April 29, 2024, 08:09:10 AM

Author Topic: T&T open Caribbean championship vs Antigua.  (Read 5436 times)

T&T open Caribbean championship vs Antigua.
« on: October 09, 2008, 05:42:50 PM »
T&T open Caribbean championship vs Antigua.
By: Flex Mohammed.

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and Digicel have now confirmed the fixtures for Stage 2 of the Digicel Caribbean Championships. Which twelve countries are set to compete in over the course of nine days in three countries. The Digicel Caribbean Championships finals are set to be held in Jamaica in December.

Two teams from each second-round group will advance to the Digicel Caribbean Championship finals in December along with two automatic qualifiers — defending champions Haiti and hosts Jamaica, who are the seeded teams in the final. Four teams from the finals qualify for next year’s Concacaf Gold Cup. The eight-team finals are scheduled for Jamaica from December 3-14.

The champions will earn a first prize of US$120,000. The runners-up pocket US$70,000 while US$50 000 goes to the third place team and US$30,000 for fourth position. The top four countries will also advance to next year’s Concacaf Gold Cup in the USA.

Full Schedule

Group F: Guadeloupe – October 11 – 15

Saturday Oct 11:

6PM – Martinique vs. Grenada

8:15PM – Guadeloupe vs. Cayman Islands

Monday Oct 13:

6PM – Cayman Islands vs. Martinique

8:15PM – Guadeloupe vs. Grenada

Wednesday Oct 15:

6PM – Grenada vs. Cayman Islands

8:15PM – Guadeloupe vs. Martinique

Group G: Cuba – October 23 – 27

Thursday Oct 23:

3PM – Barbados vs. Suriname

5PM – Cuba vs. Netherland Antilles

Saturday Oct 25:

3PM – Suriname vs. Netherland Antilles

5PM – Cuba vs. Barbados

Monday Oct 27:

3PM – Netherland Antilles vs. Barbados

5PM – Cuba vs. Suriname

Group H: Trinidad – November 5 – 9

Wednesday Nov 5:

5PM – Guyana vs. St. Kitts–Nevis

7PM – Trinidad & Tobago vs. Antigua & Barbuda

Friday Nov 7:

5PM – Antigua & Barbuda vs. Guyana

7PM – Trinidad & Tobago vs. St. Kitts–Nevis

Sunday Nov 9:

5PM – St. Kitts–Nevis vs. Antigua & Barbuda

7PM – Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guyana

Re: T&T open Caribbean championship vs Antigua.
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2008, 06:13:50 PM »
LORDDDDDDDDD MEH CLASS DAYSSSS

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
why are we playing Antigua in ah warmup?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2008, 11:32:54 AM »
I dont think we should be playing Antigua at this time, its a waste of time, they rank, 133. We beter of playing Panama 91 or other teams closer in ramkings to us, or even our closest neighbour Venezuela. come on TTFF, we will get nothing good out of playing Antigua at this point. Hopefully when the hex comeround, we get some better warmup games.

Re: why are we playing Antigua in ah warmup?
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2008, 11:38:37 AM »
I dont think we should be playing Antigua at this time, its a waste of time, they rank, 133. We beter of playing Panama 91 or other teams closer in ramkings to us, or even our closest neighbour Venezuela. come on TTFF, we will get nothing good out of playing Antigua at this point. Hopefully when the hex comeround, we get some better warmup games.

a local-based squad cud benefit from an opponent like antigua. dont get tie up...without d foreign pros we eh no big side.

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2008, 11:48:10 AM »
jack probably looking for antigua votes or a free vacation weekend. We at the stage where we have to take what we get.
No plan
No brand

you know we does organize warm ups like it is sweat we going and sweat

« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2008, 11:49:17 AM »

This is not a training match if you are talking Nov 5. That is Digicel Cup finals.

also vs. St. Kitts Nov 7, and Guyana Nov 9 in group H.

Offline damiangoal

« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2008, 11:50:44 AM »
jack probably looking for antigua votes or a free vacation weekend. We at the stage where we have to take what we get.
No plan
No brand

you know we does organize warm ups like it is sweat we going and sweat
Like allyuh forget the Caribbean cup! :)

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2008, 11:52:14 AM »

This is not a training match if you are talking Nov 5. That is Digicel Cup finals.

also vs. St. Kitts Nov 7, and Guyana Nov 9 in group H.

Ok then I could live with that

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2008, 12:00:25 PM »
Now that Sancho is at NE, they should bring him in for these matches and work him into the WCQ from there.

