April 26, 2024, 05:09:51 AM

Author Topic: Signal Hill secure SSFL 'Big Five' spot.  (Read 2868 times)

Signal Hill secure SSFL 'Big Five' spot.
« on: October 14, 2008, 03:47:54 AM »
Signal Hill secure SSFL 'Big Five' spot.
...face San Juan at Malabar today
By: Kern De Freitas (Express).

Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive will fight for national "Big Five" honours in the BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) Tobago Zone today after a 2-0 victory over Scarborough Secondary on Sunday at the Dwight Yorke Stadium Training Ground sealed their zonal title.

Their second victory over the same opponents in back-to-back matches last weekend put them back on the national stage, as they snatched the title out of the hands of defending champions Mason Hall Government Secondary.

Renako Jack (fifth minute) and Dereem Moore (35th) both found the net in the first half to give Signal Hill the win and take them to an unassailable 21 points.

Mason Hall finished on 19 points after a loss to Signal Hill in Round One of the League, as well as a draw against Scarborough.

They, however, edged Signal Hill 1-0 in the return fixture last week, meaning their rivals needed two wins against Scarborough inside two days-including Sunday's re-scheduled encounter--to book a Big Five quarter-final spot.

Signal Hill beat Scarborough 1-0 on Saturday on the Dwight Yorke Stadium's main pitch and Sunday's victory cemented their place atop the Tobago Zone standings after their final league match.

Signal Hill will now take on SSFL East Zone champions San Juan Secondary Comprehensive today at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar, for the right to face South winners Naparima College at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella on Thursday.
All joy for Compre, Trinity.
Malick relegated, Fatima lose title race.
By: Garth Wattley (Express).

There was mas in the mud at Moka yesterday.

No draw in all of the BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League this season brought as much celebration out of two teams as yesterday's 2-2 battle royale between Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive and Trinity College.

Players, staff, teachers and student supporters were all caught up in the moment minutes after Mucurapo's Mutar Taylor slotted a 90th minute equaliser past Trinity custodian Zane Coker to earn the really hard way the precious point his side needed to clinch this year's North Zone title and a place in the Big Five national playoffs.

Taylor's and Compre's moment in the dusk, however, had to be shared with Mikhail Walters-Dindial and his Trinity posse.

The nimble left-flanker's double also ensured that Trinity won yet another battle for survival in the Championship Division.

With one outstanding game still to be played against last season's champions St Anthony's College, Trinity (eight points) have put themselves an unassailable point clear of cellar-placed Malick Secondary Comprehensive, who have completed their league campaign.

And for the first time since attaining Championship Division status, the Morvant school, with a record six national League titles, will be relegated.

Relief and ecstasy, not despair however, would have been the only emotion in the Mucurapo camp yesterday evening.

Mucurapoo's fourth North Zone triumph in five seasons was achieved on superior goal difference with drama and against the odds.

The zone's front-runners had to claw their way back from two goals down against an inspired and equally desperate Trinity on a surface that was espcially difficult.

Hardly bone dry at the best of times, Moka was a muddy bog following afternoon rain. Not at all did it suit the short-passing, skilfull Compre game. And for most of the match, the boys in maroon struggled to come to terms with opponents who were sturdy in the tackle and won the majority of the 50-50 balls.

And in Walters-Dindial, Trinity seemed to have the match-winner. On either side of half time-in the 39th and 57th minutes-he put his side on survival road.

First, he put away the rebound from his initial shot-saved by goalkeeper Michael Duff- following a cross from Jamal Burke. That he got the chance at all was due to his side twice winning back the ball off their opponents.

The slender Walters-Dindial seemed to be both his side's creative spark and most lethal weapon.

He proved to be such in the second period when fed the ball on the left side just outside the penalty area. Cutting inside, his sharp movement wrong-footed a Mucurapo defender who went sliding out of the play, opening up the way for Walters-Dindial's firm drive which beat leaping Compre keeper Michael Duff and struck the roof of the net.

