January 13, 2025, 01:37:55 PM

Author Topic: Maturana not out of the woods yet.  (Read 4894 times)

Maturana not out of the woods yet.
« on: October 16, 2008, 09:15:17 PM »
Maturana not out of the woods yet.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

In Latapy's shadow.

A former Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) insider made an interesting observation in the wake of the country's embarrassing 3-0 2010 World Cup qualifying loss away to the United States last month.

FIFA vice-president and TTFF special adviser Jack Warner, he noted, remained silent on the ineptitude of the "Soca Warriors" despite cries of outrage from fans and former players. Warner's hasty utterances have brought harm to himself and his various organisations over the years.

But a quiet Warner, the former insider felt, was twice as dangerous.

Eleven days after the USA defeat, the Football Federation announced that national icon and 40-year-old midfield star, Russell Latapy, would end his international retirement and rejoin the Warriors as a player and assistant coach.

His terms of reference, according to the TTFF release, were for the two qualifiers against Guatemala and the United States "in the first instance".

Latapy was surprised to learn, when he touched down at Piarco International Airport, that T&T head coach Francisco Maturana would not permit him into his technical staff. But "the Little Magician" stuck around anyway to help his country to a goalless draw away to Guatemala on Saturday and Wednesday's 2-1 win over the United States that virtually assured the Warriors' spot in the final CONCACAF qualifying round.

Maturana described Wednesday's win as a proud and historic moment for Trinidad and Tobago and said he was "very, very contented". He would be well advised to watch his shoulder blades, though.

Because Warner, who hastily called a press conference to herald a 2-2 friendly draw for Maturana's troops against Jamaica in March, has made no attempt-thus far-to publicly display confidence in the coach and is again holding his tongue.

Latapy's terms must be re-negotiated before Trinidad and Tobago's final group outing against Cuba, next month, and it is likely to make for interesting reading.

On paper, Maturana's position seems strengthened by the team's relatively comfortable perch in the standings. But no one with even passing knowledge of the machinations of the TTFF would be fooled by that. Not after Bertille St Clair was fired despite taking his country to an unprecedented top-four finish at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2000.

A coach's job almost always ends in tears. It is a question of when rather than if. The important bit is his conduct between the appointment and his inevitable sacking.

Maturana, whenever he does return to his horses in Colombia, will be remembered as a gentleman. The qualified dentist is the epitome of calm and grace. If scientists were to create an exact opposite to the two-time Colombia World Cup coach, his name would be Wim Rijsbergen.

But that is Maturana's public face.

Privately, he is a contradictory fellow who can drop a promising young player or a respected veteran as quickly and quietly as one discards a used tissue. His selection policy could not be more bizarre if he invited a phone-in for the starting XI to face Cuba.

On Wednesday, 2006 World Cup veteran and Miami FC left back Avery John was the latest victim of his tinkering.

John, who appeared solid in both drawn legs against Guatemala, was replaced by Defence Force player Aklie Edwards who was ripped to shreds in Chicago.

It was just as well that the United States did not travel with their full-strength team. In the debit column, Edwards completed three passes over ten yards-not counting three to goalkeeper Clayton Ince-and managed two successful tackles. But there were also eight errant passes from Edwards, while the visitors managed five crosses from his vacant post in the first half.

Maturana's decision to swap left backs could have easily rivalled his demotion of six-foot-seven defender Dennis Lawrence in the Chicago fiasco.

Luckily, US coach Bob Bradley did not bring a team capable of punishing such obvious flaws.

Perhaps Maturana was not the one to leave out John. That seems plausible too since it is difficult to envision the Colombia's recall of players who he publicly condemned like Southampton striker and national record goal-scorer, Stern John.

Maturana admitted that his only previous knowledge of Latapy was his 25-minute cameo against Paraguay in the 2006 World Cup. It would stand to reason, then, that the 40-year-old's stunning return was not scripted by the Colombian.

The Warriors' response to every setback, thus far, has been to summon more World Cup players. Wrexham full back Silvio Spann's sudden recall brought the list of returning veterans to seven since their June loss to Bermuda.

Before the campaign started in earnest, the TTFF were cooing about Maturana's introduction of schoolboys like Jamal Gay and Akeem Adams. But, when things got dicey, even undeniable young talents like Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland and Marvin Phillip-all mainstays of the Colombian's tenure-found themselves sidelined.

