April 29, 2024, 07:45:35 PM

Author Topic: T&T Under 17 vs Chelsea and Mexico  (Read 12316 times)

T&T Under 17 vs Chelsea and Mexico
« on: October 21, 2008, 10:14:57 AM »
Guys

I just got a schedule for a tournament being held in New Jersey. It is hosted by Claudio Reyna's high school (St Benedict's Prep) and will be held at the New Jersey Institute of Technology. The T&T Under 18 squad has been invited and will play:

Chelsea's youth team at 5:00 pm on November 5th
St Benedict's Prep at 5:00 pm on November 6th
Mexico Under 18 at 4:00 on November 8th (Saturday)

Anybody know for sure if we sending a squad. I've heard nothing, but these are the kinds of games (at least vs Chelsea and Mexico) that I would love to see us play.

The Saturday game v Mexico is one that me and I'm sure a few of us in the Northeast US could make and give the fellas some support. They will need it..cuz it will be cold :)

Anyway..anyone can confirm a T&T squad will be persent (see full schedule below)

16th Annual Newark International Cup
Hosted by St. Benedict's Prep
November 3 – November 10, 2008

All games will be played at New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT)
Lighted 2,000 seat stadium w/ FieldTurf.

Participating Teams & Game Schedule:
Team # 1 – St. Benedict's Prep
Team # 2 –Mexico U18 National Team
Team # 3 – Trinidad & Tobago U18 National Team
Team # 4 – Chelsea FC

Wednesday, November 5:
5:00 PM: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Chelsea FC
7:00 PM: St. Benedict's Prep vs. Mexico

Thursday, November 6:
5:00 PM: St. Benedict's Prep vs. Trinidad & Tobago
7:00 PM: Mexico vs. Chelsea FC

Saturday, November 8:
10 AM: Youth Clinic at St. Benedict's Prep
2:00 PM: St. Benedict's Prep vs. Chelsea FC
4:00 PM: Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago

Sunday, November 9:
12:00 PM: 3rd Place Team v 4th Place Team
2:00 PM: 1st Place Team v 2nd Place Team

« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 05:17:00 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T Under 18 vs Chelsea and Mexico
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 10:20:54 AM »
Didn't know we had such a squad.

Normally is U10, U13, U15, U 17, U20, U23

Good if we were to play in this tournament, even if we colleck licks.

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 10:24:34 AM »
Didn't know we had such a squad.

Normally is U10, U13, U15, U 17, U20, U23

Good if we were to play in this tournament, even if we colleck licks.

I feel we probably would jess send de U 17.

« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 11:33:17 AM »
Guys dont get yuh hopes up until yuh see an official report/announcement from the TTFF...
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 11:36:33 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2008, 12:13:20 PM »
Filho, please edit that to say New Jersey Institute of Technology, not Jew.  ;D

« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2008, 12:17:12 PM »
Guys dont get yuh hopes up until yuh see an official report/announcement from the TTFF...

Guys dont get yuh hopes up until yuh hear the kickoff whistle blow...

« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2008, 12:38:39 PM »
Filho, please edit that to say New Jersey Institute of Technology, not Jew.  ;D

typo. thanks ;)

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2008, 12:39:36 PM »

taht is the point of the thread. to find out if T&T will definitely be there

« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2008, 12:41:11 PM »

taht is the point of the thread. to find out if T&T will definitely be there

I know but as usual some people will miss that point...and start aniticipating T&T playing games in this tournament without any type of announcement from the TTFF...and when it goes downhill people start to rant and rave as usual

« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2008, 01:37:37 PM »
IRONMEN TO CO-SPONSOR NEWARK INTERNATIONAL CUP

St. Benedict’s Prep Soccer Team and Alumnus Claudio Reyna Join GRS Dribble 2008

Newark, N.J. (Thursday, October 9, 2008) – For the second consecutive year, the New Jersey Ironmen will be co-sponsors of the Newark International Cup, hosted by St. Benedict’s Preparatory School.  The host soccer team, along with former U.S. National Team Captain and SBP alumnus Claudio Reyna, will also join the Ironmen this Monday when they welcome philanthropist Ethan Zohn to Newark for a leg of his Grass Root Soccer United Dribble 2008.

“Monday will truly be a spectacular event on so many levels,” Ironmen General Manager Tony Novo stated.  “Not only are we honored to welcome Ethan Zohn and Grass Root Soccer to this city for their incredible cause, but now we have the opportunity to include our soccer brethren from St. Benedict’s.  It pleases me to see the collaboration of these international causes being brought together by the international game of soccer.  Here we have Ethan bringing to Newark an event of worldwide significance while we incorporate the Newark International Cup where St. Benedict’s is bringing some of the best soccer clubs in the world to this city.” 

Zohn is currently engaging in a 550-mile trek from Foxboro to Washington, DC, in which he is dribbling a soccer ball on a path that will have him arrive in the nation’s capital on December 1 for World AIDS Day.  Starting at 3:00 this Monday, he will leave Lincoln Park in Newark and will eventually conclude this portion of his journey at Prudential Center.  Once Zohn arrives there, a press event regarding the activities of the day will be conducted in the Verizon Tower.  It will be then that the Ironmen formally announce their co-sponsoring of the Newark International Cup, and the entire event is open to the public.

