April 24, 2024, 03:16:57 AM

Author Topic: 2008 NFL Thread  (Read 15386 times)

Offline biga84

Re: 2008 NFL Thread
« Reply #30 on: December 03, 2008, 07:14:29 PM »
Went to my first regular season NFL game today (went to a pre-season game ft. the Redskins v. Falcons in Vick's rookie season, but that doesn't count).  Great experience... with the lovely s/o to my left and my best friend and his lady to my right... and a sea of Giant blue all around... I was in paradise.  It was cold as Dante's hell... but the neighboring fans were warm and the Giants are hot... 9-1 and barring injuries or a meltdown (God-forbid) we'll be back in the playoffs and hopefully playing come February again.

nice. i went to my first one a few weeks ago too. i noticed so many other things i didn't pick up on when watching tv. damn the giants look good. running against the ravens

Did you go see yuh boys?  How was the game itself?

What struck me was how sparse the field look... all those close up shots makes the field seem more congested it really is.  Same for the sidelines, there seemed to be a lot less people on both benches.  The substitutions also seemed a bit less organized and crisp than they appear on TV, and very much like a HS or even college game.  This is not to say that the subs were done in a disorganized way, but on TV you think it's this massive substitution and everybody runs on and off at the same time.  The reality (of this game at least) was that it was a handful of guys at a time and sometimes guys didn't know they were supposed to come on/off.

Minor things like that... but a very nice experience, a must for any NFL fan.

Not too sure how familar you are with Football in general but the reason why the subsitutions seem so disorganized is because its just that. a defense puts on players based on what formation / package the offense has on the field, so in essence the defense has to wait and see who is coming in / out before they make a decsion on who they will be putting on. Thats why you hear the term "nickle d / Dime D, 3-4, 4-4". On Offense, you will see this same type of "disorganized" subsitutions because the offensive coordinator has to make a play call and based on that call, the players needed will come on / off. The O coordinator sometimes takes too long to make a call and that is why you will see players coming on with less then 10-15 seconds however they can not break the huddle until the necessary players have come on / off or they will get charged with an illeagal subsitution. Maybe you knew this but I decided to put in my two cents. I agree with the sparse sidline comment, on TV the sidlines look packed but in theory its only 53 players, coaches and trainers.

Offline biga84

« Reply #31 on: December 03, 2008, 07:18:24 PM »
plaxico season done and bloomberg done say he looking to lock him up for as long as possible.

I understand that dem men does be targeted but he really move like a damn fool.  at least go about the thing properly and get the right instruction.  you carrying a loaded gun in a nightclub with the safety off.  shooting yourself in the leg is one of the more fortunate ways for the situation to play out.

Facts not quite as yuh state them from what I hear... he went to the club with the gun and was escorted inside to hand it over.  In the process of surrendering it he discharged it.  I fault him for having an unlicensed handgun and for not handling it properly...

Unlike many, I personally ent questioning why he need to be walking arung with it.  Just last week his team mate Steve Smith was robbed at gunpoint by the driver hired to take him home.  So I fully understand why dem men and dem would be strapped.  Best believe I was walking with it whenever I step foot outside mih gates.

As fuh Bloomberg... he's a f**kkin ass.  All he doing is jeopardizing de case by making it hard for Plax to get a fair trial, and by putting unnecessary pressure on the prosecution at the same time.  Prosecution run and charge him under a statute that carries a minimum sentence of 3 1/2 yrs... but which charges him with carrying the firearm with intent to use on another (that's the legal presumption).  This means that the burden is on the defense to show that there was no intent to use the firearm on someone else.  Given the particular facts in this case and how everything went down he stands a good chance of proving that he didn't intend to use the weapon on anyone in particular (unless prosecution can show that there was a target on which he intended to use the gun at the Latin Quarter).

Should he successfully show that he didn't intend to use the weapon on any one particular person then the prosecution's case falls apart.  It thus seems more likely that they will reduce the charge to simple possession (minus the whole intent to use on another bit), which likely will result in probation, given that he's a first offender.  Some 80% of defendants charged under this new law (in effect since 2006) have had their charges reduced... so this seems the likely route, although the publicity surrounding the case may cause the prosecution to hesitate (not wanting to be accused of favoritism).