At this stage, the title seemed to be headed to the Fatima College side of Mucurapo Road. Two goals for a draw seemed as elusive for Mucurapo as the wisps of clouds in the surrounding valley.

And the score could well, should well have been 3-0 but for Trinity substitute Joel Carasquero's hitting straight at keeper Duff when he had more than enough time to pick his spot.

That was perhaps the moment on which the championship race turned. Shortly after in the 83rd minute, Trinity got loose at the back and a low right-side cross eluded goalie Coker but not a grateful Terrence Clarke- 2-1.

The goal roused the visitors and their travelling support.

"One more Compre, one more!" insisted Clarke and company's vocal teachers.

Chances at both ends came in a rush. But Trinity still seemed capable enough to hold out for the win. With injury-time beckoning, though, Trinity skipper Brian Andrews misplaced a pass in midfield and Mucurapo started a counter-attack, the end result of which was a clinical finish from Taylor on the right side of the six-metre box.

"Composure!" shouted his elated relatives.

It was composure that was worth its weight in silverware.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 03:54:26 AM by Flex »

Re: Signal Hill secure SSFL 'Big Five' spot.
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2008, 05:13:49 AM »
SIGNAL HILL!!!    :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 05:15:46 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2008, 06:51:31 AM »
Signal Hill back on the rise. good for dem

Pssst Morvant Man...Malick get RELEGATED
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2008, 07:43:35 AM »
Source Trinidad Express

Causing trouble: Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive hero Muntar Taylor, second from right, causes anxiety for his Trinity College opponents during yesterday's decisive rescheduled Secondary Schools Football League North Zone encounter at Moka, Maraval. Taylor eventually earned a 2-2 draw for Mucurapo which was enough to give them the zonal title on goal difference. - Photo: Curtis Chase

There was mas in the mud at Moka yesterday.

No draw in all of the BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League this season brought as much celebration out of two teams as yesterday's 2-2 battle royale between Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive and Trinity College.

Players, staff, teachers and student supporters were all caught up in the moment minutes after Mucurapo's Mutar Taylor slotted a 90th minute equaliser past Trinity custodian Zane Coker to earn the really hard way the precious point his side needed to clinch this year's North Zone title and a place in the Big Five national playoffs.

Taylor's and Compre's moment in the dusk, however, had to be shared with Mikhail Walters-Dindial and his Trinity posse.

The nimble left-flanker's double also ensured that Trinity won yet another battle for survival in the Championship Division.

With one outstanding game still to be played against last season's champions St Anthony's College, Trinity (eight points) have put themselves an unassailable point clear of cellar-placed Malick Secondary Comprehensive, who have completed their league campaign.

And for the first time since attaining Championship Division status, the Morvant school, with a record six national League titles, will be relegated.

Relief and ecstasy, not despair however, would have been the only emotion in the Mucurapo camp yesterday evening.

Mucurapoo's fourth North Zone triumph in five seasons was achieved on superior goal difference with drama and against the odds.

The zone's front-runners had to claw their way back from two goals down against an inspired and equally desperate Trinity on a surface that was espcially difficult.

Hardly bone dry at the best of times, Moka was a muddy bog following afternoon rain. Not at all did it suit the short-passing, skilfull Compre game. And for most of the match, the boys in maroon struggled to come to terms with opponents who were sturdy in the tackle and won the majority of the 50-50 balls.

And in Walters-Dindial, Trinity seemed to have the match-winner. On either side of half time-in the 39th and 57th minutes-he put his side on survival road.

First, he put away the rebound from his initial shot-saved by goalkeeper Michael Duff- following a cross from Jamal Burke. That he got the chance at all was due to his side twice winning back the ball off their opponents.

The slender Walters-Dindial seemed to be both his side's creative spark and most lethal weapon.

He proved to be such in the second period when fed the ball on the left side just outside the penalty area. Cutting inside, his sharp movement wrong-footed a Mucurapo defender who went sliding out of the play, opening up the way for Walters-Dindial's firm drive which beat leaping Compre keeper Michael Duff and struck the roof of the net.

