Ride Pine?
2 (5.4%)
Come of the bench?
5 (13.5%)
Not sure as yet
2 (5.4%)

Total Members Voted: 37

Voting closed: October 15, 2008, 08:21:55 AM

Author Topic: How would you rate Jason Scotland's Saturady Performance?  (Read 4634 times)

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
How would you rate Jason Scotland's Saturady Performance?
« on: October 13, 2008, 08:21:55 AM »
I didnt get to see much of the match..when i tune in we was under pressure from Guat cause we was short so we was defending right through....Didnt get to see scotty play....so please let me know what allyuh think bout his performance..Starter, second half sub, ride pine, or if allyuh need to see him play one more game at least to decide.

Blessed Love
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Re: How would you rate Jason Scotland's Saturady Performance?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 08:31:52 AM »
I thought he did well... and if Stern not able to play vz USA...then i would stary scotty again...

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2008, 09:21:16 AM »
I thought he did well... and if Stern not able to play vz USA...then i would stary scotty again...

He had a very good first half, he fell off the radar in the second, but he put in a good shift overall.

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2008, 09:21:53 AM »
Very good in the first half. Disappear somewhat after the sending off when we were mostly on the defensive.

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2008, 09:47:13 AM »
folks...he went to the right side after the red card...

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2008, 09:53:23 AM »
I think he play good...but like ah said...you have to put ur chanced away....and this game coming up here if he start he have to put more fight in the game..to sore

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2008, 09:57:49 AM »
He was excellent and we looked dangerous whenever he got the ball at his feet in the first half. he did exactly what the Swans faithful say,in that he keeps possession and holds up well allowing others to join the play.

His two other main competitiors for that lone striker position (who shall remain namelss )generally do the following:

One tries to take on his man and if he gets through, he blasts overbars or straight to the keeper or sends a nice cross in to nobody since the others are not fit enough to keep up with the play. His plus on Scotty though, is his pace and he draws more fouls.

The other usually falls down and appeals for a foul, is offside or gets blown for a foul or handball, unless the ball is in the area when he usually has a chance to convert. His plus on Scotty though is that once he on the field, he tends to get a goal, even if he has to miss 8 chances to get one in and even though he put down a pile and do nothing else for the rest of the game.

Second half he hustled will in the midfield position but lack of pace with him and Yorke on the break didn't allow them to really do much in support of Glen, as tjese were the only three men going forward once we were down to ten.

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2008, 09:58:39 AM »
I think he play good...but like ah said...you have to put ur chanced away....and this game coming up here if he start he have to put more fight in the game..to sore

In his defence, he create the chances he had...he didn't get chances handed to him to throw away. Maybe if he was fed chances he woulda score them.

« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2008, 12:01:14 PM »
He looked good with his back against the goal in the first half.  You could see that his confidence level is high.  He should have scored though. 

Offline iceberg

« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2008, 12:32:51 PM »
I think he play excellent in the first half. With the ball at his feet he is dangerous and really holds the ball up well to bring other players into the game when attacking.  But he needs to put away the chances he gets and that has always been his downfall playing for Trinidad & Tobago.  He should have scored in the first half. But he gets my nod to start next game.
If your heart is not in the game then your not a true footballer!!!

« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2008, 12:38:05 PM »
6.5 round out 2 ah 7

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2008, 12:55:45 PM »
i would give him a 7.5 out of 10 for his performance..

he was excellent at holding up the ball and getting the others into the play and was dangerous.

Alot of people saying he should have put away his chance but imo it wasn't as clear cut as some make it out to be...

He did very well to pongs off the defender who was in position to get the pass first of all.. then he hit another defender coming in hard a quick spanner to put it on his left foot but from what i saw the angles were closing in sharply and he hit straight at the keeper..

i would start him against the usa.

« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2008, 02:09:54 PM »
He played really well and easily could have been a bigger treat if we didn't go into a defensive game. After all the griping about not playing the earlier games, he came on and was fighting for the ball and creating his chances and should definitely start on Wednesday. The man earn he pick.

Offline Saywha

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2008, 02:42:09 PM »
he play like he did not want to sit down on dat bench.  ;D

Good start by him.  I actually thought he was going to score at some points.
We need dat kinda pace on Wednesday.

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2008, 03:26:20 PM »

here is a clip of the chance courtesy jah gol..

look at the defender who come biting in and eat the spanner...

then rotate 180 degrees and sticking an awkward leg out to block.. he look like he directing traffic! :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2008, 03:31:49 PM »
he play like he did not want to sit down on dat bench.   ;D

Good start by him.  I actually thought he was going to score at some points.
We need dat kinda pace on Wednesday.

:D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2008, 05:36:36 PM »
7 first half 5.5 second

I would start him (and I'm saying this as a Stern fan)

The only thing is if we're not leading by the half, it will be hard to not bring Stern on, and until proof of the contrary, having both of them on the field is not ideal. In other words, if we start him and he ineffective, we will have to make 2 striker subs (since this is essentially a must win game) When you consider that one sub reserve for Latas (to take him off if he start or to bring him on if we need a spark), and you never know who could get injured in the defense/defensive midfield/goalkeeping department, that is making it kind of tight.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 05:38:21 PM by Midknight »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2008, 05:39:46 PM »
start him but he n edwards ahdda practice shooting for the corners of the post

and ince need to close he legs

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2008, 06:00:19 PM »
start him but he n edwards ahdda practice shooting for the corners of the post

and ince need to close he legs

nah edwards had time to do what he wanted, scotland take that shot under pressure. Yes he shoulda score, but u still cant class his and edwards shot together.

I realise a lot of times Ince wasnt getting his body behind the ball - long barrier- even the commentators spoke about it. Thats the same mistake he made when he missed the ball. Any lil bad bouce coulda be disastrous.

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2008, 06:03:22 PM »
I was never much of a Scotland fan, but the man real playl Saturday.

Give jack he jacket and jim he gymboots.  Scotty real play.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2008, 05:44:52 PM »
Thanks fellas i like wah i hearing....sounds like if we didnt lose Cyd to ah red card (again..) we woulda buss up dem ole onion bag...saw the edwards chance.....ah go leave dat right dey yes.

Lol at dinho break down of the video clip..scotty really beat dah man inside out...almost plait him up yes...hahahahahahaha...woulda look real nice if he did score doh.

Well let's hope he gets the green light to start tomorrow...sounds like he deserve it.

See allyuh in the chat room tomorrow...and run Berrylicious if se ome back wid dah chupidness again nah...

Blessed love
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2008, 05:52:48 PM »

spanner?  ???

« Reply #22 on: October 14, 2008, 06:06:15 PM »

spanner?  ???

yuh eh find so?

Offline st john strikers

« Reply #23 on: October 14, 2008, 10:23:16 PM »
if we need to play a second striker who would pair with scotty?  Would you start Stern and scotty and play a 4-3-1-2 with lattas playing just behind them? 

I know there is no chance of see that happen but we need to push and force the issue against the US.

go on the warriors!!!

« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2008, 02:17:41 AM »

spanner?  ???

yuh eh find so?

If yuh talkin bout dis clip below...me eh see Scotty put a spanner (what I know a spanner to be anyway) on anybody

But perhaps my understandin of what a spanner is wrong...

Dis is a spanner to me...

But I could be wrong.