Bloomberg definitely not helping... but that's what happens when politicians insist on inserting themselves into the mix for political gain.

You have an article on the Smith getting robbed at gunpoint story?...I heard about it but didnt hear nothing concrete like you saying.

Offline sinned

« Reply #32 on: December 03, 2008, 07:39:08 PM »
plaxico season done and bloomberg done say he looking to lock him up for as long as possible.

I understand that dem men does be targeted but he really move like a damn fool.  at least go about the thing properly and get the right instruction.  you carrying a loaded gun in a nightclub with the safety off.  shooting yourself in the leg is one of the more fortunate ways for the situation to play out.

Facts not quite as yuh state them from what I hear... he went to the club with the gun and was escorted inside to hand it over.  In the process of surrendering it he discharged it.  I fault him for having an unlicensed handgun and for not handling it properly...

Unlike many, I personally ent questioning why he need to be walking arung with it.  Just last week his team mate Steve Smith was robbed at gunpoint by the driver hired to take him home.  So I fully understand why dem men and dem would be strapped.  Best believe I was walking with it whenever I step foot outside mih gates.

As fuh Bloomberg... he's a f**kkin ass.  All he doing is jeopardizing de case by making it hard for Plax to get a fair trial, and by putting unnecessary pressure on the prosecution at the same time.  Prosecution run and charge him under a statute that carries a minimum sentence of 3 1/2 yrs... but which charges him with carrying the firearm with intent to use on another (that's the legal presumption).  This means that the burden is on the defense to show that there was no intent to use the firearm on someone else.  Given the particular facts in this case and how everything went down he stands a good chance of proving that he didn't intend to use the weapon on anyone in particular (unless prosecution can show that there was a target on which he intended to use the gun at the Latin Quarter).

Should he successfully show that he didn't intend to use the weapon on any one particular person then the prosecution's case falls apart.  It thus seems more likely that they will reduce the charge to simple possession (minus the whole intent to use on another bit), which likely will result in probation, given that he's a first offender.  Some 80% of defendants charged under this new law (in effect since 2006) have had their charges reduced... so this seems the likely route, although the publicity surrounding the case may cause the prosecution to hesitate (not wanting to be accused of favoritism).

Bloomberg definitely not helping... but that's what happens when politicians insist on inserting themselves into the mix for political gain.

You have an article on the Smith getting robbed at gunpoint story?...I heard about it but didnt hear nothing concrete like you saying.

http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=3739206

« Reply #33 on: December 03, 2008, 08:50:47 PM »
bakes, you seem to be hearing stuff - did you hear anything about how antonio pierce was involved? was he just there with plax? did he help the reported 'cover-up' of the incident? i havent heard a lot so i was jus wondering...

Haven't heard too much about Pierce's role to be honest... which is why I think the whole thing is overplayed.  Supposedly he helped hide the gun after Plax got shot... but 'hide' it from whom?  The cops weren't involved until days later and when they needed to find the gun it was at Plax' home.  There's a lot thrashing in the bushes and sabre rattling taking place in the press right now.  Typical NYPD bluster.

Pierce had no duty to turn the gun in... they may try and come after him with an accessory after the fact charge but if he has a good attorney he should be able to defeat that by claiming that for all he knew the gun was registered.  The weapon wasn't used on someone else so what crime other than the unregistered gun rap could they tie him too?

Part of the reason I have so much contempt for the NYPD.... and to a lesser extent the DA's office, there's a history chest thumping in that unit, not all of it is substantive.

Not too sure how familar you are with Football in general but the reason why the subsitutions seem so disorganized is because its just that. a defense puts on players based on what formation / package the offense has on the field, so in essence the defense has to wait and see who is coming in / out before they make a decsion on who they will be putting on. Thats why you hear the term "nickle d / Dime D, 3-4, 4-4". On Offense, you will see this same type of "disorganized" subsitutions because the offensive coordinator has to make a play call and based on that call, the players needed will come on / off. The O coordinator sometimes takes too long to make a call and that is why you will see players coming on with less then 10-15 seconds however they can not break the huddle until the necessary players have come on / off or they will get charged with an illeagal subsitution. Maybe you knew this but I decided to put in my two cents. I agree with the sparse sidline comment, on TV the sidlines look packed but in theory its only 53 players, coaches and trainers.

