March 28, 2024, 01:02:47 PM

Author Topic: Silvio recalled by Trinidad.  (Read 19383 times)

Offline wrexham dragon

Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
« on: October 13, 2008, 02:41:47 AM »
Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
wrexhamafc.co.uk

The Reds have lost another player to international duty with midfielder Silvio Spann recalled by Trinidad & Tobago for their World Cup qualifier with the US this coming Wednesday evening.

Events developed very quickly on Sunday night, as the T&T party made their way home from Saturday's game away to Guatemala.

In that game, which was drawn 0-0, the Soca Warriors had Cyd Gray sent off before half time, but produced a sterling defensive display to earn a vital World Cup point.

Trinidad are in a four-team group, which sees the top two qualifying for the final round-robin stage for the three automatic places in the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

The United States will top their group, but the Trinis are battling it out with Guatemala for second place.

With two games to play, both country's are on the same points, Trinidad finish with home games against the US and Cuba, while their rivals play the same teams but away from home.

Silvio was delighted at the news of his return to the national side.

"I got a phonecall late on Sunday afternoon," he said.

"After that it was a bit of a panic to get in touch with the gaffer to clear it with him and then sort out flights.

"The TTFF officials were still travelling home from Guatemala on Sunday, so they couldn't organise my travel. Hopefully, everything will drop into place and I will be back in Trinidad late on Monday.

"That will give me time to prepare myself for the game on Wednesday evening.

"This is a very important game for my country and it's get to be involved again."

Due to the times of return flights from the Caribbean, Silvio will head back to Wrexham on Thursday evening, arriving back at lunchtime on Friday.

Manager Dean Saunders was happy for the player.

"Silvio has been down a bit of late, but playing against York and now being recalled by his country has given him a lift," said the manager.

"This is exactly the sort of thing I was trying to point out to the players, if you put in the work, then you will get your rewards.

"It is a long trip for him, but he's used to it and it's great to see him smiling again."
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 07:23:12 AM by Flex »

Re: Silvio on his way home
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 03:02:48 AM »
*phew*

Scared me there for a second... I thought he got dropped by Wrexham.

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2008, 03:28:32 AM »
Carlos is ah far better right back than him, i'm begining to dispise this coach yes!

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2008, 03:47:49 AM »
Carlos is ah far better right back than him, i'm begining to dispise this coach yes!

Carlos will prob play RB and Spann RW    even though Spann can play RB very well

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2008, 03:55:28 AM »

Carlos will prob play RB and Spann RW    even though Spann can play RB very well
cornell glenn is a far far more better option for RW, even better than carlos.

to me spann is ded weight, he has ah killer free kick but that's about it. he fell off big time after that injury.

i'll even take wolf over him, glenn would ultimatly be my first choice for that position then roberts, but yuh could never tell with the mad men who selecting the team these days.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 04:00:12 AM by just cool »

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2008, 04:50:56 AM »
Wow...

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2008, 05:10:51 AM »
Lord fadder, what next??....Beenie come baaaaacccckkkkk....

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2008, 06:16:05 AM »
if they could call spann they can call andre boucard
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 06:22:12 AM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2008, 06:19:36 AM »
ally-y-yuh wanted w-w-w-arriors.. look allyuh w-w-w-warriors..

« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2008, 06:26:55 AM »
nah man.  call him back to ride bench?  cause hell no he can't start against the US

« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2008, 06:32:26 AM »
Allyuh feel the team veterans have anything to do with this ?

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2008, 06:35:34 AM »
Carlos and Silvio alternated very well in the past.

It also gives us depth in terms of offense and defense.

If this is the Spann of 2006...I cool wid dat.

« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2008, 07:00:10 AM »
LOL I mean Sancho right there  ....Matur f**king rana and Anton f**king corneal ....if Spann played like VB said in 2006 but I'm not sure he ready he had one good game and when he get lost he is very lost...sigh what next

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2008, 07:16:21 AM »
This ride getting more and more dizzy.
Spann is one of my favourite players. I would have liked to see him back in the mix in the next rounds  ;D
but to call him back now with two days to go  ??? If they that desperate. Sancho right here.
Anyway if they call him back, it have to be to play. The veterans had to call that shot. He and Carlos used to have a good thing on the right. Interchanging with one another. Hope they could still click.
I getting a real sense that Tutu-rana not calling the shots no more. He don't know Spann.
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

Re: Silvio recalled by Trinidad.
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2008, 07:29:02 AM »
Well, he got a ph call and not a text, so maybe that says something

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2008, 07:36:19 AM »

What makes you say this?

