December 01, 2024, 11:06:22 AM

Author Topic: If You Were The Coach of the US Team....  (Read 3347 times)

If You Were The Coach of the US Team....
« on: October 13, 2008, 11:53:52 AM »
Clearly the US coach is aware of the fact that they can be spoiler regarding Trinbago or Guatemala qualifying for the hex.  Although the US have been given the mantle as the top team in the region, their recent on field performances have not been as convincing as their winning results.  The reality is that anything can happen in the Hex with the likes of Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras (famous for choking at the Hex). 

Contrary to popular opinion on this forum, the US do not respect us both at home and on the road.  I am not sure of the US record in Guatemala but playing in Guatemala City is tough regardless of the opponent. 

Without seriously questioning the present US coach's integrity, but nevertheless as the US coach (not a Trini wearing USA colours for argument sakes), which team would you prefer to play in the Hex?

Guatemala or Trinidad and Tobago.               Why?

Blessing

Re: If You Were The Coach of the US Team....
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 11:59:10 AM »
The reality is that anything can happen in the Hex with the likes of Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras (famous for choking at the Hex). 

Like yuh write off Jamaica...

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2008, 12:09:40 PM »
The reality is that anything can happen in the Hex with the likes of Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras (famous for choking at the Hex). 

Like yuh write off Jamaica...
Not really but to be honest, Mexico more in trouble of making the Hex than Honduras. 

Blessings

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2008, 12:10:54 PM »
if mexico just need a tie

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2008, 12:16:23 PM »
Without seriously questioning the present US coach's integrity, but nevertheless as the US coach (not a Trini wearing USA colours for argument sakes), which team would you prefer to play in the Hex?

Guatemala or Trinidad and Tobago.               Why?

Blessing

They do not care. They certainly do not care enough to try to rig the result one way or another. They are deep enough to expect that any team they put out could beat both TnT and Guatemala.

They may pick weaker squads to ease up their foreign-based players and foster good relations with the clubs but whatever eleven they put out will be playing to win. The fate of TnT and Guatemala is not as important to them as using these last 2 games to prepare for the Hex.

That being said it they have never had a problem beating TnT home or away and we have a knack of taking points off of CR and Mexico so they wouldn't mind having us in the Hex. Also I imagine that they prefer for CR, Mex and themselves to be travelling to TnT than Guatemala, reduces any geographic and cultural advantage that CR and Mex would have.

I am certain that they would not do anything untoward to help that happen though.

Offline sinned

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2008, 12:20:41 PM »
I am fairly certain the coach cares little about whether Guatemala or Trinidad is in the hex. They are likely to play with a weakened (experimental) team for both fixtures but I'd be very surprised if the US loses at home to Guatemala - the US has a dominant home record in all football esp. concacaf football and they are quite aware of it and will be eager to keep it that way.

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2008, 12:48:02 PM »

US team coach

I would be pissed if my team drops points to Guat or TT.

However, I would use it as a chance to look at a few players, give the struggling ones an opportunity to play themselves into form and to give some caps to fringe players.

After the theatrics, the fouling incident in the last game and the injury to one of my players in Guatemala, not to mention the travel schedule and having my better players travel from their overseas clubs...I would be inclined to play TT in the final Hex.

Besides playing against TT looks like 6 sure points and the environment and warm weather is great, everyone is so friendly and accommodating....I prefer to match up with TT in the Hex.

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2008, 01:32:43 PM »

US team coach

I would be pissed if my team drops points to Guat or TT.

However, I would use it as a chance to look at a few players, give the struggling ones an opportunity to play themselves into form and to give some caps to fringe players.

After the theatrics, the fouling incident in the last game and the injury to one of my players in Guatemala, not to mention the travel schedule and having my better players travel from their overseas clubs...I would be inclined to play TT in the final Hex.

Besides playing against TT looks like 6 sure points and the environment and warm weather is great, everyone is so friendly and accommodating....I prefer to match up with TT in the Hex.

Source Touches?
Not that I doubt but I would be surprised if I was that spot-on.

« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2008, 01:51:31 PM »
I wish your question was

"If I was the coach of the US Team what would you do in your next  WCQ match"

1.Bench Beasley
2.Bench Beasley
3.Bench Beasley
Ok and bench Landon ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2008, 01:55:09 PM »
i'd be rich

« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2008, 02:11:26 PM »
hehehe

JDB I make up dat...read it in your best Yankee TWANG

I just responding to the subject nah... ;D

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2008, 02:21:05 PM »
If i was US coach, i'd rather play T&T in the Hex, same way as a Trini I'd rather we play Jam than Honduras in the Hex

« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2008, 02:30:05 PM »
Well he name a tough squad for the TnT match so they not throwing anything.

Let see what squad they name for the Guatemala match.

The problem is

With men like Altidore and Adu and Edu named to the squad they coming out to impress because they want to start in the hex and make the world cup squad.

even when the us name a b or c squad the men and them coming hard because they want to be in the world cup squad.

Fact is there is no easy game versus the US.

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2008, 02:45:35 PM »
If you were Sweden's coach would you rather play T&T in the World Cup?

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2008, 03:01:17 PM »
I wish your question was

"If I was the coach of the US Team what would you do in your next  WCQ match"

1.Bench Beasley
2.Bench Beasley
3.Bench Beasley
Ok and bench Landon ;D
He's not on the roaster.

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2008, 03:33:20 PM »
Whatever team the US put on the field does not matter. The TT squad have to play like is the game of their life. Theat US squad is not "weak". That is a fact. Adu, Edu, Beadley are not novices.