Nah I'm pretty familiar with football... I actually think everything you describe points to how organized substitutions are, they're very situational and coordinated.  What I was getting at is that it seems a lot more polished on TV, whereas in the actual game you get the sense that there's quite a bit of organized chaos taking place.

----

Sinned beat me to posting the article for you.. but the reason you didn't see anything about it before is b/c it wasn't reported until Plax' incident came out.

« Reply #34 on: December 03, 2008, 11:54:03 PM »
well if that is the story I'd agree it's being misrepresented in the media.

I up to speed with the fact that NFL players and athletes are increasingly targeted but the fact that the gun discharged while he was turning it over means that he didn't go about things the right way.  we'll see how the legal situation plays out.

imagine if 2 years ago someone had said that the giants of december 08 had no Tiki Barber, Jeremy Shockey, Plaxico Burress, Michael Strahan or Osi Umenyiora on the roster but they'd be the super bowl favourites.

Offline sinned

« Reply #35 on: December 04, 2008, 12:33:48 AM »
well the hospital doctor who treated plax got suspended "for failing to alert police and signing off on medical papers identifying him by a phony name":

http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/8885880/Hospital-doctor-in-Burress-incident-suspended

Seems like there was/is some legal obligation to alert police about plax's gunshot wound.

« Reply #36 on: December 04, 2008, 02:13:51 AM »
well the hospital doctor who treated plax got suspended "for failing to alert police and signing off on medical papers identifying him by a phony name":

http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/8885880/Hospital-doctor-in-Burress-incident-suspended

Seems like there was/is some legal obligation to alert police about plax's gunshot wound.

Hospitals (in most jurisdictions) have a legal duty to report gunshot victims to the police... imagine if a bad guy caught a bullet from a cop or would-be victim and was trying to hide out?  So, yeah.. there's a public policy purpose to hospitals reporting.

Private citizens like Pierce have no such duty... nor do the NY Giants organization, which is why I find the bluster of Bloomberg and the NYPD so laughable.

----------
daryn I agree with you... the fact that there's been such roster turnover in the past two yrs and we're doing so well is a testament to the job that Jerry Reese has done. 

His is a pretty interesting story if you ever get a chance to check it out, from nondescript player at UT-Martin to graduate assistant, to low-level scout... eventually working his way up the chain in the Giants scouting department to where he is now.  Other than the three SuperBowls, my proudest day as Giants fan was when he was promoted to GM... one of only three black GMs (technically 4) in the league currently.

« Reply #37 on: December 16, 2008, 04:49:04 PM »
Mannings are first QB brothers to make Pro BowlUpdated: December 16, 2008, 5:25 PM NEW YORK (AP) - Peyton and Eli Manning have been voted to the Pro Bowl, the first time two quarterback-playing brothers have played in the same game.
Photos Peyton Manning of the Indianapolis Colts will play for the AFC, and his brother Eli of the New York Giants will play for the NFC. It will be Peyton Manning's ninth appearance in 11 seasons in the NFL's all-star game; Eli, the MVP in last season's Super Bowl, will be competing in his first.

Also on the NFC team: two Giants with a combined age of 86: the 44-year-old kicker John Carney and 42-year-old punter Jeff Feagles. Carney made the Pro Bowl with San Diego in 1994 and Feagles with Arizona in 1995.

« Reply #38 on: December 17, 2008, 09:11:43 AM »
Finally Eli starting to get his due.... now if only we can halt our two-game slide against Carolina this weekend.

Offline sinned

« Reply #39 on: December 17, 2008, 11:36:26 AM »
I like Eli but I'm a little surprised he was put in ahead of Romo. Romo has better numbers across the board as a QB and it could be argued he's more valuable to the Cowboys than Eli to the giants

« Reply #40 on: December 18, 2008, 07:14:45 PM »
I like Eli but I'm a little surprised he was put in ahead of Romo. Romo has better numbers across the board as a QB and it could be argued he's more valuable to the Cowboys than Eli to the giants
dallas eh beat giants twice fuh de year ahready?