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2008, 12:01:36 PM »
Now that Sancho is at NE, they should bring him in for these matches and work him into the WCQ from there.

he have to be in that squad....get to know the staff and be the experience of the squad

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2008, 12:14:04 PM »

They say yuh have to learn to catch little fish before yuh go after thee big ones. Sound like something "Weary" go say right. But fuh real, No top teams will be willing to play us... until we prove that we can manage the smaller or weaker teams. 

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2008, 12:17:08 PM »
get Tulla Guerra in also

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2008, 12:38:58 PM »
Nice. So we could have a local based squad playing for this? And how much of them should get a chance for the last qualifier on the 19th?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2008, 12:49:27 PM »
Bourbon...the Cuba match is not about giving people chance... its about securing a point for tnt to get to the HEX...

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2008, 12:57:50 PM »
Bourbon...the Cuba match is not about giving people chance... its about securing a point for tnt to get to the HEX...

yuh mean de points...

we have to go for a win...
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2008, 01:14:18 PM »

that ah caribbean cup match starting early next month...ah think they change the name of the tournament

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2008, 01:25:34 PM »

Right. I quite understand and expect that. So when we would be able to give people a chance? In the Hex? In Gold Cup? South Africa? When?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2008, 01:30:44 PM »
D cream does always rise 2 d top so let d youngsters play dat tournament plus dumbtist and chipmunk go b at d reins wit out d dynamic duo so we go c d gr8 strategy. I will b there 2 c who could make d transition but from d MLS games I eh 2 hopeful

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2008, 01:58:08 PM »

Right. I quite understand and expect that. So when we would be able to give people a chance? In the Hex? In Gold Cup? South Africa? When?

nobody mustn't get no chance dread - call back jameson & lewis. and if people injured or suspended we go run out wid 10 men. we good at that

« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2008, 10:18:57 PM »
I real excited bout dem 3 matches 2 c if is d return of d cobeau brand dat was evident pre Latas and Yorke

« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2008, 11:52:29 PM »

When they're outstanding for their clubs. Must prove themselves. In friendlies. In tournements like the caribbean cup and the Gold cup. But tinkering with the team is not for world cup qualifying.

« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2008, 01:26:04 AM »

In Antigua

Offline tallandsweet

« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2008, 01:57:13 AM »
One of the main reasons for playing games like this is for
the new and younger players into the mix, letting them
get a feeling for what it is install for them when the bigger
games comes around.

And it is to tempt them into pushing more to be a regular
because we know the players abroad won't come home
for this game, so it is good for the young players and
as me old coach Bertil St Claire use to say you never
know who might be watching the game so play you hardest.

bago

« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2008, 02:08:30 AM »
Simple answer:  Antigua is cheaper to accommodate.  You have to pay these teams to play.  And i notice Maturana dont play against club teams, because club teams are an advantage with team chemistry.

« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2008, 05:35:28 AM »
How u tink NE Stars did beat d national team

« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2008, 10:24:30 AM »

even Whitley....that if he recover from him injury

« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2008, 10:53:12 AM »
watch when they got "The Chance" versus Bermuda..
ask yuh cyat hole TTFF why the youths did not get "the chance" for the past two years

« Reply #27 on: October 17, 2008, 10:54:10 AM »
well i guess its not a warm up. its mandatory.

« Reply #28 on: October 17, 2008, 10:59:58 AM »
Lemmeh get de ting started

Marvin Phillip
Cleon John
Cyd Gray (capt)
Brent Sancho
Makan Hislop
Keyeno Thomas
Akile Edwards
Gyasi Joyce
Avery John
Osei Telesford
Clyde Leon
Keon Daniel
Kerry Baptiste
Attulah Guerra
Densil Theobald
Andre Toussaint
Jamal Gay
Jerol Forbes

If Whitley fit, he comes into de squad
« Last Edit: October 17, 2008, 11:03:10 AM by palos »

« Reply #29 on: October 17, 2008, 11:24:22 AM »
Lemmeh get de ting started

Marvin Phillip
Cleon John
Cyd Gray (capt)
Brent Sancho
Makan Hislop
Keyeno Thomas
Akile Edwards
Gyasi Joyce
Avery John
Osei Telesford
Clyde Leon
Keon Daniel
Kerry Baptiste
Attulah Guerra
Densil Theobald
Andre Toussaint
Jamal Gay
Jerol Forbes

If Whitley fit, he comes into de squad

Add Anthony Wolfe, Nigel Daniel, Josh Johnson, Randi Patterson, Kevaughn Connell and Hayden Tinto to de list.