Spann played right back for us - when Denis lawrence got sent off against the USA during the last qualifying campaign - in tandem with Carlos on the wing and Benhakker left them as his starting right pair for the remaining qualifiers!!

I am not saying that Spann now is the same Spann in 2006, but he is an option and i feel that Yorke and them fellas prefer Silvio at the back with carlos than one of the younger players.

Even Carlos at the back made some mistakes with some serious misskicks and ting.

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2008, 07:41:14 AM »
very good call up, i said this in an earlier post, they will move silvio to either right winger or right back, silvio is a very good dead ball specialist.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2008, 07:47:50 AM »
ally-y-yuh wanted w-w-w-arriors.. look allyuh w-w-w-warriors..

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2008, 07:48:16 AM »
They calling everybody but Sancho, de man done in de country and is a good defender. they gone and pull ah man from england who most likely going and warm d bench. dis ttff is one circus show yes.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2008, 07:49:59 AM »
i support that recall

maybe he could take the freekicks now

i know yorke hit the post but span coulda buss de net from they

« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2008, 09:04:23 AM »
Waste of airfare and air miles.

Silvio gorn tru, he blight with a capital B.

He have no speed and he does not tackle. His best position is center mid.

He own manager say he down of late.

Free kick to take in front of who...Latapy, Yorke, Birchall or Daniel?

Carlos best game for TT in this campaign was in that right back slot...yuh will have to be a imps to move or replace him.

I real hurting me to type this...but I putting Telesford infront of he.

« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2008, 09:12:22 AM »

I real hurting me to type this...but I putting Telesford infront of he.

Gosh boy Touches

« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2008, 09:13:48 AM »
I eh know what to say bout this nah.......Spann never really impressed me as a right back.
I remember the other day when the Wrexham fans were raving over his performance and they mentioned it could be because he wasnt assigned a defensive position so he could concentrate on going foward. Men talking about he could take free kicks now.....if they wanted a variety in freekick takers..they have keon daniel that doh get to take any since the big players reach back. Buh.....it might work out yes.....either they drop carlos back and let spann take wing..and let him loft crosses in the box.....or they leave spann at right back and let carlos drive in. The best option to match up with Onyewu physically in the box for crosses would be stern in that case. Buh...ize jus a armchair coach. Let me leave coaching up to the pros.

Edit..now remember Onyewu eh go be dey.

But i doubt dem american defenders go be anything less than tall anyhow.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 09:19:25 AM by Bourbon »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2008, 09:25:47 AM »
If they need a right wing player to replace Carlos, Darryl Roberts sitting right dey. I see him play well dey for Sparta in dat same 4-5-1/4-3-3 set up.

« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2008, 09:31:57 AM »
i support that recall

maybe he could take the freekicks now

i know yorke hit the post but span coulda buss de net from they

De bess free kick taker on de team bar none is not Yorke.  Is not Latapy.  Is not Spann.

It is Keon Daniel.  Ah see Yorke and Latas come back wit de dotishness bout dem have to take all de free kick & corner.  When last eedah score a free kick for T&T in any game...practice match or not?  Birchall should be takin more dead balls dan dem fellas.

« Reply #25 on: October 13, 2008, 09:40:20 AM »
Maybe whoever picking the side now really ent have no faith in Daniel and Spann coming down to replace Wolfe on the left?

« Reply #26 on: October 13, 2008, 09:42:15 AM »
good call up.... welcome home Spanner

« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2008, 09:49:49 AM »
the thing about all this guy's is that we guessing...some say Sancho and other say yea Spann...we just don't know who will show up come game time....ah just hope who ever it is play with heart and soul....we just don't know...we just don't know...consistentcy is alway problem with some players...I love both player... sometime they play very good and some other time they lost..like ah say...who ever it is..play with heart and soul come wednesday cause we need the ah win...not a draw....AH WIN to put ourself in the driver seat

« Reply #28 on: October 13, 2008, 09:50:21 AM »
See? Another clear example of the class of 2006 take over. Silvio playing RB wednesday cause they not trusting no new comer or "Pacho Picks". Sancho will be back by the Cuba game since he locally based now,to take over from Keyeno Thomas.
Keon Daniel getting a bligh because Wolfe suspended and Dwight set him up and he convert nicely, in the first Guatemala game. So he will stay in the mix.

Other than that...all them youths better put their head down and work hrd to get on that plane for South Africa. I just hope Latas choose a youth and work with him 24/7 so he could be ready two years time when the 42 year old magic will be even more fleeting.

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #29 on: October 13, 2008, 09:51:25 AM »
Good call up. Thought Josh Johnson would have been called to replace Carlos on de wing