Offline sinned

« Reply #41 on: December 18, 2008, 09:05:52 PM »
dallas eh beat giants twice fuh de year ahready?
Nah. 1 win 1 loss but Romo didn't play in the first game against the giants

« Reply #42 on: December 22, 2008, 08:35:08 AM »
Giants edge Panthers in OT to claim top seedUpdated: December 22, 2008, 1:05 AM EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (AP) - The NFC road to the Super Bowl will run through the Meadowlands because the New York Giants did what they had to do against frigid, swirling wind — run the ball.

Derrick Ward ran for career-best 215 yards and set up Brandon Jacobs' winning 2-yard touchdown run with 9:57 left in overtime and the Super Bowl champion Giants re-established themselves as the team to beat by earning the NFC's top seed for the postseason with a thrilling 34-28 comeback victory over the Carolina Panthers on Sunday night.
"It's great for our fans to be able to play here at Giants Stadium," quarterback Eli Manning said after the Giants (12-3) snapped a two-game losing streak by rushing for a season-high 301 yards. "You never know what the weather is going to be like here. We're used to playing in those cold and windy games and I would like to think we would have the advantage in some of those. I think it will be fun playing the games at home."

The fans who braved the numbing wind chill has plenty of fun watching this one. They tossed snowballs onto the field earlier and threw it like confetti when Jacobs won the game.
"The last two weeks we've been disgraceful running the ball," said Ward, whose total was the fourth highest in Giants' history. "We've had our doubters, that we hit our peak in the past. We knew that we could run the ball. That's what the New York Giants are. We run the ball."

New York had clinched a first-round bye earlier in the day when Atlanta beat Minnesota, then added the icing on this frosty night by beating Carolina (11-4) in the winner-take-all game for the NFC's top seed.

"The only message we sent tonight is that team is getting that swagger back that we had last year at the end of the season," middle linebacker Antonio Pierce said. "They're going to fight for 60 minutes, overtime, cold weather, being down. To keep fighting, that's what I'm most proud of."

New York forced the overtime when Jacobs plowed into the end zone from a yard out, and Manning hit Domenik Hixon on a slant pattern for the tying 2-point conversion with 3:21 to play.

Jacobs, who was sidelined in last week's loss to Dallas with a knee injury, finished with three short touchdown runs, and Manning and Kevin Boss combined on a 4-yard touchdown pass as the Giants showed that the cold and wind was to their liking.

The loss spoiled a record-tying, four-touchdown performance by Panthers running back DeAngelo Williams, who gave Carolina a 28-20 lead with a 30-yard TD run 2 minutes into the final quarter. He also scored on runs of 13, 5 and 1 yards.

The Panthers, who have qualified for the playoffs, can clinch the NFC South and the No. 2 seed with a win at New Orleans next weekend.

"Disappointing would be putting it mildly," Panthers quarterback Jake Delhomme said. "The road to the Super Bowl goes through New York. We had a chance. We didn't get it done. We've got to back to work and get ready for New Orleans."

The Panthers had a chance to win the game in regulation but the swirling wind at Giants Stadium pushed John Kasey's 50-yard field-goal attempt wide left, sparking some more celebratory snow throwing by Giants fans.

The Giants won the coin toss in the overtime and couldn't generate anything, and the Panthers followed suit on their possession.

New York nearly lost the ball before its winning drive when R.W. McQuarters muffed a punt at the Giants 13. He emerged from a pile with the ball and then Ward took over.

On first-and-10 from the 13, Ward went 51 yards to Carolina 36. Three plays later on third-and-7, he went 14 yards to the 19 and followed that with a 17-yarder to the 2. Jacobs scored on the next play.

Until the late heroics, Williams and the Panthers seemingly had overcame the non-Carolina elements and landed the homefield advantage, which was important since the Panthers were 8-0 at home.

"Give them credit," Delhomme said. "They battled back and made the plays they had to. They beat us. That's why this game is so much fun. One is excited. The other is totally devastated. That would be us."

New York finished 7-1 at home. The last time they were the No. 1 seed was the 2000 season and they went to the Super Bowl, losing to the Baltimore Ravens.

The Panthers scored touchdowns the first three times they had the ball with Williams tallying from 13, 5 and 1 yard in leading Carolina to a 21-10 lead. The last touchdown came a play after a Tom Coughlin challenge left Steve Smith a half-yard shy on a play that originally was ruled a TD.

Carolina had eight plays of 10 yards or more on the drives of 77, 66 and 65 yards, with five going for more than 15 yards. The biggest play was a 60-yard pass from Delhomme to Muhsin Muhammad on a pass that went right through the hands of Giants cornerback Aaron Ross.

The Giants' defense limited Carolina to seven second-half points.

John Carney got New York to with 21-13 with a 35-yard field goal late in the half, and New York closed to within 21-20 when Manning found a wide-open Boss for a 4-yard touchdown pass with 59 seconds to go in third quarter.

It capped a 12-play, 84-yard marched that took more than eight minutes.

Carolina came right and restored the eight-point lead when Williams, who gained 108 yards on 24 carries, broke a tackle by Pierce and scampered 30 yards for a touchdown.

The Giants' tying touchdown was set up by great coffin-corner punt by Jeff Feagles, a 12-yard pass from Manning to Boss and a pass-interference call in the end zone against Ken Lucas, one play later.

Jacobs scored on the next play.

Notes
Williams now has scored a Panthers' single-season record 20 touchdowns. ... Giants CB Aaron Ross left the game in the second half with a concussion. ... Panthers HB Jonathan Stewart sustained a head injury in the first half but returned. Kasay's miss was only his second in 26 attempts this season.

« Reply #43 on: December 22, 2008, 11:53:11 PM »
Still dem fackers ent giving we we due... Peter King (Sports Illustrated) still rating Tennessee and Pittsburgh ahead of us... but not matter, de cutass tour continues.

« Reply #44 on: December 24, 2008, 04:48:51 PM »
surprise, surprise ... Brett Farvruh uncertain about his future.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/football/nfl/12/24/bc.fbn.jets.favre.sfare.ap/index.html

« Reply #45 on: December 26, 2008, 03:08:14 PM »
surprise, surprise ... Brett Farvruh uncertain about his future.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/football/nfl/12/24/bc.fbn.jets.favre.sfare.ap/index.html

One of the better stories of the year has been the collapse of the Jets.  I have no absolutely respect for that organization since their shabby jettisoning of Pennington in favor of the Starlet of the Month, Favre.

« Reply #46 on: December 28, 2008, 03:46:34 PM »
Lions finish 0-16. 

I really wanted dem men to win one before the end of the season.  new day tomorrow.

« Reply #47 on: December 28, 2008, 06:30:08 PM »
Dolphins beat the Jets 24-17 to win the AFC East with a 11-5 record after finishing 1-15 last year.  Ravens up next in the first round I believe.

Pats miss the playoffs.

Brett Farvruh, throws 3 interceptions to cap a dramatic season.

Eagles make the playoffs oui.  beat the cowboys 44-6 this week and travel to MN for the first round.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2008, 06:47:21 PM by daryn »

« Reply #48 on: December 28, 2008, 07:54:44 PM »
Iggles are a dangerous team... peaking at the right time.  Happy for Donovan... thrilled.  Looking forward to kicking their ass if they advance.  I imagine they'll handle Minny w/o any problems.  Giants had that game won with the backups, but Carney just didn't hit the FG at the end.

Dallas... good riddance
NYJ... ha ha fackers.  S-K-E-T-S Skets! Skets! Skets!
Pats... QQQQ aka 4Q

Tampa... fack dem, can't stand Gruden.  Ent do shit since winning the SB with Dungy's team.

Bears didn't want it hard enough... didn't deserve it.

Detroit... this is a team I've always rooted for, going back to the Barry Sanders, Rodney Peete/Andre Ware, Herman Moore days.  But man they stink.

The Colts were the Indianhapless Colts... Bengals were the Bungles... I guess is time to come up with a parody name for the Bears now.

« Reply #49 on: December 28, 2008, 09:10:22 PM »
Lions finish 0-16. 

I really wanted dem men to win one before the end of the season.  new day tomorrow.

