April 24, 2024, 05:02:21 AM

Author Topic: Who is de most WORLD FAMOUS Trinbagonian?  (Read 11672 times)

Who is de most WORLD FAMOUS Trinbagonian?
« on: October 02, 2008, 05:25:10 PM »
Ah tinkin it have to be somebody in sports.  Outside a sports, it could be Sparrow (even doh he Grenadian), De Doc himself...de Right Honourable Dr Eric Eustace Williams, or VS Naipaul.

But ah feel when it come right dong to it, if yuh axe somebody in rural Kazakhstan who is any a dem people, dem probably eh go know who dem is.

A case could definitely be made fuh Brian Charles Lara but I doubt anybody in Guangdong province in China go know he.

A dark horse (no pun intended) fuh de title could well be we own clown, Jack Warner (doh feel is joke ah mekkin needah)

But ah jes feel is a straight fight between Dwight Yorke & Ato Boldon.

Football is de world's most popular sport by far.  EVERWHERE ON DE PLANET does play football and Yorkie play fuh one a de most famous teams in de game (notice ah say famous, not BESS eh) so he have a serious advantage dey.

But someting Ato say in a thread de oddah day make meh pause.  De man say "Essentially it is ALL the $ and resources necessary (FINALLY) being put into the sport that has had the most success for TNT globally."

I eh go lie, ah steupes when ah read it at first but den ah stop and ah tink bout it.  1 GOLD, several Silvers, and some serious Bronze against de best de world has to offer.  We never do dat nowhere else.  And de ENTIRE WORLD does watch Olympics.

So ah tinkin, as much as Yorkie well known, Ato Boldon have a SLIGHT edge over him as the most WORLD FAMOUS Trinbagonian.

Re: Who is de most WORLD FAMOUS Trinbagonian?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2008, 05:27:51 PM »
Wha bout de Little Mermaid crab?

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2008, 05:28:48 PM »
Yorke by a mile

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2008, 05:32:33 PM »
Whether some like or not, football is more popular than T&F globally, yes some may argue that we have had more success as a nation in the latter vs the former though of course one is for the most part an individual sport whereas the other is a team sport; but b/c of the popularity of football and the success Dwight achieved at Man Utd w/that being one of the most popular clubs in the world, yes, the ans is Yorke, hands down

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2008, 05:37:40 PM »
very good question
The Mighty Sparrow

Horatio Thelonious Ignacious Crustaceous Sebastian is Jamaican
de man put out two Reggae albums ;D
« Last Edit: October 02, 2008, 05:39:28 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2008, 05:38:40 PM »
Whether some like or not, football is more popular than T&F globally, yes some may argue that we have had more success as a nation in the latter vs the former though of course one is for the most part an individual sport whereas the other is a team sport; but b/c of the popularity of football and the success Dwight achieved at Man Utd w/that being one of the most popular clubs in the world, yes, the ans is Yorke, hands down

More people does watch dem 10 & 20 second Olympic final races dan any oddah event on de planet.

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2008, 05:39:38 PM »
Dwight Yorke...definitely

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2008, 05:49:47 PM »
men does forget that race sooner than you think

it does make good entertainment

but yorke was in men face fuh years

plus when i abroad i does quicker get ah response when i say yorke than ato

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2008, 05:52:04 PM »
Outside a sports, it could be Sparrow (even doh he Grenadian), De Doc himself...de Right Honourable Dr Eric Eustace Williams, or VS Naipaul.

Stokely Carmichael

In terms of Athletes it would have to be Dwight Yorke, then Brian Lara.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2008, 05:55:53 PM by kicker »

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2008, 05:58:56 PM »
men does forget that race sooner than you think

it does make good entertainment

but yorke was in men face fuh years

plus when i abroad i does quicker get ah response when i say yorke than ato

Like yuh does ever say Ato... ;D

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2008, 06:00:05 PM »
very good question
The Mighty Sparrow

Horatio Thelonious Ignacious Crustaceous Sebastian is Jamaican
de man put out two Reggae albums ;D
Just like General Grant.

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2008, 06:03:00 PM »
BM here...Dwight..Lara

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2008, 06:14:09 PM »
I find ah agreein with BM plenty DY and Lara

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2008, 06:45:42 PM »
TALLMAN SAY DIS ONE TAKE WIN

**Allow de pop up to view**

« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2008, 06:47:32 PM »
The 7up guy Geoffrey Holder

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JinBKqSCSac" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JinBKqSCSac</a>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JinBKqSCSac

"uncola nuts" "rather laaaarger for one thing, rather juicy" as he says holding two of them. :rotfl:

"maaavelous absolutely maaavelous"

Well at least that's the first Trini I ever 'got to know' growing up in Cali.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 11:49:56 AM by E-man »

« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2008, 06:47:49 PM »
Ah would have to go with Dwight... With the J league etc: many people have ManUre and after the treble many more would probably have taken note...
I do not believe that cricket has as much a following as football, but more peope may know Lara but usaully from the same region... Almost everyone in India know Lara, but most Americans would ask who...
As for Ato, although he has made quite a name for himself, I do not think he is as well known... Also ask any trini who watches Track and field who come 2nd or 3rd in the 100 or 200 and most people would not know unless the runner was from there country... WHo came 2nd and third in the last 3 olympics in the 100 and 200? Most people would not recall.

« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2008, 06:51:13 PM »
Ah would have to go with Dwight... With the J league etc: many people have ManUre and after the treble many more would probably have taken note...
I do not believe that cricket has as much a following as football, but more peope may know Lara but usaully from the same region... Almost everyone in India know Lara, but most Americans would ask who...
As for Ato, although he has made quite a name for himself, I do not think he is as well known... Also ask any trini who watches Track and field who come 2nd or 3rd in the 100 or 200 and most people would not know unless the runner was from there country... WHo came 2nd and third in the last 3 olympics in the 100 and 200? Most people would not recall.

Ask mos people who is de big mout fella wit de jeri curls who was de favourite and did lorse twice in de Olympics final and dey go know who it is doh....."Aaahh Sooooooooooooo..."  ;D

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2008, 07:06:35 PM »
DWIGHT, LARA, ATO, Billy Ocean
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2008, 07:11:13 PM »
Outside a sports, it could be Sparrow (even doh he Grenadian), De Doc himself...de Right Honourable Dr Eric Eustace Williams, or VS Naipaul.

Stokely Carmichael

yeah, Kicker, good one.
I am of the opinion that it all depends on the audience ya ask the question of.
Like Eman say Holder
when I brought the movie Annie home for my girls I made sure they knew he was ah Trinbagonian.
If you ask people in New York they will know Geoffrey very well
« Last Edit: October 02, 2008, 07:12:44 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2008, 07:18:25 PM »
Depends on who you talking to I guess.

Scottish say Latas, the rest of Europe say Dwight, Africans say Ato, South Asians and Australians say Lara.

French people say Nigel and Marvin   ???

Americans say Jack Warner  >:(

« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2008, 07:18:51 PM »
From my world travels....

Dwight Yorke is known everywhere

mind..u more with MANU than at Villa...At Villa he wasnt as well known even in England....

People who arent verse in the English language know of Dwight Yorke...as they say football have no boundaries...

(throughout Asia..Japan, Korea- towns outside Seoul, Busan even Jeju island..he known....ah time in Tianjin,China..I drinking ah Tsingtao beer...chinee fella ask me where I from ah say Trinidad..he say ah Dwight Yorke...good player...

Among the more literate aristocrats-bamsee sqeezers..Brian Lara..
You go to the south island of New Zealand in winter during snowboarding season..yuh goe find peongs who love cricket and know lara.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2008, 07:22:31 PM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2008, 07:43:09 PM »
Dooflay win that.

« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2008, 08:01:45 PM »
Dooflay win that.
I see that you are the only forumite that calls him that ;)
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28116.msg317507#msg317507
where that nickname come from?

« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2008, 08:23:56 PM »
Shaka, Dwight

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2008, 08:34:20 PM »
Defintely Yorke even though they know him but not as a Trinbagonian.

Ato not really known in countries that don't speak the main languages.

Is funny we lambast the Jamaicans but everywhere I've been people know Bob Marley and of course now Bolt.

« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2008, 09:37:37 PM »

Stokely Carmichael

Yuh mean Kwame Toure  ;D  yeah, def. in black conciousness circles

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2008, 04:51:25 AM »
Though not related to sport, the most world famous Trini is Sir Trevor Mc Donald. The only problem is he is not KNOWN as a Trini, but as a Brit. But when it comes to world news, interviews with the world's most powerful and so on, his face and reputation is well known.

Sport related however, it has to be Dwight Yorke.

From my travels anyway. The only place I've ever been where people did not know of Trinidad and Tobago was Egypt. But they all knew Jamaica and Bob Marley. Go figure.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2008, 06:06:04 AM »
Clearly it hinges on whether the personality is one who is known to be a trinbagonian or not.

Recognisability is a bug factor here - yuh flash up one ah them men pan on screens around the world, how many non-trinis go make them out?

Then outa that, how many many peeps go be able to correctly id them as being from t&t?

« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2008, 06:16:07 AM »
Billy Ocean and Abu Bakar.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2008, 06:27:48 AM by Sam »

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2008, 06:21:57 AM »
Brian Charles Lara :beermug: