...Name a central defender from Trinidad who score de goal that sealed our first win in the HEx on the way to WC 2006, scored the goal that ensured qualification to WC 2006,
.... ah lorse here man ... best ever central defender ? dais de fella who coach loan him out because he kyah make a lowly rated second division team in England ? ..going a division lower to get some games ? ....
and held his own against the likes of Ibrahimovic, Larson, Owen, Roque Santa Cruz. ?
Goand watch dem games again ...you sounding like T&T was the same standard of dem other teams ! If wasn't for Shaka it could have easily been half a dozen in the first two games. lampard alone throw away close to dat on he own ...way tallest do ? is de goalkeepers who kept the score decent.....
Filho ah trying to forget you is de fella who tried to justify West Ham benching Mascherano for a fella called " Mullins " .
Nah man ...Tallest ? You forgetting a whole stadium boo dat man already. Tallest came into prominence playing midfield and was so woefully bad they try him elsewhere. I see ah vincey shake up tallest in de stadium ...de man was falling all over de place !! Read de thread again ...if it say the best you like then I could give you dat but it eh say dat.
You may not have seen teesh...but you doh have to believe me ask any fan over 50 ........ Tallest cannot, could not fill dah fella shoes.
If you want to bring world cup argument ..consider this ...Concacaf did not have all dem places to qualify long time. In fact in my days was one T&T team. Then one youth team later. Plenty good fellas who never make ah T&T team would waltz in what we have these days. The standard has fallen while the opportunites have risen. That explains how some men could make a national team today who would not even get call up long time.
Let Coops tell yuh bout Tesheira,,I eh even call Reynold george who plenty men playing national football today still kyah pass....
hahah... I expect no less from you Jai. Hot and sweaty but fail to read. Where did I say Talles and the names I listed are the best ever. Go back and take a slow read.
In any case, I and all tired talk bout T&T coulda collect a few goals well in some of them games but Talles did well imo. I found Sancho more culpable on an individual level and as a unit, the defense had its holes, but Talles reputation was enhanced from his efforts imo. I watch him live..he was especially impressive vs. England.
like it or not..Big Den play at a higher level than most other T&T defenders allyuh calling dey.
Jai..give it a rest with the Mullins / Mascherano talk. You and I both know football and Mascherano just didn't fit at West Ham. Be happy the man is excelling at a team more befitting of his ability. If you are a coach that only plays players cuz of their name..daiz you. But Mascherano was pure shite at West Ham, while Mullins was enjoying a rich vein of form..including a couple of game winning goals. Glad dey bench him. It made him unhappy and he left. Best for everyone. You real sickening wid dat ole talk

And yeah..like I said, read carefully. I say them 4 are my favorites. I was never qualified to say who is the best ever, so I chose my words carefully. I eh no old man so prior to Strike Squad..I doh have any idea who the best central defenders were. you carrying on like I say he better than Tesheira and co. I have no clue who those fellas are. They played in a different era and it doh sound like dey test themsleves at any really remarkable level to even warrant a cross generational comparison. Anyway the foru I pick are among the greatest in my relatively short football life (again..i am making my opinion conditional)
As for talent better, opportunities fewer, in the past..give me a break. Opportunities might have been fewer but Concacaf standards was relatively shite and T&T national teams in dem days didn't even come close except when they cheat we boys in 73. Concacaf far more competitive now and yuh basically playing for 1.5 places with the US and Mexico setting such a high standard compared to the rest.
peace.