At this stage, the title seemed to be headed to the Fatima College side of Mucurapo Road. Two goals for a draw seemed as elusive for Mucurapo as the wisps of clouds in the surrounding valley.

And the score could well, should well have been 3-0 but for Trinity substitute Joel Carasquero's hitting straight at keeper Duff when he had more than enough time to pick his spot.

That was perhaps the moment on which the championship race turned. Shortly after in the 83rd minute, Trinity got loose at the back and a low right-side cross eluded goalie Coker but not a grateful Terrence Clarke- 2-1.

The goal roused the visitors and their travelling support.

"One more Compre, one more!" insisted Clarke and company's vocal teachers.

Chances at both ends came in a rush. But Trinity still seemed capable enough to hold out for the win. With injury-time beckoning, though, Trinity skipper Brian Andrews misplaced a pass in midfield and Mucurapo started a counter-attack, the end result of which was a clinical finish from Taylor on the right side of the six-metre box.

"Composure!" shouted his elated relatives.

It was composure that was worth its weight in silverware.

Re: Pssst Morvant Man...Malick get RELEGATED
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2008, 07:45:25 AM »
hmm put morvantman on suicide watch..i know how i felt wen Pres went down.
But it was a blessing in disguise for us as it made the admin more serious about the football.

« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2008, 07:48:39 AM »
well well well...we hear all kinda thing when st. Mary's went down. Let de gobar flow now.

Mih farda probably rolling in he grave all now though...

« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2008, 07:51:00 AM »
I was rooting for Trinity to win...83 minutes and yuh have a side 2-0.

Hard luck there for both Trinity and Fatima and well done compre...to score 2 in the end there...good job.

« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2008, 08:23:24 AM »
They could bring back Dwarika.

He only leave last year after playing the last 15 season for Malick in Intercol.

« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2008, 08:26:09 AM »
They could bring back Dwarika.

He only leave last year after playing the last 15 season for Malick in Intercol.

:D ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2008, 08:26:21 AM »
I was rooting for Trinity to win...83 minutes and yuh have a side 2-0.

Hard luck there for both Trinity and Fatima and well done compre...to score 2 in the end there...good job.

Fatima was seconds away from the title...so close yet so far away....damn

« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2008, 08:28:56 AM »
stupessss

« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2008, 08:32:36 AM »
Morvant Man is a cycle.

Fatima and CIC went through it. Leh we see if all yuh have the resolve to pull all yuh self out of the doldrums next season.

« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2008, 10:04:26 AM »
playing in ti marie ent dat bad :devil:

it does make ya appreciate top grade Savanah(Axonopuscompressus) grass  ;D
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 10:06:36 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2008, 10:09:32 AM »
theres a youthman named spence who coming back as striker for malick when they make a coach change, but he bad like crab, real skills and talent

« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2008, 10:28:25 AM »
Hmm...since I on this board, I see big sides like Fatima, CIC, Malick all get relegated and I would love to say how sorry I am cause I know how allyuh men feel....

.......But i don't !!!

REAL BIG SIDES DOH GET RELEGATED !!!

Offline sinned

« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2008, 10:33:51 AM »
Hmm...since I on this board, I see big sides like Fatima, CIC, Malick all get relegated and I would love to say how sorry I am cause I know how allyuh men feel....

.......But i don't !!!

Well good for you. But you should really be boasting REAL MEDIOCRE SIDES DOH GET RELEGATED.

Even the great powerhouse that is Naps got relegated in the mid-90s. But we come back with a vengeance. Since then we are one of the most successful teams in the past decade

« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2008, 10:47:29 AM »

.......But i don't !!!

When last QRC win anything or was a dominating force in INTERCOL.

All yuh like the average Joe's in a casino. Playing the minimum bet so as to stay in the game. All yuh eh winning and all yuh eh losing jes staying in the game. No fight in all yuh at all.

« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2008, 11:26:09 AM »
BRING BACK DWARIKA!

« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2008, 11:42:21 AM »

.......But i don't !!!