So if Maturana is not in charge of selection, which has been the most important factor of the campaign, then what can we credit him for?

It would be a miracle if Maturana retains the respect of his dressing room under such circumstances and, particularly, when there is a charming Little Magician in the ranks.

Warner's decision to woo Latapy back looked inspired on Wednesday. But it will soon be time for a long-term decision.

His silence on the matter, so far, suggests he knows as much.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2008, 04:15:14 AM by Flex »

Re: In Latapy's shadow: Maturana not out of the woods yet
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 09:44:04 PM »
Spot on as per usual Lisana

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
Re: In Latapy's shadow: Maturana not out of the woods yet
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 04:13:40 AM »
Spot on as per usual Lisana

In Latapy's shadow
By: Lasana Liburd (Trinidad Express)

You must be his God Mother?

Re: Maturana not out of the woods yet.
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2008, 05:16:14 AM »
The minute they bring Latas back as a player/"coach", I am sure maturana, knew that this was the beginning of the end...
I feel he will survive for the Cuba game, but for the HEX, I dunno nah.

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 05:24:01 AM »
Yeah and Wim is he godfadder

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 05:30:14 AM »
Yeah and Wim is he godfadder

:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2008, 06:16:19 AM »
Totally agree with this article.  Personally, me eh really have no confidence in the coach's selection tactics.  Ah could deal with the way we playing to some perspective but with this man yuh doh know who playing from game to game.  It frustrating to us, imagine how frustrated the players are!

If Jack fire him, no sweat off my back.

« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2008, 06:25:28 AM »
here nah somewhere in all de victory baccahnal i didn't realize Avery John was not hurt or suspended!
I did not know dat!

so all Pacho know bout Latas was a video of de WC performance? so yuh mean somebody (anton or one ah dem) couldn't log on to a pc/laptop and bring de man here (de forum) to see all dem video with Latas?

ah was going an ask dis in it's own thread but hopefully men who might know de answer check out dis one.....here nah  does anyone know if anton and dem does have a film review after games. now men might call me an ass (among other things) for asking dat...but i would really like to know.

Lasana Liburd:- In Latapy's Shadow
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2008, 08:42:22 AM »
Maturana not out of the woods yet

Lasana Liburd

Friday, October 17th 2008

under pressure: United States defender Heath Pearce heads the ball away between Trinidad and Tobago captain Dwight Yorke, left, and defender Keyeno Thomas during Wednesday's 2010 World Cup qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. T&T won 2-1. -Photo: ROBERT TAYLOR

A former Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) insider made an interesting observation in the wake of the country's embarrassing 3-0 2010 World Cup qualifying loss away to the United States last month.

FIFA vice-president and TTFF special adviser Jack Warner, he noted, remained silent on the ineptitude of the "Soca Warriors" despite cries of outrage from fans and former players. Warner's hasty utterances have brought harm to himself and his various organisations over the years.

But a quiet Warner, the former insider felt, was twice as dangerous.

Eleven days after the USA defeat, the Football Federation announced that national icon and 40-year-old midfield star, Russell Latapy, would end his international retirement and rejoin the Warriors as a player and assistant coach.

His terms of reference, according to the TTFF release, were for the two qualifiers against Guatemala and the United States "in the first instance".

Latapy was surprised to learn, when he touched down at Piarco International Airport, that T&T head coach Francisco Maturana would not permit him into his technical staff. But "the Little Magician" stuck around anyway to help his country to a goalless draw away to Guatemala on Saturday and Wednesday's 2-1 win over the United States that virtually assured the Warriors' spot in the final CONCACAF qualifying round.

Maturana described Wednesday's win as a proud and historic moment for Trinidad and Tobago and said he was "very, very contented". He would be well advised to watch his shoulder blades, though.

Because Warner, who hastily called a press conference to herald a 2-2 friendly draw for Maturana's troops against Jamaica in March, has made no attempt-thus far-to publicly display confidence in the coach and is again holding his tongue.

Latapy's terms must be re-negotiated before Trinidad and Tobago's final group outing against Cuba, next month, and it is likely to make for interesting reading.

On paper, Maturana's position seems strengthened by the team's relatively comfortable perch in the standings. But no one with even passing knowledge of the machinations of the TTFF would be fooled by that. Not after Bertille St Clair was fired despite taking his country to an unprecedented top-four finish at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2000.

A coach's job almost always ends in tears. It is a question of when rather than if. The important bit is his conduct between the appointment and his inevitable sacking.