Three international youth sides will join host St. Benedict’s Prep for the 16th Annual Newark International Cup, which will be played at the soccer facilities at the New Jersey Institute of Technology.  The Mexican U-18 National Team, Trinity & Tobago U-18 National Team and Chelsea FC from England will all take part in the tournament scheduled for November 3-10.  A youth clinic is also planned for Saturday, November 8, at St. Benedict’s Prep. 

The New Jersey Ironmen are currently seeking members for their official kids club. Those interested in joining can click here to download our registration form. You can either fax in the sheet to 973-757-6302 or mail it to the New Jersey Ironmen Kids Club, Prudential Center, 165 Mulberry Street, Newark, NJ 07102.

T&T U-17 to face Chelsea youth in US tournament.
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2008, 04:20:33 PM »
T&T U-17 to face Chelsea youth in US tournament.
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Press).

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 team will head off to the United States on November 3 to take part in a four-team invitational tournament which includes the Mexican National Under 18 team as well as the Youth Team of English Premiership giants Chelsea.

This invitation was put forward to the T&T Football Federation and accepted, being seen as a beneficial opportunity for the local team to get international match practice ahead of the CONCACAF Final round of qualification in Mexico next April leading towards the 2009 FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Nigeria.

The tournament  which is called the  16th Annual Newark International Cup, is being hosted by St Benedict’s Prep and matches will be played at the New Jersey Institute of Technology Lubetkin Field. All matches are expected to be viewed by several international scouts.

T&T will face Chelsea in its opening game on November 5, followed by encounters with St Benedict’s Prep a day later and close off against the Mexicans on November 8.  The final and third place play off  matches will take place on November 9.

At the media launch for the tournament on Monday, on hand promoting the International Cup, besides some of the St. Benedict's players and coach Rick Jacobs, was St. Benedict's alumnus and former United States captain Claudio Reyna.

On Saturday November 8, 2008 coaches and players from all the participating teams, along with members of co-sponsor, the NJ Ironmen, will conduct a free youth soccer clinic at Saint Benedict’s Prep.   

This is the 16th year that Saint Benedict’s Prep has hosted this prestigious international  tournament, which has seen some of the world’s best youth teams travel to Newark, NJ.   Alumni from this tournament play in all the top leagues throughout the world including the English Premiership,  Italy’s Serie A, Spain’s La Liga, Germany’s Bundesliga, Mexico’s Primera and the Unites States’ MLS.

Currently the pool of 23 players in the T&T national squad have been in a strength training program with several of the players also representing their schools in the ongoing League .

“We felt it would be an ideal chance for the players to get some much needed practice and international exposure before the qualification tournament next year,” team head coach Corneal told TTFF Media. “We haven’t played an international match since the game against Brazil’s U17s which was another valuable experience for us but now we are hoping to build on that with this upcoming tournament.”

According to the team manager Christopher Gouveia, the  programme is being conducted by the Physical Training Instructors of the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force.

The players will be involved in four training sessions next week before leaving on Monday 3rd, November for the one-week tournament. The current squad, with Corneal at the helm, will be cut to eighteen players before departing for the US.

18 Players will come from:

NAMES / D-O-B / CLUB

GOALKEEPERS

1.John Thomas / 18-11-1993 / Joe Public
2.Raheem Belgrave / 07-11-1992 / Joe Public
3.Jamal Francois / 16-09-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh

DEFENDERS

4.Akeems Grant / 07-04-1992 / W Connection
5.Reshad Wint / 12-02-1992 / Joe Public
6.Dwight Ceballo / 06-06-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
7.Dillon Kirton / 25-04-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
8.Kylon Gay / 17-06-1992 / Joe Public
9.Stephen Wiltshire / 26-03-1992 / Joe Public
10.Shaquille Stewart / 10-11-1993 / W Connection
11.Dinnel Lopez / 15-06-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
12.Rodney Young / 10-11-1992 / United Petrotrin
13.Omarr Charles / 12-03-1992 / Stokelyvale F.C.
14.Savion Kirton / 12-09-1993 / San Juan Jabloteh

MIDFIELDERS

15.Zavion Navarro / 31-12-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
16.Shahdon Winchester / 08-01-1992 / W Connection
17.Luke Hernandez / 24-03-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
18.Vernell Ramirez / 19-03-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
19.Moriba Ballah / 03-01-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
20.Ross Russell / 09-01-1992 / Defence Force
21.Daquille Matthews / 07-06-1992 / W Connection
22.Anslem Jackson / 18-01-1992 / San Juan Jabloteh
23.Ryan Frederick / 11-06-1992 / W Connection
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 05:06:02 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T U-17 to face Chelsea youth in US tournament
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2008, 04:26:12 PM »
Well yes.  T&T leadin de way in new trends in world football.

No forwards.  Only goalies, defenders, & midfielders.