BOY!!!...I bet some men at work $20 dey woulda ONE game for sure....dem men coudnt even win ONE game dred?
ah decade later and the team WORSE  :D

« Reply #50 on: December 28, 2008, 09:14:33 PM »
Iggles are a dangerous team... peaking at the right time.  Happy for Donovan... thrilled.  Looking forward to kicking their ass if they advance.  I imagine they'll handle Minny w/o any problems.  Giants had that game won with the backups, but Carney just didn't hit the FG at the end.

nah we was in control all de time..dat is how we coach does think  ::)

YES!! - We in de Playoffs!!!
but anyway..We going all de way with Adrian Petersen  :whip:

before ah start getting boof, I admit i is ah waggonist  :D
doh even ask meh what number he does wear  ;D

« Reply #51 on: December 28, 2008, 09:59:25 PM »

Lol.. doh study it... AP is de trute  :beermug:

« Reply #52 on: December 28, 2008, 10:27:23 PM »
jets out,ah guess penninton get de last laugh.

« Reply #53 on: December 29, 2008, 10:17:26 AM »
Marinelli fired after 0-16 seasonby Jay Glazer
FOXSports.com has learned that Lions coach Rod Marinelli has been informed that he has been fired. The move does not come as a surprise after going 0-16.

The team will now look at other options. Hot names include Giants defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo, Atlanta offensive coordinator Mike Mularkey, Patriots OC Josh McDaniels, Ravens DC Rex Ryan, Titans DC Jim Schwartz, Cardinals DC Todd Haley and Minnesota DC Leslie Frazier.

Despite going 0-16, Marinelli kept the Lions together and in recent weeks was applauded by fellow head coaches for not having anybody in the locker room, on or off the record, blast the coaching staff or the organization.

The Lions are also searching for a complement to the front office. Believe it or not, Detroit is viewed in league circles as a prime job. They have the first pick in the draft as well as Dallas' first-rounder from the Roy Williams trade, a city starving for any wins and an owner who never meddles.

The Lions issued a news release announcing the firing, with team owner William Clay Ford promoting Tom Lewand to team president and Martin Mayhew to general manager.

The team planned to open their locker room to the media Monday morning. Marinelli was to be available for comment at a news conference.

The Lions completed their winless season with a loss to Green Bay on Sunday, pushing aside Tampa Bay's 1976 season of 0-14 as the league's worst.

Ford also did not retain defensive coordinator Joe Barry, who is Marinelli's son-in-law, assistant offensive line coach Mike Barry, his son-in-law's dad, and secondary coach Jimmy Lake.

Defensive line coach Joe Cullen's contract was not renewed and offensive coordinator Jim Colletto was demoted to offensive line coach.

Marinelli won only one of his last 24 games and was 10-38 in three years after former team president Matt Millen gave the former Buccaneers assistant his first head coaching job.

Millen was fired as team president three months ago, but the players he left behind coupled with the former Tampa Bay players Marinelli wanted created the perfect storm for a historic season of futility.

Marinelli was the third coach Millen hired - following Steve Mariucci and Marty Mornhinweg - in what has been the NFL's worst eight-season stretch since World War II.

Fans and reporters cut Marinelli some slack during in his first year, when he went 3-13, because of the Millen-created mess he inherited. Hopes rose when Detroit was 6-2 midway through last year but were quickly dashed when the team finished 7-9.

The Lions fired offensive coordinator Mike Martz after the 2007 season but retained Marinelli's son-in-law to lead the defense.

That led to more scrutiny and exchange with a columnist that made Marinelli a martyr of sorts.

Detroit News columnist Rob Parker asked Marinelli if he wished his daughter married a better defensive coordinator after a 42-7 loss to New Orleans.

Marinelli didn't answer the question during his news conference, but lashed out the next day with anger he hid after his string of losses.

"Anytime you attack my daughter, I've got a problem with that," Marinelli bristled.

The Vietnam veteran said he would never quit, saying he was insulted when a reporter asked about the option.

« Reply #54 on: December 29, 2008, 10:27:56 AM »
mangini gone too.

« Reply #55 on: December 29, 2008, 08:47:03 PM »

AP is ah boss but he needs to stop fumbling the ball, like he does soak his hand in blue band margarine before the game.

« Reply #56 on: December 30, 2008, 07:48:33 PM »
Mike Shanahan out at Denver... wow!

I bet he's now at the top of Jerry Jones' post-Christmas wish list.

« Reply #57 on: December 30, 2008, 11:38:04 PM »
Falcons' Ryan wins top offensive rookie honorUpdated: December 30, 2008, 4:39 PM NEW YORK (AP) - Matt Ryan found a quick way to make Falcons fans forget Michael Vick, Bobby Petrino and all the ugliness of Atlanta football.

