April 18, 2024, 01:57:31 PM

Author Topic: Tribute to Yorke's Committment and Leadership to T&T Football  (Read 5880 times)

Tribute to Yorke's Committment and Leadership to T&T Football
« on: October 14, 2008, 05:38:34 PM »
I am happy to start a thread paying tribute to Dwight Yorke's Committment and Leadership to T&T Football. I remember back on the earliest boards (I used the handle Suds back then) we used to criticize Yorke's lack of committment to T&T football. We used to say that he would play hard for Man United but shy away from tackles and play it real safe when playing for T&T. He would make excuses to appear for national duty. . . injury etc., but we will see him playing the week end game for United.

But my oh my, how has things and times changed.

Not only is he playing three times in a week with a 36 year old body, he is doing it in the face of his managers's call for caution. He is shouldering Ruiz when he interfere with one of his men, he is sacrificing his body against the likes of the ruthless Guats. etc.

I personally think his leadership is vital, crucial and desperately needed. I just want to recognize that. Thank you Dwight "Anna" Yorke  :notworthy:

Re: Tribute to Yorke's Committment and Leadership to T&T Football
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2008, 05:49:33 PM »
I am happy to start a thread paying tribute to Dwight Yorke's Committment and Leadership to T&T Football. I remember back on the earliest boards (I used the handle Suds back then) we used to criticize Yorke's lack of committment to T&T football. We used to say that he would play hard for Man United but shy away from tackles and play it real safe when playing for T&T. He would make excuses to appear for national duty. . . injury etc., but we will see him playing the week end game for United.

Not only is he playing three times in a week with a 36 year old body, he is doing it in the face of his managers's call for caution. He is shouldering Ruiz when he interfere with one of his men, he is sacrificing his body against the likes of the ruthless Guats. etc.

I personally think his leadership is vital, crucial and desperately needed. I just want to recognize that. Thank you Dwight "Anna" Yorke  :notworthy:

I am PATRIOT, and I support this post!

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2008, 05:52:14 PM »
I am the Reaper and I also support this post \m/ ROCK ON! WARRIORS!!

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2008, 05:57:10 PM »
agreed.

dwight has grown so much.

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2008, 06:20:43 PM »
agreed.

dwight has grown so much.

You too my friend...studies have yuh under d radar oh wah... ;D

« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2008, 06:53:00 PM »
Big up to Yorke!

cheeers :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2008, 07:18:59 PM »
I support this thread

Offline chinapoo village

« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2008, 07:27:26 PM »
I support this thread

« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2008, 08:41:41 PM »
Yep he has grown up big time

« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2008, 08:43:47 PM »
Please explain in detail.........

« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2008, 05:32:49 AM »
Anyone knows where this "Ana/Anna" name come from?

Offline tallandsweet

« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2008, 05:42:38 AM »

That is how Dwight have been ever since he was a little lad, helping and protecting his
friends and teammates...but only now the whole world seeing it, the experience is shining
thru and I hope them younger players in T&T taking notice.

All respect to man.

bago

« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2008, 05:49:48 AM »

That was/is his nickname from since I about him waaaayyy back in Scarborough Jr Sec.....I mih self never knew where it came from.... :-\

BIG UP YORKE!!....(ah still loving de shoulder on Ruiz  ;))

Offline tallandsweet

« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2008, 05:51:03 AM »
Guys I trying to remember why we use to call him "Ana/Anna"
but it is a name he had since he little, just like Duflair

But for the likes of me a can't remember....lol

bago

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2008, 06:04:47 AM »
BIG IT UP!!!

YORKE 19...

(still...)
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2008, 07:30:16 AM »

That was/is his nickname from since I about him waaaayyy back in Scarborough Jr Sec.....I mih self never knew where it came from.... :-\
Is because he used to look like a girl when he was small.

« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2008, 07:31:40 AM »
and that is why he is back...leadership was clearly lacking in the team
now the next question is: who is being trained to take over??? ::)

Offline Slade

« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2008, 07:36:34 AM »
He is one off the true leaders of T&T Football, and I am forerver grateful that he has served his country well

« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2008, 07:47:03 AM »

theobald...the chosen one

« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2008, 08:02:33 AM »
did he play Saturday? I didn't see him- not even on the bench...hmmm
surely the best way for him to learn is to be there
actually I like Dennis lawrence to be the next captain- he's just cool at he back and shows good leadership ...my humble opinion.. ;D

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2008, 08:07:55 AM »
i must agree with this post. thank u very much Yorkie.
theobald...the chosen one

anybody but he plz. i personally like Keon Daniel he seems down to earth well grounded and seems to have respect from the other guys.if not him KJ.
dennis good to eh but he going jus now

« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2008, 10:02:51 AM »
He has done so much, still vex he changed his number to 17.

Offline tallandsweet

« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2008, 10:05:13 AM »
17 was his old signall Hill number but I do miss the number 19...

bago

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2008, 04:33:32 PM »
still 19 for me...

ah completely understand the whole 17 thing though... but is always 19 for me...

Legend...
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2008, 04:56:01 PM »
 :thumbsup:

« Reply #25 on: October 15, 2008, 09:59:17 PM »
I used to be a strong Yorke critic..but he is a class leader...

« Reply #26 on: October 15, 2008, 10:18:36 PM »
Dwight boy hats off to you ...you have aged like the finest bottle of red wine...
With age I think you have played your best football for the national team....
Keep it up truly I can say World Class...Malta Carib all d way...

« Reply #27 on: October 15, 2008, 10:38:42 PM »
Look who score the 2 goals to finally get us past the US.  19 years later them men still going strong.  You can't make this shit up.

« Reply #28 on: October 15, 2008, 11:16:06 PM »
Yuh know tears almost come to meh eyes when a see the leader take that penalty. The camera was on him. As he placed the ball on the spot and walked back to take his shot. I was only hoping he didn't do his trademark cheeky, straight down the middle, slow motion penalty--which could be saved by a keeper who studied him. You could see him concentrating to make his decision. His placement was telling. No chances tonight I putting this one away. A true leader.

Also giving his shirt to a fan was another nice touch.

Nuff respect boss. . .lead by example.

Now we pray that your body get the necessary rest and care for your bread and butter club team.

Thanks again and Respect.

« Reply #29 on: October 15, 2008, 11:36:28 PM »
Dat script 2 nite not even dem writers on Lifetime could have come up wit dat script dat Latas and Yorke would score v USA 2 beat dem