

The best for me was Figaro.

« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2008, 06:53:01 PM »

I have some questions on this line up myself ...Gordon Husbands in defence ? and on the left side ?

« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2008, 06:53:25 PM »

Tallest?  You cant be serious.

« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2008, 06:57:27 PM »

Filho man go tell yuh that Clayton Morris made his name and fame playing right back ...is only when he played for ECM motown and later de strike squad that he went in the centre. Dog was good in the air !!!! notice I have three exclamation marks after dat . Talles ??? Filho I know yuh eh serious !

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2008, 07:25:11 PM »
In my oppinion we have have not had quality central defenders over the last 40 yrs.
I'll choose Selris Figaro and Marvin Andrews.Although they won't the fastest men around they both read the game well.Hey, Figaro was one of our first professional defenders and Marvin even play for a big club in Rangers.   
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 07:26:49 PM by royal »

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2008, 07:45:07 PM »

Daz a best 4 for real breds....if Tallest = Dennis Lawrence  ;D
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 07:48:55 PM by fatimarima »

« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2008, 07:49:34 PM »
Eh c nobody b4 d Strike Squad so Dog it is

« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2008, 08:01:54 PM »
Selwyn Murren and Selris Figaro we the best tandem I have seen. Tesheira was a boss at that position also. He was also the most versatile defender we had. He also played excellent at right back and could also play the left side. Ray Moraldo we very good also. Tall and could read the game well. Played very good in the NASL and ASL. I would have no problem with any of them at the back.

« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2008, 08:11:14 PM »
There was a fella comin outta Tranquil a think it was named Carlyle Andrews who ah had great hopes for..but alas.

Brian Rigsby was a nex one like dat but he never quite make it at de national level.

Thanks fuh de feedback peeps.

« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2008, 08:20:35 PM »
There was a fella comin outta Tranquil a think it was named Carlyle Andrews who ah had great hopes for..but alas.

Brian Rigsby was a nex one like dat but he never quite make it at de national level.

Yeah Andrews did'nt come through as we taught he could.He was attending Long Island University I believe, same school as Chinas and Derek Lewis and I dunno what happen after that.

« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2008, 08:55:54 PM »
Brian Williams.....

« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2008, 08:58:01 PM »
Brian Williams.....

Central Defender bro.  Focus!  8)

« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2008, 09:36:04 PM »
Brian Williams.....

Central Defender bro.  Focus!  8)

Big Big fella outa south , Bertram remember him ?
Play with Big Bird from belmont in defence in the late 70's .

« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2008, 10:45:22 PM »
Bertram O'Brien???

« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2008, 11:03:48 PM »

« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2008, 11:27:50 PM »
I will have to go with Clayton Morris as de best I ever see.  There is no way I could go with Marvin Andrews.  I admire Andrews' heart, aggressiveness and aerial prowess but he was slow, a poor reader of the game and he made some costly mistakes in big games over the years.  Anytime Andrews had the ball at his feet I would cringe.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 11:31:25 PM by NUFF »

Offline bigsnakes

« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2008, 11:33:31 PM »
francis furlonge.

« Reply #24 on: September 30, 2008, 02:43:01 AM »
Brian Williams.....
Tell them again nah fardder!!! that was ah no brainer!!! the dread was all that and more ! i used to take in the dread when he played for ASL, what ah class act. if we had him and tallest today in the back line then half we problems fixed.

« Reply #25 on: September 30, 2008, 04:10:37 AM »

Tallest?  You cant be serious.

I second that. From the moment you see Dennis HAVE to be a fixture in the backline, you know we in trouble, as far as the defence goes...

In all fairness though, he has improved by leaps and bounds since his BSC days.

« Reply #26 on: September 30, 2008, 04:20:06 AM »
 Russell Tesheira

All the way,he will always be my all defensive player,I have heard of Selis and Murren and guys from that generation but I have seen The Red Wall at work a Boss
I remember that game in the oval and its not from the lack of effort but Pele met his match that day,man could talk bout Dog and Tallest but check this if you put them 2 players in one body the still could not get up to his standard and thats my opinion

No worries

« Reply #27 on: September 30, 2008, 04:20:12 AM »
I was only around from Strike Squad come up. So my choice is Dennis Lawrence !!!!!!!!!!! overall no one is better. His goal also took T&T to the world cup, it was the most important goal in T&T's history.

« Reply #28 on: September 30, 2008, 05:47:03 AM »
I was only around from Strike Squad come up. So my choice is Dennis Lawrence !!!!!!!!!!! overall no one is better.
Care to elaborate?

His goal also took T&T to the world cup, it was the most important goal in T&T's history.
What does that have to do with him being our best good central defender? On that logic, I could claim Birchall as the best defensive mid to put on a T&T shirt.

« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2008, 06:14:49 AM »

Palos i'm not disputing what anybody says because i myself could be wrong that is if we are talking about the same person,the Carlyle Andrews i know i think he was from South,i'm not sure if he was on one of our national Youth teams but i'm sure he spent a couple years with Defence Force before migrating to Canada/US ,that's the last i heard of him.Brian Rigsby was around the national team when i was there,was not a regular but was in the squad at times.