April 19, 2024, 07:08:04 PM

Author Topic: If only we were this passionate about football  (Read 2521 times)

Offline behind-de-bridge

If only we were this passionate about football
« on: October 17, 2008, 03:05:03 PM »
World Football
Senegal fans riot after World Cup qualifying exit
21:52 BST, Sat 11 Oct 2008

By Diadie Ba

DAKAR, Oct 11 (Reuters) - Angry Senegalese fans attacked the country's soccer federation headquarters on Saturday, smashing windows, after the national team was eliminated from qualifying for the 2010 World Cup by drawing 1-1 with Gambia.

After the draw, which also eliminated the Teranga Lions from the next African Nations Cup, furious supporters set up burning barricades around the stadium and clashed with riot police who fired tear gas and charged them with batons.

At least one person was injured, witnesses said.

Senegal finished third in Group Six of the African zone second round and failed to progress to round three.

The rioters stoned the Senegalese Football Federation building and also torched a bus outside, Col. Abdoulaye Fall of the local gendarmerie said.

Senegal, who reached the quarter-finals of the 2002 World Cup, took the lead in the second half of their qualifying match against West African neighbours Gambia with a goal by Abdou Kader Mangane, which set off celebrations in the home crowd.

But the mood turned ugly when Gambia's Scorpions equalised through Tijan Jaiteh five minutes from the end.

Fans started tearing down publicity billboards and fencing and threw stones, sticks, bottles, metal bars and debris onto the pitch. Baton-wielding police tried to restore order.

The Senegalese supporters then blocked a major highway outside the stadium with burning tyres, rubbish and rocks, and black smoke filled the sky.

"Senegal is eliminated, they played a zero game, we're tired of it," said one disappointed fan, Alassane Ndiata, 18.

Senegal also failed to reach the finals of the 2006 World Cup, a disappointment which triggered intense criticism of the players and the federation.

© Reuters 2008. All rights reserved.

Re: If only we were this passionate about football
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 03:06:40 PM »
I glad we not THAT "passionate".

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 03:27:17 PM »
boss..dem eh dat passionate about football.

they that way cuz life real harsh. football is ah escape for them, and when that means of escape vanish, some of the masses lose their mind and go on a rampage.

so be happy we not THAT passionate, cuz it would probably be because our society degenerate well below where it is already

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2008, 03:29:56 PM »
I am very passionate about TT football, but I eh going overboard, breds.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 04:00:52 PM »
You guys must learn to recognise sarcasm!

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 04:42:21 PM »
Maybe the fault is in your craft.

« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2008, 04:58:12 PM »
We need a course on sarcasm on dis MB

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2008, 05:30:09 PM »
That situation almost resembles the T&T / Guatemala bacchanal.Some people does love ah little too hard oui.Knocked out by a GD of 1. :frustrated:
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2008, 05:38:41 PM »
We passionate bout carnival, fetes and liming.

« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2008, 05:41:17 PM »

yeah. right  ::)

haha. we eh know yuh like dat. is not like yuh name is arrow. is de internet and yuh eh have dat rep, so yuh hadda put some kinda emoticon dey, or else nutten sarcastic about dat title
« Last Edit: October 18, 2008, 08:42:02 AM by Filho »

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2008, 05:42:07 PM »
We passionate bout carnival, fetes and liming.

thats rite!

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2008, 05:43:14 PM »
What about "burn boots"

we just as crazy as them.

Just now the TTFF office will get burn down is only so much shit people could take

« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2008, 05:53:50 PM »
I glad we not THAT "passionate".
Thank you Sah

but Mr Man you ent comment about the article to now support your claim of sarcasm
what I missin?
edit: ok sorry, the title is what you mean...totally missed it the first time
« Last Edit: October 17, 2008, 05:58:29 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.