Maturana, whenever he does return to his horses in Colombia, will be remembered as a gentleman. The qualified dentist is the epitome of calm and grace. If scientists were to create an exact opposite to the two-time Colombia World Cup coach, his name would be Wim Rijsbergen.

But that is Maturana's public face.

Privately, he is a contradictory fellow who can drop a promising young player or a respected veteran as quickly and quietly as one discards a used tissue. His selection policy could not be more bizarre if he invited a phone-in for the starting XI to face Cuba.

On Wednesday, 2006 World Cup veteran and Miami FC left back Avery John was the latest victim of his tinkering.

John, who appeared solid in both drawn legs against Guatemala, was replaced by Defence Force player Aklie Edwards who was ripped to shreds in Chicago.

It was just as well that the United States did not travel with their full-strength team. In the debit column, Edwards completed three passes over ten yards-not counting three to goalkeeper Clayton Ince-and managed two successful tackles. But there were also eight errant passes from Edwards, while the visitors managed five crosses from his vacant post in the first half.

Maturana's decision to swap left backs could have easily rivalled his demotion of six-foot-seven defender Dennis Lawrence in the Chicago fiasco.

Luckily, US coach Bob Bradley did not bring a team capable of punishing such obvious flaws.

Perhaps Maturana was not the one to leave out John. That seems plausible too since it is difficult to envision the Colombia's recall of players who he publicly condemned like Southampton striker and national record goal-scorer, Stern John.

Maturana admitted that his only previous knowledge of Latapy was his 25-minute cameo against Paraguay in the 2006 World Cup. It would stand to reason, then, that the 40-year-old's stunning return was not scripted by the Colombian.

The Warriors' response to every setback, thus far, has been to summon more World Cup players. Wrexham full back Silvio Spann's sudden recall brought the list of returning veterans to seven since their June loss to Bermuda.

Before the campaign started in earnest, the TTFF were cooing about Maturana's introduction of schoolboys like Jamal Gay and Akeem Adams. But, when things got dicey, even undeniable young talents like Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland and Marvin Phillip-all mainstays of the Colombian's tenure-found themselves sidelined.

So if Maturana is not in charge of selection, which has been the most important factor of the campaign, then what can we credit him for?

It would be a miracle if Maturana retains the respect of his dressing room under such circumstances and, particularly, when there is a charming Little Magician in the ranks.

Warner's decision to woo Latapy back looked inspired on Wednesday. But it will soon be time for a long-term decision.

His silence on the matter, so far, suggests he knows as much.

« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2008, 08:54:22 AM »
Thanks Touches

another good article Lasana

and I hate to bring up bygones, but
"On paper, Maturana's position seems strengthened by the team's relatively comfortable perch in the standings. But no one with even passing knowledge of the machinations of the TTFF would be fooled by that. Not after Bertille St Clair was fired despite taking his country to an unprecedented top-four finish at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2000."
why are some so critical of BSC?
Is it "Only" because A"J"W dislikes him?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2008, 11:35:25 AM »
Lasana coming off like ah fukking crab dis rounds, no lie.

Good article my ass.

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2008, 11:39:47 AM »
Lasana coming off like ah f**kking crab dis rounds, no lie.

Good article my ass.

Ah doh know when we going to get into an argument again.

Offline Yogi

« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2008, 05:55:46 PM »
Lasana is spot on as usual (I don't know why Anil Roberts like to diss him so much). It will be best to get rid of Maturana (and Corneal) after the Cuba game and bring in a top quality coach with Latas as his assistant. Jack and the Government need to put their differences aside and come to a consensus with regards to paying him  and assisting the team. I personally prefer the dutch system but I know others would have their recommendations. My personal opinion was it was wrong to fire Wim as it screwed up the continuity from the WC. Anyway the new coach must come immediately after the Cuba game so he will have some time to organise the team before the Hex. Now is not the time to be experimenting with players (A squad should have been in place since last year). It needs to be done now not during the Hex when it will be too late. This rounds, fourth place is not an option because most likely it will be Uruguay we will have to play and I am very sorry, they will cut we arse coming and going. Just my opinion, don't hate me for it ;)

« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2008, 05:57:09 PM »
Lasana is spot on as usual (I don't know why Anil Roberts like to diss him so much). It will be best to get rid of Maturana (and Corneal) after the Cuba game and bring in a top quality coach with Latas as his assistant. Jack and the Government need to put their differences aside and come to a consensus with regards to paying him  and assisting the team. I personally prefer the dutch system but I know others would have their recommendations. My personal opinion was it was wrong to fire Wim as it screwed up the continuity from the WC. Anyway the new coach must come immediately after the Cuba game so he will have some time to organise the team before the Hex. Now is not the time to be experimenting with players (A squad should have been in place since last year). It needs to be done now not during the Hex when it will be too late. This rounds, fourth place is not an option because most likely it will be Uruguay we will have to play and I am very sorry, they will cut we arse coming and going. Just my opinion, don't hate me for it ;)

Anil Roberts is a &**((

« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2008, 05:57:58 PM »
Anil is JW mouth piece

« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2008, 06:05:36 PM »
Good article my ass.
OK bakes
I could understand your point as you have brought it up before about Lasana...but...bear with me for a moment.

this is the article I commented on
"Maturana not out of the woods yet
Lasana Liburd
Friday, October 17th 2008"

Suppose, just suppose, Lasana is Just making a comment about THIS particular Coach and comparing his situation to past coaches that the TTFF have had.
maybe he is just pointing out that coaching in general, and especially here in TnT, is a very fickle career and he is thinking out aloud about mats and the potential outcome with respect to jack.
maybe it was not necessarily a Beat Down, as your Crab reference insinuates.
I could be wrong in your take of the article...so go easy :devil:
« Last Edit: October 17, 2008, 06:07:28 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2008, 06:16:13 PM »
My personal opinion was it was wrong to fire Wim as it screwed up the continuity from the WC.

From a TTFF perspective, Wim was "givin trouble".  He wasn't a man to jes coach and hush he mout.  He used to go on Andre Baptiste show and talk bout what he know etc.  Politically, from their perspective, he had to go.  Yuh cyah have a employee in any field of work bad talkin de people who payin him and tellin de world dey doin shit....even if dey doin shit...which is what TTFF always does.

Wit dis whole blacklist ting etc.....I feel de INITIAL goal was never really for the WC players to come back

As such, Anton was put as Asst Coach in the hope that he would learn from a more experienced coach and develop into a good international class coach.

Anton would never get the respect of the WC players.  He has accomplished nothing really.  In some cases, he's their age.  That was always going to be an untenable situation.

With Wim as Head Coach, there was a situation where he was told to play local based players.  Players he knew that weren't ready for international football. As a coach, he knew if that situation continued, he would be set up to FAIL.  As far as he was concerned, when he signed on to be coach of T&T, he was coaching players he already knew, was confident in their abilities etc.  He did not sign on to be the head coach of a re-development team.  Somebody changed the game plan on him.

Anton still wasn't ready to coach in the International arena, so enter Alvin's good friend Francisco Maturana, the first ever foreign coach of T&T that was endorsed by Alvin Corneal by the way.

With our WC Qualification hopes dangling by a thread and the realization of the FACT that the rebuilding project will NOT even get us into the Hex, far less South Africa, the blacklist was lifted, Yorke & Latas brought back, and we're where we at now.

I'm not sure if Anton is going to be around in the set up too much longer going forward....especially if what Jack's been alleaged to have said about Latapy's future involvement with the team.  Maturana?  Who knows wha goin on dey?  Not me.

« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2008, 06:17:39 PM »
Good article my ass.
OK bakes
I could understand your point as you have brought it up before about Lasana...but...bear with me for a moment.

Lasana Liburd

Suppose, just suppose, Lasana is Just making a comment about THIS particular Coach and comparing his situation to past coaches that the TTFF have had.
maybe he is just pointing out that coaching in general, and especially here in TnT, is a very fickle career and he is thinking out aloud about mats and the potential outcome with respect to jack.

Lasana... like the majority of folks on this forum lives only to second guess Maturana.  There are people who have never one day in their lives donned national colors on any level who swear they know more than this man who has not only worn the colors as a player, but twice as a World Cup caliber coach.  While I don't agree with each and every decision he has made the end result is that he's in a difficult situation and I'm sure trying his best to achieve results under trying circumstances.

It would be nice to see some support fuh him when deserved instead of ah set ah cry down at every turn.

« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2008, 06:23:00 PM »
Good article my ass.
OK bakes

Lasana Liburd

Lasana... like the majority of folks on this forum lives only to second guess Maturana.  There are people who have never one day in their lives donned national colors on any level who swear they know more than this man who has not only worn the colors as a player, but twice as a World Cup caliber coach.  While I don't agree with each and every decision he has made the end result is that he's in a difficult situation and I'm sure trying his best to achieve results under trying circumstances.

It would be nice to see some support fuh him when deserved instead of ah set ah cry down at every turn.
Yes, I totally agree that ANY Coach working for TnT better have a very strong constitution, as dealing with these fellas in the TTFF ent easy.
Your comment "I'm sure he is trying his best to achieve results under trying circumstances." is more the tuth than some are willing to admit. well said.

« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2008, 06:25:12 PM »
How did Don Leo do it wuk wit d clowns?

« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2008, 06:31:41 PM »
How did Don Leo do it wuk wit d clowns?
maybe Don Leo was a Tough as nails character and from the start told the TTFF to "piss off"
everyone is different
maybe Weary, it is Mats that DEMANDED the return of Latas and others.....how bout that?
and Jack tieffen de man tunder
total speculation on my part
« Last Edit: October 17, 2008, 06:39:01 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2008, 06:50:26 PM »
maybe Weary, it is Mats that DEMANDED the return of Latas and others.....how bout that?

Weary?  ;D

« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2008, 06:54:54 PM »
Guys allyuh know Weary is no big fan of Mats..why allyuh chookin commess  :D

« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2008, 06:56:14 PM »
All yuh in town longggggggg enough d dumbtist say he only know Latas from d cameo v Paraguay so we sure dat it eh heeeeeeeeeeee who call him back.

West is because d Don was in charge from day zero. Sancho talk bout dat Don demanded respeck and guess what he got it

« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2008, 07:04:43 PM »
All yuh in town longggggggg enough d dumbtist say he only know Latas from d cameo v Paraguay so we sure dat it eh heeeeeeeeeeee who call him back.

West is because d Don was in charge from day zero. Sancho talk bout dat Don demanded respeck and guess what he got it
yeah that is true
but is who that used to translate for Mats, not Chipmunk the second ;D

« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2008, 07:08:53 PM »
Yeah but Latas did not return when d chipmunk was translating so we have 2 thank d new translator 4 Latas return

« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2008, 07:26:50 PM »
I have been one of the biggest critics of Maturana's selections and tactics but in a way I feel sorry for him too. It seems that his control of the team is being undermined by Jack Warner and/or the Corneals.  We will never really know how good or bad this man is as a coach because he doesn't seem to have total control.

Isn't it ironic that the same thing Wim wanted to do (use the veterans and blend in the younger players) is now being done.  Only now it is being done out of desperation.

Jack and he badmind blacklist the players and killed any chance of continuity from the world cup success.  Now he realize that we might not make the HEX he is forced to call back the same players he banned.  Had he allowed Wim to build on what we achieved in 2006 we might not be depending on Yorke and Latapy now.

This is why I does get so vex when I hear fans from other countries claiming that our achievements are due to some kind of underhand dealings from Jack Warner.  Jack does not care about the success of T&T football.  He is the number one reason why we cannot make greater progress. 

« Reply #27 on: October 17, 2008, 07:42:54 PM »
Nuff u have sympathy 2 waste let me give u some persons 2 feel sorry 4

Girl 5 chopped in face

Man ambushed shot dead in POS

« Reply #28 on: October 17, 2008, 09:03:54 PM »
I think the article was to the point.

Anybody who decides to coach TT must deal with Jack. Is either you tell him f---off let me do my work or take the next flight out of Piarco. Jack call back Latapy to be player coach and next thing Maturana is adamant that Latas have nothing to do with coaching. Just play. Guys, tell me how is this going to help our team. Who is in charge? Who is the real coach. You think the England coach will stand for that. Did n't they try try that with Beenie and he tell them is his men or nothing.

We jumping all over Pacho and know full well he is being hamper by TTFF. Granted his selectiona are questionable. But the fellas not performing when they are on the field. I did not see the last game, but from the comments from the forum, everybody breadth a huge sigh of relief we get past this B/C US team. I dare Maturana to give the bench warmers a run against Cuba. Imagine we have to bring Dwight and Latas to play Cuba to make sure we go thru to the Hex. because we have no faith in the younsters. That is not Pacho fault.

« Reply #29 on: October 17, 2008, 09:28:05 PM »
Until he start 2 pick a proper team he is 2 blame