Well good for you. But you should really be boasting REAL MEDIOCRE SIDES DOH GET RELEGATED.

Even the great powerhouse that is Naps got relegated in the mid-90s. But we come back with a vengeance. Since then we are one of the most successful teams in the past decade

Well that is my point: successful in the past decade. Naps and St. Anthony's like Chelsea...now come on the scene and start to win and figure u is a big side. No, you not !!Let me see u be consistent and last in the top flight for a next 15 years and we could talk nah man.
Longevity and consistency breeds tradition and forges a history.

« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2008, 11:48:02 AM »

.......But i don't !!!

When last QRC win anything or was a dominating force in INTERCOL.

All yuh like the average Joe's in a casino. Playing the minimum bet so as to stay in the game. All yuh eh winning and all yuh eh losing jes staying in the game. No fight in all yuh at all.

But when last you ever hear a side play QRC and expect a easy win ? We may not always win, but we never soft enough to get relegated so doh tell me about nuttin bout fight. In fact, the year allyuh get relegated i think was the one year we were under threat...but history will show that we were able to dig in deep and get the results instead of giving in like pansy men.

Keep your north intercol title with you in the second division..when last allyuh win a national title ?????????

Offline sinned

« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2008, 12:08:30 PM »

.......But i don't !!!

Well that is my point: successful in the past decade. Naps and St. Anthony's like Chelsea...now come on the scene and start to win and figure u is a big side. No, you not !!Let me see u be consistent and last in the top flight for a next 15 years and we could talk nah man.
Longevity and consistency breeds tradition and forges a history.

Ammm... go and so who win the most intercol titles in history and then we go talk. naps just reach on the scene? laughable. i suggest you look at some history. qrc is a bigger side than naps? joke. anybody who know intercol and history knows that is a joke

Just look: http://schoolsoccernet.com/Archives/PastIntercolWinners/tabid/116/Default.aspx and then call naps a johnny-come-lately. i dare yuh
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 12:11:36 PM by sinned86 »

« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2008, 12:26:27 PM »

.......But i don't !!!

QRC eh no big side, yall only known for mid-table supremacy.

« Reply #22 on: October 14, 2008, 12:36:26 PM »
Well by the same token, Nottingham Forest and Ipswich Town will always be big sides because they win European Cups even though they have sinced been relegated and struggle in the lower divisions.

As compared to a side like Spurs that doing utter nonsense currently, but will always maintain their prestige.

I like this conversation since none of allyuh out there besides real QRC men who could understand the feeling of knowing that you have been in the top division since DAY ONE...and have been there ever since.

Offline sinned

« Reply #23 on: October 14, 2008, 12:50:51 PM »
Well by the same token, Nottingham Forest and Ipswich Town will always be big sides because they win European Cups even though they have sinced been relegated and struggle in the lower divisions.

As compared to a side like Spurs that doing utter nonsense currently, but will always maintain their prestige.

I like this conversation since none of allyuh out there besides real QRC men who could understand the feeling of knowing that you have been in the top division since DAY ONE...and have been there ever since.

It's called a false sense of achievement.  :devil:

Nah I just giving you a hard time. Longevity may be something to be proud of but I think nothing beats the feeling of winning titles. And it's not like Naps languished in the lower leagues for any great length of time.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you're not comparing Naps to Nottingham Forest and Ipswich Town. I mean the stats just speak for themselves so I'll not further hijack the thread because it doesn't really matter if you say Naps is not a big side.

« Reply #24 on: October 14, 2008, 01:43:29 PM »
I on wildness with you too, man. Good fight tho, u prove your point well.
Nuff respect to Naps...on the field and in the classroom too.

« Reply #25 on: October 14, 2008, 02:29:58 PM »
Ah well, is a good thing I enjoy de moment dis morning cuz right now ah listening de Qtrs now on d radio and Signal Hil done gone down 2 - 0 by the 20th min.... :(

« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 02:33:41 PM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #26 on: October 14, 2008, 09:06:18 PM »
Boi I under lock down at wuk me eh know dis game play so I guess SJ win