April 29, 2024, 01:09:28 AM

Author Topic: Man United vs. Celtic CL Matchday 3  (Read 2298 times)

Man United vs. Celtic CL Matchday 3
« on: October 20, 2008, 07:33:38 AM »
Man Utd seeks win over CelticUpdated: October 20, 2008, 7:58 AM EST Comment add this RSS blog email Print MANCHESTER, England (AP) - The memories of Manchester United's defeat to Celtic are still fresh for Alex Ferguson.

As the two sides prepare to meet Tuesday in the Champions League, the United manager can't help looking back at the 1-0 group stage loss to Celtic in 2006 that followed a 3-2 victory at Old Trafford.
"Last time we could have scored more goals in the home game but at Celtic Park we forgot the essential issue of putting the ball in the net," Ferguson said. "We played brilliant football but forgot the real reason for going to a game of football is to win it."

Champions LeagueGroup Stage Matchday 3 
Tue., Oct. 21
Matchday Preview 
Man United vs. Celtic  Preview 
Porto vs. Dynamo Kiev   
Juventus vs. Real Madrid  Preview 
Villarreal vs. Aalborg   
Zenit vs. BATE   
Bayern vs. Fiorentina   
Steauau vs. Olympique Lyon   
Fenerbahce vs. Arsenal  Preview 
Wed., Oct. 22

Atletico vs. Liverpool   
Chelsea vs. AS Roma   
Basel vs. FC Barcelona   
Inter Milan vs. Anorthosis   
Bordeaux vs. CFR Cluj   
PSV Eindhoven vs. Marseille   
Shakhtar Donetsk vs. Sporting   
Panathinaikos vs. Bremen   
Adding to Ferguson's irritation was the satisfaction it gave Celtic manager Gordon Strachan, who has a prickly relationship with his former coach. Strachan played for Ferguson at Aberdeen, Scotland and United.

Ferguson, a former player with Celtic's fierce Glasgow rival Rangers, eagerly anticipates facing Scottish sides.

"No matter that there will be Japanese, Argentinian, Portuguese, Korean or whichever players involved, there is definitely a 'Scotland v England' element whenever Celtic and United play," Ferguson said. "Celtic have quite a few Scots in their side and United an equal number of English so there is no question about it.

"What I relish is that it's going to be a game of fervor because Celtic play with a big heart. They always have done."

However, Celtic has an appalling record on the road in the Champions League, losing 15 straight group matches away from Celtic Park since 2004.

Celtic will likely have to produce an exceptional display at Old Trafford on Tuesday to come away with anything from the game. United is going strong in the Premier League after a slow start and England striker Wayne Rooney is in top form, scoring eight goals in his past six games for club and country.

Ferguson also believes his side is better now than two years ago.

"We're a more mature side now and have a more complete squad," Ferguson said. "I don't think Celtic have changed much. At home they have one of the best records in Europe and their away form is still one of the worst."

"Celtic will be fired up because their fans demand that. Their supporters will always have an expectation of their team to attack. I don't think Celtic will come here to attack but they will have a go when they can."

Making Celtic's task more difficult will be a lack of options up front. Georgios Samaras, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink and Chris Killen are all sidelined.

Contrast that with United, which had four different scorers - Rooney, Ronaldo, Berbatov and Nani - in its 4-0 demolition of West Bromwich Albion on Saturday.

"I'm really enjoying my football at the moment," Rooney said. "The team are really helping me in everything I do. Hopefully that will continue and I can help this team win some more trophies."

Rooney failed to score in United's first seven games this season, but is on a roll now.

"Wayne does tend to score goals in spurts which is probably a sign of his immaturity," Ferguson said. "He's young so he'll have a barren spell again and then come back to scoring. But when he gets older his goal scoring will spread out better. I think that's a natural thing that will happen."

live on espn2 @ 2:30pm.

Offline RedDevils

Re: Man United vs. Celtic CL Matchday 3
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 01:10:57 PM »
C'mon UNITED  :devil:
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 03:35:22 PM »
yuh know I clean forget Manchester I was too busy looking forward to the Nov. 19th game against Cuba

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2008, 03:46:16 PM »
Go Celtic :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2008, 07:00:47 PM »

Still drinkin the hatorade I see! Mix up a fresh batch for the new season? LOL!

« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2008, 07:58:12 PM »
Still drinkin the hatorade I see! Mix up a fresh batch for the new season? LOL!

GO ManBroke :devil:

I think Sunderland is 12th  ;D
I bet ya goin an say allya 4th or someting chupid so  ::)
 :beermug: :beermug:  :D :D
« Last Edit: October 20, 2008, 08:04:09 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2008, 10:21:59 AM »
now put de pigfoot to boil and de carib in de fridge.party startin in 2 hours.

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2008, 01:25:34 PM »
1 nil man u,that is ah powder puff goal.

Offline Reaper2004

« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2008, 01:55:16 PM »
2-0 Berbatov again.

Edit: 3-0 Rooney
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 02:20:06 PM by Reaper2004 »

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2008, 02:38:22 PM »
Good result UNITED, keep rolling.

Glory, Glory MANUTD.

Offline Reaper2004

« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2008, 02:38:56 PM »
HOLY CHRIST!! 6-3 BETWEEN VILLAREAL AND AALBORG! DAMMMNN!!!!

« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2008, 02:42:43 PM »
Rooonay!!!!!!!!!!!! Roles will be reversed this season, let Chris sulk, while Roonay play borse football.

« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2008, 04:01:27 PM »
Good......cough...cough
Game......cough.......cough
ManU.....auuurrrrrgh
 :applause:

;D ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2008, 04:05:04 PM »
Good......cough...cough
ManU.....auuurrrrrgh

;D ;D

fuk cough,use vicks. ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2008, 04:10:16 PM »
Good......cough...cough
ManU.....auuurrrrrgh

;D ;D

f**k cough,use vicks. ;D
is ah real long time I ent hear that saying
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 05:15:14 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2008, 09:16:29 PM »
Come nah man..allyuh already know ManU sharing level licks this season  :)

« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2008, 09:18:41 PM »
Rooonay!!!!!!!!!!!! Roles will be reversed this season, let Chris sulk, while Roonay play borse football.

Ronaldo needs to pass a little more.... trying to hard to do everything on his own....!

Good result  ;D

Glory Glory  :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2008, 09:25:54 PM »
It look like the linesman from the TTv US game get to run lines in this game.
  • 2 offside Berbatov goals allowed.
  • 1 Rooney goal disallowed for offside (when he wasn't).

Men loafing like yuh playing 'beats and score" in the schoolyard.