Ah could see de formation now....5-5

Revolutionary!  8)

« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2008, 04:26:58 PM »
wo doh plan on scoring just sharing beat :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2008, 04:37:06 PM »
Well we all know who the forward is likely to be  ;) plus Winchester could handle stories in a crunch.

Did we somehow drop into a alternate universe where a palindrome take over Ollie Camps brain and have him actually doing wuk on behalf of the youths?  8)

Like the TTFF serious about this youth football business. To progress from the Dallas Cup to this is a real improvement. Niceness  :applause:

« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2008, 04:40:10 PM »
Well we all know who the forward is likely to be  ;) plus Winchester could handle stories in a crunch.

Dey say Winchester is in he 4th year in 5th form.  ;D

« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2008, 04:41:04 PM »
Let's Go TnT!!!!

Well yes.  T&T leadin de way in new trends in world football.
No forwards.  Only goalies, defenders, & midfielders.
Ah could see de formation now....5-5
Revolutionary!  8)
Grand "Argentavis magnificens" Corbeau Brand??
eh MidKnight?

dat is Total Football....TnT version?
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 04:56:51 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2008, 04:59:19 PM »
Heard bout dat 2day

« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2008, 05:05:11 PM »

Dey say Winchester is in he 4th year in 5th form.  ;D

Palso yuh evil eh  :devil: The fella still young though,if he dosen't become a teacher or lawyer, he might have to swallow his pride and become a mutimillionaire footballer 8).

Now they quick to bawl "T&T to face Chelski" but no word on the tournament schedule yet though. Steups.

Regardless this team will do us proud, they have real promise and getting the right exposure.

« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2008, 05:50:08 PM »
Palso yuh evil eh  :devil:

Actually....Ruskin Mark was sayin during de commentary dat Leonson Lewis thinks very highly of Shandon Winchester and calls him a very special player.

Nice to hear.

Ah hear he move down South from Woodbrook a few years ago... ;D

Re: T&T Under 17 vs Chelsea and Mexico
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2008, 05:53:45 PM »
this should  winchester's  last year he has been playing with naps first team since he was 13 time to move on maybe the pro league reserve  level next year....
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 05:55:17 PM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2008, 05:58:52 PM »
I count ten players from JAB BTW in that list  LIKE  wTf

« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2008, 06:06:02 PM »
I count ten players from JAB BTW in that list  LIKE  wTf

They completely dominated the league last season. Or so a youthman playing for Jab on this forum tell me.

So yuh saying if it was not for SSFL he would be playing at a much higher level of football  8)

« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2008, 07:13:07 PM »
Palso yuh evil eh  :devil:

Actually....Ruskin Mark was sayin during de commentary dat Leonson Lewis thinks very highly of Shandon Winchester and calls him a very special player.

Nice to hear.

Ah hear he move down South from Woodbrook a few years ago... ;D

Steupse yuh like talking shit yes......

Winchester , Britto, Cato and Russell will be the backbone for T&T U-17 WC campiagn
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 09:14:56 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #23 on: October 21, 2008, 08:25:43 PM »
FORWARDS

24.Cordel Cato
 15-07-1992
 San Juan Jabloteh

25.Jerrel Britto
 04-07-1992
 San Juan Jabloteh

26.Jeron Jones
 01-03-1992
 W Connection

27.Malcolm Manswell
 20-02-1992
 Baltimore Bays, USA

28.Reagan Gaulteau
 20-09-1992
 San Juan Jabloteh

THIS IS THE REST SOMEBODY MISS SOMETHING

« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2008, 08:46:02 PM »
winchester has been playing since form 2, very good player.

« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2008, 09:13:24 PM »
Bally thanks for clarifying the rest of the team...cause once fit Cato and Britto had to be in this team..In fact Britto is the captain and was the most impressive player in the last tournament that T&T U 17 team participated in and finish second

« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2008, 03:17:09 PM »
the whole ah jabloteh first team get invited to train ........
should we qualify  Jab  would not have a team in the proleague youth competiton

3 striker ---
5 mid
4 def
1 goalie

lord have mercy ZANDOLIE

look the table for the under 16

http://www.jablotehfootball.com/downloads/JABLOTEH%20Under%2016%20Team%20Statistics.pdf
« Last Edit: October 22, 2008, 03:21:07 PM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2008, 04:07:04 PM »
the whole ah jabloteh first team get invited to train ........
should we qualify  Jab  would not have a team in the proleague youth competiton

3 striker ---
5 mid
4 def
1 goalie

lord have mercy ZANDOLIE

look the table for the under 16

http://www.jablotehfootball.com/downloads/JABLOTEH%20Under%2016%20Team%20Statistics.pdf

Dey go have subs bro.  And dey will be competitive. It have nuff yutes playin out dey and Jab does jes take most a de best talent available.

« Reply #28 on: November 03, 2008, 08:17:27 PM »
CLICK HERE for some highlights of Petrotrin's U-17 team in last year's tournament.

« Reply #29 on: November 03, 2008, 09:36:11 PM »
CLICK HERE for some highlights of Petrotrin's U-17 team in last year's tournament.

So no team in T&T have concept of defending? I real shame with that highlights boy.