Rising Rookie
Matt Ryan
Atlanta Falcons
Quarterback

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
G Comp. Att. Yds. TD INT
16 265 434 3440 16 11
The quarterback led a sensational turnaround from laughingstock franchise to Super Bowl contender, for which Ryan earned The Associated Press 2008 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award Tuesday.

And he did it in a year loaded with outstanding offensive rookie performances.

"I'm certainly flattered," Ryan said. "There's a number of guys who had great rookie seasons this year, so to even be mentioned in that light is nice. It's certainly a great honor, and I think it speaks to what we did as a team this year."

What the Falcons did was go 11-5 and make the playoffs after a dismal 2007 that saw Vick incarcerated for dogfighting and Petrino leave after 13 games to go coach Arkansas. Ryan was chosen third overall out of Boston College to be the cornerstone of Atlanta's rebuilding.

The Falcons can take pride in the foundation he has laid.

"The season seems like a blur, without question," Ryan said. "It seems like it's gone by so fast. I just really tried to take in stride and not get caught up in all the things that happened this year.

"I think that's the biggest thing. We had success and we were able to get a wild-card spot, so that was the huge thing for us this year. Now that we're in we have a chance like everybody else. Hopefully we can make the most of it."

Few quarterbacks make so much out of their first NFL seasons. Since 1957, when the award was first given, only three quarterbacks have won it, all recently: Pittsburgh's Ben Roethlisberger in 2004, Tennessee's Vince Young in 2006, and Ryan.

Ryan was a landslide winner in balloting by a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the league. He collected 44 votes, far in front of Titans running back Chris Johnson with three. Broncos tackle Ryan Clady had two and Bears running back Matt Forte got one.
"I'm not trying to compare anybody to Peyton Manning," Saints linebacker Scott Fujita said, "but for somebody to do that that early in their career and have that much maturity and that much control of the offense, and be able to dictate to us the things that they wanted to do, I was impressed with him. And frustrated and ticked off at the same time."

Ryan ranked 11th in passer rating at 87.7 and had 16 touchdowns to go with 11 interceptions. But it wasn't the numbers as much as his command of the huddle and his cool under pressure that made him — and the Falcons — winners.

"Obviously the big question was how well Matt would perform as a rookie quarterback," Falcons veteran linebacker Keith Brooking said. "We knew there'd be bumps in the road, but it's unbelievable what he's done in such a short period of time with the guys on our offense."

The balloting doesn't indicate the outstanding depth of the rookie class on offense. Running backs Steve Slaton of Houston, Tim Hightower of Arizona, Ray Rice of Baltimore, Jonathan Stewart of Carolina, Felix Jones and Tashard Choice of Dallas, Peyton Hillis of Denver, Kevin Smith of Detroit and Jamaal Charles of Kansas City all were contributors. So were wide receivers Eddie Royal of Denver, DeSean Jackson of Philadelphia, Davone Bess of Miami and Donnie Avery of St. Louis.

Another rookie quarterback, Joe Flacco of Baltimore, helped lead his team into the playoffs.

Add in tight ends John Carlson of Seattle and Dustin Keller of the Jets and the strength of the first-year crop is impressive.

And Ryan was the cream.

« Reply #58 on: December 31, 2008, 07:56:36 AM »

yeah, I actually just came online to verify that after I thought I glimpsed that in a paper over someone's shoulder this morning.

I eh know what to say about that oui.  I thought he was the Jerry Sloan of the NFL.  with rings.

« Reply #59 on: December 31, 2008, 03:12:15 PM »

yeah, I actually just came online to verify that after I thought I glimpsed that in a paper over someone's shoulder this morning.

I eh know what to say about that oui.  I thought he was the Jerry Sloan of the NFL.  with rings.

Interestingly enough, perception is a helluva thing eh... it really seems like he was tremendously successful during his time in Denver.  But ah was listening on talk radio in mih car yesterday evening, and then on ESPN on TV... he's barely been above .500 the past 10 seasons, ever since Elway retired.  Of course you could say that since Elway retired they haven't really had any stability... shoot, productivity at the QB position until now with Cutler... and even so, Cutler still erratic.

Ultimately though offense has never been their problem... their defensive play the past several seasons have been horrendous... I think ultimately that is what led to so many losses.