March 28, 2024, 05:23:28 AM

Author Topic: Anthony Wolfe Thread  (Read 9589 times)

Anthony Wolfe Thread
« on: October 12, 2008, 04:13:38 PM »
Every team have a unsung hero eh.  A man who taken fuh granted but does do de dirty work dat oddah luminaries does shun but dat work does be essential iof de TEAM is to have any kinda success.

I tinkin Anthony Wolfe is T&T equivalent of Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt.  De man have engine...he fightin de game...Avery had it relatively easy on de leff side....and he is a threat offensively as his IS a striker by trade.  I eh sayin he good like Kuyt..ah jes sayin he performs a similar role for his team.

As much as meh layer is Keon and I did question Maturana selection of Wolfe in de squad in de fuss place from de start a de campaign, he is a perfect example of de fact dat we as fans doh see wha does go on in practice and who performin and who not.  Daz why coaches know best fuh de most part.

Much respeck to dis guy.  Fast becoming a favourite player of mine and he will be missed on Wednesday.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2017, 06:37:59 AM by Flex »

Re: Anthony Wolfe
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2008, 05:43:28 PM »
Kinda like Hutson Charles

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2008, 06:15:47 PM »
Every team have a unsung hero eh.  A man who taken fuh granted but does do de dirty work dat oddah luminaries does shun but dat work does be essential iof de TEAM is to have any kinda success.

I tinkin Anthony Wolfe is T&T equivalent of Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt.  De man have engine...he fightin de game...Avery had it relatively easy on de leff side....and he is a threat offensively as his IS a striker by trade.  I eh sayin he good like Kuyt..ah jes sayin he performs a similar role for his team.

As much as meh layer is Keon and I did question Maturana selection of Wolfe in de squad in de fuss place from de start a de campaign, he is a perfect example of de fact dat we as fans doh see wha does go on in practice and who performin and who not.  Daz why coaches know best fuh de most part.

Much respeck to dis guy.  Fast becoming a favourite player of mine and he will be missed on Wednesday.
Darryl roberts have every thing he have two times over, daryl have hustle speed and a much better eye for goal than any other soca warrior with the exception of stern. the man is ah pure clutch player and scores goals out of nothing. yuh eh see the goal the man score against bermuda, ah class goal! and the one against dominican rep was priceless.

i've seen most of his goals in the eridivise, and they were all well placed intricate shots, not no boom kick lucky goals, but well placed shots. they doing this kid wrong dread , well wrong! 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReqvkCLZBV4&feature=related        
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXdTi1vlVLY
look @ this goal against the great AJAX
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHPnIrA77L4&feature=related
l
« Last Edit: October 12, 2008, 09:05:14 PM by just cool »

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2008, 07:32:21 PM »
thank god he suspended...then again Pacho go still probably name him in the final 18

« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2008, 07:49:50 PM »
Beg to differ Palos......Like Maturana rubbing off on you

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2008, 12:19:54 AM »

Dis comin from somebody who think Densil Theobald is a boss player?  8)

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2008, 05:16:55 AM »

*choking back mih laugh*

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2008, 05:24:32 AM »

Owned

« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2008, 05:27:08 AM »

ah cyar help it  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2008, 07:48:10 AM »

latas thinks the same thing also, so i guess he dont know either?  :o

« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2008, 07:50:15 AM »

Latas would say that about u too if yuh was looking for wuk.

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2008, 07:55:41 AM »
Excellent observation palos, the man played well.  It would be interesting to see who matas puts in that role when we playing the US on wednesday!!

« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2008, 09:59:39 AM »

Denzil was a boss player then when Latas thought so...he fall off since he went to Falkirk.

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2008, 11:01:45 AM »
Yuh know....Denzil have far more talent dan Wolfe with de fitball....but ah aint goh argue dat with all yuh...  And somebody bring up ah interesting point....Latas, de man who everybody rate as de fitball wizzard, is actually de man who see de most potential in Bleedah...Not only he, but Yorkie know also dat Densil could jook it.  Is only all yuh does be seeing different.  But once yuh is ah visionary on de field (like myself, Yorke, Latas and a few others on de forum), yuh not going to see what we does see.  And for this, accept my sympathy.  I know the eyes of fans compared with the eyes of players, is like cataracts versus hawk eye - respectively.  But hey, please doh take offense people  ;)  Kiffy doh know nutting because he is ah advocate for Theobald ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2008, 12:45:23 PM »
Kiify is 2 Denzil what TI is 2 Hardest

Where is Anthony Wolfe?
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2013, 11:24:18 AM »
A nex' one going Point Fortin Civic Centre (PFCC)? Whom is he playing for. How did his trials go? Is he making himself available for Hart to see? What's going on.

Re: Where is Anthony Wolfe?
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2013, 12:14:04 PM »
He is at North East Stars. He did not earn a contract in Malaysia.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 12:15:56 PM by Tallman »

Re: Where is Anthony Wolfe?
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2013, 12:47:05 PM »
Nice stuff Tallman.

Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
« Reply #18 on: December 11, 2013, 06:58:01 AM »
Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
By Amoy Ghoshal (sportskeeda.com)

I-League holders Churchill Brothers have completed the signing of Trinidad and Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe, Sportskeeda can confirm. Wolfe was part of his country’s 2006 FIFA World Cup squad and thus will become the seventh World Cupper to play in India.

Wolfe will also become the second Trinidad and Tobago World Cupper to feature in this season’s I-League with Shillong Lajong having Cornell Glen in their ranks. Two seasons ago another T&T World Cupper Densil Theobald played for Dempo.

The Goan club and Wolfe have agreed on a contract with the player’s ITC (International Transfer Certificate) expected to arrive in the next few days. The move was facilitated by Kolkata-based sports management company High Life Management.

Churchill Brothers endured a horrendous start in this I-League campaign and thus released all four foreigners that were registered at the start of the season. The additions of Syrian defender Naser Al Sebai, Egyptian midfielder Abdel Hamid Shabana and Syrian striker Yasser Shahin did bring their first win of the season against Sporting Clube but they are rooted to the bottom place in the table following back-to-back home defeats against Bengaluru FC and Shillong Lajong.

The Red Machines would be hoping that the signing of Wolfe solves their goal scoring problems as they have the worst offensive record in the league with just nine goals in 12 games. Wolfe had been on trials since last week and impressed the club management with his performances in training and practice matches.

Wolfe has spent most of his career in the domestic league of Trinidad and Tobago and was one of the few local-based players in the 2006 World Cup squad. He didn’t make any appearance in Germany 2006 but played in his country’s 3-0 win over India in an international friendly two years ago.

The 29-year-old is very versatile as he can play upfront, on the wings and as an attacking midfielder so it remains to be seen where technical director Subhash Bhowmick uses him.

Re: Churchill Brothers sign Trinidad & Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2013, 09:38:55 AM »
Bit of a Strange one - Wolfe is definitely a good player, but if you're looking for strikers from Trinidad then surely Jorsling, Roy or Modeste are more natural choices? But definitely congrats!!!

« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2013, 12:08:30 PM »
Bit of a Strange one - Wolfe is definitely a good player, but if you're looking for strikers from Trinidad then surely Jorsling, Roy or Modeste are more natural choices? But definitely congrats!!!

You have a point. But he offers versatility. I glad for him. Has had a tough time post 2006.

« Reply #21 on: December 11, 2013, 12:11:28 PM »
Great news!! Put food on de table!!! Well done Wolfee!!!! Persistence boy!

« Reply #22 on: December 11, 2013, 05:16:59 PM »
Churchill Bros seems to be pretty good organization. They take their footie seriously. Here is a Wiki link on them.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill_Brothers_S.C.

« Reply #23 on: December 11, 2013, 07:47:45 PM »

You have a point. But he offers versatility. I glad for him. Has had a tough time post 2006.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #24 on: December 12, 2013, 12:33:02 PM »
T&T 2006 World Cup striker, Anthony Wolfe signs for I-League club, Churchill Brothers FC
Trebol Sports International

We are pleased to announce that our client, Anthony Wolfe has signed for Goa based I-League side, Churchill Brothers Football Club for the remainder of the 2013-14 I-League season.

Anthony impressed the club in a 1-week trial with 6 goals in 3 trial games.  He is now fully focused on the huge task placed on his shoulders.   

"Before I came, I knew where Churchill Brothers lied on the League table.  I know that I have to put in a tremendous amount of hard work in our upcoming games after the Christmas break to restore the club to where it rightfully belongs.  I am definitely up for it.

From Day 1, the wonderful reception from my teammates makes it easier for me to settle in. I watched the 2 home games and felt that the team was playing well but wasn't converting their chances.  I hope I am the answer to their goal drought.  I will like to thank my representatives, Trebol Sports International and their Indian partner, High Life Management for getting me this opportunity. They have shown confidence and great belief in me.

I will also like to wish my ex-team, North East Stars well for the remainder of their season".

Anthony has set himself a few immediate targets for the remainder of the season.

"I will like to stay as fit as possible and injury free so that I can help Churchill Brothers embark on a winning streak.  I am aiming for at least 8 goals in the remaining months of the season and hopefully, my goals will spur the team to success in the domestic Cup and AFC Cup as well".

Trebol Sports International and our Indian partner, High Life Management will continue our efforts to boost Indian football with quality foreign players like Anthony.

Spirited Goa-India go down to Churchill Bros in friendly
« Reply #25 on: January 09, 2014, 07:13:18 PM »
Spirited Goa-India go down to Churchill Bros in friendly
The Navhind Times

A spirited Goa-India football team for Lusofonia Games went down fighting by a solitary goal to Churchill Brothers SC in a friendly game played at Tilak stadium, Vasco on Thursday.

Churchill’s Trinidad and Tobago international Anthony Wolfe scored the all-important goal in the 75th minute.

With both the teams Churchill and Goa-India using the match as preparation for the Federation Cup and Lusofonia Games respectively, it started at an easy pace and it took 21 minute for the match to see a significant attempt on goal when Abdel Shabana’s volley just went wide of the Goa-India goal post. Then in the 27th minute Anthony Wolfe saw his shot deflected out for a corner. At the end of half-time, the score

Second half also began at a slow pace with most of the action being held in the midfield. Goa-India had a few cracks on the Churchill Brothers goal in the second half but were unable to score. Then in the 75th minute, Anthony Wolfe scored an opportunistic goal to give the Red Machines a 1-0 victory. Initially Abdel Shabana had taken a shot from outside the box which was fumbled by the goal-keeper, Anthony was the first to react as he slotted home the all-important goal. 

Anthony Wolfe loves Tendulkar and Lara
« Reply #26 on: January 14, 2014, 06:18:19 AM »
Anthony Wolfe loves Tendulkar and Lara
By Stan Ryan (The Hindu)

He has been to football’s biggest stage, the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany, but there was a time when Anthony Wolfe was in two minds: whether to pursue a career in football or cricket.

“It was like between cricket and football. You know what, I had to choose one and it was football. But, I still love cricket,” the Trinidad and Tobago striker, who is here for football’s Federation Cup, told The Hindu here on Sunday.

Joy to watch legends

“We have legends in cricket as well in our country. Just as you have Sachin (Tendulkar), we have Brian Lara. And sometimes, it’s more joy for me to watch cricket than football. I always liked Sachin because I compared him with Brian Lara. It was a joy to watch both legends go at each other.”

Wolfe, who joined the struggling I-League champion Churchill Brothers a few days ago, will make his Indian ‘debut’ in the Federation Cup opener against United SC at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday evening.

He was a batsman as a youngster. “I didn’t like bowling and while batting, I used to open and sometimes played in the middle order. I played cricket for about three years with our county team, till about 21 years.”

But with his entire family into football, it was easy to grow in the beautiful game.

“It wasn’t a hard thing for me to get into football. That football background also gave me the encouragement to grow because people talk about my uncles, my father, my grandfather and stuff,” revealed the 30-year-old.

“And I was successful in football. My most memorable time in football, obviously, was going to the World Cup because there’s nothing close to it.”

Wolfe’s elder brother, Glenton, has also played in the national team.

“And we played a few times together. It was fantastic, I love playing with him because he plays at the back and I play at the top so if one defender whacks me, he whacks him in return.”

All for a reason

But, why should a star who has been to the World Cup come to India, which is ranked 154 in the world, to ply his trade? After seeing the World Cup, did he think something like that would happen?

“Well, to be honest, I really wanted to play in a different league but sometimes God sends me to certain places for a reason and I think He sent me here for a reason,” he explained. “And whatever opportunity comes my way, I grab it, it’s a one-time, life-time situation.”

“I’m here and I’ve got to get the job done. I know the situation the team is in, it is not doing well in the I-League as well but I am focused on the Federation Cup now, the League I’ll deal with later.”

Deep trouble

Churchill, the winner of the I-League just a year ago, is currently in deep trouble. The Goan side is at the bottom of the I-League table this season with just two wins from 13 games, with the threat of relegation hanging over its head.

And the team is now looking at Wolfe – and at the soon-to-join Cristian Lagos who is hoping to impress his national selectors and play for Costa Rica in the coming World Cup in Brazil – to haul it out of the mess.

“I know the workload will be on me because I’m the striker. If I don’t deliver, the fans, the owners, the coaches will probably come down on me but I am prepared for that,” said Wolfe. “Because, as I said, when cometh the moment, cometh the man. I’m here for the job and I’m sure I’ll do my best.”

« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2014, 02:05:17 PM »
Anthony Wolfe got on the scoresheet for the first time for his new club when he scored a brace for Churchill Brothers in their 3-2 win over Pune FC in the 2014 Federation Cup.
http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/122940/churchill-brothers-sc-vs-pune-fc/report

« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2014, 10:54:02 AM »
Anthony Wolfe scores the game-winning goal (PK) as Churchill Brothers defeat Mohun Bagan 2-1 to advance to the 2014 Federation Cup final.
http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/129397/churchill-brothers-sc-vs-mohun-bagan-ac/report

« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2014, 07:57:34 AM »
Wolfe’s game-winning penalty against Mohun Bagan in the 2014 Federation Cup Semifinal
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Gx9AvJgPXHg&amp;start=78" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Gx9AvJgPXHg&amp;start=78</a>

The Balotelli of Indian football
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PtoLQPbRci8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PtoLQPbRci8</a>